Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Automobile Insurance Underwriting Rules and Risk Classification Variables

 

Bulletin

No. A-1/01
- Auto
Property & Casualty
[To the attention of all insurance companies licensed
to transact automobile insurance in Ontario]

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) has received enquiries from insurers about using various underwriting grounds and risk classification variables. There has been considerable interest in the use of underwriting rules and rating variables which are based on the financial circumstances of the insured. FSCO does not approve of the use of underwriting rules or risk classification variables which are directly or indirectly related to social and/or economic status.

 

The purpose of this bulletin is to clarify the factors which are taken into consideration by FSCO in determining the acceptability of underwriting rules and risk classification variables.

 

 

BACKGROUND

 

In 1997, an application was received for a proposed risk classification system which included rating on the basis of the following "lifestyle" variables:

 

  • credit card possession;
  • credit history;
  • bankruptcy status;
  • residence stability;
  • employment stability;
  • employment status.

These factors were new to the province of Ontario and were considered unacceptable. The application was not approved and a hearing was called. The hearing did not proceed as the insurance company involved elected to withdraw the application.


FSCO continues to receive enquiries about the use of these and other related variables which are not acceptable.

 

 

UNDERWRITING RULES

Legislative requirements

 

 

The Insurance Act requires that insurers file with the Superintendent of Financial Services (Superintendent) the underwriting rules they intend to use to decline to issue, terminate or refuse to renew a contract or provide coverage. Insurers are prohibited from using underwriting rules which in the opinion of the Superintendent are subjective, arbitrary, bear little or no relationship to the potential risk to be assumed by the insurer, or are contrary to public policy. Section 5 of Regulation 664 also specifically lists some unacceptable underwriting grounds.
 

Statutory standards

 

 

Subjective and Arbitrary
 

Both of these concepts imply an element of individual perception and interpretation rather than concrete, externally verifiable procedures. As much as possible, the grounds must be clear, fixed rules and not subject to interpretation. Underwriting rules must not be discretionary and must not be based on an unreasonable premise. Little or no relationship to the risk to be borne by the insurer in respect of an insured.

 

The rules must bear relationship to the risk. There must be direct linkages between the decision to accept or decline the risk or coverage, and the potential for a claim.

Contrary to public policy
 

 

Consideration must be given to grounds which would not be in the interest of the public as a whole, even though there might be statistical support showing a correlation to losses.
 

 

Any grounds which transgress the Human Rights Code and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms such as those based on religion, race, nationality or ethnicity are unacceptable. Other factors contrary to public policy were listed in the Technical Notes issued to the industry in 1997. These include declining insurance on the basis of:

 

  • age, sex or marital status of the individuals to be insured under the policy;
  • newly licensed drivers, where this is the sole factor for the declination;
  • drivers who are "new" to Canada;
  • lapse in coverage;
  • principal location of the insured automobile unless such a decision is for a business purpose and is not a pretext for unfair discrimination;
  • the person to be insured under the policy has been convicted of an event unrelated to driving an automobile or automobile insurance;
  • vehicles with United States exposure;
  • withdrawal from a segment of the marketplace that could result in market disruption (e.g. declining non-group business).

In addition, section 5 of Regulation 664 sets out a number of prohibited underwriting factors such as those based on occupation, profession or employment status, level of income and the existence of physical or mental disability. None of these factors or surrogates for them is considered acceptable.

 

 

RISK CLASSIFICATION SYSTEMS

Legislative requirements

 

The statutory standards under the Insurance Act require that risk classification systems be just and reasonable, reasonably predictive of risk and distinguish fairly between risks. An insurer’s rates must be just and reasonable, and neither excessive in relation to the financial circumstances of the insurer nor impair the solvency of the insurer.

 

In addition, the Superintendent cannot approve an application for automobile insurance rates or risk classification systems if the Superintendent considers that it would be in the public interest for the Financial Services Tribunal to hold a hearing on the application.

 

 

Statutory standards

Reasonably predictive of risk and distinguish fairly between risks
 

Both of these statutory standards are based on actuarial concepts. An actuarially sound risk classification system should:

 

  • reflect expected cost differences;
  • be applied objectively and consistently;
  • be practical;
  • be cost-effective;
  • be responsive to change; and
  • minimize anti-selection.

Just and reasonable
 

Apart from the actuarial soundness of a risk classification system, the statutory standards require that the system be "just and reasonable." The application of this standard involves discretionary authority on the part of the Superintendent, to consider factors other than actuarial soundness, such as societal fairness. Therefore, a factor that is statistically valid may not necessarily be just and reasonable.

 

In determining whether the elements of a risk classification system are just and reasonable, one or more of the following indicators may be assessed:

 

  • Are the risk classification variables directly linked to driving behaviour?
  • Are the risk classification variables linked to automobile insurance-related fraud?
  • Are the risk classification variables under the control of the individual?
  • Do the risk classification variables encourage better driving?
  • Will insurance consumers intuitively connect the risk classification criteria with their classification and/or rates?
  • Is one or more of the risk classification variables a surrogate for some other unacceptable rating factor?

Risk classification systems that include criteria which assess social and/or economic status are not just and reasonable. FSCO would not be prepared to approve an application which includes any of the previously listed “lifestyle” variables or similar variables. In fact, the Ontario Human Rights Commission indicated that those “lifestyle” variables could contravene Part 1 of the Ontario Human Rights Code.

Hearings in the public interest

 

Even if the other components of the statutory standard are met, a hearing may be held when it is in the interest of the public to do so. Public interest issues include possible effects on the following:

 

  • the availability of insurance to consumers and impacts on the service provided;
  • the cost of insurance to consumers;
  • the availability of information to consumers;
  • the ability of consumers to assess and choose insurers;
  • market stability and competition within the industry;
  • insurer and intermediary operations and performance;
  • insurer-intermediary relationships;
  • insurers’, intermediaries’ and consumers’ disclosure of information requirements.

In some cases, the ultimate impact on the market may be more fully explored through the hearing process. A hearing provides the opportunity to receive input from a variety of interested stakeholders on proposed risk classification variables. Where proposed variables are a dramatic departure from current industry practice, there are likely to be several, sometimes opposing, views from insurance industry stakeholders. It is appropriate to consider these viewpoints before unique risk classification criteria are approved.

 

A hearing also assists in testing some of the underlying assumptions and ensuring that the information is complete and reliable, and that the conclusions reached are valid.

 

 

INFORMATION COLLECTION

 

As part of the review of underwriting rules and risk classification plans, FSCO may also consider the source and type of information that is collected by insurers. There may be privacy concerns with the collection and use of information not strictly required for underwriting or risk classification. Insurers are expected to confirm that any personal information collected, especially financial information, is obtained for legitimate purposes and adequately protected.

 

In addition, the maintenance of data and the quality of data, especially where an alternative source of collection is relied upon, may also require scrutiny. In the past, there have been concerns raised about the reliability and subsequent use of such information.

 

 

CONTACT

 

Should you have any inquiries regarding this bulletin, please contact your rate analyst in the Automobile Insurance Analysis Division at FSCO.


Dina Palozzi
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
January 31, 2001


hotline-en.jpg
Follow @FSCOTweets

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Variables concernant les règles de souscription et la classification des risques dans le domaine de l'assurance automobile

 

Bulletin

No A-01/01
- Auto
I.A.R.D.
[À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées
à vendre de l’assurance automobile en Ontario]

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a reçu des demandes de renseignements de la part des assureurs au sujet de l’utilisation de différentes variables en ce qui concerne les fondements de souscription et la classification des risques. L’intérêt s’est considérablement accru en matière de variables concernant l’utilisation de règles de souscription et d’évaluation fondée sur la situation financière de l’assuré. La CSFO n’approuve pas l’utilisation de variables concernant les règles de souscription ou de classification de risques liées, de près ou de loin, à la situation sociale et économique.

 

Le but de ce bulletin est de préciser les facteurs dont tient compte la CSFO lorsqu’il s’agit de déterminer l’acceptabilité de variables concernant les règles de souscription et de classification des risques.

 

Contexte

 

In 1997, nous avons reçu une demande concernant une proposition de système de classification des risques. Ce système établissait l’évaluation selon les variables de style de vie suivantes :

 

  • possession d’une carte de crédit;
  • antécédents en matière de crédit;
  • antécédents en matière de faillite;
  • stabilité résidentielle;
  • stabilité d’emploi;
  • états de service.

Ces facteurs, une nouveauté pour l’Ontario, s’avéraient inacceptables. La demande a été refusée et une audience a été convoquée. L’audience n’a pas eu lieu puisque les compagnies d’assurance concernées ont choisi de retirer la demande.

 

La CSFO continue de recevoir des demandes concernant l’utilisation de ces variables et d’autres variables connexes qui sont inacceptables.

 

 
Règles de souscription

Prescription de la loi

 

La Loi sur les assurances exige que les assureurs déposent une demande auprès de la Surintendante des services financiers au sujet des règles de souscription qu’ils ont l’intention d’utiliser, afin de refuser d’émettre, de terminer ou de refuser le renouvellement d’un contrat d’assurance ou d’offrir une garantie. Il est interdit aux assureurs d’utiliser des règles de souscription qui, selon la surintendante, sont subjectives, arbitraires, qui n’ont aucun lien ou un lien très faible avec le risque éventuel qui devra être assumé par l’assureur, ou qui ne sont pas conformes à la politique gouvernementale. L’article 5 du Règlement 664 indique clairement certaines bases de souscription inacceptables.

 

Normes réglementaires

 

Subjectives et arbitraires

 

Ces deux concepts comportent un élément de perception et d’interprétation personnelles plutôt que des procédures concrètes et vérifiables de l’extérieur. Dans la mesure du possible, les règles doivent être claires, stables et ne pas se prêter à l’interprétation. Les règles de souscription ne doivent pas être discrétionnaires et ne doivent pas être fondées sur des bases déraisonnables.

 

Peu ou pas de lien avec le risque qui devra être assumé par l’assureur à l’égard d’un assuré

 

Les règles doivent avoir un lien avec le risque. Il doit y avoir des liens directs entre la décision d’accepter ou de refuser d’assumer le risque inhérent à la garantie, et l’éventualité d’une réclamation.

 

Contraire à la politique gouvernementale

 

Il faut se pencher sur les bases qui ne tiennent pas compte de l’intérêt de l’ensemble du public, même s’il peut exister une corrélation statistique relative à des pertes.

 

Toute les bases qui transgressent le Code des droits de la personne et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et qui sont fondées sur la religion, la race, la nationalité et l’ethnicité, sont inacceptables. D’autres facteurs qui vont à l’encontre de la politique gouvernementale ont été énumérés dans les Notes techniques transmises à l’industrie en 1997. On ne pourrait donc refuser de vendre de l’assurance en tenant compte :

 

  • de l’âge, du sexe, ou de l’état matrimonial des personnes qui seront assurées en vertu du contrat;
  • des nouveaux détenteurs de permis, si cela constitue le seul facteur de refus; des conducteurs qui sont « nouveaux » au Canada;
  • de la déchéance de la garantie;
  • du lieu principal du véhicule assuré à moins qu’une telle décision ne soit liée à des fins professionnelles et qu’elle ne serve pas de prétexte à une discrimination injuste;
  • du fait que la personne à assurer ait été accusée d’un événément qui n’est pas lié à la conduite automobile ou à l’assurance automobile;
  • des véhicules qui peuvent circuler aux États-Unis;
  • d’un retrait d’un segment du marché qui pourrait perturber le marché (refuser les entreprises non-en-groupe, par exemple).

De plus, l’article 5 du Règlement 664 établit des facteurs de souscription interdits qui se fondent sur le type d’emploi, la profession ou les états de service, le revenu et la présence de handicaps physiques ou mentaux. Aucun de ces facteurs ou les éléments qui leur sont liés ne sont acceptables.

 

 

Systèmes de classification des risques

Prescription de la loi

 

Les normes réglementaires en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances exigent que les systèmes de classification des risques soient justes et raisonnables, qu’ils prévoient les risques de façon raisonnable et qu’ils établissent des distinctions fondées selon les risques. Les tarifs d’un assureur doivent être justes et raisonnables et ils ne doivent pas dépasser la capacité de payer de l’assuré afin de ne pas porter atteinte à sa solvabilité.

De plus, la surintendante ne peut approuver une demande concernant des tarifs d’assurance automobile ou des systèmes de classification des risques si elle juge qu’il faudrait, dans l’intérêt du public, convoquer une audience du Tribunal des services financiers concernant cette demande.

 

Normes réglementaires

 

Prévoir les risques de façon raisonnable et établir une distinction fondée selon les risques

 

Ces deux normes réglementaires se fondent sur des concepts actuariels. Un système de classification des risques valable du point de vue actuariel devrait :

 

  • refléter les prévisions en matière de différences de coûts;
  • être appliqué objectivement et avec logique;
  • être pratique;
  • être rentable;
  • être ouvert au changement; et
  • minimiser l’antisélection.

