Interim Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity and Notice Of Proposal to Impose Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Spartan Financial

Regarding the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29, in particular sections 2, 21 and 35.
 
And Regarding Spartan Financial Inc.

Interim Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 

And


Notice Of Proposal To Impose Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 

To: Spartan Financial Inc.

Subsection 35(2) of the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 (the "Act") provides that the Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") may order a person or entity to cease committing an act or cease pursuing a course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts as, in the Superintendent's opinion, are necessary to remedy the situation. 

Subsection 35(3) of the Act provides that where the Superintendent proposes to make a compliance order, the Superintendent shall give written notice of the proposal to the licensee, including the reasons for the proposal.

Subsection 35(7) of the Act provides that, if in the Superintendent's opinion, the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making an order as a result of the steps required by section 35, the Superintendent may, without notice, make an interim order and may do so before or after giving the notice required by subsection 35(3).

Interim Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity

 
It is ordered that that pursuant to sections 2, 11 and 35 of the Act, and for the reasons described below, Spartan Financial Inc.:

 

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding itself out as doing so, including the deactivation of the website http://spartanfinancial.ca and other internet or social media content including but not limited to content on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube; and
  2. Immediately cease otherwise dealing in mortgages as defined in section 2(1) of the Act.

Take notice that this Interim Order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until the expiry of the period for requesting a hearing in respect of the Superintendent's Notice of Proposal set out below.

And take notice that pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an actor omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.
 

Notice Of Proposal To Impose Compliance Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity


Take notice that pursuant to sections 2, 11 and 35 of the Act and for the reasons described below, the Superintendent is proposing to order Spartan Financial Inc.:
 

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding itself out as doing so, including the deactivation of the website http://spartanfinancial.ca and other internet or social media content including but not limited to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube; and
  2. Immediately cease otherwise dealing in mortgages as defined in section 2(1) of the Act.

And take notice that pursuant to subsection 35(3) of the Act, a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal about this proposal may be requested by completing the enclosed Request for Hearing (Form 1) and submitting it to the Tribunal within 15 days after the Notice is received. A copy of that form is included with this notice. Additional copies can be obtained by visiting the Tribunal's website at www.fstontario.ca [New Window].  

If a written request for a hearing is made within 15 days, subsections 35(4) and 35(5) of the Act provide that the Tribunal shall hold a hearing and decide whether or not to direct the Superintendent to carry out this proposal, with or without changes, or substitute its opinion for that of the Superintendent, and the Tribunal may impose such conditions as it considers appropriate in the circumstances. If a hearing before the Tribunal is requested, the Superintendent may extend the interim compliance order until the proposal is finally determined.

If no written request for a hearing is made within 15 days after this Notice is received, take notice that the Superintendent will carry out the proposal to make the compliance order as set out above. 

Completed Request for Hearing Forms must be received by the Tribunal within 15 days after this notice is given. They may be mailed, faxed or delivered: 

To:             

 

Financial Services Tribunal

5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9

Attention: Registrar                                        

Fax: 416-226-7750

And To:      

 

Superintendent of Financial Services 

Regulatory Discipline Officer

Licensing and Market Conduct Division

5160 Yonge Street
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9                                     

Fax: 416-590-7070


The hearing before the Tribunal will proceed in accordance with the Rules of Practice and Procedure for Proceedings before the Financial Services Tribunal made under the authority of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S. 22. Those Rules are available at the website of the Tribunal: www.fstontario.ca [New Window]. Alternatively, a copy can be obtained by telephoning the Registrar of the Tribunal at 416-590-7294, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128 ext. 7294.

At a hearing, the character, conduct and/or competence of the officers and directors of Spartan Financial Inc. may be in issue. You may be furnished with further and or other particulars, including further or other grounds, to support this proposal.

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre et avis en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, boîte 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.


