Order Amending the Compliance Order of January 14, 2019 Against TD General Insurance Company

REGARDING the Automobile Insurance Rate Stabilization Act, 2003, S.O. 2003, c. 9, as amended, in particular section 11

 

AND REGARDING TD General Insurance Company

 

ORDER AMENDING THE COMPLIANCE ORDER OF JANUARY 14, 2019

 

TO:

TD General Insurance Company
320 Front Street West, 3rd Floor
Toronto ON  M5V 3B6

 

Subsection 11(1) of the Automobile Insurance Rate Stabilization Act, 2003, S.O. 2003, c. 9 (the “Act”) provides that if, in the opinion of the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”), an insurer is committing any act or pursuing a course of conduct that is a contravention of the Act or that might reasonably be expected to result in a situation that would constitute a contravention of the Act, the Superintendent may, without giving prior notice, make an order to take effect immediately on its making,

 

(a) requiring the insurer to cease doing or to refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent;

 

(b) requiring the insurer to perform any act that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, is necessary to remedy the situation, including requiring an insurer to reimburse an insured in respect of any excess premium paid by the insured to the insurer by reason of the insurer’s contravention of the Act; or

 

(c) suspending or cancelling the insurer’s licence under the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8 (the “Insurance Act”).

 

Subsection 11(2) of the Act provides that at the request of an insurer that is the subject of an order under section 11 of the Act, the Superintendent shall, after giving the insurer an opportunity to make written submissions, reconsider the order. Subsection 11(3) of the Act provides that after reconsidering an order under section 11 of the Act, the Superintendent shall confirm, modify or revoke the order. Subsection 11(4) of the Act provides that an order under section 11 of the Act may be reconsidered at the request of the insurer only once and, subject to the decision of the Superintendent after a reconsideration under subsection 11(2) of the Act, is final for all purposes.

 

The Superintendent issued an Order to TD General Insurance Company on January 14, 2019 (the “Order”), as it is the opinion of the Superintendent that TD General Insurance Company is (or otherwise was) committing an act or pursuing a course of conduct that is a contravention of section 8 of the Act or that might reasonably be expected to result in a situation that would constitute a contravention of section 8 of the Act.

 

The Superintendent has determined that the Order of January 14, 2019 should be amended by extending the time periods set out in paragraphs 3, 4, 5(a) of the Order. The amendments extend the deadlines by which TD General Insurance Company is to file its Remediation Plan and to identify and retain an independent, external auditor thirty by (30) days. Accordingly, the Superintendent makes the following Amending Order.

 

AMENDING ORDER

 

IT IS ORDERED THAT paragraphs 3, 4, and 5(a) of the Superintendent’s Order of January 14, 2019 are amended as follows:

 

  1. Paragraph 3 is amended by replacing the reference to ninety (90) days with one hundred twenty (120) days;
  2. Paragraph 4 is amended by replacing the reference to ninety (90) days with one hundred twenty (120) days; and
  3. Paragraph 5(a) is amended by replacing the reference to sixty (60) days with ninety (90) days.

TAKE NOTICE THAT except as set out in this Amending Order, the Order shall remain unamended and in full force and effect in accordance with its terms.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT this Amending Order takes effect immediately.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT the Superintendent may make additional orders as needed in order to ensure compliance with the Order pursuant to clause (b) of subsection 11(1) of the Act.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 11(2) and 11(3) of the Act, at TD General Insurance Company’s request, the Superintendent shall give TD General Insurance Company the opportunity to make written submissions and shall, after reconsideration of the Order, confirm, modify or revoke the Order.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 11(4) of the Act, the Order may be reconsidered at TD General Insurance Company’s request only once and, subject to the decision of the Superintendent after reconsideration under subsection 11(2) of the Act, is final for all purposes.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 12(1)2 of the Act, every insurer that fails to comply with an order of the Superintendent made under section 11 of the Act is guilty of an offence and on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $250,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $500,000.

 

Subjection 12(2) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of an insurer who causes, authorizes, permits or participates in the insurer committing an offence under this Act or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent the insurer from committing an offence under this Act is guilty of an offence. Subsection 12(3) of the Act provides that a person who is guilty of an offence under subsection 12(2) of the Act is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000, whether the insurer is prosecuted for or convicted of an offence. Subsection 12(4) of the Act provides that if a person is convicted of an offence under the Act, the court making the conviction may, in addition to any other penalty, order the person convicted to make compensation or restitution in relation to the offence.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, February 28, 2019.

 

Original signed by

 

______________________________

Brian Mills

Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance modifiant l'ordonnance de conformité du 14 janvier 2019 contre TD Assurance, Assurances générales

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi de 2003 sur la stabilisation des taux d’assurance-automobile, L.O. 2003, chap. 9, telle que modifiée, plus particulièrement l’article 11

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À TD Assurance, Assurances générales

 

ORDONNANCE MODIFIANT L’ORDONNANCE DE CONFORMITÉ DU 14 JANVIER 2019

 

À :

TD Assurance, Assurances générales

320, rue Front Ouest, 3e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M5V 3B6

 

Le paragraphe 11 (1) de la Loi de 2003 sur la stabilisation des taux d’assurance-automobile, L.O. 2003, chap. 9 (ci‑après la « Loi ») prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant des services financiers (ci‑après, le « surintendant »), un assureur commet un acte ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constitue une contravention à la Loi ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait une contravention à la Loi, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance qui prend effet dès qu’elle est rendue, et qui :

 

  1. soit enjoint à l’assureur de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre des actes ou de poursuivre une ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise;
  2. soit enjoint à l’assureur de prendre les mesures qui, de l’avis du surintendant, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation, y compris rembourser à l’assuré tout excédent de prime acquitté par ce dernier en raison de la contravention à la Loi commise par l’assureur;
  3. soit suspend ou annule le permis délivré à l’assureur en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances, L. O. 1990, chap. I.8 (ci‑après la « Loi sur les assurances »).

Le paragraphe 11 (2) de la Loi prévoit qu’à la demande d’un assureur qui fait l’objet d’une ordonnance en vertu de l’article 11 de la Loi, le surintendant peut, après avoir donné à l’assureur l’occasion de présenter des observations écrites, réexaminer l’ordonnance rendue. Le paragraphe 11 (3) de la Loi prévoit qu’à la suite du réexamen d’une ordonnance en vertu de l’article 11 de la Loi, le surintendant peut confirmer, modifier ou révoquer l’ordonnance. Le paragraphe 11 (4) de la Loi prévoit que toute ordonnance rendue en vertu de l’article 11 de la Loi peut être réexaminée à la demande de l’assureur qu’une seule fois et, sous réserve de la décision que prend le surintendant à la suite du réexamen prévu au paragraphe 11 (2) de la Loi, elle est définitive à toutes fins.

 

Le surintendant a émis une ordonnance à TD Assurance, Assurances générales le 14 janvier 2019 (ci‑après « l’ordonnance »), puisque le surintendant est d’avis que TD Assurance, Assurances générales commet (ou a commis) un acte ou suit (ou a suivi) une ligne de conduite qui constitue une contravention à l’article 8 de la Loi ou risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui pourrait constituer une contravention à l’article 8 de la Loi.

 

Le surintendant a déterminé que l’ordonnance du 14 janvier 2019 devrait être modifiée pour prolonger les délais prévus aux paragraphes 3, 4 et 5 (a) de l’ordonnance. Les modifications prolongent les délais dans lesquels TD Assurance, Assurances générales doit déposer son plan correctif et choisir et retenir les services d’un vérificateur externe indépendant de trente (30) jours. En conséquence, le surintendant rend l’ordonnance suivante.

 

ORDONNANCE DE MODIFICATION

 

IL EST ORDONNÉ QUE les paragraphes 3, 4 et 5 (a) de l’ordonnance du surintendant du 14 janvier 2019 soient modifiés comme suit :

 

  1. Le paragraphe 3 est modifié en remplaçant la mention de « quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours » par « cent vingt (120) jours »;
  2. Le paragraphe 4 est modifié en remplaçant la mention de « quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours » par « cent vingt (120) jours »;
  3. Le paragraphe 5 (a) est modifié en remplaçant la mention de « soixante (60) jours » par « quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours ».

PRENEZ AVIS QUE sauf indication contraire dans la présente ordonnance de modification, l’ordonnance demeure inchangée et en vigueur conformément à ses modalités.

 

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE la présente ordonnance entre en vigueur immédiatement.

 

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE le surintendant peut émettre d’autres ordonnances au besoin pour assurer la conformité avec l’ordonnance conformément à l’alinéa 11 (1) b) de la Loi.

 

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément aux paragraphes 11 (2) et 11 (3) de la Loi, à la demande de TD Assurance, Assurances générales, le surintendant devra offrir à TD Assurance, Assurances générales la possibilité de produire des observations écrites et devra, après réexamen de l’ordonnance, confirmer, modifier ou révoquer l’ordonnance.

 

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 11 (4) de la Loi, l’ordonnance ne peut être réexaminée à la demande de TD Assurance, Assurances générales qu’une seule fois et, sous réserve de la décision que prend le surintendant à la suite du réexamen prévu au paragraphe 11 (2) de la Loi, elle est définitive à toutes fins.

 

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément à la disposition 2 du paragraphe 12 (1) de la Loi, tout assureur qui ne se conforme pas à une ordonnance que rend le surintendant en vertu de l’article 11 de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité, d’une amende d’au plus 250 000 dollars à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 500 000 dollars à chacune des déclarations de culpabilité subséquentes.

 

Le paragraphe 12 (2) de la Loi prévoit que tout administrateur, dirigeant ou agent principal d’un assureur qui cause, autorise ou permet la commission d’une infraction à la Loi, ou qui ne prend pas les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la commission d’une infraction à la Loi par l’assureur se rend coupable d’une infraction. Le paragraphe 12 (3) de la Loi prévoit qu’une personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction en vertu du paragraphe 12 (2) de la Loi est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 dollars à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 dollars à chacune des déclarations subséquentes, que l’assureur soit ou non poursuivi ou déclaré coupable relativement à une infraction. Le paragraphe 12 (4) de la Loi prévoit que si une personne est déclarée coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi, le tribunal qui prononce la déclaration de culpabilité peut, en plus de toutes autres peines, ordonner à la personne déclarée coupable de verser une indemnité ou de faire restitution en conséquence.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario), le 28 février 2019.

 

Original signé par

 

__________________________________
Brian Mills

Surintendant des services financiers