Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Twin Maple Financial

REGARDING the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 (the “Act”), S.O. 2006, c.29, in particular sections 35;

 

AND REGARDING 1219076 Ontario Limited c.o.b. as Twin Maple Financial (“Twin Maple Financial”)

 

ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST UNLICENSED ACTIVITY

 

Twin Maple Financial has never held a mortgage brokerage licence with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”) or any other licence under the Act.

 

Ramiro Dias (“Mr. Dias”) is the Director, Officer and President of Twin Maple Financial. Mr. Dias has never held a mortgage agent licence with the FSCO or any other licence under the Act.

 

On November 30, 2017, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued a Notice of Proposal to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity and to Impose an Administrative Penalty in the amount of $10,000 against Twin Maple Financial for dealing in mortgages without a licence, contrary to subsection 2(2) of the Act, and for carrying on the business and holding itself out as a mortgage lender without a licence, contrary to subsection 4(2) of the Act.

 

On December 22, 2017, Twin Maple Financial requested a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal (“Tribunal”).

 

On August 13, 2018, Twin Maple Financial withdrew its hearing request with the Tribunal.

 

Subsection 35(6) of the Act provides that where a hearing has not been requested in accordance with the Act, the Superintendent may carry out his proposal.

 

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED THAT Twin Maple Financial is required to:

 

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, and holding itself out as doing so while not duly licensed under the Act;
  2. Immediately cease otherwise dealing in mortgages as defined in subsection 2(1) of the Act while not duly licensed under the Act; and
  3. Immediately cease carrying on business as a mortgage lender as defined in subsection 4(1) of the Act, and holding itself out as lending money on the security of real property while not duly licensed under the Act.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment. Pursuant to subsection 49(2) of the Act, every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

 

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

 

Subsection 48(6) of the Act provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario on the 4th day of October 2018.

 

Original signed by “Brian Mills”

 

_______________________________________
Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

 

By Delegated Authority from
the Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir d'exercer une activité sans permis contre Twin Maple Financial

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L.O. 2006, chap. 29 (ci‑après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 35;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À 1219076 Ontario Limited, exploitant sous la raison sociale Twin Maple Financial (ci‑après « Twin Maple Financial »)

 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR D’EXERCER
UNE ACTIVITÉ SANS PERMIS

 

Twin Maple Financial n’a jamais été titulaire d’un permis de maison de courtage d’hypothèques de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (ci‑après la « CSFO ») ni d’un autre permis délivré en vertu de la Loi.

 

Ramiro Dias (ci‑après « M. Dias ») est le dirigeant, administrateur et président de Twin Maple Financial. M. Dias n’a jamais été titulaire d’un permis d’agent en hypothèques de la CSFO ni d’un autre permis délivré en vertu de la Loi.

 

Le 30 novembre 2017, le surintendant des services financiers (ci‑après le « surintendant ») a émis un avis d’intention de cesser et de s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis et d’imposer une pénalité administrative au montant de 10 000 dollars à Twin Maple Financial pour avoir fait le courtage d’hypothèques sans permis, en violation du paragraphe 2 (2) de la Loi, et pour avoir exercé l’activité de prêteur hypothécaire et s’être présentée comme prêteur hypothécaire sans permis, en violation du paragraphe 4 (2) de la Loi.

 

Le 22 décembre 2017, Twin Maple Financial a demandé une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci‑après le « Tribunal »).

 

Le 13 août 2018, Twin Maple Financial a retiré sa demande d’audience auprès du Tribunal.

 

Le paragraphe 35 (6) de la Loi prévoit que le surintendant peut donner suite à son intention si une audience n’est pas demandée conformément à la Loi.

 

ORDONNANCE

 

IL EST ORDONNÉ QUE Twin Maple Financial doit :

 

  1. immédiatement cesser et s’abstenir de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou consentent des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles en Ontario, et de se présenter comme telle sans être dûment titulaire d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi;
  2. immédiatement cesser et s’abstenir de faire le courtage d’hypothèques au sens du paragraphe 2 (1) de la Loi sans être dûment titulaire d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi;
  3. immédiatement cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer l’activité de prêteur hypothécaire au sens du paragraphe 4 (1) de la Loi, et de se présenter comme si elle consentait des prêts d’argent garantis par des biens immeubles sans être dûment titulaire d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi.

PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément aux paragraphes 48 (4) et 49 (1) de la Loi, quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la Loi est coupable d’une infraction, et que le particulier qui est déclaré coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 dollars et d’un emprisonnement maximal d’un an, ou d’une seule de ces peines. En vertu du paragraphe 49 (2) de la Loi, la société qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 dollars.

 

En vertu du paragraphe 48 (5) de la Loi, en cas de perpétration par une société d’une infraction à la Loi, ses dirigeants ou administrateurs qui l’ont ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

 

Le paragraphe 48 (6) de la Loi prévoit que sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario), le 4 octobre 2018.

 

Original signé par Brian Mills

 

_______________________________________
Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers

 

En vertu des pouvoirs délégués par
le surintendant des services financiers.