Implementing Automobile Insurance Reforms: Amendments to Three Ontario Automobile Policy Forms – OAP-1, OPF-2 and OAP-4

 
Bulletin
No. A-05/16
Property & Casualty
– Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact automobile insurance in Ontario

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
This Bulletin highlights a number of changes and updates to policy forms that primarily reflect the automobile insurance reforms effective June 1, 2016. These new forms are to be used starting June 1, 2016.

Amendments to these forms are based on filed regulation amendments to the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule - Effective September 1, 2010 and Automobile Insurance (R.R.O. 1990, Reg.664) and have been made in consultation with various industry representatives.

The following forms have been revised:

  • OAP 1: Ontario Automobile Policy Owner's Policy,
  • OPF 2: Ontario Driver's Policy, and
  • OAP 4: Ontario Garage Automobile Policy.

Highlights of Changes

 
Changes to these forms include, but are not limited to, the following: 
 
  • Revised descriptions of benefits;
  • Updates to the standard and optional limits;
  • Amendments to the "Warning – Offences" language to reflect current federal government legislation;
  • Updates to specified regulatory deductibles.
 

Effective Date of the Forms

 
The revised forms are to be used for all new insurance business and renewals effective on or after June 1, 2016.


 

How to Obtain the Revised Forms


Copies of the revised forms (OAP 1, OPF 2 and OAP 4) are included as attachments to this Bulletin, and are also available on FSCO's website at: www.fsco.gov.on.ca. In addition, these forms will also be published in an upcoming edition of The Ontario Gazette.


 
Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

February 25, 2016


Attachments

 

​​

 


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Mise en œuvre des réformes de l’assurance-automobile : modifications à trois formulaires de la Police d’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario – FPO-1, FPO-2 et FPO-4

 
Bulletin
No A-05/16
IARD
– Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à
faire souscrire de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario

​​

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
Le présent bulletin vise à attirer l’attention sur un certain nombre de mises à jour et de modifications à des formulaires, qui reflètent les réformes de l’assurance-automobile en vigueur le 1er juin 2016. Les nouveaux formulaires devront être utilisés dès le 1er juin 2016.
 
Les modifications à ces formulaires sont apportées dans la foulée de changements réglementaires à l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010 et à l’assurance-automobile (Règlement 664, R.R.O. 1990). Elles sont faites au terme de consultations avec divers représentants de l’industrie.
 
Les formulaires suivants ont été révisés :

 

  • FPO 1 : Police d’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario (police du propriétaire); 
  • FPO 2 : Police du conducteur de l’Ontario; 
  • FPO 4 : Police des garagistes de l’Ontario.

Points saillants des changements

 
Les changements à ces formulaires comprennent, sans s’y limiter :

 

  • des descriptions révisées des indemnités;
  • des mises à jour aux limites des indemnités standard et optionnelles;
  • des modifications au libellé des messages Avertissement – Infractions pour tenir compte des lois fédérales en vigueur;
  • des mises à jour aux franchises réglementaires.

Date d’entrée en vigueur des modifications aux formulaires

 
Les formulaires révisés doivent être utilisés pour toutes les demandes déposées à partir du 1er juin 2016, y compris les demandes de renouvellement.
 

Comment obtenir les formulaires révisés

 
Des exemplaires des formulaires révisés (FPO 1, FPO 2 et FPO 4) sont annexés au présent bulletin. Vous pouvez aussi les consulter sur le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca). Ces formulaires seront également publiés dans la prochaine édition de la Gazette de l’Ontario.
 

Brian Mills
Directeur général
et surintendant des services financiers
 
Le 25 février 2016
 

Pièces jointes

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.