Reasons For Interim Compliance Order and Proposal For Permanent Compliance Order

Unlicensed Activity

 

  1. Section 2(2) of the Act prohibits any person or entity from carrying on the business of dealing in mortgages in Ontario unless he, she or it has a brokerage licence or is exempted from the requirement to have such a licence.  No exemptions apply in this case.
  2. Section 2(1) of the Act defines "dealing in mortgages" as engaging in any of the following activities or holding oneself out as doing so:
    1. Soliciting another person or entity to borrow or lend money on the security of real property;
    2. Providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender; 
    3. Negotiating or arranging a mortgage on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting to do so.
  1. Section 11(1) of the Act states that "[n]o person or entity shall use in Ontario the title of 'mortgage brokerage' … unless he, she or it is licensed as a mortgage brokerage."  

Background

  1. Spartan Financial Inc. ("Spartan") is a corporation incorporated in Ontario with its registered office in Barrie, Ontario.  Spartan is not licensed as a mortgage brokerage under the Act.
  2. Michael Parker is the Chief Operating Officer and a Director of Spartan.  Mr. Parker is also a licensed mortgage broker (Licence # M10002235).  Mr. Parker is authorized to deal and trade in mortgages on behalf of Turnbull Financial Inc. (carrying on business under the trade name The Mortgage Centre) a mortgage brokerage licensed under the Act (Licence # 12569). 

Spartan Website

  1. A website exists under the name "spartanfinancial.ca" which displays the Spartan name and emblem on each page of the website (the "Spartan Website").  The Spartan Website also displays the Mortgage Centre's name on each page of the website immediately next to the Spartan name and emblem.  The homepage of the Spartan Website describes Spartan's aim to "help our clients increase their net worth, through responsible mortgage lending, consumer debt elimination, and strategic investing." 
  2. The section of the Spartan Website entitled "Disclosure" states that Spartan "itself, is not a licensed Mortgage Brokerage" but is described as "an introductory source of various real estate investments and financing options". 
  3. Mr. Parker is identified as the contact person for Spartan in the disclosure section of the Spartan Website.  Elsewhere on the Spartan Website, Mr. Parker's phone number and e-mail address are identified as the contact for Spartan.   
  4. The Spartan Website is aimed at soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property.   Specifically, the content on the Spartan Website as captured during the period October 21 to 26, 2015 which constitutes solicitation under the Act includes the following:
    1. The Spartan Website features a tab labelled "Mortgage Lending" that contains content identified as "introductory information on the wide array of mortgage financing options we have access to."  This content is separated according to categories labelled "BUYING PROPERTY", "REFINANCING", "RENEW" and "OTHER SOLUTIONS".  Under each of the categories, in turn, there is detailed promotional information designed to encourage or induce a person to  borrow money under a mortgage;
    2. The Spartan Website also features a tab labelled "Reverse Mortgage" that contains content describing the "CHIP Home Income Plan". This plan is advertised as "the simple and sensible way to turn up to 50% of the value that is locked up in your home into tax-free cash you can use today." The content includes two videos, one that describes reverse mortgages and a second that examines myths and facts about reverse mortgages. 
    3. The tab labelled "Investing" on the Spartan Website encourages viewers of the website to "speak with us rather than going directly to the product issuer." This section of the Spartan Website notes that Spartan Financial Inc. is a mortgage brokerage. 
    4. The Spartan Website has a search function. A search of the word "syndicate" yields two results within the Spartan Website. The first result, entitled "Syndicated Mortgage Investments", brings the user to a section of the Spartan Website dedicated to syndicated mortgages. It describes what a syndicated mortgage is, that they are registered funds eligible and explains that each lender has his or her principal registered on title.  This "investment option" is branded as having certain specific, listed traits: 
      1. Pays 8% interest per year for standard 3 year term RSP, RESP, TFSA, RIF, LIRA, LIF and of course CASH eligible
      2. Is secured by a mortgage registered against real estate in your name
      3. Additional profit participation 10-14% (estimated – calculated on amount invested) on 3 year terms or longer
    5. The viewer is invited to learn more about this opportunity and a link provides the contact information for Mr. Parker.

