Updated Professional Services Guideline

 
Bulletin
No. A-08/14
Property & Casualty
– Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact automobile insurance in Ontario
​​

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
With this Bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is releasing an updated Professional Services Guideline (Guideline). 
 
The updated Guideline increases the maximum hourly rates for medical and rehabilitation services by 0.9 per cent.  This increase is based on the 2013 Consumer Price Index (CPI) and applies to services rendered on or after September 6, 2014.
 
Insurers are reminded that they are liable to pay for reasonable and necessary medical and rehabilitation expenses described in sections 15 to 17 of the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (SABS).  The hourly rates and maximum amounts established in the Guideline are to be used to determine the amounts payable for medical and rehabilitation services.  Insurers are not liable to pay for expenses that are not listed.  For example, expenses for missed or cancelled appointments, rescheduling missed or cancelled appointments, and other non-listed expenses are not payable under the SABS (whether or not they are payable by an insured person).
 
Insurers and health care providers are also reminded that the amounts payable by insurers for approved assessments or examinations requested by an insured person are subject to the SABS $2,000 limit for any one assessment or examination and also to the hourly rates set out in the Guideline.
 

Authority

 
This Guideline is issued by the Superintendent of Financial Services under subsection 268.3 of the Insurance Act and is incorporated by reference in the SABS.
 

Copies

 
The updated Guideline is attached for your information and can also be downloaded from the FSCO website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca.  In addition, the updated Guideline is expected to be published in the September 6, 2014 edition of The Ontario Gazette.
 
 
Philip Howell
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
September 5, 2014
 

Attachment     

 
  1. Professional Services Guideline No. 03/14 [PDF Document] Size: ## kb


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Mise à jour de la directive concernant les services professionnels

 
Bulletin
No [A-08/14]
R.D
-Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance titulaires d’un permis d’exercer en assurance-automobile en Ontario
​​

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
Dans le présent bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) publie une directive actualisée concernant les services professionnels (la « directive »). 
 
La directive mise à jour augmente de 0,9 % les taux horaires maximaux associés aux services médicaux et de réadaptation. Cette augmentation est fondée sur l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) et s’applique aux services offerts le 6 septembre 2014 ou après cette date.
 
On rappelle aux assureurs qu’ils sont responsables d’assumer les dépenses médicales et de réadaptation raisonnables et nécessaires décrites aux articles 15 à 17 de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010 (AIAL). Les taux horaires et les montants maximaux établis dans la directive doivent servir à déterminer les montants payables à l’égard des services médicaux et de réadaptation. Les assureurs ne sont pas responsables de payer pour les dépenses qui ne figurent pas sur la liste. Par exemple, les dépenses liées aux rendez-vous manqués ou annulés ou au report de rendez-vous manqués ou annulés et les autres dépenses ne figurant pas sur la liste ne sont pas payables en vertu de l’AIAL (qu’elles soient ou non payables par une personne assurée).
 
On rappelle également aux assureurs et aux fournisseurs de soins de santé que les montants payables par les assureurs pour les évaluations ou les examens approuvés demandés par une personne assurée sont assujettis à la limite de 2 000 dollars de l’AIAL, pour toute évaluation ou tout examen, ainsi qu’aux taux horaires établis dans la directive.
 

Compétence

 
La présente directive est publiée par le surintendant des services financiers en vertu de l’article 268.3 de la Loi sur les assurances et est incorporée par renvoi dans l’AIAL.
 

Copies

 
La directive mise à jour est jointe à titre d’information. Elle peut également être téléchargée à partir du site Web de la CSFO, à l’adresse suivante : www.fsco.gov.on.ca.  En outre, la directive mise à jour devrait être publiée dans l’édition du 6 septembre 2014 de la Gazette de l’Ontario.
 
Philip Howell
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
 
Le 5 septembre 2014
 

Pièce jointe 

 

  1. Directive concernant les services professionnels no 03/14 [PDF Document] Size: ## kb


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.