Fake Job Offers Referencing State Farm

June 6, 2012

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is warning consumers about an online scam involving offers to perform data entry work from home for State Farm Insurance Services Agency, a non-existent company that is not licensed by FSCO. The fraudulent job offers have appeared on Craigslist.
 
Job applicants are asked to sign and return a document detailing the responsibilities of the data entry position, hours of work and payment. They are then told that computer equipment will need to be installed and asked to pay a fee to cover the installation.
 
Consumers should be aware that a request for an advance fee is a common characteristic of a job scam [New Window].
 
State Farm Canada has confirmed that it has no connection to State Farm Insurance Services Agency or these job offers.
 
In addition, State Farm Insurance Services Agency is not affiliated with any of the State Farm group companies (i.e. State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Company, State Farm International Life Insurance Company or State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company), all of which are licensed by FSCO. 
 
Anyone who has received correspondence from State Farm Insurance Services Agency is asked to contact the State Farm Complaint Liaison Officer at StateFarmCLO@statefarm.com or 1-877-370-3276
 

Consumers are also encouraged to forward the correspondence to the Canadian Anti-Fraud
Centre
 [New Window].

 

CONTACT

Media inquiries

Kristen Rose
416-226-7803
kristen.rose@fsco.gov.on.ca

Fausses offres d’emploi faisant référence à State Farm

6 juin 2012

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) prévient les consommateurs d’une fraude en ligne portant sur des offres d’emploi d’entrée de données à partir de la maison pour le compte de State Farm Insurance Services Agency, une entreprise inexistante non autorisée par la CSFO. Les offres d’emploi frauduleuses ont été affichées sur la Craigslist.
 
Les candidats se font demander de signer et de renvoyer un document précisant les responsabilités, les heures de travail et le mode de versement du salaire du poste d’entrée de données. Par la suite, ils se font dire qu’il faut installer du matériel informatique et se font demander de verser des frais à cet effet.
 
Les consommateurs doivent savoir qu’une demande de versement de frais initiaux est une caractéristique courante d’emplois frauduleux [New Window].
 
State Farm Canada a confirmé n’avoir aucun lien avec State Farm Insurance Services Agency ni avec ces offres d’emploi.
 
En outre, State Farm Insurance Services Agency n’est affiliée à aucune des entreprises du groupe State Farm (à savoir State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, State Farm International Life Insurance Company et State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company), qui sont toutes autorisées par la CSFO.
 
On demande à quiconque a reçu de la correspondance de State Farm Insurance Services Agency de communiquer avec l’agent de liaison des plaintes de State Farm à l’adresseStateFarmCLO@statefarm.com ou 1-877-370-3276
 
On invite également les consommateurs à transmettre cette correspondance au Centre antifraude du Canada [New Window].
 

PERSONNE-RESSOURCE

Demandes de la part des médias

Kristen Rose
416-226-7803
kristen.rose@fsco.gov.on.ca