Extension Of Interim Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson

Regarding the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the "Act"), in particular section 35.

 

And Regarding Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson

 

Extension Of Interim Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 

To:              

Capstone Financial Solutions
 

And to:       

Jeff Watson
                   
 
On July 23, 2015, the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") issued an Interim Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity against Capstone Financial Solutions ("Capstone") and Jeff Watson pursuant to subsection 35(7) of the Act. The Interim Compliance Order required Capstone and Mr. Watson to:
 
  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding himself or itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting or holding himself or herself out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he or it is a mortgage brokerage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  6. Immediately cease advertising as a mortgage brokerage or as associated with a mortgage brokerage in Ontario;
  7. Immediately cease making any claims or representations in relation to mortgages that are false or misleading.
On the same day, the Superintendent issued a Notice of Proposal to Impose a Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity against Capstone and Mr. Watson.
 
The Interim Order took effect immediately and remains in effect until the expiry of the period for requesting a hearing in respect of the Superintendent’s Notice of Proposal.
 
On August 13, 2015, Capstone and Mr. Watson filed a Request for Hearing with the Registrar of the Financial Services Tribunal ("Tribunal") in respect of the Superintendent’s Notice of Proposal.
 
Pursuant to subsection 35(10) of the Act, as Capstone and Mr. Watson have requested a hearing before the Tribunal, the Superintendent may extend the Interim Order until the proposal is finally determined.
 
For the reasons set out in the Interim Order, the Superintendent continues to be of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the imposition of a permanent compliance order to cease and desist unlicensed activity against Capstone and Mr. Watson.
 
 

Interim Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 
It is ordered that that pursuant to subsection 35(10) of the Act, the Interim Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity dated July 23, 2015 against Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson is extended until the proposal in the Notice of Proposal dated July 23, 2015 is finally determined.
 
And take notice that pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.
 
Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.
 
Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.
 
Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, boîte 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.
 
 
 
Dated at Toronto, Ontario, August 13, 2015.
 
 
Original Signed by "Brian Mills"
 
 
 
Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Prolongation de l’ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis contre Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson

Relativement à la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtages et d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et administrateurs d’hypothèque, L.O. 2006, chap. 29 (ci-après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 35.

 

Et relativement à Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson

Prolongation de l’ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

À : 

Capstone Financial Solutions

Et à : 

Jeff Watson
 
Le 23 juillet 2015, le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») a émis une ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis contre Capstone Financial Solutions (ci-après « Capstone ») et Jeff Watson aux termes du paragraphe 35(7) de la Loi. En vertu de cette ordonnance provisoire, Capstone et M. Watson devaient :
 
  1. cesser immédiatement de se livrer à la sollicitation de personnes ou d’entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou consentent des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles en Ontario ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  2. cesser immédiatement de fournir des renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  3. cesser immédiatement de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, de tenter d’exercer cette activité ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  4. cesser immédiatement d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  5. cesser immédiatement d’utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter à croire qu’ils sont courtiers en hypothèques, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  6. cesser immédiatement de faire de la publicité en qualité de maison de courtage d’hypothèques ou d’associé à une maison de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario;
  7. cesser immédiatement de faire des réclamations ou représentations fausses ou trompeuses relativement aux hypothèques.
Le même jour, le surintendant a émis un avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis contre Capstone et M. Watson.
 
L’ordonnance provisoire entrait en vigueur dès son émission et le demeurait jusqu’à l’expiration du délai imparti pour demander une audience relativement à l’avis d’intention du surintendant.
 
Le 13 août 2015, Capstone et M. Watson ont déposé une demande d’audience auprès du registraire du Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») relativement à l’avis d’intention du surintendant.
 
Au titre du paragraphe 35(10) de la Loi, puisque Capstone et M. Watson ont demandé une audience devant le Tribunal, le surintendant peut prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire jusqu’à ce que l’intention soit finalement établie.
 
Pour les raisons précisées dans l’ordonnance provisoire, le surintendant continue d’être d’avis que l’intérêt public pourrait être menacé advenant tout retard dans l’imposition d’une ordonnance de conformité permanente pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis contre Capstone et M. Watson.
 

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

 
Il est ordonné qu’au titre du paragraphe 35(10) de la Loi, l’ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser de s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis datée du 23 juillet 215 contre Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson soit prolongée jusqu’à ce que l’intention contenue dans l’avis d’intention daté du 23 juillet 2015 soit finalement établie.  
 
Prenez également avis que, conformément aux paragraphes 48(4) ainsi que 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la Loi est coupable d’une infraction, et le particulier reconnu coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $, d’une peine d’emprisonnement d’un an au maximum, ou d’une amende et d’une peine d’emprisonnement. La société reconnue coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.

En vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi, les dirigeants ou administrateurs d’une société ayant perpétré une infraction au titre de la Loi et qui l’ont ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.
 
Suivant le paragraphe 48(6), sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la présente loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.
 
If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.
 

Fait à Toronto (Ontario) le 13 août 2015.
 

Original signé par « Brian Mills »
 
 

Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers