Amendments to Automobile Insurance Legislation and Regulations

 
Bulletin
No. A-05/15
Property & Casualty
 – Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact auto insurance in Ontario
​​

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
With this bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is highlighting a number of recent reforms to automobile insurance legislation and regulations.
 
These reforms are the result of the announcements made by the government in the 2015 Ontario Budget. They include amendments to the Insurance Act, and to Regulation 664 (Automobile Insurance) and Regulation 461/96 (Court Proceedings For Automobile Accidents That Occur on or After November 1, 1996).
 
In the upcoming months, FSCO will issue additional bulletins relating to the implementation of other automobile insurance reforms announced in the 2015 Ontario Budget.
 
The amendments are listed and outlined below:
 

Ontario Regulation 664 (Automobile Insurance)

 
This regulation has been amended to require that all insurers offer a discount to policyholders for the use of winter tires. The winter tire discount must be made available for contracts issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2016, for all eligible private passenger automobile policies. Insurers are encouraged to implement the discount before January 1, 2016, where feasible.
 
Insurance companies that do not currently offer a winter tire discount must file an application for approval with FSCO no later than August 28, 2015. Insurers should use the Private Passenger Automobile Filing Guidelines - Simplified for these applications and not off-balance this discount.
 
Insurers are required to have a process in place to notify their policyholders of this new discount.
 
For inquiries regarding the filing process for this discount, contact your Rate Analyst in the Automobile Insurance Services Branch at FSCO.
 

Ontario Regulation 461/96 (Court Proceedings For Automobile Accidents That Occur On Or After November 1, 1996)

 
This regulation has been amended to ensure that the deductible amounts for damages for non-pecuniary loss (pain and suffering) reflect the effects of inflation since 2003.
 
The regulation amendments include the following:
 
  • The $30,000 deductible amount prescribed in the case of damages for non-pecuniary loss is adjusted to $36,540 from August 1, 2015 until December 31, 2015. On January 1, 2016 and every subsequent year, this amount will be revised by adjusting the amount by the indexation percentage published under Insurance Act subsection 268.1 (1) for that year.
  • The $15,000 deductible amount prescribed in the case of damages for non-pecuniary loss under clause 61 (2) (e) of the Family Law Act, is adjusted to $18,270 from August 1, 2015 until December 31, 2015. On January 1, 2016 and every subsequent year, this amount will be revised by adjusting the amount by the indexation percentage published under Insurance Act subsection 268.1 (1) for that year.
The existing endorsement [Added Coverage To Offset Tort Deductibles (OPCF 48)] to reduce the tort deductible amounts will remain unchanged.
 

Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8

 
The Insurance Act is amended to adjust the monetary thresholds beyond which the tort deductible does not apply to reflect inflation since 2003, and link the monetary thresholds to future changes in inflation.
 

The legislative amendments include the following:

 
  • The monetary threshold beyond which the new deductible amount of $36,540 does not apply is adjusted from $100,000 to $121,799, in the case of damages for non-pecuniary loss from August 1, 2015 until December 31, 2015. On January 1, 2016 and every subsequent year, this new threshold amount will be revised by adjusting the amount by the indexation percentage published under subsection 268.1 (1) for that year.
  • The monetary threshold beyond which the new deductible amount of $18,270 does not apply is adjusted from $50,000 to $60,899, in the case of damages for non-pecuniary loss under clause 61 (2) (e) of the Family Law Act from August 1, 2015 until December 31, 2015. On January 1, 2016 and every subsequent year, this new threshold amount will be revised by adjusting the amount by the indexation percentage published under subsection 268.1 (1) for that year.
  • The Insurance Act has been amended in subsection 267.5 (9) to require that the tort deductible be taken into account when determining a party's entitlement to costs in an action for damages from bodily injury or death arising directly or indirectly from the use or operation of an automobile.
Please ensure that your claims and underwriting staff, and any other staff who may be affected, are informed of these changes. Also ensure that you make any operational changes needed to implement these reforms by the effective date.
 

Copies of Regulations and Legislation

 
The Insurance Act and regulations can be downloaded from the e-laws website at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca [New Window]. The proclamation order for the legislative amendments to the Insurance Act is expected to be published in a future edition of The Ontario Gazette.
 
 
Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
July 29, 2015

Apply Now for a Service Provider Licence 

Outage Important information about a potential Canada Post labour disruption

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Follow @FSCOTweets

Modifications aux lois et règlements régissant l’assurance-automobile

 
Bulletin
No A-05/15
I.A.R.D.
– Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à offrir
de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario
​​

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
Par le présent bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) attire l’attention sur un certain nombre de réformes récentes des lois et règlements concernant l’assurance-automobile.

Ces réformes résultent d’annonces faites par le gouvernement dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2015. Elles prévoient des modifications à la Loi sur les assurances ainsi qu’aux règlements 664 sur l’assurance-automobile (Automobile Insurance) et 461/96 sur les procédures judiciaires relatives aux accidents d’automobile s’étant produits le 1er novembre 1996 ou par la suite (Court Proceedings For Automobile Accidents That Occur on or After November 1, 1996), tous deux en anglais seulement.

Ces prochains mois, la CSFO publiera d’autres bulletins sur la mise en œuvre d’autres réformes de l’assurance-automobile annoncées dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2015.

Les modifications sont brièvement décrites et recensées ci-dessous :
 

Règlement de l’Ontario 664 sur l’assurance-automobile (Automobile Insurance)

 
Ce règlement a été modifié afin d’exiger de tous les assureurs l’octroi d’un rabais aux titulaires de police pour l’utilisation de pneus d’hiver. Le rabais pour pneus d’hiver doit être accordé pour les contrats délivrés ou renouvelés à partir du 1er janvier 2016, et ce, pour toutes les polices d’assurance-automobile pour voitures de tourisme admissibles. Les assureurs sont encouragés à appliquer le rabais avant le 1er janvier 2016, dans la mesure du possible.
 
Les compagnies d’assurance qui n’offrent pas déjà un rabais pour pneus d’hiver doivent remplir une demande d’approbation auprès de la CSFO au plus tard le 28 août 2015. Elles devraient consulter les Lignes directrices pour le dépôt des demandes de taux visant les voitures de tourisme (abrégées) à cet égard et ne pas considérer le rabais hors bilan.
 
Les assureurs sont tenus d’introduire un processus par lequel ils informeront les titulaires de police de ce nouveau rabais.
 
Pour toute question au sujet du processus de demande pour ce rabais, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre analyste des taux à la Direction des services d’assurance-automobile de la CSFO.
 

Règlement de l’Ontario 461/96 sur les procédures judiciaires relatives aux accidents d’automobile s’étant produits en novembre 1996 ou par la suite (Court Proceedings For Automobile Accidents That Occur On Or After November 1, 1996)


Ce règlement a été modifié pour s’assurer que les franchises pour des dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires (souffrances et douleurs) tiennent compte des effets de l’inflation depuis 2003.

Les modifications à ces règlements comprennent ce qui suit :

 

  • L’ajustement de la franchise de 30 000 $ prescrite pour des dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires de façon à la faire passer à 36 540 $ du 1er août au 31 décembre 2015; Le 1er janvier 2016 ainsi que chaque année par la suite, ce montant sera révisé en fonction du pourcentage d’indexation publié pour l’année en question en vertu du paragraphe 268.1 (1) de la Loi sur les assurances;
  • L’ajustement de la franchise de 15 000 $ pour des dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires de façon à la faire passer à 18 270 $ du 1er août au 31 décembre 2015, en vertu de l’alinéa 61 (2) e) de la Loi sur le droit de la famille. Le 1er janvier 2016 ainsi que chaque année par la suite, ce montant sera révisé en fonction du pourcentage d’indexation publié pour l’année en question en vertu du paragraphe 268.1 (1) de la Loi sur les assurances.
L’avenant existant sur la garantie additionnelle pour compenser les franchises délictuelles (Added Coverage To Offset Tort Deductibles), en anglais seulement – FMPO 48 –, qui vise à réduire la franchise pour responsabilité délictuelle, reste inchangé.
 

Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, c. I.8


La Loi sur les assurances est modifiée afin d’ajuster les seuils monétaires au-delà desquels la franchise pour responsabilité délictuelle ne s’applique pas afin de tenir compte de l’inflation depuis 2003 de même que de l’évolution celle-ci dans le calcul des seuils monétaires.

Les modifications à cette loi comprennent ce qui suit :
 
  • Le seuil monétaire au-delà duquel la nouvelle franchise de 36 540 $ ne s’applique pas est ajusté de façon à passer de 100 000 $ à 121 799 $, dans le cas de dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires, du 1er août au 31 décembre 2015. Le 1er janvier 2016 ainsi que chaque année par la suite, ce nouveau seuil sera révisé en fonction du pourcentage d’indexation publié pour l’année en question en vertu du paragraphe 268.1 (1).
  • Le seuil monétaire au-delà duquel la nouvelle franchise de 18 270 $ est ajusté de façon à passer de 50 000 $ à 60 899 $ dans le cas de dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires, en vertu de l’alinéa 61 (2) e) de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, du 1er août au 31 décembre 2015. Le 1er janvier 2016 ainsi que chaque année par la suite, ce nouveau seuil sera révisé en fonction du pourcentage d’indexation publié pour l’année en question en vertu du paragraphe 268.1 (1).
  • La Loi sur les assurances a aussi été modifiée, au paragraphe 267.5 (9), afin d’exiger que la franchise pour responsabilité délictuelle soit prise en compte au moment de déterminer le droit d’une partie aux dépens dans une action pour dommages résultant de lésions corporelles ou d’un décès qui découlent directement ou indirectement de l’usage ou de la conduite d’une automobile.
Veuillez vous assurer que les membres de votre personnel chargés du traitement des demandes de règlement et de la tarification ainsi que tout autre membre du personnel qui pourrait être touché par ces modifications en sont avisés. Veuillez également vous assurer de faire tous les changements opérationnels qui s’imposent pour mettre ces réformes en œuvre d’ici à leur date d’entrée en vigueur.
 

Exemplaires des règlements et de la Loi


La Loi sur les assurances et les règlements peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web Lois-en-ligne, à www.e-laws.gov.on.ca [New Window]. La proclamation des modifications législatives à la Loi sur les assurances devrait être publiée dans un prochain numéro de la Gazette de l’Ontario.
 

Brian Mills
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
 
Le 29 juillet 2015


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.