Interim Compliance Order to Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson

Regarding the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29, in particular sections 2, 3, 11, and 35.

 

And Regarding Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson

 

Interim Compliance Order to Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 

and

 

Notice Of Proposal To Impose Compliance Order to Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

To:

Capstone Financial Solutions

And to:

Jeff Watson
 
Subsection 35(2) of the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 (the “Act”) provides that the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) may order a person or entity to cease committing an act or cease pursuing a course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts as, in the Superintendent’s opinion, are necessary to remedy the situation. 
 
Subsection 35(3) of the Act provides that where the Superintendent proposes to make a compliance order, the Superintendent shall give written notice of the proposal to the licensee, including the reasons for the proposal.
 
Subsection 35(7) of the Act provides that, if in the Superintendent’s opinion, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making an order as a result of the steps required by section 35, the Superintendent may, without notice, make an interim order and may do so before or after giving the notice required by subsection 35(3).
 

Interim Compliance Order to Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 
It is ordered that that pursuant to sections 2, 3, 11 and 35 of the Act, and for the reasons described below, Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson:
 
  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding himself or itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting or holding himself or herself out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he or it is a mortgage brokerage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  6. Immediately cease advertising as a mortgage brokerage or as associated with a mortgage brokerage in Ontario;
  7. Immediately cease making any claims or representations in relation to mortgages that are false or misleading.
Take notice that this Interim Order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until the expiry of the period for requesting a hearing in respect of the Superintendent’s Notice of Proposal set out below (15 days after the Notice is given, or deemed to have been delivered).
 
And take notice that pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.
 
Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.
 
Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an actor omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.
 

Notice Of Proposal To Impose Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 
Take Notice That pursuant to sections 2, 3, 11 and 35 of the Act and for the reasons described below, the Superintendent is proposing to order Capstone Financial Solutions and Jeff Watson to:
 
  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding himself or itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting or holding himself or herself out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he or it is a mortgage brokerage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  6. Immediately cease advertising as a mortgage brokerage or as associated with a mortgage brokerage in Ontario;
  7. Immediately cease making any claims or representations in relation to mortgages that are false or misleading.
 
And Take Notice That pursuant to subsection 35(3) of the Act, a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal about this proposal may be requested by completing the enclosed Request for Hearing (Form 1) and submitting it to the Tribunal within 15 days after the Notice is received. A copy of that form is included with this notice. Additional copies can be obtained by visiting the Tribunal’s website at www.fstontario.ca [New Window].
 
If a written request for a hearing is made within 15 days, subsections 35(4) and 35(5) of the Act provide that the Tribunal shall hold a hearing and decide whether or not to direct the Superintendent to carry out this proposal, with or without changes, or substitute its opinion for that of the Superintendent, and the Tribunal may impose such conditions as it considers appropriate in the circumstances. If a hearing before the Tribunal is requested, the Superintendent may extend the interim compliance order until the proposal is finally determined.
 
If no written request for a hearing is made within 15 days after this Notice is received, Take Notice That the Superintendent will carry out the proposal to make the compliance order as set out above.
 
Completed Request for Hearing Forms must be received by the Tribunal within 15 days after this notice is given. They may be mailed, faxed or delivered:

To:              

 
Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, Box 85
14th Floor
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
 
Attention:  Registrar                                        Fax: 416-226-7750
 

And To:

 
Superintendent of Financial Services
Regulatory Discipline Officer
Licensing and Market Conduct Division
5160 Yonge Street, Box 85
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9                                       Fax: 416-590-7070
 
The hearing before the Tribunal will proceed in accordance with the Rules of Practice and Procedure for Proceedings Before the Financial Services Tribunal made under the authority of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S. 22. Those Rules are available at the website of the Tribunal: www.fstontario.ca [New Window]. Alternatively, a copy can be obtained by telephoning the Registrar of the Tribunal at 416-590-7294, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128 ext. 7294.
 
At a hearing, your character, conduct and/or competence may be in issue.  You may be furnished with further and or other particulars, including further or other grounds, to support this proposal.
 

Reasons For Interim Compliance Order and Proposal For Permanent Compliance Order

Unlicensed Activity

 
  1. Section 2(2) of the Act prohibits any person or entity from carrying on the business of dealing in mortgages in Ontario unless he, she or it has a brokerage licence or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence.  No exemptions apply in this case.
  2. Section 2(1) of the Act defines “dealing in mortgages” to include the following activities:
    a. Soliciting another person or entity to borrow or lend money on the security of real property;
    b. 
    Providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender;
    c. Negotiating or arranging a mortgage on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting to do so.
  1. Section 3(2) of the Act prohibits any person or entity from carrying on the business of trading in mortgages in Ontario unless he, she or it has a brokerage licences or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence. No exemptions apply in this case.
  2. Section 3(1) of the Act defines "trading in mortgages" to include the following activities:
    a. Soliciting another person or entity to buy, sell or exchange mortgages;
    b. Buying, selling or exchanging mortgages on behalf of another person or entity;
    c. Buying, selling or exchanging mortgages on the person’s or entity’s own behalf.
  1. Section 11 of the Act prohibits any person or entity from using in Ontario a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he, she or it is a mortgage brokerage unless he, she or it is licensed as a mortgage brokerage.
  2. Jeff Watson ("Watson") is the principal of Capstone Financial Solutions ("Capstone"), a corporation incorporated in Ontario with its head office in London, Ontario.  Watson resides in London, Ontario. Neither Watson nor Capstone has ever held a mortgage brokerage, broker or agent licence under the Act. 
  3. From at least October, 2013 to date, Watson has represented himself and Capstone as being or as carrying on the business of a mortgage broker, brokerage or agent to persons or entities in Ontario. 
  4. As described above, Watson/Capstone are holding themselves out as being in the business of dealing or trading in mortgages in Ontario.  Neither Watson nor Capstone holds a licence under the Act, and they are therefore committing an act, or pursuing courses of conduct, that contravene the Act and are an offence under the Act.
  5. Watson/Capstone have provided false or deceptive information or documents when dealing in mortgages in Ontario, including using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that Capstone is a mortgage brokerage.
  6. Watson/Capstone have placed advertisements at various times from 2013 to date in various media, as set out below, intended to solicit lenders for syndicated mortgages:
    a. Booth and signs at the Women’s Lifestyle Show 2015 in London, Ontario in March, 2015;
    b. Booth and signs at the London Spring Home Garden Show in London, Ontario in April, 2015;
    c. Signs at high traffic areas in London, Ontario;
    d. Capstone website and the websites of Capstone affiliates;
    e. Unsolicited mass emailing to University of Western Ontario email accounts;
    f.  YouTube videos;
    g. Capstone’s Facebook page;
    h. Print advertisements in Business London and London Community News publications.
  1. Watson/Capstone have made false or misleading claims in some of the advertisements set out in paragraph 10 herein about the security or rates of return of syndicated mortgages.

Adverse Effect on the Public Interest

  1. The purpose of the Act is to regulate the mortgage brokering industry in order to ensure that minimum standards are met and the public is protected from illegal, unethical or negligent conduct.
  2. The continued solicitation of syndicated mortgage investors by Watson/Capstone using advertising material that contains false and misleading claims about the security of rates of return related to syndicated mortgages in contravention of the Act is a risk to the public and undermines the public’s confidence in the mortgage brokering industry.
  3. For all of the above reasons, and such further and other reasons as may come to his attention, the Superintendent is of the opinion that a delay in the issuance of a compliance order may adversely affect the public interest.
 
DATED at Toronto, Ontario, July 23, 2015.
 
 
Original Signed by Michael Doi delegate for
 
 
Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis contre Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson

Relativement à la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L.O. 2006, chap. 29, en particulier les articles 2, 3, 11 et 35.

 

Et relativement à l’entreprise Capstone Financial Solutions et Jeff Watson

 

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

 

et

 

avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

À : 

L’entreprise Capstone Financial Solutions

Et à : 

Jeff Watson

En vertu du paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques (ci après la « Loi »), le surintendant des services financiers (ci après le « surintendant ») peut ordonner à la personne ou à l’entité de cesser de commettre l’acte, de suivre la ligne de conduite qu’il précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, à son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation.
 
Aux termes du paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi, dans les cas où le surintendant propose de formuler une ordonnance de conformité, il donne un avis écrit motivé de son intention au titulaire de permis.
 
Au titre du paragraphe 35(7) de la Loi, s’il est d’avis que tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance découlant de la prise des mesures qu’exige l’article 35 risque d’être préjudiciable à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans préavis, prendre une ordonnance provisoire avant ou après avoir donné l’avis exigé d’après le paragraphe 35(3).

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

 
Il est ordonné à l’entreprise Capstone Financial Solutions et à Jeff Watson, d’après les articles 2, 3, 11 ainsi que 35 de la Loi et pour les raisons décrites ci dessous, ce qui suit :
 
  1. cesser immédiatement de se livrer à la sollicitation de personnes ou d’entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou consentent des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles en Ontario ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  2. cesser immédiatement de fournir des renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  3. cesser immédiatement de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, de tenter d’exercer cette activité ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  4. cesser immédiatement d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  5. cesser immédiatement d’utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter à croire qu’ils sont courtiers en hypothèques, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  6. cesser immédiatement de faire de la publicité en qualité de maison de courtage d’hypothèques ou d’associé à une maison de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario;
  7. cesser immédiatement de faire des réclamations ou représentations fausses ou trompeuses relativement aux hypothèques.
Prenez avis que la présente ordonnance provisoire entre en vigueur immédiatement et le demeurera jusqu’à l’expiration du délai imparti pour demander une audience relativement à l’avis d’intention du surintendant formulé ci dessous (15 jours après que l’avis a été donné ou qu’il est réputé avoir été livré).

Prenez également avis que, conformément aux paragraphes 48(4) ainsi que 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la Loi est coupable d’une infraction, et le particulier reconnu coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $, d’une peine d’emprisonnement d’un an au maximum, ou d’une amende et d’une peine d’emprisonnement. La société reconnue coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.

En vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi, les dirigeants ou administrateurs d’une société ayant perpétré une infraction au titre de la Loi et qui l’ont ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

Suivant le paragraphe 48(6), sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la présente loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.

Si vous désirez recevoir cette ordonnance en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à l’adresse suivante : Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160, rue Yonge, case postale 85, Toronto (Ontario), M2N 6L9.
 

Avis d’intention en vue d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

 
Prenez avis que, conformément aux articles 2, 3, 11 ainsi que 35 de la Loi et pour les raisons décrites ci dessous, le surintendant propose d’ordonner à l’entreprise Capstone Financial Solutions et à Jeff Watson ce qui suit :
 
  1. cesser immédiatement de se livrer à la sollicitation de personnes ou d’entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou consentent des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles en Ontario ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  2. cesser immédiatement de fournir des renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  3. cesser immédiatement de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, de tenter d’exercer cette activité ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  4. cesser immédiatement d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  5. cesser immédiatement d’utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter à croire qu’ils sont courtiers en hypothèques, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  6. cesser immédiatement de faire de la publicité en qualité de maison de courtage d’hypothèques ou d’associé à une maison de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario;
  7. cesser immédiatement de faire des réclamations ou représentations fausses ou trompeuses relativement aux hypothèques.
Si vous désirez recevoir cette ordonnance en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à l’adresse suivante : Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160, rue Yonge, case postale 85, Toronto (Ontario), M2N 6L9.
 
Prenez également avis que, suivant le paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi, il est possible de demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers visant le présent avis d’intention en remplissant la Demande d’audience (formulaire 1) puis en soumettant celle ci au Tribunal dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de l’avis. Un exemplaire du formulaire est joint au présent avis. Pour obtenir d’autres exemplaires, consultez le site Web du Tribunal au www.fstontario.ca [New Window].
 
Si une demande d’audience est présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours, aux termes des paragraphes 35(4) et 35(5) de la Loi, le Tribunal tient une audience et décide s’il ordonne ou non au surintendant de donner suite à son intention, avec ou sans modification, ou de substituer son opinion à la sienne; le Tribunal peut ensuite imposer les conditions qu’il estime appropriées dans les circonstances. Si une audience est demandée devant le Tribunal, le surintendant peut prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire jusqu’à ce qu’une décision définitive soit prise à l’égard de l’intention.
 
Si aucune demande d’audience n’est présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours, prenez avis que le surintendant donnera suite à son intention de procéder à l’ordonnance de conformité telle qu’elle est formulée ci dessus.
 
Les formulaires de demande d’audience remplis doivent parvenir au Tribunal dans les 15 jours suivant la signification du présent avis. Ces formulaires peuvent être envoyés par la poste, par télécopie ou par livraison :

Au : 

 
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, case postale 85
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
 
À l’attention du greffier                 Télécopieur : 416 226-7750

Et au : 

 
Surintendant des services financiers
Agent des mesures disciplinaires
Division de la délivrance des permis et 
de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie
5160, rue Yonge, case postale 85
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9            Télécopieur : 416 590-7070

L’audience devant le Tribunal se déroule selon les Règles des audiences du Tribunal, adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S. 22. Ces règles figurent dans le site Web du Tribunal, au www.fstontario.ca [New Window]. Pour obtenir un exemplaire en format papier, téléphonez au greffier du Tribunal au 416 590 7294 ou sans frais au 1 800 668 0128, poste 7294.
 
À l’audience, votre réputation, votre conduite ou votre compétence peuvent être mises en cause. Vous pouvez aussi recevoir des renseignements complémentaires, y compris les autres motifs à l’appui de la présente intention.
 

Motifs de l’ordonnance de conformité provisoire et proposition en vue d’une ordonnance de conformité permanente

Activité sans permis

 

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 2(2) de la Loi, nulle personne ou entité ne doit avoir comme activité de faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage ou d’être dispensée de ce permis. Aucune dispense ne s’applique dans ce cas ci.
  2. Aux termes du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi, la définition de « courtage d’hypothèques » englobe les activités suivantes :

    a. la sollicitation d’une autre personne ou entité pour qu’elle contracte des emprunts d’argent ou consente des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles;
    b. la fourniture de renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel;
    c. la négociation d’hypothèques ou la prise des dispositions nécessaires à leur égard, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, ou la tentative de ce faire.
  3. Conformément au paragraphe 3(2) de la Loi, nulle personne ou entité ne doit avoir comme activité de faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage ou d’être dispensée de ce permis. Aucune dispense ne s’applique dans ce cas ci.
  4. Selon le paragraphe 3(1) de la Loi, la définition des « opérations hypothécaires » englobe les activités suivantes :

    a. la sollicitation d’une autre personne ou entité pour qu’elle achète, vende ou échange des hypothèques;
    b. l’achat, la vente ou l’échange d’hypothèques pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité;
    c. l’achat, la vente ou l’échange d’hypothèques pour son propre compte.
  5. Suivant l’article 11 de la Loi, nulle personne ou entité ne doit utiliser, en Ontario, une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter à croire qu’elle est courtier en hypothèques, à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de courtier en hypothèques.
  6. Jeff Watson (ci après « M. Watson ») est le courtier principal de l’entreprise Capstone Financial Solutions (ci après « Capstone »), une société constituée en personne morale en Ontario et dont le siège se trouve à London (Ontario). M. Watson habite London (Ontario). Ni M. Watson, ni Capstone n’ont jamais possédé de permis de maison de courtage d’hypothèques, de courtier en hypothèques ou d’agent en hypothèques au sens de la Loi.
  7. Depuis au moins le mois d’octobre 2013, M. Watson s’est représenté, de même que Capstone, comme courtier en hypothèques, maison de courtage d’hypothèques ou agent en hypothèques, ou exerçant les activités en lien avec ceux ci auprès de personnes ou d’entités en Ontario.
  8. Tel qu’il est décrit ci dessus, M. Watson ou Capstone se représente comme exerçant les activités de courtage d’hypothèques ou d’opérations hypothécaires en Ontario. Or, ni M. Watson, ni Capstone ne sont titulaires d’un permis en vertu de la Loi, de sorte qu’ils perpétuent un acte, ou suivent une ligne de conduite, qui contrevient à la Loi et ils commettent une infraction aux termes de la Loi.
  9. M. Watson ou Capstone ont fourni de l’information ou des documents inexacts ou trompeurs en faisant le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario, dont le recours à une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter à croire que Capstone est une maison de courtage d’hypothèques.
  10. M. Watson et Capstone ont fait paraître des annonces à diverses périodes depuis 2013 dans divers médias, suivant ce qui est formulé ci dessous, dans l’optique de solliciter les prêteurs relativement à des hypothèques consortiales :

    a. un kiosque et des affiches à l’occasion du Women’s Lifestyle Show tenu à London (Ontario) en mars 2015;
    b. un kiosque et des affiches à l’occasion du London Spring Home Garden Show tenu à London (Ontario) en avril 2015;
    c. des affiches à des endroits où la circulation est intense à London (Ontario);
    d. le site Web de Capstone et les sites Web des sociétés affiliées à Capstone;
    e. l’envoi en masse de courriels non sollicités aux comptes courriel de l’Université Western Ontario;
    f. des vidéos dans YouTube;
    g. la page Facebook de Capstone;
    h. des annonces imprimées dans les publications Business London et London Community News.
  11. M. Watson et Capstone ont fait des allégations fausses ou trompeuses dans certaines des annonces formulées à la disposition 10 ci incluse en ce qui touche la garantie ou les taux de rendement des hypothèques consortiales.

Conséquences préjudiciables à l’intérêt public

 

  1. La Loi a pour objet de réglementer le secteur du courtage hypothécaire pour garantir l’atteinte de normes minimales et la protection du public contre la conduite illégale, contraire à l’éthique ou négligente.
  2. La sollicitation continue d’investisseurs en hypothèques consortiales par M. Watson et Capstone au moyen de matériel publicitaire qui comporte des affirmations fausses et trompeuses au sujet de la garantie des taux de rendement ayant trait aux hypothèques consortiales en violation de la Loi constitue un risque pour le public et mine la confiance de celui ci envers le secteur du courtage hypothécaire.
  3. Pour tous les motifs susmentionnés, et tout autre motif pouvant être porté à son attention, le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance de conformité risque d’être préjudiciable à l’intérêt public.
 
Fait à Toronto (Ontario), le 23 juillet 2015.

Document d’origine signé par Michael Doi, délégué pour le compte de

Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers