Interim Compliance Order Against JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. and Joseph Tukacs

REGARDING the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the "Act"), in particular sections 2 and 35

 

AND REGARDING JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. and Joseph Tukacs

INTERIM COMPLIANCE ORDER

 

Sections 35(1) and (2) of the Act provide that if, in the opinion of the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent"), a person or entity is committing any act or pursuing any course of conduct that contravenes or does not comply with a requirement established under this Act, or has committed or pursued any course of conduct that contravenes or does not comply with a requirement established under this Act, the Superintendent may propose to order the person or entity to cease committing an act or cease pursuing a course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts as, in the Superintendent’s opinion, are necessary to remedy the situation.
 
Section 35(3) of the Act provides that where the Superintendent proposes to make such an order, he shall give written notice of the proposal to the person or entity, including reasons for the proposal.
 
Section 35(7) of the Act provides that, if in the Superintendent’s opinion the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making an order as result of the steps required by section 35, the Superintendent may, without notice, make an interim order and may do so before or after giving the notice required by section 35(3).
 
In the Superintendent’s opinion, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making a compliance order against JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. ("JCT Capitol")  and Joseph Tukacs ("Tukacs") for the following reasons:
 
  1. The Act states that "No person or entity shall carry on the business of dealing in mortgages in Ontario unless he, she or it has a brokerage licence or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence" (section 2(2)).
  2. The Act at section 2(3) also states that "No individual shall deal in mortgages in Ontario for remuneration, whether direct or indirect, as an employee or otherwise, unless he or she has a mortgage broker’s or agent’s licence and is acting on behalf of a mortgage brokerage or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence."
  3. No exemptions apply in this case.
  4. Mr. Tukacs does not hold a mortgage broker’s or agent’s licence, nor has he ever held any of these licences.
  5. JCT Capitol does not hold a mortgage brokerage licence, nor has it ever held a mortgage brokerage licence.
  6. The Superintendent has received information and evidence that Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol are holding themselves out as dealing in mortgages in Ontario, as set out in the following paragraphs.
  7. Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol are dealing in mortgages in Ontario through a website, jctcapitol.com.
  8. Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol are also dealing in mortgages in Ontario through another website, linkedin.com. Mr. Tukacs' linkedin.com page can be found at: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/joseph-tukacs/35/459/8b9 [New Window]
  9. Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol are also dealing in mortgages in Ontario through a third website, facebook.com, on a page dedicated to JCT Capitol Investments Ltd.
  10. On January 22, 2014, Financial Services Commission of Ontario ("FSCO") contacted Mr. Tukacs by email, alerting him that it had come to FSCO’s attention that Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol were carrying on the business of dealing in mortgages in Ontario without being licensed under the Act.
  11. On January 24, 2014, Mr. Tukacs replied via email, stating that he and JCT Capitol would update their website and associated facebook.com and linkedin.com pages within 30 days to clarify that they only do business through licensed brokerages, brokers and agents. As of March 5, 2014, those changes had not been made, nor had steps been taken to remove any and all statements or representations on the website and other internet pages that constitute, or by which Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol hold themselves out as, "dealing in mortgages in Ontario" as defined by the Act.  
  12. Accordingly, the Superintendent has grounds to believe that Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol are dealing in mortgages in Ontario without being licensed under the Act.
  13. The Act states that a person or entity is "dealing in mortgages" when he, she or it engages in the following activities, or holds themselves out as doing so:
  • Soliciting another person to borrow or lend money on the security of real estate;
  • Providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender;
  • Assessing a prospective borrower on behalf of a prospective mortgage lender;
  • Negotiating or arranging a mortgage on behalf of another person or entity.
  1. Accordingly, on the basis of the above information and evidence, the Superintendent also has grounds to believe that Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol are dealing in mortgages without a licence and are actively soliciting new business. Members of the public are at risk because Mr. Tukacs and JCT Capitol’s activities are not within the sphere of the regulatory regime established by the Act.
  2. For the above reasons, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making a compliance order against JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. and Joseph Tukacs.
 

INTERIM ORDER 

It is ordered that Joseph Tukacs and JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd.:

 
  1. Immediately cease in Ontario soliciting persons or entities to borrow money on the security of real estate or holding themselves out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease in Ontario providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding themselves out as doing so;
  3. Immediately cease in Ontario assessing a prospective borrower on behalf of a prospective mortgage lender or holding themselves out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease in Ontario negotiating or arranging a mortgage on behalf of another person or entity or holding themselves out as doing so;
  5. Immediately cease in Ontario accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage;
  6. Immediately cease holding themselves out as able to deal in mortgages, including deactivating the website jctcapitol.com and associated  facebook.com and linkedin.com pages described above, or altering those pages such that they cease to be in non-compliance with the Act; and
  7. Not communicate with existing clients for a purpose related to dealing, trading, lending or administering mortgages or carrying on any mortgage brokering business, except for the express purpose of transferring their files and business to a licensed broker, agent and/or brokerage.
The Interim Order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until the expiry of the period for requesting a hearing about the Superintendent’s proposal to make a permanent order; or if before the end of such period the Superintendent does not give a notice of the proposal to make a permanent order, the Interim Order expires at the end of 21 days after the date of this Interim Order.
 
