Minor Injury Treatment Protocol

The Final Report of the Minor Injury Treatment Protocol Project, titled "Enabling Recovery from Common Traffic Injuries: A Focus on the Injured Person" (Final Report) was delivered to FSCO at the end of December 2014. The Final Report recommends treatment based on extensive research by world renowned medical and scientific experts. The research complies with rigorous scientific methodologies and research protocols.
 
To review the Final Report please visit the following link:
For your convenience, the following tool summarizes the recommendations in the Final Report:
In addition, the research material referenced in the Final Report is currently available, in English, by contacting FSCO at cti@fsco.gov.on.ca. This material will also be posted in both English and French on the website as soon as the French translation is available.
 
Stakeholders are invited to submit feedback on the Final Report, addressing the following question: “What are the potential impacts of the recommendations in the Final Report on you as a stakeholder?”  Submissions will be accepted at cti@fsco.gov.on.ca until July 31, 2015.
 

Project Background

In the Superintendent’s report on the Five Year Review released in 2009, a recommendation was made to develop a treatment protocol for minor injuries that reflects current scientific and medical literature.  This recommendation was accepted by the government and confirmed in the 2012 Ontario Budget, which acknowledged that newer scientific and evidence-based approaches can be applied to the treatment of minor injuries resulting from automobile accidents. 
 
In fulfilling this recommendation, Dr. Pierre Côté, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, was awarded the consulting contract to develop the Minor Injury Treatment Protocol (MITP) after an open competitive RFP process.
 
Scientists and other experts have contributed to the development of an evidence-based Minor Injury Treatment Protocol (MITP) that will form the basis of a new Minor Injury Guideline, subject to government approval. If approved, the MITP will be used by insurers and health care providers when treating minor injuries resulting from automobile accidents, and ensure that there is an extensive continuum of care based on current scientific and medical evidence.
 
The MITP includes clinical prediction rules to screen for patients who may be at higher risk for developing chronic pain and disability. In addition, it focuses on treatment outcomes, and provides health care providers with numerous milestones to measure progress.
 

Apply Now for a Service Provider Licence 

Outage Important information about a potential Canada Post labour disruption

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Follow @FSCOTweets

Protocole de traitement des blessures légères

Le rapport final du projet de protocole de traitement des blessures légères, intitulé « Faciliter le rétablissement à la suite de blessures courantes résultant d'un accident de la route : Priorité à la personne blessée » (rapport final) a été livré à la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) à la fin de décembre 2014.  Le rapport final recommande des traitements établis par des recherches intensives d'experts médicaux et scientifiques de renommée mondiale.  La recherche a été réalisée selon des méthodologies scientifiques et des protocoles rigoureux.
 
Pour consulter le rapport final, cliquez sur le lien suivant :
Pour vous simplifier la tâche, l'outil suivant résume les recommandations du rapport final :
Les documents de recherche cités dans le rapport final peuvent également être consultés. Pour les obtenir, il suffit d'écrire à la CFSO à l'adresse cti@fsco.gov.on.ca.
 

Contexte du projet

 
Dans le rapport du surintendant sur l'examen quinquennal publié en 2009, une recommandation a été formulée visant l'établissement d'un protocole de traitement des blessures légères qui tiendrait compte de la documentation scientifique et médicale à jour.  Cette recommandation a été acceptée par le gouvernement. Son adoption a été confirmée dans le budget 2012 de l'Ontario, qui reconnaît que des approches scientifiques et fondées sur des données probantes plus récentes peuvent être adoptées dans le traitement des blessures légères résultant d'un accident de la route. 
 
Dans le cadre de l'adoption de cette recommandation, le Dr Pierre Côté, Professeur agrégé, Faculté des sciences de la santé, Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario, a obtenu le contrat de consultant à l'élaboration du protocole de traitement des blessures légères suivant un processus de demande de propositions public.
 
Des chercheurs et d'autres experts ont collaboré à l'élaboration d'un protocole de traitement des blessures légères fondé sur des données probantes qui formera la base de la nouvelle Ligne directrice sur les blessures légères, sous réserve de l'approbation du gouvernement. S'il est approuvé, le protocole de traitement des blessures légères sera utilisé par des assureurs et des fournisseurs de soins de santé dans le cadre du traitement des blessures légères résultant d'un accident de la route. De plus, il permettra de garantir qu'un continuum de soins plus complet fondé sur des données scientifiques et médicales à jour soit mis en œuvre.
Le protocole de traitement des blessures légères comprend des règles de prédiction cliniques permettant de dépister les patients qui pourraient présenter un risque plus élevé de souffrir d'une douleur chronique et d'une invalidité. De plus, le protocole met l'accent sur les résultats des traitements et propose de nombreux repères aux fournisseurs de soins de santé pour mesurer les progrès réalisés par leurs patients.
 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.