Amendments to the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule, Service Provider Regulations, Administrative Penalties and Eligibility for Transportation Expenses

 
Bulletin
No. A-14/14
Property & Casualty
– Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact automobile insurance in Ontario and all health service providers
​​

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
With this Bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is highlighting regulation amendments to the automobile insurance system that are effective December 1, 2014, with one exception noted below. 
 
FSCO is also reminding insurers and stakeholders about obligations concerning transportation expenses.  Amendments were needed to effectively operationalize the new service provider licensing regime and implement parts of the Government of Ontario’s Cost and Rate Reduction Strategy.
 
Amended regulations under the Insurance Act are:
 
  1. Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (O.Reg.34/10)
  2. Unfair or Deceptive Acts or Practices (O.Reg.7/00)
  3. Service Providers – Listed Expenses (O.Reg.89/14)
  4. Service Providers – Standards For Business Systems and Practices (O.Reg.90/14)
  5. Administrative Penalties (O.Reg.408/12)

1. Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (O.Reg.34/10)

 
There were two amendments to the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule (SABS).
 
The first SABS amendment is with respect to the service provider licensing regime.  Under the new licensing regime both licensed and unlicensed service providers will be able to provide goods and services to auto insurance claimants.  However, only licensed service providers will be able to receive payment directly from insurers.  Unlicensed service providers will not be able to receive payment directly from insurers and they will need to be compensated by the claimant.
 
This amendment to the SABS requires an unlicensed service provider to complete the Auto Insurance Standard Invoice (OCF-21) in the Health Claims for Auto Insurance (HCAI) system and provide the completed form in a paper format to the claimant.  The claimant must submit the paper form to the insurer and the insurer is expected to pay the claimant directly.  The unlicensed service provider will be paid by the claimant.
 
The second SABS amendment is with respect to the interest rate applied to overdue payments from insurers and is effective January 1, 2015.  Prior to this date the interest rate on overdue payments is payable at a rate of one per cent per month, compounded monthly.
 
This amendment changes the interest rate and its application once a dispute arises.  The interest rate of one per cent per month, compounded monthly will continue to apply until a mediation proceeding is commenced.  The interest rate will then change to the prejudgement interest rate described in the Courts of Justice Act for past pecuniary loss, to be calculated from the date on which a mediation proceeding is commenced and ending on the date a settlement is reached or a decision is issued.  The current prejudgement interest rate is 1.3 per cent per annum.
 
A transition provision is included in the amendment which provides that if payment of a benefit is overdue on December 31, 2014, that is the day before the amendment comes into force, interest continues to be payable on the overdue amount at the rate of one per cent per month, compounded monthly, until the date on which the overdue amount is paid.
 

2. Unfair or Deceptive Acts or Practices (O.Reg.7/00)

 
A new unfair or deceptive act or practice (UDAP) is added for a service provider who advertises that they are licensed, when at the time, the service provider was not licensed.  It would also be a UDAP where a person makes any false, misleading or deceptive statements about their business and billing practices.
 
This UDAP is intended to apply to both licensed and unlicensed service providers.  An unlicensed service provider may not advertise that they are a licensed provider.  A licensed provider that has had their licence suspended or revoked may not continue to advertise that they are licensed.
 

3. Service Providers – Listed Expenses (O.Reg.89/14)

 
The amendment to the Service Providers – Listed Expenses regulation sets out an exception to the definition of what is a “listed expense.”  An outstanding amount that is still payable after an insurer and claimant have reached a full and final settlement is not a “listed expense” for the purposes of the service provider licence.
 
This exemption allows licensed service providers to seek direct payment for a listed expense provided under the SABS from anyone other than an insurer.  Normally, licensed service providers are paid directly for approved goods and services from insurers.  Under this circumstance, the licensed service provider is now able to seek all outstanding amounts directly from the claimant.
 

4. Service Providers – Standards For Business Systems and Practices (O.Reg.90/14)

 
The amendments to the Service Providers – Standards for Business Systems and Practices regulation create a requirement for service providers to ensure that the annual information return contains such information that will enable the Superintendent to calculate the amount of the fees payable by the service provider for the relevant period and also require those records to be stored and retained in a form that will enable the Superintendent to verify the fees.
 
In connection with these amendments, corresponding administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) have been added to the Administrative Penalties (O.Reg.408/12) regulation.
 

5. Administrative Penalties (O.Reg.408/12)

 
The amendment to the Administrative Penalties regulation specifies penalties for non-compliance with the newly added requirements under O.Reg.90/14 for service providers.  Administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) may be levied in fixed amounts (for low-level, high-volume contraventions) and variable amounts (for other requirements in the regulations). 
 
Fixed AMPs may be levied in instances of non-compliance related to FSCO reporting requirements.  An example may be not submitting the annual information return in the form and time required by the Superintendent.  Fine amounts range from $250 to $1,000.  A fixed AMP order of the Superintendent may be appealed to the Financial Services Tribunal (FST).
 
Variable AMPs are initiated under a notice of proposal process by the Superintendent.  Variable AMPs are applied for significant contraventions of the regulations that can involve or potentially lead to improper billing practices.  The maximum penalty for licensed service providers is $25,000.  A hearing on a proposed variable AMP order may be requested before the FST.
 
For a listing of the specified AMP amounts and their corresponding contraventions, please refer to O.Reg.408/12 that is posted on the e-laws [New Window] website.
 

Mileage Expenses

 
FSCO is aware that some health care providers are submitting mileage expenses to insurers to travel to an injured accident victim’s location when providing services.  Insurers are reminded that "authorized transportation expenses", as defined in the SABS, are intended to apply to expenses incurred by the insured person and an aide for travel to and from treatment sessions, subject to the Superintendent’s Transportation Expense Guideline.
 
Insurers are also reminded that the Superintendent's Professional Services Guideline states that:
 
      "Expenses related to professional services" as referred to in the SABS and the Professional Services Guideline include all administration costs, overhead, and related costs, fees, expenses, charges and surcharges. Insurers are not liable for any administration or other costs, overhead, fees, expenses, charges or surcharges that have the result of increasing the effective hourly rates, or the maximum fees payable for completing forms, beyond what is permitted under the Professional Services Guideline.
Both guidelines are incorporated by reference into the SABS.
 

Effective Date

 
All regulation amendments referenced in this Bulletin, except for one, are in effect on December 1, 2014.  The regulation amendment affecting the interest rate on overdue amounts in the SABS will be effective on January 1, 2015.  Please make sure that your claims and underwriting staff, and any other staff who may be affected by these amendments, are informed of these changes.
 

Copies of Regulations

 
The revised the regulations can be downloaded from the e-laws website at  www.e-laws.gov.on.ca [New Window] and are expected to be published in a future edition of The Ontario Gazette.
 
 
 
Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
December 1, 2014

Apply Now for a Service Provider Licence 

hotline-en.jpg

Outage Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Follow @FSCOTweets

Modifications à l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales, au Règlement sur les fournisseurs de services, aux Pénalités administratives et à l’Admissibilité aux frais de transport

 
Bulletin
No. A-14/14
I.A.R.D
– Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurances autorisées à  faire souscrire de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario et à tous les fournisseurs de soins de santé
 

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
Dans le cadre du présent Bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) précise les modifications apportées à la réglementation du système d’assurance-automobile qui entrent en vigueur le 1er décembre 2014, sauf une exception mentionnée ci-après.
 
La CSFO rappelle aussi aux assureurs et aux intervenants les obligations concernant les frais de transport.  Les modifications ont été nécessaires pour rendre réellement efficace le nouveau régime de permis des fournisseurs de services et mettre en œuvre des éléments de la Stratégie de réduction des coûts et des taux d’assurance-automobile du gouvernement de l’Ontario.
 
Les règlements visés par les modifications en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances sont les suivants :
 
  1. Règlement de l’Ontario 34/10 Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010
  2. Règlement de l’Ontario 7/00 Actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers
  3. Règlement de l’Ontario 89/14 Fournisseurs de services – Frais désignés
  4. Règlement de l’Ontario 90/14 Fournisseurs de services – Normes applicables aux systèmes administratifs et pratiques commerciales
  5. Règlement de l’Ontario 408/12 Pénalités administratives

1. Règlement de l’Ontario 34/10 Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010

 
Deux modifications ont été apportées à l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales (AIAL).
 