Juste et raisonnable

 

Mise à part la validité actuarielle d’un système de classification des risques, les normes réglementaires stipulent que le système doit être juste et raisonnable. La mise en application de cette norme fait appel au pouvoir discrétionnaire de la surintendante. Celle-ci doit tenir compte d’autres facteurs que la validité actuarielle, tels que la justice sociale. Par conséquent, un facteur statistiquement valable n’est pas nécessairement juste et raisonnable.

 

Afin de déterminer si les éléments d’un système de classification des risques sont justes et raisonnables, on doit évaluer un ou plusieurs des indicateurs suivants :

 

  • Les variables concernant la classification des risques sont-elles directement liées au comportement au volant ?
  • Les variables concernant la classification des risques sont-elles liées à la fraude en matière d’assurance automobile ?
  • Les variables concernant la classification des risques sont-elles contrôlées par la personne ?
  • Les variables concernant la classification des risques favorisent-elles une meilleure attitude au volant ?
  • Les consommateurs d’assurance feront-ils intuitivement le lien entre le critère de classification des risques et leurs propres classifications ou leurs propres tarifs ?
  • Une ou plus d’une variable concernant la classification des risques remplace-t-elle un autre facteur d’évaluation inacceptable ?

Les systèmes de classification des risques qui intègrent des critères servant à évaluer la situation économique et sociale ne sont pas justes et raisonnables. La CSFO ne serait pas prête à approuver une demande qui comprendrait l’une des variables liées au style de vie ou toutes autres variables énumérées ci-dessus. De fait, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne indique que les variables touchant le style de vie enfreindraient la Partie 1 du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario.


Audiences tenues dans l’intérêt du public

 

Même si les autres composantes des normes réglementaires sont respectées, une audience peut être tenue lorsqu’il s’agit d’une question d’intérêt public. Les questions d’intérêt public peuvent avoir des effets sur les éléments suivants :

 

  • la disponibilité d’assurance pour les consommateurs et les répercussions sur les services;
  • le coût de l’assurance pour les consommateurs;
  • la disponibilité de l’information destinée aux consommateurs;
  • la capacité des consommateurs d’évaluer et de choisir les assureurs;
  • la stabilité du marché et la concurrence au sein de l’industrie;
  • les activités et le rendement des assureurs et de leurs intermédiaires;
  • les relations entre les assureurs et leurs intermédiaires;
  • les exigences concernant la communication de renseignements de la part des assureurs, des intermédiaires et des consommateurs.

Dans certains cas, les principales répercussions sur le marché pourront être examinées de plus près au cours de l’audience. Une audience permet d’écouter les commentaires des différentes parties intéressées au sujet des variables proposées concernant la classification des risques. Lorsque les variables proposées se démarquent considérablement des pratiques actuelles de l’industrie, il faut s’attendre à ce que de nombreux points de vue, parfois opposés, soient exprimés par les personnes concernées du domaine de l’assurance. Il est donc approprié de tenir compte de ces points de vue avant d’approuver des critères de classification des risques uniques

 

Une audience permet également d’évaluer certaines hypothèses sous-jacentes et de s’assurer que l’information est complète et fiable, et que les conclusions auxquelles on en arrive sont valables.

 

 
Collecte d’information
 

Dans ses plans de révision des règles de souscription et de la classification des risques, la CSFO pourra également tenir compte de la source et du type d’information recueillie par les assureurs. Il peut y avoir des inquiétudes au sujet de la confidentialité qui entoure la collecte et l’utilisation de l’information qui n’est pas absolument nécessaire dans le cas de la souscription et de la classification des risques. On s’attend à ce que les assureurs confirment que tous les renseignements recueillis, particulièrement les renseignements qui touchent la situation financière, soient obtenus à des fins légitimes et qu’ils soient convenablement protégés.

De plus, la conservation de données et la qualité des données, particulièrement lorsqu’il s’agit de s’en remettre à une autre source de collecte, peut également faire l’objet d’un examen approfondi. Des inquiétudes ont été émises, dans le passé, concernant la fiabilité et l’utilisation ultérieure de tels renseignements.

 

 
Personne-ressource
 

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet de ce bulletin, veuillez communiquer avec votre analyste des tarifs de la Division de l’analyse - Assurance automobile de la CSFO.


Dina Palozzi
Présidente directrice générale
Surintendante des services financiers

Le 31 janvier 2001

​[bulletin global footer - (fr)]
hotline-fr.jpg

Suivre@FSCOTweets