Auto Insurance Reforms and Policyholder Communications, Part 1

 
Bulletin
No. A-09/15
Property & Casualty
 – Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact auto insurance in Ontario
 

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
​​​​The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is producing two publications to provide consumers with information regarding the auto insurance reforms. The publications explain changes to the standard auto insurance policy in Ontario effective June 1, 2016, and the new choices available to renewing policyholders.

In the interest of providing consistent and coordinated information to Ontario policyholders, insurers will distribute, or ensure distribution of, these publications to renewing policyholders as required by FSCO.

This Bulletin outlines FSCO's requirements regarding the treatment and distribution of these publications by insurers and attaches the first document, Early Awareness mailer, for action.


Early Awareness Mailer

 

Changes to Ontario Auto Insurance Give You More Choice (Early Awareness mailer) advises policyholders that the standard auto insurance policy is changing on June 1, 2016, and that they will get more information with their next renewal.

FSCO requires insurers to send by regular mail, to each of its policyholders on record on the date of the mailing, a copy of the Early Awareness mailer.

Insurers must produce, or ensure production of, this mailer so that the content is as provided in the document attached to this Bulletin, and so that the insurer and/or insurance representative contact information appear in the designated field.

General formatting (e.g., font style, spacing, colours) and presentation (e.g., double-sided insert, folded brochure, buck-slip, single-sided 8½ x 11") is at the discretion of the insurer and/or insurance representative, provided there are no alterations to the wording or the order of the content, and the text size is at least 10 point.

The Early Awareness mailer may be delivered in tandem with other communications of the insurer/insurance representative, provided it appears as a distinct piece and is not attached to, or integrated with, other communications.

Insurers are required to deliver, or ensure delivery via third-party, the Early Awareness mailer to all policyholders, in hard copy, post-marked no later than March 31, 2016. Insurers are encouraged to distribute, or ensure distribution of, the Early Awareness mailer at any time before that date.

 

New Business


For new business, i.e., policies written after the general distribution of the Early Awareness mailer and before June 1, 2016, insurers are to deliver the Early Awareness mailer to the new policyholders no later than June 1, 2016. It may be delivered on its own or with other communications, for example, policy documents.

Point of Sale Disclosure Document


Property & Casualty – Auto Bulletin No. A-08/15: Revised Certificate of Automobile Insurance Form and Data Elements, issued September 18, 2015, referred to the development of a Point of Sale Disclosure (POS) document by the Reform Information Working Group and advised that insurers would be required to include the document with new business and policy renewals effective on or after June 1, 2016.

Once the Group has finalized the disclosure document, FSCO will issue an amended Certificate of Automobile Insurance (Ontario) ("Certificate") that will introduce the text of the document as an additional data element of the certificate. The amended Certificate, incorporating the POS document, must be used for all policies that are first issued or renewed between June 1, 2016 and May 31, 2017. The amended Certificate is expected to be issued in January, 2016.

Insurers will not be required to refile Certificates for the sole purpose of reflecting the inclusion of the POS document.

 

Distribution via Electronic Channels

 

Any or all of the publications can be delivered to policyholders in electronic form only where the policyholder has clearly indicated that electronic is the preferred method of communication and delivery of policy renewal documents.


Materials


The text and hi-res graphics for all publications are or will be available in MS WORD, in English and French, on FSCO's website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca.


Insurance Representative/Third-Party Distribution


FSCO expects that insurers planning to distribute the publications through insurance representatives (e.g., brokers and agents) will oversee the production and distribution process to ensure all policyholders receive the publications as outlined above.


Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
 

November 10, 2015

Attachments:

 

  • Changes to Ontario Auto Insurance Give You More Choice (Early Awareness mailer)
    MS WORD [Microsoft Word Document] Size: ## kb​​| HTML [HTML Document] Size: ## kb

Note: This document in MS Word includes the logos in hi-resolution.


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Réformes de l’assurance-automobile et communications avec les titulaires de police, partie 1

 
Bulletin
No A-09/15
I.A.R.D.
-Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance
autorisées à offrir de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario
​​
 

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) produit deux publications pour informer les consommateurs des réformes de l’assurance-automobile. Ces publications expliquent les modifications à la police type d’assurance-automobile entrant en vigueur en Ontario le 1er juin 2016 ainsi que les nouvelles options offertes aux titulaires de police au moment du renouvellement.

Pour assurer la diffusion coordonnée de renseignements uniformes, la CSFO a exigé que les assureurs distribuent ou fassent distribuer ces publications aux titulaires de police au moment du renouvellement.

Le présent bulletin précise les exigences de la CSFO relativement au traitement et à la distribution de ces publications par les assureurs. Le premier document, le feuillet d’information préalable, est joint pour faciliter l’adoption de mesures.
 

Feuillet d’information préalable


Le feuillet d’information préalable intitulé « Les modifications à l’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario vous offrent davantage de choix » informe les titulaires de police des changements concernant la police type d’assurance-automobile qui entreront en vigueur le 1er juin 2016, et leur annonce qu’ils obtiendront des renseignements supplémentaires à l’occasion de leur prochain renouvellement.

La CSFO demande aux assureurs d’envoyer par courrier ordinaire un exemplaire du feuillet d’information préalable à chaque titulaire de police consigné dans ses registres à la date de l’envoi.

Les assureurs doivent produire ou faire produire ce feuillet de manière à ce que le contenu soit conforme aux documents joints à ce bulletin et à ce que ses coordonnées ou celles de leur représentant d’assurance figurent dans le champ prévu à cet effet.

La mise en page générale (style de police, espacement, couleurs, etc.) et la présentation (p. ex. encart recto verso, dépliant, feuillet de 8,5 po sur 11 po imprimé d’un seul côté) sont laissées à la discrétion de l’assureur ou du représentant d’assurance, dans la mesure où aucun changement n’est apporté au libellé ou à l’ordre du contenu et où la taille de la police est d’au moins 10 points.

Le feuillet d’information préalable peut être livré avec d’autres communications de l’assureur ou du représentant d’assurance à condition qu’il soit présenté sous forme de pièce séparée, sans être attaché ou intégré à ces communications.

Les assureurs doivent livrer ou faire livrer par un tiers le feuillet d’information préalable en version imprimée à tous les titulaires de polices au plus tard le 31 mars 2016, le cachet de la poste en faisant foi. Nous recommandons aux assureurs de distribuer ou de faire distribuer le feuillet d’information préalable à n’importe quel moment avant cette date.
 

Affaires nouvelles


En ce qui concerne les affaires nouvelles, c.-à-d. les polices souscrites après la diffusion générale du feuillet d’information préalable et avant le 1er juin 2016, les assureurs doivent livrer le feuillet d’information préalable aux nouveaux titulaires de polices au plus tard 1er juin 2016. Le feuillet peut être livré séparément ou avec d’autres communications, par exemple les documents relatifs aux polices.
 

Document de divulgation au point de vente


Le Bulletin I.A.R.D. – Automobile A-08/15, intitulé « Formulaire révisé du certificat d’assurance-automobile et éléments de données du certificat » et publié le 18 septembre 2015, faisait mention de l’élaboration d’un document de divulgation au point de vente par le groupe de travail sur l’information concernant les réformes et annonçait que les assureurs seraient tenus de joindre ce document aux communications relatives aux nouvelles polices ou au premier renouvellement de toute police existante dès le 1er juin 2016.

Lorsque le groupe de travail aura finalisé le document de divulgation, la CSFO émettra un Certificat d’assurance-automobile modifié (Ontario) (« certificat »), qui présentera le contenu du document comme des éléments de données supplémentaires à inclure à titre d’annexe faisant partie intégrante du certificat. Le certificat modifié et intégrant le document de divulgation au point de vente doit être utilisé pour toutes les polices qui seront émises pour la première fois ou renouvelées entre le 1er juin 2016 et le 31 mai 2017. Le certificat modifié devrait être émis en janvier 2016.

Les assureurs ne seront pas tenus de déposer à nouveau les certificats à la seule fin de rendre compte de l’inclusion de document de point de vente.


Distribution par voie électronique


Les publications ne peuvent être livrées aux titulaires de police par voie électronique que si ceux-ci ont indiqué clairement qu’ils préféraient ce mode de communication et de livraison des documents liés au renouvellement de leur police.
 

Accessibilité des documents


Le texte et les images à haute résolution de toutes les publications sont ou seront accessibles en format MS Word, en anglais et en français, sur le site Web de la CSFO à www.fsco.gov.on.ca.
 

Distribution par l’intermédiaire de représentants d’assurance et de tiers


La CSFO s’attend à ce que les assureurs qui prévoient procéder à la distribution par l’intermédiaire de représentants (p. ex. courtiers ou agents) supervisent ce processus ainsi que celui de production pour veiller à ce que tous les titulaires de police reçoivent les publications dont il est question ci-dessus.
 
 
 
Brian Mills
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
 
Le 10 novembre 2015
 

Pièces jointes :

 
  • Les modifications à l’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario vous offrent davantage de choix (feuillet d’information préalable)ize: ## kb


    Format MSWord [Microsoft Word Document] Size: ## kb​​| Format HTML [HTML Document] Size: ## kb
Remarque : Le document en MSWord comprend des logos haute résolution.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.