Extension of Interim Cease and Desist Order to Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc.

 

BICO and the Superintendent have achieved a regulatory compliant solution. As required by that solution, BICO’s legal contractual indemnities will be converted to insurance policies issued by a licensed insurer in accordance with the timelines outlined in the Amended Minutes of Settlement.

 

 
​​REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended, in particular section 441
 
AND REGARDING Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc.
 
 

​​Extension of Interim Cease and Desist Order

 

TO:  

Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc.

133 Richmond St. W

Suite 201

Toronto, ON M5H 2L3

 

On July 7, 2016, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued an Interim Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity (the “interim Order”) against Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc. (”Bridgepoint”) pursuant to subsection 441(4) of the Insurance Act (the “Act”). The Interim Order required Bridgepoint to:
 
  1. Immediately cease and refrain from conducting insurance business in the Province of Ontario, including the advertising, soliciting, offering, sale and adjusting of legal expenses insurance under the product names Legal Cost Protection, Firm Protect, File Protect, Legal Protect and Trial Protect or any other names;
  2. Provide the Superintendent with a copy of every contract issued by it which insures risk located in Ontario and is currently in force, within 10 days of the issuance of this Order; and
  3. Immediately mail to all the parties with whom Bridgepoint has subsisting contracts in Ontario a copy of this interim Cease and Desist Order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent that this mailing was done.
On the same day, the Superintendent issued a Notice of Proposal to Make a Permanent Cease and Desist Order against Bridgepoint.
 
On July 21, 2016, Bridgepoint filed a Request for Hearing with the Financial Services Tribunal (”the “Tribunal”) in respect of the Superintendent’s Notice of Proposal.
 
Pursuant to subsection 441(6) of the Act, as Bridgepoint has requested a hearing before the Tribunal, the Superintendent may extend the Interim Order until the proposal is finally determined.
 
For the reasons set out in the Interim Order, the Superintendent continues to be of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the imposition of a permanent order to cease and desist unlicensed activity against Bridgepoint.


INTERIM CEASE & DESIST ORDER


TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 441(6) of the Act, the Interim Cease and Desist dated
July 7, 2016 is extended until the proposal in the Notice of Proposal dated July 7, 2016 is finally determined.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 447(2)(b) and (3) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $250,000.00 on a first conviction and to a fine of not more than $500,000.00 on each subsequent conviction. 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 447(4) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in the corporation or unincorporated association committing an offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation or unincorporated association from committing an offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted, and liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 on a first conviction and a fine of not more than $200,000.00 on each subsequent conviction.

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.
 
ISSUED at the City Toronto, Ontario, July 26, 2016.   
 
“Original Signed by Brian Mills”

Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Prolongation de l’Ordonnance Provisoire de Cesser et de s'Abstenir à Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc.

 
BICO et le surintendant sont parvenus à une entente de conformité réglementaire. Selon cette entente, les indemnités légales contractuelles de BICO seront converties en des polices d’assurance délivrées par un assureur autorisé conformément aux délais prévus dans le procès-verbal de règlement modifié.
 
 
RELATIVEMENT À la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, telle que modifiée (ci-après la
« Loi »), en particulier le paragraphe 441;
 
ET RELATIVEMENT À Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc.
 
 

​​Ordonnance Provisoire de Cesser et de s'Abstenir

 

À : 

Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc.
133, rue Richmond Ouest, bureau 201
Toronto (Ontario)  M5H 2L3

 

Le 7 juillet 2016, le surintendant des services financiers (ci-après le « surintendant ») a émis une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir d’exercer des activités sans permis (l’« ordonnance provisoire ») à l’encontre de Bridgepoint Indemnity Company (Canada) Inc. (ci-après « Bridgepoint ») en vertu du paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi. Cette ordonnance provisoire exigeait de Bridgepoint :
 
  1. qu’elle cesse immédiatement et de s’abstienne de toute activité ou opération d’assurance en Ontario, soit de faire de la publicité, de solliciter, d’offrir, de vendre ou de mettre au point toute forme d’assurance pour frais juridiques et de les proposer sous les noms de Legal Cost Protection, Firm Protect, File Protect, Legal Protect ou Trial Protect, ou sous tout autre nom, quels qu’ils soient;
  2. qu’elle fournisse au surintendant une copie de chaque contrat établi en vue d’assurer un risque situé en Ontario et actuellement en vigueur, et ce, dans les dix (10) jours suivant la publication de la présente ordonnance;
  3. qu’elle poste immédiatement à toutes les parties avec lesquelles Bridgepoint a encore des contrats en Ontario une copie de cette ordonnance provisoire et qu’elle fournisse au surintendant une preuve satisfaisante que les copies de la présente ont bel et bien été postées aux personnes concernées.
Le même jour, le surintendant a émis un avis d’intention de rendre permanente l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir à l’encontre de Bridgepoint.
 
Le 21 juillet 2016, Bridgepoint a déposé une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal de services financiers (ci-après le « Tribunal ») relativement à l’avis d’intention du surintendant.
 
Conformément au paragraphe  441(6) de la Loi, puisque Bridgepoint avait déposé une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal, le surintendant pouvait prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire jusqu’à ce qu’une décision finale soit prise à l’égard de cet avis d’intention.
 
Pour les raisons précisées dans l’ordonnance provisoire, le surintendant continue d’être d’avis que l’intérêt public pourrait être menacé advenant tout retard dans l’imposition d’une ordonnance permanente pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis à l’encontre Bridgepoint.


ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 441(6) de la Loi, l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir datée du 7 juillet 2016 est prolongée jusqu’à ce qu’une décision soit rendue à l’égard de la proposition formulée dans l’avis d’intention datée du 7 juillet 2016.

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE conformément aux paragraphes 447(2)(b) et (3) de la Loi, toute personne ne se conformant pas aux exigences des ordonnances rendues ou directives données aux termes de la Loi se rend coupable d’une infraction et que toute personne qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende d’au plus 250 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 500 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes. 
 
PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi, est également coupable d’une infraction tout administrateur, dirigeant ou mandataire principaux d’une personne morale ou toute personne agissant à ce titre ou ayant des fonctions semblables ayant causé, autorisé, permis ou participé à la perpétration d’une infraction, ou qui n’a pas pris les soins raisonnables pour empêcher la perpétration d’une telle infraction et qu’à ce titre, cette personne est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ pour une première déclaration de culpabilité et d’une amende d’au plus 200 000 $ pour toute déclaration de culpabilité subséquente.
 
If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

ÉMISE en la ville de Toronto (Ontario), le 26 juillet 2016.
 
"Original signé par Brian Mills"

Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers