Amendments to Automobile Insurance Regulations

 
Bulletin
No. A-07/16

Property & Casualty

– Auto

 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to
transact auto insurance and service providers in Ontario

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​

With this Bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is highlighting a number of automobile insurance regulation changes that will become effective on April 1, 2016.

 

These regulation changes are the result of the announcements made in the 2015 Ontario Budget with respect to the new dispute resolution system at the Ministry of the Attorney General's Licence Appeal Tribunal (LAT).

 

They include amendments to R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 664 (Automobile Insurance), O.Reg. 34/10 (Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010), O.Reg. 403/96 (Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Accidents on or After November 1, 1996) and O.Reg. 776/93 (Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Accidents After December 31, 1993 and Before November 1, 1996).

The amendments are briefly described and listed below:

 

R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 664 (Automobile Insurance)

 

This regulation has been amended to provide for the wind down of the dispute resolution system at FSCO, effective April 1, 2016, and includes the following changes:

 

  • Applications for mediation, neutral evaluation, and the appointment of an arbitrator for arbitration will not be accepted by FSCO after March 31, 2016.
  • A mediation, arbitration, court proceeding, appeal, variation or revocation that was commenced before April 1, 2016 may be continued at FSCO after that date
  • If a mediation commenced on or before March 31, 2016 fails, a court proceeding may not be commenced on or after April 1, 2016 but an application may be made to the LAT.
  • Applications to the Director of Arbitrations for appeals, variation or revocation may only be made where the application for the appointment of an arbitrator was received by FSCO on or before March 31, 2016.
  • The Office of the Director of Arbitrations will be continued, as will his power to amend the rules of practice and procedure for FSCO proceedings.

Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule (O.Reg. 34/10, O.Reg. 403/96 and O.Reg. 776/93)

 

Also effective April 1, 2016, provisions in the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule that apply to the dispute resolution process at FSCO will continue to apply to: 
 

  • all applications that were received by FSCO on or before March 31, 2016 but are not finally determined before that date,
  • appeals, variations, and revocations of these matters.
The accident benefit forms previously set out in O.Reg. 403/96 and O.Reg. 776/93 have been amended to be forms approved by the Superintendent of Financial Services. These forms are anticipated to be posted on the FSCO website before April 1, 2016.
 

Effective Date

 

The changes that are referenced in this Bulletin come into effect on April 1, 2016.  Please make sure that your claims and underwriting staff, and any other staff who may be affected by these amendments, are informed of these changes.  Also ensure that you make any operational changes that are required to implement these reforms by the effective date.

 

Copies of Regulations and Legislation

 

The regulations can be downloaded from the e-laws website at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca [New Window]. The proclamation order for the legislative amendment to the Insurance Act is expected to be published in a future edition of The Ontario Gazette.
 

 
Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

 

March 23, 2016


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Modifications aux règlements régissant l’assurance-automobile

 
Bulletin
No. A-07/16
IARD
- Automobile
 
À l’attention de tous les fournisseurs de services et toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à offrir de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario
​​​​

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

Dans le présent bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) présente un certain nombre de réformes concernant l'assurance-automobile qui entreront en vigueur le 1er avril 2016.

 

Ces réformes font suite aux annonces faites par le gouvernement dans le Budget de l'Ontario 2015 concernant le nouveau système de règlement des différends au Tribunal d'appel en matière de permis (TAP) du ministère du Procureur général. Elles prévoient des modifications au R.R.O. 1990, au Règl. 664 (Assurance-automobile), au Règl. de l'Ont. 34/10 (Annexe sur les indemnités d'accident légales – en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010), au Règl. de l'Ont. 403/96 (Annexe sur les indemnités d'accident légales – accidents survenus le 1er novembre 1996 ou après ce jour) et au Règl. de l'Ont. 776/93 (Annexe sur les indemnités d'accident légales  - accidents survenus après le 31 décembre 1993 mais avant le 1er novembre 1996).

 

Les modifications sont énumérées et brièvement décrites ci-dessous :

 

R.R.O. 1990, Règl. 664 (Assurance-automobile)

 
Ce règlement a été modifié afin de refléter la cessation des activités de règlement des différends présentés à la CSFO, à compter du 1er avril 2016 et inclut les changements suivants :

 

  • Les demandes de médiation, d'évaluation neutre ou de nomination d'un arbitre aux fins d'arbitrage ne seront pas acceptées par la CSFO après le 31 mars 2016. 
  • Les médiations, arbitrages, instances judiciaires, appels, modifications ou révocations commencés avant le 1er avril pourront continuer à être entendus à la CSFO après cette date.
  • Si une procédure de médiation a débuté au plus tard le 31 mars 2016, sans toutefois être résolue, une instance judiciaire ne pourra être commencée à compter du 1er avril 2016, mais une demande d'instance judiciaire pourra être présentée au Tribunal d'appel en matière de permis. 
  • Les demandes d'appel, de modification ou de révocation au directeur des arbitrages ne seront acceptées que si la CSFO reçoit la demande de nomination d'un arbitre au plus tard le 31 mars 2016.
  • Le bureau du directeur des arbitrages restera en fonction, et il conservera ses pouvoirs de modifier les règles de pratique et de procédure applicables aux instances devant la CSFO.

Annexe sur les indemnités d'accident légales (Règl. de l'Ont. 34/10, Règl. de l'Ont. 403/96 et Règl. de l'Ont. 776/93)

 

Aussi en vigueur à compter du 1er avril 2016, les dispositions de l'Annexe sur les indemnités d'accidents légales  qui s'appliquent au processus de résolution des litiges de la CSFO continueront de s'appliquer :

 

  • à toutes les demandes reçues par la CSFO au plus tard le 31 mars 2016, mais non résolues à cette date;
  • aux demandes d'appel, de modification et de révocation relatives à ces instances.

Les formulaires de demandes d'indemnités d'accident prévus dans le Règl. de l'Ont. 403/96 et le Règl. de l'Ont. 776/93 ont été modifiés et approuvés par le surintendant des services financiers. Ces formulaires devraient être accessibles sur le site Web de la CSFO avant le 1er avril 2016.

 

Date d'entrée en vigueur

 

Les changements mentionnés dans le présent bulletin enteront en vigueur le 1er avril 2016. Veuillez vous assurer que les membres de votre personnel chargés du traitement des demandes de règlement et de la tarification et tout autre membre du personnel qui pourrait être touché par ces modifications en sont avisés. Veuillez également vous assurer de faire tous les changements opérationnels qui s'imposent pour mettre ces réformes en œuvre d'ici à leur date d'entrée en vigueur. 

 

Exemplaires des règlements et de la Loi

 

Les règlements peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web Lois-en-ligne, à www.e-laws.gov.on.ca [New Window]. La proclamation des modifications législatives à la Loi sur les assurances devrait être publiée dans un prochain numéro de la Gazette de l'Ontario.

 

Brian Mills
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers

 

Le 23 mars 2016


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.