Interim Compliance Order and Notice of Proposals to Impose Compliance Order and to Revoke Licence Against Armando (Dean) Artenosi and Artisan Financial Services Inc.

NOTE: This matter has been settled

 

Regarding the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the “Act”), in particular sections 2, 3, 11, 18, 19, 43, and section 10 of Ontario Regulation 409/07

 

And Regarding Armando (Dean) Artenosi and Artisan Financial Services Inc.

 

Interim Compliance Order

and

Notice of Proposals To Impose Compliance Order And To Revoke Licence

 

Interim Compliance Order

 
Subsection 35(2) of the Act provides that if, in the opinion of the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent"), a person or entity is committing any act or pursuing any course of conduct that contravenes or that does not comply with a requirement established under this Act, or has committed or pursued any course of conduct that contravenes or does not comply with a requirement established under this Act, the Superintendent may propose to order the person or entity to cease committing an act or cease pursuing a course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts as, in the Superintendent’s opinion, are necessary to remedy the situation.  Subsection 35(3) of the Act provides that where the Superintendent proposes to make such an order, he shall give written notice of the proposal to the person or entity, including reasons for the proposal.  A notice of proposal to make a compliance order is set out below.
 
Subsection 35(7) of the Act provides that, if in the Superintendent’s opinion, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making an order as a result of the steps required by section 35, the Superintendent may, without notice, make an interim order and may do so before or after giving the notice required by subsection 35(3).
 
In the Superintendent’s opinion, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making a compliance order against Armando (Dean) Artenosi and Artisan Financial Services Inc. for the following reasons:
 
  1. The Act states that “No person or entity shall carry on the business of dealing in mortgages in Ontario unless he, she or it has a brokerage licence or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence” (s. 2(2)).  No exemptions apply in this case.
  2. The Act states that no individual shall trade in mortgages for remuneration, whether direct or indirect, as an employee or otherwise, by engaging in an activity described in item 3 below, unless he or she has a mortgage broker’s or agent’s licence and is acting on behalf of a mortgage brokerage or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence (s. 2(3)).  No exemptions apply in this case.      
  3. The Act states that a person or entity is “dealing in mortgages” when he, she or it engages in the following activities, or holds themselves out as doing so:
  • Soliciting another person to borrow or lend money on the security of real property;
  • Providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender;
  • Assessing a prospective borrower on behalf of a prospective mortgage lender, whether or not this Act governs the lender;
  • Negotiating or arranging a mortgage on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting to do so.
  1. The Act states that no person or entity shall carry on the business of trading in mortgages in Ontario unless he, she or it has a brokerage licence or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence (s. 3(2)).  No exemptions apply in this case.
  2. The Act states that no individual shall trade in mortgages for remuneration, whether direct or indirect, by engaging in an activity  described in item 6 below, unless he or she has a mortgage broker’s or agent’s licence and is acting on behalf of a mortgage brokerage or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence.  No exemptions apply in this case.
  3. The Act states that a person or entity is trading in mortgages in Ontario when he, she or it engages in any of the following activities in Ontario, or holds themselves out as doing so:
  • Soliciting another person or entity to buy, sell or exchange mortgages;
  • Buying, selling or exchanging mortgages on behalf of another person or entity;
  • Buying, selling or exchanging mortgages on the person’s or entity’s own behalf.
  1. Section 11 of the Act further provides that no person or entity shall use in Ontario a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he, she or it is a mortgage brokerage unless he, she or it is licensed as a mortgage brokerage.
  2. Subsection 19(3) of the Act states that if, in the Superintendent’s opinion, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the revocation of a licence as a result of the steps required by section 21 of the Act, the Superintendent may, without notice, make an interim order suspending the licence and may do so before or after giving the notice required by subsection 21(2) of the Act.
  3. Armando (Dean) Artenosi ("Artenosi") was the director and President of Artisan Financial Services Inc. ("Artisan") until February 13, 2013.  Artenosi is licensed as a mortgage agent under the Act with the brokerage Mortgage Stream Inc.  Mortgage Stream Inc. dismissed Artenosi for cause as of February 13, 2013.  Artenosi’s licence expired on March 31, 2014.  Artenosi’s licence is now suspended by operation of the Act.
  4. Artisan was incorporated on October 23, 2001 and has its head office at 2174 Major Mackenzie Drive in Maple, Ontario.   Artisan has never been licensed under the Act.
  5. Artisan advertises its business in part through an internet site at www.artisanfinancial.ca.  The site contains statements such as:
  • Our revolutionary buyer programs work – it’s that simple.  As pioneers in the industry, we’ve been assisting families become home owners with our No Money Down, Lease-to-Own and Purchase Plus Improvements programs since 1995;
  • Unlike your local bank or broker, we get to know you and your situation and then customize a solution and refer you to a bank and or mortgage broker you need when you need it;
  • In short, Artisan provides complete representation in all negotiations regarding your property investment affairs, while carefully considering and precisely structuring a plan to ensure we best meet your personal needs and circumstances.

SI Transaction

 
  1. In the fall of 2010, an individual SI applied to Artisan for assistance in purchasing   a property located at 140 Hall Street in Richmond Hill, Ontario.  This was a townhouse that was part of a property that Artenosi was developing through another corporation for which Artenosi was director and President, Manors on Benson & Hall Inc.
  2. SI has sworn an Affidavit dated August 24, 2011, stating that SI asked Artisan/Artenosi to arrange the financing to purchase the above property.  The Affidavit states that in return for installation services provided by SI consisting of services and raw materials worth about $10,000, Artisan agreed to arrange the financing and provide the deposit on the property.
  3. A cheque dated December 5, 2010 was issued on the Bank of Montreal account of Reno Solutions Inc. ("Reno Solutions"), another corporation for which Artenosi was director and President, payable to SI in the amount of $27,135.00.  This amount was used as evidence that SI had funds to make the down payment in the application that another mortgage broker made to MCAP Service Corporation ("MCAP") (a licensed brokerage under the Act) for a first mortgage to finance the purchase of the property.
  4. SI signed an Acknowledgement and Indemnity to Artisan stating that in consideration of the “agent’s” agreement to act on behalf of the client in connection with the arrangement of mortgage financing to facilitate the purchase of a residence known at 140 Hall Street in Richmond Hill, certain matters were acknowledged and agreed upon.
  5. On December 2, 2010, MCAP approved the advance of funds in the amount of $566,396.65, the basic loan amount of $549,100.00 plus CHMC premium of $17,296.65. 
  6. The sale transaction closed but SI subsequently defaulted on the mortgage payments.  MCAP foreclosed on the property but was unable to collect anything from SI because SI had declared bankruptcy.
  7. While Artenosi was licensed as a mortgage agent under the Act, he was licensed as an agent on behalf of the licensed brokerage Mortgage Stream Inc., not Artisan.

DG & KG Transaction

 
  1. In September 2009, DG and KG responded to an advertisement by Artisan in a Hamilton, Ontario newspaper.  With the assistance of Artisan/Artenosi, DG and KG purchased a property at 112 Corman Avenue in Stoney Creek, Ontario.
  2. The arrangement agreed upon was that DG and KG signed over a promissory note to Artisan in the amount of $6,300 payable on December 18, 2009, in return for Artisan providing the necessary administrative services and advice to obtain mortgage financing and develop an overall financial plan.  This arrangement was described as a Consulting Agreement and was signed on November 16, 2009.
  3. While Artenosi was licensed as a mortgage agent under the Act, he was licensed as an agent on behalf of the licensed brokerage Mortgage Stream Inc., not Artisan.

Compliance

  1. The Financial Services Commission of Ontario ("FSCO") has sent letters to Artisan and Artenosi on January 16, 2013 and February 13, 2013, advising that Artisan is carrying on business without a licence under the Act and stating that all references to soliciting borrowers and dealing or trading in mortgages must be removed from Artisan’s web site within 10 and then 5 days.
  2. Artisan’s web site continues to show the representations referenced in paragraph 10 above.
  3. For all of the above reasons, the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) is of the opinion that a delay in the issuance of a compliance order and a delay in the issuance of an order revoking Artenosi’s mortgage agent licence may adversely affect the public interest.

Interim Order

 
It is ordered that Armando (Dean) Artenosi and Artisan Financial Services Inc.:
 
  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow money on the security of real property in Ontario or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding himself or itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease using a description that could or will be seen or heard by the public that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he or it is a mortgage brokerage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  6. Immediately cease advertising as a mortgage brokerage or as associated with a mortgage brokerage, or the business of dealing in mortgages in Ontario.
This Interim Order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until the expiry of the period for requesting a hearing about the Superintendent’s Notice of Proposal (15 days after the Notice is received, or deemed to have been received).  If a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal ("Tribunal") is requested, the Superintendent may extend the Interim Order until the proposal is finally determined.
 
Pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.
 
Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.
 
Subsection 48(6) of the Act provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.
 
 

Notice Of Proposals To Impose Compliance Order And To Revoke Licence

 
Take notice that pursuant to section 35 of the Act, the Superintendent is proposing to order Armando (Dean) Artenosi and Artisan Financial Services Inc. to:
 
  1. Cease soliciting person or entities to borrow money on the security of real property in Ontario or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  2. Cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding himself or itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity or holding himself or itself out as doing so;
  4. Cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Cease using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that he or it is a mortgage brokerage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  6. Cease advertising as a mortgage brokerage in Ontario or as associated with a mortgage brokerage in Ontario.
 
And take notice that pursuant to section 19 of the Act, the Superintendent is proposing to revoke the mortgage agent licence #M08008964 of Armando (Dean) Artenosi.
 
The reasons for these proposals will be served with this Notice.
 
And take notice that pursuant to subsection 35(4) of the act, a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal may be requested within 15 days after this Notice is received, or deemed to have been received.  The request for a hearing shall be in writing (Form 1, Request for Hearing, sent to you along with this Notice) and shall be mailed or delivered
 
To:                        
Financial Services Tribunal                       
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor, Box 85                                                         
Toronto, ON   M2N 6L9
Attention:  Registrar
Fax:  416-226-7750
 
 
And to:      
Superintendent of Financial Services                                                        
c/o Regulatory Discipline Officer
Licensing and Market Conduct Division
5160 Yonge Street, Box 85
Toronto, ON   M2N 6L9
 
If you do not request a hearing or do not make the request in accordance with subsection 35(4), subsection 35(6) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may carry out the proposal to issue the orders.
 
If you request a hearing, subsection 35(5) of the Act provides that the Tribunal may, by order, direct the Superintendent to carry out the proposal, with or without changes, or substitute its opinion for that of the Superintendent and the Tribunal may impose such conditions as it considers appropriate in the circumstances.
 
At the hearing, your good character, propriety of conduct, or competence may be in issue.
 
The hearing before the Tribunal will proceed in accordance with the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Tribunal made under the authority of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.S.22.  The Rules of Practice and Procedure are available at the website of the Tribunal:  www.fstontario.ca [New Window].  Alternatively, a copy can be obtained by telephoning the Registrar of the Tribunal at 416.590.7294, or toll free at 1.800.668.0128 ext. 7294.
 
You may be furnished with further or other particulars in respect of any matter herein or in respect of any other matter, including further grounds to issue a compliance and/or revocation order.
 
 
Dated at Toronto, Ontario March 28, 2014.
 
 
Original signed by by "Michael Doi", Acting Superintendent

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire et Avis d'intention d'imposer une ordonnance de conformité et de révoquer le permis visant Armando (Dean) Artenosi et à Artisan Financial Services Inc.

Note : L’affaire a été réglée

 

Relativement à la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L.O. 2006, ch. 29 (ci-après appelée la « Loi »), en particulier les articles 2, 3, 11, 18, 19 et 43, et l’article 10 du Règlement de l’Ontario 409/07

 

Et relativement à Armando (Dean) Artenosi et à Artisan Financial Services Inc.

 

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire

et

Avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité et de révoquer le permis

 

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire

 
Le paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant »), une personne ou une entité commet un acte ou suit une ligne de conduite qui contrevient à une exigence établie en application de la Loi ou qui ne l’observe pas, ou a commis un acte ou suivi une ligne de conduite qui contrevient à une exigence établie en application de la présente Loi ou qui ne l’observe pas, le surintendant peut manifester son intention d’ordonner à la personne ou à l’entité de cesser de commettre l’acte ou de suivre la ligne de conduite qu’il précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, à son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. Conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la présente Loi, le surintendant donne un avis écrit motivé de son intention à la personne ou à l’entité. L’avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité est exposé ci-dessous.
 
