Technical Amendments to Auto Insurance Regulations

​ 
Bulletin
No. A-05/18
Property & Casualty
– Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to
transact automobile insurance in Ontario

 

With this Bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is highlighting two technical amendments to regulations under the Insurance Act to reflect changes to the federal Criminal Code related to the legalization of cannabis, which came into effect on October 17, 2018.

 

The amendments to Regulation 668 – Fault Determination Rules and to O. Reg. 34/10 – Statutory Accidents Benefit Schedule (SABS) are being made to ensure that drug-impaired driving is treated equally to alcohol-impaired driving under insurance contracts.

 

The amendments expand the types of driving offences where the Fault Determination Rules do not apply. The amendments also expand the types of driving offences where, regardless of fault, certain accident benefits, such as income replacement, are not provided (e.g. impairment by a combination of alcohol and a drug, failing or refusing to perform a physical coordination test, or refusing to submit to an evaluation).

 

Policy Form Changes

 

FSCO will also be releasing consequential changes to policy forms to reflect these regulation amendments. Those forms will be shared in a forthcoming bulletin.

 

Copies of Regulations and Legislation

 

The regulations (O.Reg 445/18 and O.Reg 444/18​​) can be downloaded from the Ontario e-Laws website at Ontario.ca/laws.

 

Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

 

October 18, 2018


Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage Important information about the Canada Post labour disruption

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Modifications techniques de règlements régissant l’assurance-automobile

​ 
Bulletin
No A-05/18
IARD
– Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à offrir
de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario
​​

Dans le présent bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) annonce deux modifications techniques de règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances, effectuées afin de tenir compte de modifications du Code criminel se rapportant à la légalisation du cannabis, qui sont entrées en vigueur le 17 octobre 2018.

 

Les modifications du Règlement 668 – Fault Determination Rules (en anglais seulement) et du Règlement de l’Ontario 34/10 – Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales (AIAL) visent à assurer que la conduite avec facultés affaiblies par la drogue est traitée de la même manière que la conduite avec facultés affaiblies par l’alcool dans les contrats d’assurance.

 

Les modifications élargissent les types d’infractions en matière de conduite automobile lorsque les règles de détermination de la responsabilité ne s’appliquent pas. Les modifications élargissent aussi les types d’infractions en matière de conduite automobile pour lesquels, sans égard à la responsabilité, certaines indemnités d’accident, comme le remplacement du revenu, ne sont pas offertes (p. ex., facultés affaiblies par une combinaison d’alcool et de drogues, omission ou refus de se soumettre à un test de coordination physique, refus de se soumettre à une évaluation).

 

Changements des formulaires de police

 

La CSFO apportera également des modifications corrélatives aux formulaires de police afin de tenir compte de ces modifications des règlements. Ces formulaires seront communiqués dans un prochain bulletin.

 

Copies des règlements et de la loi

 

Les règlements (Règl. de l’Ont. 445/18 et Règl. de l’Ont. 444/18​) peuvent être téléchargés du site Web de l’Ontario Lois-en-Ligne, à www.ontario.ca/fr/lois.

 

Brian Mills
Directeur général et 
surintendant des services financiers

 

18 octobre 2018

Vous devez planifier votre retraite? Voici ce que vous devriez savoir.
Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Renseignements importants concernant l'interruption de travail à Postes Canada

hotline-fr.jpg
Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.