Pursuant to sections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment. Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.
 
Pursuant to section 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.
 
Section 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.
 
 
DATED at Toronto, Ontario, March 7, 2014.
 
 
Original signed by "Philip Howell"                                               
 
 
Philip Howell
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
 
TO:   

Joseph Tukacs

157 Magnificent Way

Binbrook, ON  L0R 1C0

 
AND TO:      

Joseph Tukacs

3 Seneca St.

Cayuga, ON  N0A 1E0

 
AND TO:  
JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd.

Tel. (289) 237-9006

 
AND TO:      

Rory Johnston

Legal Counsel

Financial Services Commission of Ontario

5160 Yonge Street, Suite 1700

Toronto ON  M2N 6L9

Tel: 416.590.7205

Fax: 416.590.7556

Email: Rory.Johnston@fsco.gov.on.ca

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire contre JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. et Joseph Tukacs

RELATIVEMENT à la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L.O. 2006, ch. 29 (ci-après appelée la « Loi »), en particulier les articles 2 et 35

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. et Joseph Tukacs

ORDONNANCE DE CONFORMITÉ PROVISOIRE

 

Les articles 35(1) et (2) de la Loi prévoient que si, de l’avis du surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant »), une personne ou une entité commet un acte ou suit une ligne de conduite qui contrevient à une exigence établie en application de la présente Loi ou qui ne l’observe pas, ou a commis un acte ou suivi une ligne de conduite qui contrevient à une exigence établie en application de la présente Loi ou qui ne l’observe pas, le surintendant peut manifester son intention d’ordonner à la personne ou à l’entité de cesser de commettre l’acte ou de suivre la ligne de conduite qu’il précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, à son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation.
 
Conformément à l’article 35(3) de la Loi, le surintendant donne un avis écrit motivé de son intention à la personne ou à l’entité.
 
L’article 35(7) prévoit que, s’il est d’avis que tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance découlant de la prise des mesures qu’exige l’article 35 risque de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans préavis, prendre une ordonnance provisoire avant ou après avoir donné l’avis prévu à l’article 35(3).
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que le retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance de conformité visant JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. (« JCT Capitol ») et Joseph Tukacs (« Tukacs ») aux motifs suivants risque de nuire à l’intérêt public :
 
  1. L’article 2(2) dispose que « Nulle personne ou entité ne doit avoir comme activité de faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage ou d’être dispensée de ce permis ».
  2. L’article 2(3) dispose que « Nul particulier ne doit faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario contre rémunération, directe ou indirecte, notamment à titre d’employé, à moins soit d’être titulaire d’un permis de courtier ou d’agent en hypothèques et d’agir pour le compte d’une maison de courtage d’hypothèques, soit d’être dispensé de ce permis ».
  3. Aucune dispense ne s’applique en l’espèce.
  4. M. Tukacs n’est pas titulaire et n’a jamais été titulaire d’un permis de courtier ou d’agent en hypothèques.
  5. JCT Capitol n’est pas titulaire et n’a jamais été titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage d’hypothèques.
  6. Le surintendant a reçu de l’information et des éléments de preuve indiquant que M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol se représentaient comme faisant du courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario, de la manière décrite aux paragraphes suivants.
  7. M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol font le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario par le biais du site Web jctcapitol.com.
  8. M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol font également le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario par le biais d’un autre site Web, linkedin.com. La page linkedin.com de M. Tukacs se trouve à l’adresse suivante : http://www.linkedin.com/pub/joseph-tukacs/35/459/8b9 [New Window] (anglais seulement).
  9. M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol font également le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario par le biais d’un troisième site Web, facebook.com, sur une page spéciale pour JCT Capitol Investments Ltd.
  10. Le 22 janvier 2014, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a communiqué par courriel avec M. Tukacs afin de l’aviser que la CSFO avait appris que M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol faisaient du courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario sans être titulaires des permis prévus par la Loi.
  11. Le 24 janvier 2014, M. Tukacs a répondu par courriel que le site Web, ainsi que les pages facebook.com et linkedin.com, étant visés seraient mis à jour dans une période de 30 jours de sorte à préciser que lui-même et JCT Capitol font affaires uniquement par l’entremise de maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, de courtiers et d’agents titulaires de permis. Au 5 mars 2014, ces changements n’avaient pas été faits et aucune mesure n’avait été prise pour retirer les déclarations ou les annonces sur le site Web et les autres pages Web qui constituent des activités de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario ou par le biais desquels M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol se représentaient comme faisant du courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario au sens de la Loi. 
  12. Par conséquent, le surintendant a des motifs raisonnables de croire que M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol font du courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario sans être titulaires de permis aux termes de la Loi.
  13. La Loi dispose ce qui suit : « […] fait le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario, la personne ou l’entité qui se livre à l’une ou l’autre des activités suivantes en Ontario ou qui se présente comme telle » .
  • La sollicitation d’une autre personne ou entité pour qu’elle contracte des emprunts d’argent ou consente des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles.
  • La fourniture de renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel.
  • L’évaluation d’un emprunteur potentiel pour le compte d’un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel.
  • La négociation d’hypothèques ou la prise des dispositions nécessaires à leur égard, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité.
  1. Par conséquent, compte tenu de l’information et des éléments de preuve susmentionnés, le surintendant a également des motifs de croire que M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol font le courtage d’hypothèques sans être titulaires d’un permis et qu’ils se livrent activement à de la sollicitation. Comme les activités de M. Tukacs et JCT Capitol ne sont pas conformes au régime réglementaire établi par la Loi, elles constituent un risque pour le public.
  2. Pour les motifs qui précèdent, tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance à l’endroit de JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. et de Joseph Tukacs risque de nuire à l’intérêt public.
 
​Certains sites Web ou documents auxquels vous pouvez accéder à partir du présent site ou menant au présent site ont été mis sur pied ou sont exploités par des organismes ne faisant pas partie du gouvernement de l'Ontario ou pour le compte de tels organismes.  Ces derniers sont les seuls responsables du fonctionnement et le contenu (y compris le droit de fournir ce contenu) de leur site respectif.  Il se peut que ces sites ou documents externes n'existent pas en français.  Les liens externes fournis dans le présent site ou menant au présent site ne signifient pas que le gouvernement de l'Ontario appuie ces organismes ni qu'il garantit le contenu (y compris le droit de fournir ce contenu) de leur site respectif. 
 
 

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE

Il est ordonné à Joseph Tukacs et JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd. de :

 
  1. cesser immédiatement en Ontario de se livrer à la sollicitation de personnes ou d’entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  2. cesser immédiatement en Ontario de fournir des renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  3. cesser immédiatement en Ontario d’évaluer un emprunteur potentiel pour le compte d’un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  4. cesser immédiatement en Ontario de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  5. cesser immédiatement en Ontario d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque;
  6. cesser immédiatement de se représenter comme étant autorisés à faire du courtage d’hypothèques, ce qui comprend la désactivation du site Web jctcapitol.com et des pages facebook.com et linkedin.com décrites précédemment, ou la modification de ces pages de manière à les rendre conformes à la Loi;
  7. ne pas communiquer avec leurs clients actuels pour des fins reliées au courtage d’hypothèques, aux opérations hypothécaires, à des prêts hypothécaires ou à l’administration d’hypothèques ou de se livrer à toute activité de courtage hypothécaire, sauf dans le but exprès de transférer des dossiers et des clients à un courtier, un agent ou une maison de courtage d’hypothèques titulaire d’un permis.
L’ordonnance provisoire prend effet immédiatement et demeurera en vigueur jusqu’à l’expiration du délai imparti pour demander une audience sur l’intention du surintendant de rendre une ordonnance permanente; ou, si, avant l’expiration de ce délai, le surintendant n’a pas donné à la personne ou à l’entité un avis de son intention de prendre l’ordonnance permanente, l’ordonnance provisoire expire après 21 jours suivant la date de la présente ordonnance provisoire.
 
Conformément aux articles 48(4) et 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, est coupable d’une infraction quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la présente Loi, et le particulier qui est déclaré coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $ et d’un emprisonnement maximal d’un an, ou d’une seule de ces peines. La société qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.
 
En vertu de l’article 48(5) de la Loi, le dirigeant ou l’administrateur d’une société ayant commis une infraction à la présente Loi qui a ordonné ou autorisé l’infraction, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.
 
En vertu de l’article 48(6), sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la présente Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.
 
 
FAIT à Toronto (Ontario), le 7 mars 2014.
 
 
Original signé par « Philip Howell »                                               
 
 
Philip Howell
Surintendant des services financiers
 
 
À L’INTENTION DE :   

Joseph Tukacs

157 Magnificent Way

Binbrook (Ontario) L0R 1C0

 
ET DE :      

Joseph Tukacs

3 rue Seneca

Cayuga (Ontario) N0A 1E0

 
ET DE :  
JCT Capitol Investment Group Ltd.

Téléphone 289-237-9006

 
ET DE :      

Rory Johnston

Avocat

Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario

5160, rue Yonge, bureau 1700
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
Téléphone : 416-590-7205
Télécopieur : 416-590-7556