Le paragraphe 35(7) de la Loi prévoit que, s’il est d’avis que tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance découlant de la prise des mesures qu’exige l’article 35 risque de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans préavis, prendre une ordonnance provisoire avant ou après avoir donné l’avis prévu au paragraphe 35(3).
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que le retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance de conformité visant Armando (Dean) Artenosi et Artisan Financial Services Inc. aux motifs suivants risque de nuire à l’intérêt public :
 
  1. La Loi porte que « Nulle personne ou entité ne doit avoir comme activité de faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage ou d’être dispensée de ce permis » [par. 2(2)]. Aucune dispense ne s’applique en l’espèce.
  2. La Loi porte également que « Nul particulier ne doit faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario contre rémunération, directe ou indirecte, notamment à titre d’employé, à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de courtier ou d’agent en hypothèques et d’agir pour le compte d’une maison de courtage d’hypothèques, soit d’être dispensé de ce permis » [par. 2(3)]. Aucune dispense ne s’applique en l’espèce.     
  3. La Loi dispose qu’une personne ou entité « fait le courtage d’hypothèques » lorsqu’elle se livre à l’une ou l’autre des activités suivantes ou se présente comme telle :
  • La sollicitation d’une autre personne ou entité pour qu’elle contracte des emprunts d’argent ou consente des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles;
  • La fourniture de renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel;
  • L’évaluation d’un emprunteur potentiel pour le compte d’un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel, que la présente loi régisse ou non le prêteur;
  • La négociation d’hypothèques ou la prise des dispositions nécessaires à leur égard, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, ou la tentative de ce faire.
  1. La Loi dispose que « Nulle personne ou entité ne doit avoir comme activité d’effectuer des opérations hypothécaires en Ontario à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage ou d’être dispensée de ce permis » [par. 3(2)]. Aucune dispense ne s’applique en l’espèce.
  2. La Loi porte que nul particulier ne doit effectuer d’opérations hypothécaires contre rémunération, directe ou indirecte, en se livrant à une activité visée à la disposition 6 ci-dessous à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de courtier ou d’agent en hypothèques et d’agir pour le compte d’une maison de courtage d’hypothèques, soit d’être dispensé de ce permis. Aucune dispense ne s’applique en l’espèce.
  3. La Loi dispose ce qui suit : « […] fait le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario, la personne ou l’entité qui se livre à l’une ou l’autre des activités suivantes en Ontario ou qui se présente comme telle » :
  • La sollicitation d’une autre personne ou entité pour qu’elle achète, vende ou échange des hypothèques;
  • L’achat, la vente ou l’échange d’hypothèques pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité;
  • L’achat, la vente ou l’échange d’hypothèques pour son propre compte.
  1. L’article 11 de la Loi porte également que nulle personne ou entité ne doit utiliser, en Ontario, une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter à croire qu’elle est courtier en hypothèques à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de courtier en hypothèques.
  2. Le paragraphe 19(3) de la Loi prévoit que si le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la révocation d’un permis découlant de la prise des mesures qu’exige l’article 21 risque de nuire à l’intérêt public, il peut, sans préavis, prendre une ordonnance provisoire qui suspend le permis avant ou après avoir donné l’avis qu’exige le paragraphe 21(2).
  3. Armando (Dean) Artenosi (« M. Artenosi ») était le directeur et président d’Artisan Financial Services Inc. (« Artisan ») jusqu’au 13 février 2013. M. Artenosi est titulaire d’un permis d’agent en hypothèques sous le régime de la Loi chez la maison de courtage Mortgage Stream Inc. Mortgage Stream Inc. a licencié M. Artenosi pour motif valable le 13 février 2013. Le permis de M. Artenosi a expiré le 31 mars 2014; son permis est actuellement suspendu par application de la Loi.
  4. Artisan a été constitué en société le 23 octobre 2001 et son le siège social est situé au 2174, promenade Major Mackenzie à Maple, en Ontario. Un permis n’a jamais été délivré à Artisan sous le régime de la Loi.
  5. Artisan fait en partie de la publicité pour ses services sur son site Web, www.artisanfinancial.ca, qui renferme des déclarations comme les suivantes :
  • Nos programmes ciblés pour consommateurs produisent des résultats – c’est aussi simple que cela. Pionniers de l’industrie, nous aidons les familles à accéder à la propriété grâce à nos programmes Sans mise de fonds, Location-achat, et Achat et rénovations depuis 1995.
  • À l’opposé de votre banque ou de votre courtier, nous apprenons à vous connaître ainsi que votre situation financière. Nous vous proposons ensuite une solution personnalisée, puis nous vous recommandons une banque ou un courtier en hypothèques qui saura répondre à vos besoins lorsque vous en avez besoin.
  • Bref, Artisan vous offre un service de représentation complet dans toutes les négociations concernant vos affaires de placement immobilier et élabore un plan structuré et judicieux en fonction de votre situation et de vos besoins personnels.

Opération mettant en cause SI

 
  1. À l’automne 2010, un dénommé SI a présenté une demande à Artisan pour obtenir de l’aide pour acheter une maison située au 140, rue Hall à Richmond Hill, en Ontario. Il s’agissait d’une maison en rangée dans un complexe qu’aménageait M. Artenosi  sous une autre société, où il était aussi directeur et président, Manors on Benson & Hall Inc.
  2. Le 24 août 2011, SI a déclaré sous serment qu’il avait demandé à Artisan- Artenosi de prendre des dispositions pour financer l’achat de la maison mentionnée ci-dessus. Il a déclaré dans son affidavit qu’en contrepartie des services d’installation qu’il fournirait, notamment des services et des matières brutes d’une valeur d’environ 10 000 $, Artisan s’engageait à voir au financement et verserait le dépôt pour l’achat de la maison.
  3. Un chèque daté du 5 décembre 2010 a été tiré sur le compte à la Banque de Montréal de Reno Solutions Inc. (« Reno Solutions »), une autre entreprise où M. Artenosi exerçait les fonctions de directeur et président, fait à l’ordre de SI d'une somme de 27 135 $. Cette somme servirait de preuve à SI qu’il avait les fonds requis pour le versement initial dans la demande qu’un autre courtier en hypothèques a présentée à la société de service MCAP (« MCAP ») (maison de courtage autorisée en vertu de la Loi) pour obtenir une première hypothèque afin de financer l’achat de la maison.
  4. SI a signé une attestation et convention d’indemnisation à l’endroit d’Artisan, affirmant que l’agent avait consenti d’agir en son nom relativement aux dispositions de financement hypothécaire pour l’achat de la résidence située au 140, rue Hall à Richmond Hill et que les deux parties s’étaient entendues à propos de certaines affaires.
  5. Le 2 décembre 2010, MCAP a approuvé une avance de fonds de 566 396,65 $, soit le montant du prêt de 549 100 $ en plus de la prime de 17 296,65 $ de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL). 
  6. La vente a été conclue, mais SI a par la suite fait défaut des paiements hypothécaires. MCAP a saisi la maison, mais n’a pas reçu d’argent de SI car il avait déclaré faillite.
  7. Bien que M. Artenosi soit titulaire d'un permis d’agent en hypothèques sous le régime de la Loi, son permis lui avait été délivré à titre d’agent chez la maison de courtage Mortgage Stream Inc. et non Artisan.

Opération mettant en cause DG et KG

 
  1. En septembre 2009, DG et KG ont répondu à une annonce qu’avait fait paraître Artisan dans un quotidien à Hamilton, en Ontario. Avec l’aide d’Artisan-Artenosi, DG et KG ont acheté une maison située au 112, avenue Corman à Stoney Creek, en Ontario.
  2. Selon l’entente conclue, DG et KG s’engageaient à signer un billet de 6 300 $ à l’ordre d’Artisan payable le 18 décembre 2009, en contrepartie duquel Artisan leur fournirait les services administratifs et les conseils nécessaires pour obtenir un financement hypothécaire et élaborer un plan financier général. Ces dispositions étaient décrites comme une convention de consultation, qui a été signée le 16 novembre 2009.
  3. Bien que M. Artenosi soit titulaire d'un permis d’agent en hypothèques sous le régime de la Loi, son permis lui avait été délivré à titre d’agent chez la maison de courtage Mortgage Stream Inc. et non Artisan.

Conformité

 

  1. La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (« CSFO ») a envoyé des lettres à Artisan et à M. Artenosi à deux reprises le 16 janvier et le 13 février 2013 pour aviser Artisan qu’elle exerçait des activités sans être titulaire d’un permis en vertu de la Loi et qu’elle devait supprimer de son site Web toute sollicitation d’emprunteurs potentiels et toute mention d’activités de courtage d’hypothèques ou d’opérations hypothécaires dans les dix jours suivants, puis dans les cinq jours.
  2. Le site Web d’Artisan renferme toujours les déclarations mentionnées au paragraphe 10 ci-dessus.
  3. Pour toutes les raisons susmentionnées, le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance de conformité et dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance révoquant le permis d’agent en hypothèques de M. Artenosi risque de nuire à l’intérêt public.

Ordonnance provisoire

 
Il est ordonné à Armando (Dean) Artenosi et à Artisan Financial Services Inc. de :
 
  1. cesser immédiatement de se livrer à la sollicitation de personnes ou d’entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles en Ontario ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  2. cesser immédiatement de fournir des renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  3. cesser immédiatement de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  4. cesser immédiatement d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  5. cesser immédiatement d’utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter le public à croire qu’ils sont courtiers en hypothèques, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  6. cesser immédiatement de faire de la publicité en qualité de maison de courtage d’hypothèques ou d’associé à une maison de courtage d’hypothèques ou de courtier en hypothèques en Ontario.
L’ordonnance provisoire prend effet immédiatement et demeure en vigueur jusqu’à l’expiration du délai imparti pour demander une audience sur l’avis d’intention du surintendant (15 jours après que l’avis a été reçu ou qu’il est réputé avoir été reçu). Si une audience est demandée devant le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal »), le surintendant peut prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire jusqu’à ce qu’une décision définitive soit prise à l’égard de l’intention.
 
Conformément aux paragraphes 48(4) et 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, est coupable d’une infraction quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la présente Loi, et le particulier qui est déclaré coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $ et d’un emprisonnement maximal d’un an. La société qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.
 
En vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi, le dirigeant ou l’administrateur d’une société ayant commis une infraction à la présente Loi qui a ordonné ou autorisé l’infraction, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.
 
Le paragraphe 48(6) de la Loi décrète que sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la présente Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.
 

Avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité et de révoquer le permis

 

Prenez avis que, conformément à l’article 35 de la Loi, le surintendant signifie son intention d’ordonner à Armando (Dean) Artenosi et à Artisan Financial Services Inc. de :
 
  1. cesser de se livrer à la sollicitation de personnes ou d’entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles en Ontario ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  2. cesser de fournir des renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  3. cesser de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité ou de se représenter comme exerçant cette activité;
  4. cesser d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  5. cesser d’utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter le public à croire qu’ils sont courtiers en hypothèques, relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  6. cesser de faire de la publicité en qualité de maison de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario ou d’associé à une maison de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario.
 
Et prenez avis que, conformément à l’article 19 de la Loi, le surintendant signifie son intention de révoquer le permis d’agent en hypothèques no M08008964 d’Armando (Dean) Artenosi.
 
Les motifs des présentes intentions seront signifiés conjointement avec le présent avis.
 
Et prenez avis que, conformément au paragraphe 35(4) de la Loi, une audience devant le Tribunal peut être demandée dans les 15 jours qui suivent la réception de l’avis ou qu’il est réputé avoir été reçu. La demande d’audience doit être présentée par écrit (formulaire 1, Demande d’audience, jointe au présent avis) et doit être postée ou livrée
 
Au :                        
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage, boîte 85
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
 
À l’attention du greffier
télécopieur : 416-226-7750
 
 
Et au :      
Surintendant des services financiers
a/s Agent des mesures disciplinaires réglementaires
Division de la délivrance des permis de l’industrie
et de la surveillance des pratiques
5160, rue Yonge, boîte 85
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
 
En l’absence de demande d’audience ou de demande conforme aux dispositions du paragraphe 35(4), le paragraphe 35(6) de la Loi autorise le surintendant à donner suite à son intention de rendre les ordonnances.
 
Lorsqu’une audience est demandée, le paragraphe 35(5) de la Loi prévoit que le Tribunal peut ordonner au surintendant de donner suite à son intention, avec ou sans modification, ou substituer son opinion à la sienne, et il peut imposer les conditions qu’il estime appropriées dans les circonstances.
 
À l’audience, votre réputation, votre bonne conduite ou votre compétence peuvent être mises en cause.
 
L’audience devant le Tribunal se déroulera selon les Règles des audiences du Tribunal, adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.22. Les Règles des audiences sont consultables sur le site Web du Tribunal : www.fstontario.ca [New Window]. On peut également en obtenir un exemplaire en téléphonant au greffe du Tribunal au 416-226-7294 ou, sans frais, au 1-800-668-0128, poste 7294.
 
Vous pouvez recevoir des renseignements complémentaires concernant toute affaire dont il est question aux présentes ou toute autre affaire, y compris les autres motifs de rendre une ordonnance de conformité ou de révocation.
 
 
Fait à Toronto (Ontario), le 28 mars 2014.
 
 
Original signé par
Michael Doi                                                                                                                           
Surintendant intérimaire des services financiers