Late Payments From Insurers to Licensed Service Providers

 
Bulletin
No. A-03/15
Property & Casualty
– Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to conduct automobile business as insurers in Ontario
​​

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is issuing this bulletin to remind insurance companies of their duties with regard to payment of invoices submitted by Service Providers in the time frame prescribed under the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (SABS).

 

Interest Payments

 
Insurers shall not avoid their duty to pay interest owing for late benefits payments.  FSCO reminds insurers that there is no provision under the SABS for the following:
 
  • Negotiation of a lower or $0 interest payment.
  • Negotiation to waive the interest by offering incentives such as quicker payment of the invoice.
FSCO expects that insurance companies have processes in place to comply with the requirements of the Insurance Act for the handling and payments of invoices.  Failure to pay interest where owing is a breach of the SABS and may be considered an unfair or deceptive act or practice (UDAP).
 

Required Compliance Controls

 
Beginning in 2011, all automobile insurers in Ontario were required to file an attestation that would confirm that companies have effective SABS compliance controls in place to satisfy the rules that protect the rights of policyholders and accident victims.
 
To ensure that companies are meeting the commitments identified in the attestation, FSCO conducts regulatory follow-up examinations, which are inclusive of processes that ensure invoices for benefits are paid in accordance with legislation.
 

Ensuring Compliance

 
The SABS requires all invoices to be paid within 30 days of receipt. There are several sections of the SABS that outline payment procedures to be followed by insurers.

Overdue Payments:

 
Subsection 51(2) of the SABS prescribes an interest charge on delinquent invoices for payments of a benefit:
 
"If payment of a benefit under this Regulation is overdue, the insurer shall pay interest on the overdue amount for each day the amount is overdue from the date the amount became overdue until it is paid, at the rate of 1 per cent per month, compounded monthly."

For Goods and Services Requiring Pre-Approval:

 
Subsection 38(15) deals with payments following approvals based on an OCF-18 (Treatment and Assessment Plan):
 
"The insurer shall pay for goods and services the insurer agreed to pay for in the notice under subsection (8) or (14) or is required to pay for under this section within 30 days after receiving an invoice for them."
 
Subsection 39(2)(c) is for payments where the insurer has waived the submission of the OCF-18:
 
"The insurer shall pay for expenses described in the notice within 30 days after receiving an invoice for them;"

For Pre-approved Goods and Services Under the Minor Injury Guideline (MIG):

 
Subsection 40(4) deals with payments following submission of an OCF-23 (Treatment Confirmation Form) and OCF-1 (Application for Accident Benefits):
 
"If the person also submits a completed and signed application under section 32  and the insurer accepts the claim for benefits, the insurer shall, within 30 days of receipt, pay every invoice for goods and services described in section 15 or 16 that are provided in accordance with the Minor Injury Guideline."
 
Subsection 41(2) paragraph 2 sets out payment where the OCF-23 is waived:
 
"After the insured person submits an application under Section 32 to the insurer, the insurer shall pay the expenses described in the notice within 30 days after receiving and invoice for them."
 
For further recent changes to the way in which interest is calculated, please refer to:
 
 
Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
May 6, 2015


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Paiements en retard des assureurs auprès des fournisseurs de services titulaires d’un permis

 
Bulletin
No. A-03/15
Assurance multirisques
– Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à exercer des activités dans le secteur automobile en tant qu’assureurs en Ontario

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) publie le présent bulletin pour rappeler aux compagnies d’assurance leurs obligations relativement au paiement des factures que leur soumettent des fournisseurs de services dans les délais prescrits en vertu de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010 (AIAL).
 

Paiement des intérêts

 
Les assureurs ne doivent pas se soustraire à leur devoir de payer les intérêts dûs pour des paiements d’indemnités en retard. La CSFO rappelle aux assureurs que l’AIAL ne contient aucune disposition dans les cas suivants :
 
  • La négociation d’un paiement d’intérêts de 0 $ ou inférieur à ce montant; 
  • La négociation d’une renonciation aux intérêts par l’offre d’un paiement plus rapide de la facture.

La CSFO s’attend à ce que les compagnies d’assurance introduisent des mécanismes pour se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur les assurances relativement au traitement et au paiement des factures. Le défaut de paiement des intérêts sur un solde dû est un manquement à l’AIAL et peut être considéré comme une pratique malhonnête ou mensongère.

 

Mesures de contrôle de la conformité requises

 
Depuis 2011, tous les assureurs automobiles de l’Ontario sont tenus de déposer une attestation confirmant qu’ils ont introduit des mesures de contrôle efficaces aux termes de l’AIAL afin de respecter les règles concernant la protection des droits des titulaires de police et des victimes d’accidents.
 
Afin de s’assurer que les entreprises respectent les engagements qu’elles ont formulés dans les attestations, la CSFO procède à des examens de suivi qui incluent des mécanismes garantissant le paiement des indemnités conformément aux lois en vigueur.
 

Surveillance de la conformité

 
L’AIAL stipule que toutes les factures doivent être payées dans les trente jours suivant leur réception. Plusieurs articles de l’AIAL portent sur les modalités de paiement que doivent suivre les assureurs.

Paiements en souffrance

 
Le paragraphe 51(2) de l’AIAL stipule que des intérêts doivent être payés sur le montant de l’arriéré d’une indemnité :
 
« Si une indemnité prévue par le présent règlement est arriérée, l’assureur paie des intérêts sur le montant de l’arriéré, pour chaque jour où il y a arriéré. Les intérêts sont payables au taux mensuel de 1 %, composé mensuellement. »

Biens et services exigeant une approbation préalable

 
Le paragraphe 38(15) porte sur les paiements à effectuer après les approbations fondées sur un formulaire FDIO-18 (Plan de traitement et d’évaluation) :
 
« L’assureur paie les biens et les services qu’il a accepté de payer dans l’avis prévu au paragraphe (8) ou (14) ou qu’il est tenu de payer par le présent article dans les 30 jours qui suivent la réception de la facture correspondante. »
 
L’alinéa 39(2) c) porte sur les paiements pour lesquels un assureur n’exige pas un formulaire FDIO-18 :
« L’assureur paie les frais décrits dans l’avis dans les 30 jours de la réception de la facture correspondante. »

Biens et services pré-approuvés en vertu de la Directive sur les blessures légères

 
Le paragraphe 40(4) porte sur les paiements à effectuer après la présentation de formulaires FDIO-23 (Confirmation du traitement) et FDIO-1 (Demande d’indemnités d’accident) :
 
« Si la personne présente également une demande dûment remplie et signée aux termes de l’article 32 et qu’il accepte la demande d’indemnité, l’assureur paie, dans les 30 jours de la réception, toutes les factures concernant les biens et les services visés à l’article 15 ou 16 qui sont fournis conformément à la Directive sur les blessures légères. »
 
L’alinéa 41(2) 2 porte sur le paiement lorsque le formulaire FDIO-23 n’est pas exigé :
 
« Après que la personne assurée lui a présenté une demande aux termes de l’article 32, l’assureur paie les frais décrits dans l’avis dans les 30 jours de la réception de la facture correspondante. »
 
Pour en savoir plus sur les récentes modifications au mode de calcul des intérêts, prière de consulter :
 
 
Brian Mills
Directeur général
et surintendant des services financiers
 
Le 6 mai 2015


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.