La première modification à l’AIAL concerne le régime de délivrance de permis aux fournisseurs de services.  Aux termes du nouveau régime de délivrance de permis, tous les fournisseurs de services, titulaires d’un permis ou non, pourront offrir des biens et des services aux demandeurs d’indemnités d’assurance automobile.  Cependant, seuls les fournisseurs de services titulaires d’un permis pourront recevoir des paiements directement des assureurs.  Les fournisseurs de services qui ne sont pas titulaires d’un permis ne pourront pas recevoir des paiements directement des assureurs et devront être indemnisés par le demandeur.
 
Cette modification à l’AIAL oblige le fournisseur de services non titulaire d’un permis à remplir la Facture d’assurance-automobile standard (FDIO-21) dans le Système de demandes de règlement pour soins de santé liés à l’assurance-automobile (DRSSAA) et à remettre le formulaire dûment rempli en version papier au demandeur.  Le demandeur doit alors soumettre le formulaire en version papier à l’assureur et celui-ci paiera le demandeur directement.  Le fournisseur de service non titulaire d’un permis sera payé par le demandeur.
 
La deuxième modification à l’AIAL porte sur le taux d’intérêt appliqué aux paiements en souffrance des assureurs et entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2015.  Avant cette date, le taux d’intérêt applicable aux paiements en souffrance est de un pour cent par mois, composé mensuellement.
 
Cette modification change le taux d’intérêt et son application lorsqu’un différend survient.  Le taux de un pour cent par mois, composé mensuellement, continuera de s’appliquer jusqu’à ce qu’une procédure de médiation soit ouverte.  Le taux d’intérêt passera alors au taux d’intérêt antérieur au jugement décrit dans la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires à l’égard d’une perte pécuniaire antérieure, qui sera calculé à partir de la date à laquelle une procédure de médiation est ouverte jusqu’à la date du règlement ou de la décision.  Le taux d’intérêt antérieur au jugement est actuellement de 1,3 pour cent par année.
 
La modification prévoit une disposition transitoire au titre de laquelle, si le paiement d’une prestation est en souffrance le 31 décembre 2014, soit le jour avant l’entrée en vigueur de la modification, l’intérêt continue d’être payable sur le montant en souffrance au taux de un pour cent par mois, composé mensuellement, jusqu’à la date de règlement du montant en souffrance.
 

2. Règlement de l’Ontario 7/00 Actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers

 
Un nouvel acte ou pratique malhonnête ou mensonger (APMM) est ajouté pour un fournisseur de services qui prétend être titulaire d’un permis quand, à ce moment, il ne détenait pas un permis.  Il s’agirait également d’un APMM si une personne faisait une déclaration fausse, trompeuse ou mensongère au sujet de ses pratiques commerciales et de ses pratiques de facturation.
 
Cet APMM s’applique aux fournisseurs de services titulaires d’un permis ou non.  Un fournisseur de services qui n’est pas titulaire d’un permis ne peut s’annoncer comme s’il était un fournisseur titulaire d’un permis.  Un fournisseur titulaire d’un permis dont le permis a été suspendu ou révoqué ne peut continuer à s’annoncer comme s’il était titulaire d’un permis.
 

3. Règlement de l’Ontario 89/14 Fournisseurs de services – Frais désignés

 
La modification apportée au règlement Fournisseurs de services – Frais désignés prévoit une exception à la définition de « frais désignés ».  Un montant impayé qui demeure payable une fois qu’un assureur et un demandeur sont arrivés à un règlement intégral et définitif n’est pas considéré comme étant des « frais désignés » aux fins de la délivrance du permis de fournisseur de services.
 
Cette exception permet aux fournisseurs de services titulaires d’un permis de demander le paiement direct de frais désignés prévus aux termes de l’AIAL de quiconque autre qu’un assureur.  Habituellement, les fournisseurs de services titulaires d’un permis sont payés directement par les assureurs pour les biens et services approuvés.  Dans ce cas, le fournisseur de services titulaire d’un permis peut maintenant demander le paiement de tous les montants impayés directement du demandeur.
 

4. Règlement de l’Ontario 90/14 Fournisseurs de services – Normes applicables aux systèmes administratifs et pratiques commerciales

 
Les modifications apportées au règlement Fournisseurs de services – Normes applicables aux systèmes administratifs et pratiques commerciales obligent les fournisseurs de services à s’assurer que la déclaration annuelle contient des renseignements permettant au surintendant de calculer le montant des frais payables par le fournisseur de services pour la période visée et exigent aussi que ces dossiers soient conservés dans un format qui permettra au surintendant de vérifier les frais.
 
Dans le cadre de ces modifications, des sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) correspondantes ont été ajoutées au Règlement de l’Ontario 408/12 Pénalités administratives.
 

5. Règlement de l’Ontario 408/12 Pénalités administratives

 
La modification au règlement Pénalités administratives précise les pénalités en cas de non-conformité aux exigences nouvellement ajoutées en vertu du Règlement de l’Ontario 90/14 pour les fournisseurs de services.  Les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) peuvent être perçues en montants fixes (pour les contraventions de faible niveau et à nombre élevé) et en montants variables (pour d’autres exigences dans la réglementation). 
 
Les SAP fixes peuvent être perçues dans les cas de non-conformité liés aux exigences de déclaration de la CSFO,  par exemple, le fait de ne pas soumettre la déclaration annuelle dans la forme et au moment requis par le surintendant.  Les pénalités varient de 250 $ à 1 000 $.  Il est possible d’interjeter appel de l’ordonnance de SAP fixes du surintendant devant le Tribunal des services financiers (TSF).
 
Les SAP variables sont imposées aux termes d’un avis de processus d’intention donné par le surintendant.  Les SAP variables sont appliquées pour des contraventions importantes à la réglementation qui peuvent porter sur des pratiques de facturation abusives ou éventuellement en entraîner.  La sanction maximale pour les fournisseurs de services titulaires d’un permis est de 25 000 $.  Une audience visant une ordonnance de SAP variables proposées peut être demandée devant le TSF.
 
Il est possible d’obtenir la liste des montants de SAP précis et des contraventions correspondantes en consultant le Règlement 408/12 sur le site Web Lois-en-ligne [New Window].
 

Frais de transport

 
La CSFO est consciente que certains fournisseurs de soins de santé soumettent des frais de kilométrage aux assureurs lorsqu’ils se déplacent à l’endroit où se trouve la victime d’un accident pour fournir leurs services.  Les assureurs ne doivent pas oublier que les « frais de transport autorisés », définis dans l’AIAL, s’appliquent aux frais engagés par la personne assurée et à son aide pour se rendre aux séances de traitement et en revenir, sous réserve des Directives concernant les frais de transport du surintendant.
 
Les assureurs ne doivent également pas oublier que la Directive concernant les services professionnels du surintendant indique ce qui suit :
 
Les « frais liés aux services professionnels » mentionnés dans l’AIAL et la Directive concernant les services professionnels comprennent tous les frais d’administration et autres frais généraux, les coûts indirects et tous les frais et frais supplémentaires connexes. Les assureurs ne sont pas tenus de payer des frais d’administration ni d’autres frais, coûts indirects ou frais et frais supplémentaires connexes qui ont pour effet de majorer les taux horaires en vigueur ou les frais maximaux exigibles pour la préparation de formulaires, au-delà de ce qui est autorisé aux termes de la Directive concernant les services professionnels.
 
Les deux directives sont intégrées par renvoi dans l’AIAL.
 

Date d’entrée en vigueur

 
Toutes les modifications à la réglementation mentionnées dans le présent Bulletin, sauf une, entrent en vigueur le 1er décembre 2014.  Les modifications à la réglementation qui ont une incidence sur le taux d’intérêt sur les montants en souffrance dans l’AIAL entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2015.  Veuillez vous assurer que votre personnel chargé du traitement des demandes et de la tarification, de même que les autres membres du personnel qui pourraient être touchés par ces modifications, en soient informés.
 

Copies de la réglementation

 
La réglementation modifiée peut être téléchargée à partir du site Web Lois-en-ligne à l’adresse
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca [New Window] et devrait être publiée dans un prochain numéro de la Gazette de l’Ontario.
 
 
 
 
Brian Mills
Directeur général et
Surintendant des services financiers
 
1 decembre 2014


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.