Compliance Order to Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson

Regarding the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the "Act"), in particular section 2, 3, 11, and 35.
 
And Regarding Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson

Compliance Order to Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 
To:

Capstone Financial Solutions (Ontario) Inc.  

And to:

Jeff Watson

On July 23, 2015, the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") issued a Notice of Proposal to Impose a Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity against Capstone Financial Solutions ("Capstone") and Jeff Watson.

On August 13, 2015, Capstone and Mr. Watson requested a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal ("Tribunal") in respect of the proposal to impose a compliance order to cease and desist unlicensed activity in accordance with subsections 35(2) and 35(3) of the Act. On March 8, 2016, Capstone and Mr. Watson withdrew their requests for a hearing before the Tribunal.

Section 35(6) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may carry out the proposal to impose a compliance order when no hearing has been requested.
 

Order


It is ordered that Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson are required to:

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding himself or itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting or holding himself or herself out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he or it is a mortgage brokerage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  6. Immediately cease advertising as a mortgage brokerage or as associated with a mortgage brokerage in Ontario;
  7. Immediately cease making any claims or representations in relation to mortgages that are false or misleading.


Take Notice That  pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, boîte 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.


Dated at Toronto, Ontario, March 9, 2016.

 
Original Signed by

 
Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson

Relativement à  la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques, L.O. 2006, chap. 29 (ci-après la « Loi »), en particulier les paragraphes 2, 3, 11, et 35.
 
Et relativement à Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson.

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir d'exercer une activité sans permis

 
À : Capstone Financial Solutions (Ontario) Inc.  

ET À :  Jeff Watson (ci-après « M. Watson »).

Le 23 juillet 2015, le surintendant des services financiers (ci-après « le surintendant ») a émis un avis d'intention (ci-après « l'avis ») d'imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s'abstenir d'exercer une activité sans permis à l'encontre de Capstone Financial Solutions (ci-après « Capstone ») et de Jeff Watson.

Le 13 août 2015, Capstone et M. Watson ont demandé une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci-après « le Tribunal ») relativement à l'intention d'imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s'abstenir d'exercer une activité sans permis, conformément aux paragraphes 35(2) et 35(3) de la Loi. Le 8 mars 2016, Capstone et M. Watson ont retiré leurs demandes d'audience devant le Tribunal.

Le paragraphe 35(6) de la Loi prévoit que le surintendant peut donner suite à son intention d'imposer une ordonnance de conformité lorsqu'aucune audience n'a été demandée.  

 

Ordonnance


Il est ordonné que Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson :

  1. cessent immédiatement de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu'elles contractent des emprunts d'argent ou qu'elles consentent des prêts d'argent garantis sur des biens immobiliers en Ontario, ou de donner l'impression de le faire;
  2. cessent immédiatement de donner de l'information sur d'éventuels emprunteurs ou sur d'éventuels prêteurs hypothécaires ou de se présenter comme tels relativement à des biens immobiliers en Ontario;
  3. cessent immédiatement de négocier ou de fournir des prêts hypothécaires visant des biens immobiliers en Ontario au nom d'une autre personne ou d'une autre entité, tentent de le faire ou se présentent comme étant en mesure de le faire; 
  4. cessent immédiatement d'accepter toute forme de fonds ou d'honoraires relativement à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la conclusion de prêts hypothécaires garantis par des biens immobiliers en Ontario;
  5. cessent immédiatement d'utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement donner à penser qu'ils exercent des activités de courtage hypothécaire concernant des biens immobiliers en Ontario;
  6. cessent immédiatement toute publicité les désignant comme courtiers en hypothèques ou les associant à des activités de courtage hypothécaire en Ontario;
  7. cessent immédiatement toute réclamation ou représentation en lien avec des prêts hypothécaires qui sont fausses ou mensongères.
     

Prenez avis que conformément aux paragraphes 48(4) et 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, toute personne qui omet de respecter une ordonnance prévue par la Loi est coupable d'une infraction et le particulier reconnu coupable d'une infraction à la Loi est passible d'une amende maximale de 100 000 $, d'une peine d'emprisonnement d'un an au maximum, ou les deux. Toute société reconnue coupable d'une infraction à la Loi est passible d'une amende maximale de 200 000 $.

En vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi, les dirigeants ou administrateurs d'une société ayant commis une infraction au titre de la Loi et qui l'ont ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n'ont pas pris de mesures raisonnables pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d'une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

Selon les termes du paragraphe 48(6), sont coupables d'une infraction les associés d'une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l'instance dirigeante d'une entité qui n'est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l'entité, d'un acte ou d'une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la Loi si elle était le fait d'une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

Fait à Toronto (Ontario), le 9 mars 2016.

Original signé par


Brian Mills

Surintendant des services financiers