      The second search result is entitled "Investments". The link takes the viewer to a section of the Spartan Website that encourages the viewer to consider alternative investment strategies beyond stocks, bonds, mutual funds and GICs. The viewer is told that Spartan can consult on how to "use your RRSP, RESP, LIRA, TFSA and other registered savings accounts to invest in one of the most reliable and secure investments available to you." This page then describes three "Investment Products". The first product is called "Syndicated Mortgage Investments – Development Projects" and offers yields averaging 12% per year on minimum investments of $25,000. Product two is called "Private Mortgage Lending – Consumer Mortgages", which offers yields between 8-12% per year on minimum $10,000 investments. The third product is labelled "Equity Based Real Estate Investment – Development Projects". Yields for this product area are noted to "typically start at 14% per year" with minimum investments of either $50,000 for accredited investors and $150,000 for non-accredited investors. All three products are described as "registered funds eligible."

Previous Warning Regarding the Spartan Website

  1. Mr. Parker had been previously warned about ensuring that the Spartan Website is compliant with the Act. On May 26, 2014, FSCO alerted Royden Deeks, the principal broker for whom Mr. Parker worked, that two websites operated by Mr. Parker were not in compliance with FSCO regulations and the Act. These websites were "spartanfinancial.ca" a previous incarnation of the current website with the same name, and "rsprockstar.ca". These website featured promotional material designed to solicit persons or entities to borrow and lend money on the security of real property. 
  2. Mr. Deeks conveyed FSCO's warnings to Mr. Parker on or about May 26, 2014 or May 27, 2014. On May 27, 2014, after being alerted to the website's non-compliance with the Act, Mr. Parker confirmed to Mr. Deeks in an email that he had removed all content from both websites. In his email to Mr. Deeks, Mr. Parker promised not to publish any content on his websites until he had reviewed the deficiencies with Mr. Deeks and that his objective was to "meet or exceed FSCO requirements."
  3. Since May 27, 2014, "spartanfinancial.ca" has been reincarnated in its current form. Despite Mr. Parker's awareness of the deficiencies in his first websites and his stated desire to adhere to FSCO's requirements, the second version of the Spartan Website fails to meet these standards as it solicits persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property as outlined above. 

Unlicensed Activity

  1. On the basis of the above information and evidence, the Superintendent has grounds to believe that Spartan is dealing in mortgages in Ontario without being licensed under the Act.  In particular, the Spartan Website contains content which constitutes the solicitation of another person to borrow and lend on the security of real property.
  2. The Spartan Website also identifies Spartan as mortgage brokerage contrary to section 11(1).
  3. Section 35(7) of the Act provides that, if in the Superintendent's opinion the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making a permanent compliance order as result of the steps required by section 35, the Superintendent may, without notice, make an interim order and may do so before or after giving the notice of his proposal to issue a permanent compliance order under section 35(3).
  4. The Superintendent is of the opinion that "the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making an order" and, therefore, the issuance of the interim compliance order is necessary. The Spartan Website is still active and contains the content outlined above.  This content alone constitutes solicitation contrary to the Act.  Spartan is unlicensed.  Spartans activities, including its solicitation activities through its promotional web based material, are not otherwise subject to the requirements of the Act or oversight by the Superintendent.
  5. Accordingly, the interest of the public will be affected by any delay in making a compliance order. The criteria for issuance of an interim compliance order has, therefore, been met.
  6. For all of the reasons mentioned above and such further and other reasons as may come to my attention, the Interim Compliance Order and Notice of Proposal is hereby issued.

Dated at Toronto, Ontario, December 1, 2015.

 

original signed by "Michael Doi", Acting Superintendent


Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis et Avis d’intention en vue d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis contre Spartan Financial Inc.

Relativement à la Loi sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, 2006, L.O. 2006, chap. 29, particulièrement les articles 2, 21 et 35.

 

Et relativement à Spartan Financial Inc.

 

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis


et


Avis d’intention en vue d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

 
À : Spartan Financial Inc.

 
Le paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques (la « Loi ») prévoit que le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») peut manifester son intention d’ordonner à la personne ou à l’entité de cesser de commettre l’acte ou de suivre la ligne de conduite qu’il précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, à son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation.
 
Le paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi prévoit qu’en cas de manifestation par le surintendant de prendre une ordonnance de conformité, le surintendant donne un avis écrit motivé de son intention à la personne ou à l’entité, qui indique les motifs de son intention.
 
Le paragraphe 35(7) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance découlant de la prise des mesures qu’exige l’article 35 risque de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans préavis, prendre une ordonnance provisoire avant ou après avoir donné avis de son intention de prendre l’ordonnance exigée par le paragraphe 35(3).

 

Ordonnance de conformité provisoire pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis

 
Il est ordonné que, conformément aux articles 2, 11 et 35 de la Loi et pour les motifs décrits ci-dessus, Spartan Financial Inc. :

 

  1. cesse immédiatement de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles en Ontario, ou de donner l’impression de le faire, notamment par la désactivation du site Web http://spartanfinancial.ca (en anglais seulement) et d’autre contenu Internet ou de médias sociaux, y compris, sans en exclure d’autres, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn et YouTube; et
  2. cesse immédiatement d’exercer toute autre activité de courtage d’hypothèques au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi.

Prenez avis que cette ordonnance provisoire entre en vigueur immédiatement et le demeurera jusqu’à l’expiration du délai imparti pour demander une audience relativement à l’avis d’intention du surintendant formulé ci-dessous.

 

Et prenez également avis que, conformément aux paragraphes 48(4) et 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la Loi est coupable d’une infraction, et le particulier reconnu coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $, d’une peine d’emprisonnement de un an au maximum, ou d’une amende et d’une peine d’emprisonnement. La société reconnue coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.
 
En vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi, les dirigeants ou administrateurs d’une société ayant perpétré une infraction au titre de la Loi et qui l’ont ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.
 
Selon les termes du paragraphe 48(6), sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la présente loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé. 

 

Avis d’intention en vue d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis


Prenez avis que, conformément aux articles 2, 11 et 35 de la Loi et pour les motifs décrits ci-dessus, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner à Spartan Financial Inc. de :
 

  1. cesser immédiatement de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles en Ontario, ou de donner l’impression de le faire, notamment par la désactivation du site Web http://spartanfinancial.ca et d’autre contenu Internet ou de médias sociaux, y compris, sans en exclure d’autres, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn et YouTube; et
  2. cesser immédiatement d’exercer toute autre activité de courtage d’hypothèques au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi.

Prenez également avis que, conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi, il est possible de demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers visant le présent avis en remplissant la Demande d’audience (formulaire 1) ci-jointe, puis en la soumettant au Tribunal dans les 15 jours qui suivent la réception de l’avis. Une copie de ce formulaire est jointe au présent avis. Pour obtenir d’autres copies, consultez le site Web du Tribunal, au www.fstontario.ca [New Window]

 

Si une demande d’audience est présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours, aux termes des paragraphes 35(4) et 35(5) de la Loi, le Tribunal tient une audience et décide s’il ordonne ou non au surintendant de donner suite à son intention, avec ou sans modification, ou de substituer son opinion à la sienne; le Tribunal peut ensuite imposer les conditions qu’il estime appropriées dans les circonstances. Si une audience est demandée devant le Tribunal, le surintendant peut prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire jusqu’à ce qu’une décision définitive soit prise à l’égard de l’intention.
 
Si aucune demande d’audience n’est présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours, prenez avis que le surintendant donnera suite à son intention de procéder à l’ordonnance de conformité telle qu’elle est formulée ci-dessus.
 
Les formulaires de demande d’audience dûment remplis doivent parvenir au Tribunal dans les 15 jours suivant la signification du présent avis. Ces formulaires peuvent être envoyés par la poste, par télécopie ou par messagerie : 

Au :             

 

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9

 

À l’attention du greffier 
Téléc. : 416 226-7750

Et au:      

 

Surintendant des services financiers
Agent des mesures disciplinaires
Division de la délivrance des permis et
de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie
5160, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9  

Téléc. : 416 590-7070

 

L’audience devant le Tribunal se déroule selon les Règles des audiences du Tribunal, adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S. 22. Ces règles figurent dans le site Web du Tribunal, au www.fstontario.ca [New Window]. Pour obtenir un exemplaire en format papier, téléphonez au greffier du Tribunal au 416 590-7294 ou, sans frais, au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294.
 
À l’audience, la réputation, la conduite et/ou la compétence des agents et des directeurs de Spartan Financial Inc. peuvent être mises en cause. Vous pouvez aussi recevoir des renseignements complémentaires et/ou d’autres précisions, y compris des motifs supplémentaires ou autres à l’appui de la présente intention.
 
If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto ON  M2N 6L9.

 

Motifs de l’ordonnance de conformité provisoire et proposition en vue d’une ordonnance permanente

Activité sans permis

 

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 2(2) de la Loi, nulle personne ou entité ne doit avoir comme activité de faire le courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage ou d’être dispensée de ce permis. Aucune exemption ne s’applique au cas présent.
  2. Au paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi, la définition de « courtage d’hypothèques »  consiste à se livrer à l’une ou l’autre des activités suivantes ou se présenter comme tel :
    1. la sollicitation d’une autre personne ou entité pour qu’elle contracte des emprunts d’argent ou consente des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles;
    2. la fourniture de renseignements concernant un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur hypothécaire potentiel; 
    3. la négociation d’hypothèques ou la prise des dispositions nécessaires à leur égard, pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, ou la tentative de ce faire.
  1. Le paragraphe 11(1) de la Loi stipule que « [n]ulle personne ou entité ne doit utiliser, en Ontario, la désignation de “maison de courtage d’hypothèques”… à moins d’être titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage d’hypothèques ».

Contexte

  1. Spartan Financial Inc. (« Spartan ») est une société par actions enregistrée en Ontario, dont le siège social est situé à Barrie (Ontario). Spartan n’est pas titulaire d’un permis de courtage d’hypothèques en vertu de la Loi.
  2. Michael Parker est le chef de l’exploitation et directeur de Spartan. M. Parker est aussi un courtier en hypothèques titulaire d’un permis (permis no M10002235). M. Parker est autorisé à effectuer des opérations hypothécaires pour le compte de Turnbull Financial Inc. (qui exerce ses activités sous le nom commercial The Mortgage Centre), une maison de courtage d’hypothèques titulaire d’un permis conformément à la Loi (permis no 12569). 

Site Web de Spartan

  1. Il existe un site Web portant le nom de « spartanfinancial.ca » qui affiche le nom et le logo de Spartan sur chacune de ses pages (le « site Web de Spartan »). Le site Web de Spartan affiche également le nom de Mortgage Centre sur chacune de ses pages, tout de suite après le nom et le logo de Spartan. La page d’accueil du site Web de Spartan décrit la volonté de Spartan d’« aider [ses] clients à accroître leur valeur nette patrimoniale grâce à des prêts hypothécaires responsables, à l’élimination de la dette à la consommation et à des placements stratégiques ». [traduction libre]
  2. La partie du site Web de Spartan intitulée « Présentation » précise que Spartan « n’est pas, elle-même, une maison de courtage d’hypothèques titulaire d’un permis », mais se décrit comme « une source d’introduction à une variété de placements immobiliers et d’options financières ». 
  3. M. Parker est présenté comme la personne-ressource de Spartan dans la section « Présentation » du site Web de Spartan. Ailleurs dans le site Web de Spartan, le numéro de téléphone et l’adresse de courriel de M. Parker sont mentionnés en tant que liaison de Spartan.   
  4. Le site Web de Spartan vise à solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles. Plus particulièrement, le contenu du site Web de Spartan tel qu’il était présenté dans la période du 21 au 26 octobre 2015, qui constitue une sollicitation aux termes de la Loi, comprend ce qui suit :
    1. le site Web de Spartan comporte un onglet nommé « Prêts hypothécaires » dans lequel le contenu est présenté comme « des renseignements de base sur une grande variété d’options de crédits hypothécaires auxquelles nous avons accès ». Ce contenu est divisé en catégories qui portent les étiquettes « ACHAT DE PROPRIÉTÉ », « REFINANCEMENT », « RENOUVELLEMENT » et « AUTRES SOLUTIONS ». Dans chacune de ces catégories se trouvent des renseignements promotionnels détaillés qui visent à encourager une personne à contracter un emprunt d’argent en vertu d’une hypothèque;
    2. le site Web de Spartan comporte également un onglet nommé « Hypothèque inversée » qui renferme un contenu qui décrit le « Revenu au titre du Programme canadien de revenu résidentiel (PCRR) ». Ce programme est annoncé comme « le moyen simple et sensé de récupérer jusqu’à 50 % des capitaux gelés dans votre propriété en un montant en espèces libre d’impôt que vous pouvez utiliser dès aujourd’hui ». Le contenu comprend deux vidéos, dont un décrit les hypothèques inversées et l’autre présente les mythes et les faits sur les hypothèques inversées; 
    3. l’onglet nommé « Placements », sur le site Web de Spartan, encourage la personne qui consulte le site Web à « parler avec [eux] au lieu de se rendre directement chez l’émetteur d’un produit ». Cette partie du site Web de Spartan mentionne que Spartan Financial Inc. est une maison de courtage d’hypothèques; 
    4. le site Web de Spartan est pourvu d’une fonction de recherche. Une recherche à l’aide du mot « consortium » nous donne deux résultats à l’intérieur du site Web de Spartan. Le premier résultat, sous le titre de « Placements hypothécaires consortiaux », entraîne l’utilisateur dans une partie du site Web de Spartan réservée aux hypothèques consortiales. Elle décrit la nature d’une hypothèque consortiale, indique qu’il s’agit de fonds enregistrés admissibles et explique que le capital de chaque prêteur est enregistré sur le titre. La désignation de cette « option de placement » comporte certains traits particuliers, qui sont énumérés : 
      1. rapporte des intérêts de 8 % par année pour des RER, REEE, CELI, RIF, CRI, FRV standard à échéance de 3 ans et, bien sûr, sur les ESPÈCES admissibles,
      2. est garantie par une hypothèque enregistrée sur un bien immeuble à votre nom,
      3. prévoit une participation de 10 à 14 % additionnelle au profit (estimée – calculée à partir du montant investi) pour des échéances de 3 ans ou plus.
    5. La personne qui visionne la vidéo est invitée à en apprendre davantage sur cette possibilité, et un hyperlien fournit les coordonnées de M. Parker.

      L’autre résultat de la recherche est intitulé « Placements ». Le lien mène la personne qui effectue la recherche vers une partie du site Web de Spartan qui l’encourage à envisager d’autres stratégies de placement que des actions, des obligations, des fonds communs de placement et des CPG. La personne se fait dire qu’elle peut consulter Spartan pour connaître la manière d’« utiliser [son] REER, REEE, CELI, FRV et d’autres comptes d’épargne enregistrés pour investir dans un des placements les plus fiables et garantis sur le marché ». Cette page décrit ensuite trois « Produits de placement ». Le premier produit, appelé « Placements hypothécaires consortiaux – projets de développement », offre des rendements moyens de 12 % par année sur des placements minimaux de 25 000 $. Le deuxième produit, appelé « Prêts hypothécaires privés – hypothèques aux consommateurs », offre des rendements moyens de 8 à 12 % par année sur ses placements minimaux de 10 000 $. Le troisième produit, appelé « Placement immobilier basé sur des rendements boursiers – projets de développement ». Il est mentionné que les rendements de ce domaine de produit « débutent habituellement à 14 % par année » avec des placements minimaux de 50 000 $ pour les investisseurs accrédités et de 150 000 $ pour les investisseurs non accrédités. Les trois produits sont présentés comme des « fonds enregistrés admissibles ».

Avertissement précédent relativement au site Web de Spartan

  1. M. Parker a déjà reçu un avertissement l’invitant à s’assurer que le site Web de Spartan était conforme à la Loi. Le 26 mai 2014, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a averti Royden Deeks, le principal courtier pour lequel travaillait M. Parker, que deux sites Web exploités par M. Parker n’étaient pas conformes à la réglementation du CSFO et de la Loi. Ces sites Web étaient « spartanfinancial.ca », une première incarnation du site Web actuel qui porte le même nom, et « rsprockstar.ca ». Ces sites Web affichaient du matériel promotionnel conçu pour solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles. 
  2. M. Deeks a transmis les avertissements de la CSFO à M. Parker le ou vers le 26 mai 2014 ou le 27 mai 2014. Le 27 mai 2014, après avoir été averti de la non conformité à la Loi du site Web, M. Parker a confirmé à M. Deeks, par courriel, qu’il avait retiré tout le contenu des deux sites Web. Dans son courriel à M. Deeks, M. Parker promettait de ne publier aucun contenu sur ses sites Web avant d’avoir vérifié les irrégularités auprès de M. Deeks et indiquait que son objectif était de « satisfaire ou dépasser les exigences de la CSFO ».
  3. Depuis le 27 mai 2014, le site Web « spartanfinancial.ca » s’est réincarné sous sa forme actuelle. Malgré la sensibilisation de M. Parker aux irrégularités de ses premiers sites Web et sa volonté exprimée de respecter les exigences de la CSFO, la seconde version du site Web de Spartan ne satisfait pas à ces normes puisqu’elle sollicite des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles, comme mentionné plus haut. 

Activité sans permis

  1. Compte tenu des renseignements et des preuves qui précèdent, le surintendant a des raisons de croire que Spartan exerce des activités de courtage d’hypothèques en Ontario sans être titulaire d’un permis en vertu de la Loi. Particulièrement, le site Web de Spartan affiche du contenu qui constitue une sollicitation auprès d’autres personnes pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles.
  2. Le site Web de Spartan présente également Spartan en tant que maison de courtage d’hypothèques, ce qui contrevient au paragraphe 11(1) de la Loi.
  3. Le paragraphe 35(7) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance découlant de la prise des mesures qu’exige l’article 35 risque de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans préavis, prendre une ordonnance provisoire avant ou après avoir donné avis de son intention de prendre l’ordonnance exigée par le paragraphe 35(3).
  4. Le surintendant est d’avis que « tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance risque de nuire à l’intérêt public » et que, par conséquent, la prise d’une ordonnance de conformité provisoire est nécessaire. Le site Web de Spartan est toujours actif et renferme le contenu mentionné précédemment. Ce contenu constitue à lui seul une sollicitation contraire à la Loi. Spartan n’est pas titulaire d’un permis. Les activités de Spartan, y compris ses activités de sollicitation par le biais du matériel promotionnel de son site Web, ne sont pas, par ailleurs, sujettes aux exigences de la Loi ou à une supervision par le surintendant.
  5. Par conséquent, tout retard dans le prononcé d’une ordonnance risque de nuire à l’intérêt public. Les critères d’imposition d’une ordonnance de conformité provisoire sont ainsi satisfaits.
  6. Pour tous les motifs invoqués précédemment, de même que ceux qui pourraient être portés à mon attention, l’ordonnance de conformité provisoire et l’avis d’intention sont par les présentes pris.

Fait à Toronto (Ontario), le 1er décembre 2015.


 

Document original signé par « Michael Doi », surintendant intérimaire


Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers