Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Understanding Insurance for Motorcycles, Snowmobiles, and Other Motorized Vehicles

top

 
   

Insurance for Your Motorcycle and Snowmobile

 
Insurance for motorcycles and snowmobiles is mandatory in Ontario, except in certain situations.
 
Motorcycle
 
To drive a motorcycle, you must have a valid motorcycle licence.
 
For motorcycles, insurance is not required while the vehicle is driven on private property.
 
Snowmobile
 
If you are 16 years of age or older, to drive a snowmobile across a road, on roadways, and on trails, you must have a valid driver's licence, motorized snow vehicle operator's licence, or a licence from another jurisdiction.
 
If you are 12 years of age or older, to drive a snowmobile on a trail, you must have a valid motorized snow vehicle operator's licence, or a licence from another jurisdiction that allows you to drive a snowmobile.
 
For snowmobiles, insurance is not required while the snowmobile is being driven on the private property of the snowmobile's owner.
 
In all other cases, the law requires that you have the following minimum coverages.
 
  • Third Party Liability Coverage of at least $200,000 to protect you if another person is killed or injured, or if their property is damaged. If you're sued, this coverage pays claims up to the limit of your coverage, and the cost of settling the claims. 
     
  • Statutory Accident Benefits Coverage to provide supplementary medical, rehabilitation, attendant care, caregiver, non-earner, income replacement, and death benefits if you are killed or injured in an accident, regardless of who caused it. 
     
  • Direct CompensationProperty Damage (DCPD) Coverage to pay for damage to your vehicle and its contents, if another driver is at fault for an accident that occurs in Ontario and that driver is insured by an insurance company licensed in the province. 
     
  • Uninsured Automobile Coverage to provide financial compensation for you and your family if you're injured or killed by an unidentified driver or by an uninsured motorist. It also covers damage to your vehicle caused by an identified uninsured driver, up to $25,000.
Increasing Your Liability and Accident Benefits Coverage
 
In addition to the mandatory minimum coverages that are required by law, you may purchase higher liability limits under your Third Party Liability Coverage, as well as increased Accident Benefit Coverages. You now have more choice and flexibility over your coverages and price you pay for auto insurance. These options will allow you to customize your policy to better suit your needs.
 
Your insurance representative will be able to help you decide what level of coverage is best for you.
 
Extra Coverage for Loss or Damage to Your Vehicle
 
In addition to the standard coverages you may also buy extra coverage for loss or damage to your vehicle including:
 
  • Specified Perils Coverage
  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision or Upset Coverage
  • All Perils Coverage
Your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative can provide you with a complete explanation of all optional coverages that are available.
 
   

Finding Motorcycle and Snowmobile Insurance

 
Motorcycle and snowmobile insurance is a specialty insurance product, and not all insurance companies offer it.
 
If you already have auto insurance, you may want to check with your broker, agent, or insurance company to see if your insurance company also sells coverage for motorcycles or snowmobiles. Your insurance company may offer a discount on the motorcycle or snowmobile premium if your auto is insured by them as well.
 
You can also purchase “stand-alone” motorcycle or snowmobile insurance that is separate from any other auto insurance policy you may possess. However, the premium for a stand-alone motorcycle or snowmobile insurance policy may be more expensive than if the motorcycle or snowmobile is added to your existing auto insurance policy.
 
Finding a Broker, Agent, or Insurance Company That Sells Motorcycle or Snowmobile Insurance
 
To find a broker, agent, or insurance company that sells motorcycle or snowmobile insurance, you can start by asking friends, relatives, and co-workers where they bought their insurance.
 
Your local cycle shop or dealer may be aware of insurance companies or group plans that provide motorcycle or snowmobile insurance. Also, if you belong to a motorcycle club or snowmobile association, you can check with its members to see if they have any information about brokers, agents, or insurance companies in your community.
 
Check local motorcycle or snowmobile magazines or newspapers for insurance representatives who sell insurance.
 
Finally, the Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario website, contains a section where consumers can search online for brokers.
 
Facility Association
 
In some cases, you may be unable to purchase motorcycle or snowmobile insurance in the regular insurance market. This may happen because of your driving record, accident history, or because of the type of motorcycle or snowmobile that you own. If you are unable to find insurance coverage in the regular insurance market, the Facility Association will be able to provide it. However, the Facility Association insurance premium may be higher than the regular insurance market.
 
Your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative can provide you with a complete explanation of the Facility Association and the coverage that is available.
 
   

Cost of Insurance

 
Many factors play a role in determining the cost of your insurance. Your age, your driving record, how often you drive, your rider training, where you live, and the type of motorcycle or snowmobile you own can all affect your insurance premium.
 
For motorcycles, you can expect to pay a lower premium if you have at least one year of motorcycle riding experience, or if you have completed a motorcycle riding course. The type, size, and age of your motorcycle or snowmobile will also affect the premium you pay. Usually, the bigger the motorcycle or snowmobile, the higher the premium. Also, some insurance companies may not insure certain types of motorcycles or snowmobiles, such as high-performance/sport models.
 
You may be able to take advantage of special discounts offered by your insurance company to members of motorcycle or snowmobile associations and mature riders. You may also save money by insuring more than one motorcycle or snowmobile under a policy.
 
Your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative can provide you with a complete explanation of what options are best for you.
 
For more tips on how to find and save money on insurance, read Understanding Automobile Insurance.
 
   

Limited-Speed Motorcycles

 
Limited-speed motorcycles are motorcycles that have a maximum engine displacement of 50 cubic centimetres or less, reach a maximum speed of 70 km per hour and cannot be driven on certain highways.
 
To drive a limited-speed motorcycle, you must have a restricted class M licence for limited-speed motorcycles and mopeds or a valid motorcycle licence. You must also have the same insurance coverage as a motorcycle.
 
Your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative can provide you with a complete explanation of coverages available for limited-speed motorcycles.
 
   

Motor-Assisted Bicycles (Mopeds)

 
Motor-assisted bicycles or mopeds generally possess fitted pedals, a motor, and reach a maximum speed of 50 km per hour. They cannot be driven on certain highways.
 
To drive a moped, you must have a restricted class M licence for limited-speed motorcycles and mopeds or a valid motorcycle licence. You must also have the same insurance coverage as a motorcycle.
 
Your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative can provide you with a complete explanation of coverages available for mopeds.
 
   

Off-Road Vehicles

 
Off-road vehicles are two-wheeled motorized vehicles and certain vehicles with four or more wheels, intended for recreational use. These vehicles include moto-cross bikes and four-wheel all-terrain vehicles, which are normally driven over rugged terrain.
 
To drive an off-road vehicle, you must have at a minimum, a valid G2/M2 or greater driver's licence unless you are driving on your private property. If you plan to drive the vehicle anywhere other than on the private property of the vehicle's owner, you must also have the same mandatory insurance coverage as an automobile.
 
Your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative can provide you with a complete explanation of coverages available for off-road vehicles.
 
  

Other Motorized Vehicles

 
Many other kinds of motorized vehicles, such as the SegwayTM human transporter and pocket bikes, are now available in the marketplace. These vehicles are generally not permitted on public roads. You should check with the Ministry of Transportation, local police, and municipalities for the specific restrictions that apply to these vehicles.
 
You should contact your insurance broker, agent, or insurance company representative to find out more about what insurance options exist for these types of vehicles.
 
   

More Information

 
Visit the Insurance Bureau of Canada website or call 1-800-387-2880 for more information about companies that specialize in insuring motorcycles, snowmobiles, and other motorized vehicles.
 
To help locate a broker near you, you can visit the Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario website.
 

OutageService Disruption Notice
Please note that due to scheduled maintenance, Licensing Link (Mortgage and Insurance) and the Service Provider Licensing Application will be unavailable between 7:00am and 11:00am on Sunday, October 26, 2014

Apply Now for a Service Provider Licence

hotline-en.jpg

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Pour comprendre l'assurance pour les motocyclettes, les motoneiges et d'autres véhicules automobiles

top

 


 
 
oneL'assurance pour les motocyclettes et les motoneiges
 
Il est obligatoire d’assurer les motocyclettes et les motoneiges en Ontario, sauf dans certains cas.
 
 
Motocyclette
 
Pour conduire une motocyclette, vous devez posséder un permis de motocycliste valide.
Il n’est pas obligatoire d’assurer une motocyclette si elle est conduite uniquement sur un terrain privé.
 
Motoneige
 
Si vous avez 16 ans ou plus et désirez conduire une motoneige sur des routes ou des pistes ou encore traverser une chaussée en motoneige, vous devez posséder un permis de conduire valide, un permis de motoneigiste ou un permis délivré par un autre territoire vous autorisant à conduire ce genre de véhicule.
 
Si vous avez 12 ans ou plus, pour conduire une motoneige sur une piste, vous devez posséder un permis de motoneigiste valide ou un permis délivré par un autre territoire vous autorisant à conduire ce genre de véhicule.
 
Il n’est pas obligatoire d’assurer une motoneige si elle est conduite sur le terrain privé de la personne à qui appartient le véhicule. Dans tous les autres cas, la loi exige les couvertures minimales suivantes :
 
  • Couverture pour la responsabilité civile d’au moins 200 000 $ pour vous protéger si une autre personne est tuée ou blessée ou si ses biens sont endommagés. Si on intente des poursuites contre vous, la demande de règlement sera payée jusqu’à concurrence de votre couverture maximale, ainsi que le coût du règlement.
  • Couverture en vertu de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales afin d’avoir droit à des indemnités complémentaires pour frais médicaux et à des indemnités de réadaptation, de soins auxiliaires, de soignant, de personne sans revenu d’emploi, de remplacement de revenu, ainsi qu’à des prestations de décès si vous êtes tué ou blessé lors d’un accident, peu importe qui l’a causé.
  • Couverture pour l’indemnisation directe en cas de dommages matériels pour payer les dommages subis par votre véhicule et son contenu si un autre conducteur est responsable d’un accident en Ontario et qu’il est assuré par une compagnie titulaire d’un permis de la province.
  • Couverture pour l’automobile non assurée afin que vous-même et votre famille soyez indemnisés si vous êtes blessé ou tué par un conducteur non identifié ou non assuré. Les dommages subis par votre véhicule lors d’un accident causé par un conducteur identifié mais non assuré sont aussi couverts jusqu’à concurrence de 25 000 $.
Augmentation des couvertures Responsabilité civile et Indemnités d'accident
 
Outre les garanties minimums obligatoires que la loi exige, vous pouvez souscrire des limites de responsabilité plus élevées dans le cadre de la garantie responsabilité civile, ainsi qu'une assurance indemnités d'accident plus importante. Vous disposez désormais de plus de choix et d'options de garanties et de primes pour votre assurance-automobile. Ces options vous permettent d'adapter votre police à vos besoins.
 
Le représentant de votre compagnie d'assurances pourra vous aider à choisir le niveau de protection qui vous convient le mieux.
 
Garanties supplémentaires en cas de perte de votre véhicule ou de dommages causés à celui-ci
 
Outre la protection de base, vous pouvez souscrire une garantie supplémentaire en cas de perte de votre véhicule ou de dommages causés à celui-ci. Voici des garanties supplémentaires:
 
  • Risques spécifiés
  • Risques multiples
  • Collision et versement
  • Tous risques
Votre courtier ou agent d'assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie d'assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail toutes les garanties facultatives existantes.
 
 
twoComment trouver une assurance pour motocyclette et motoneige
 
L’assurance pour motocyclette et motoneige est un produit spécial qui n’est pas offert par toutes les compagnies d’assurance.
 
Si vous avez souscrit une assurance-automobile auprès d’une compagnie d’assurance, vous voudrez peut-être demander à votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou directement à la compagnie si elle assure les motocyclettes ou les motoneiges. Il se peut que vous obteniez ainsi une réduction de la prime d’assurance pour votre motocyclette ou votre motoneige.
 
Vous pouvez aussi souscrire une assurance pour motocyclette ou motoneige qui est distincte de toute autre police d’assurance-automobile que vous possédez. La prime d’assurance pour votre motocyclette ou votre motoneige risque toutefois d’être plus élevée que si elle se rattachait à une police d’assurance-automobile.
 
Pour trouver un courtier, un agent ou une compagnie d’assurance qui offre de l’assurance pour motocyclette ou motoneige
 
Si vous désirez trouver un courtier, un agent ou une compagnie d'assurance qui offre de l'assurance pour motocyclette ou motoneige, vous pouvez commencer par demander à vos amis, aux membres de votre famille et à vos collègues de travail où ils ont obtenu leur assurance.
 
Le magasin ou le concessionnaire de votre localité qui vend des motocyclettes ou des motoneiges connaîtra peut-être les compagnies d’assurance qui offrent de l’assurance pour motocyclette ou motoneige ou les régimes d’assurance collective couvrant ces véhicules. De plus, si vous faites partie d’un club de motocyclistes ou d’une association de motoneigistes, vous pouvez vous informer auprès des membres.
 
Les magazines de motocyclettes ou de motoneiges ou les journaux de votre localité pourront renfermer des renseignements sur les représentants qui offrent de l’assurance pour motocyclette ou motoneige.
 
En dernier lieu, le site Web de l’Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario, ww.ibao.org, comporte une section permettant aux consommateurs de chercher des courtiers en ligne.
 
Association des assureurs
 
Dans certains cas, il peut être impossible d’assurer une motocyclette ou une motoneige sur le marché ordinaire de l’assurance. Cela peut se produire en raison du dossier de conduite, du nombre d’accidents que la personne a eus dans le passé ou du genre de motocyclette ou de motoneige qu’elle possède. Si cela vous arrive, vous pourrez toujours vous adresser à l’Association des assureurs. La prime d’assurance qu’elle vous proposera risque toutefois d’être plus élevée que ce que vous pourriez obtenir sur le marché ordinaire de l’assurance.
 
Votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail en quoi consiste l’Association des assureurs et les couvertures qu’elle offre.
 
 
threeCoût de l’assurance
 
Un grand nombre de facteurs entrent en ligne de compte pour déterminer le coût de votre assurance. Votre âge, votre dossier de conduite, la fréquence à laquelle vous conduisez, la formation que vous avez reçue, où vous habitez et le genre de motocyclette ou de  motoneige que vous possédez peuvent tous avoir une incidence sur votre prime d’assurance.
 
Si vous possédez au moins un an d’expérience dans la conduite d’une motocyclette ou avez suivi le cours de conduite d’une motocyclette, vous pouvez vous attendre à payer une prime moins élevée. Le genre, la grosseur et l’âge de votre motocyclette ou motoneige peuvent aussi influer sur la prime. Habituellement, plus la motocyclette ou la motoneige est grosse, plus la prime est élevée. De plus, certaines compagnies d’assurance peuvent refuser d’assurer certains genres de motocyclettes ou de motoneiges, tels que des modèles sport ou à haute performance.
 
Vous pourrez peut-être vous prévaloir de certains rabais accordés par votre compagnie d’assurance aux membres d’associations de motocyclistes ou de motoneigistes et aux conducteurs d’âge mûr. Il se peut aussi que vous économisiez si vous assurez plus d’une motocyclette ou d’une motoneige en vertu d’une police.
 
Votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail les meilleures options qui s’offrent à vous.
 
Pour d’autres conseils sur la façon de trouver un assureur et de réduire le coût de l’assurance, veuillez lire Pour comprendre l’assurance-automobile.
 
 
fourMotocyclettes à vitesse limitée
 
Les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée sont des motocyclettes qui possèdent une cylindrée d’au plus 50 centimètres cubes; elles ne peuvent pas rouler à plus de 70 km/h et certaines routes leur sont interdites.
 
Pour conduire une motocyclette à vitesse limitée, vous devez posséder un permis restreint de catégorie M pour les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée et les cyclomoteurs ou un permis de motocycliste valide. Votre véhicule doit être assuré comme s’il s’agissait d’une motocyclette.
 
Votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail les couvertures qui existent pour les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée.
 
 
fiveCyclomoteurs (mopeds)
 
Les cyclomoteurs sont généralement munis de pédales et d’un moteur et ne peuvent dépasser une vitesse de 50 km/h. Ils ne peuvent être conduits sur certaines routes.
 
Pour conduire un cyclomoteur, vous devez posséder un permis restreint de catégorie M pour les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée et les cyclomoteurs ou un permis de motocycliste valide. Votre véhicule doit être assuré comme s’il s’agissait d’une motocyclette.
 
Votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail les couvertures qui existent pour les cyclomoteurs.
 
 
sixVéhicules tout terrain
 
Les véhicules tout terrain sont des véhicules automobiles à deux roues, ou dans certains cas à quatre roues ou plus, destinés à des fins récréatives. Ces véhicules englobent les motos de moto-cross et les véhicules tout terrain à quatre roues, qui sont normalement conduits sur des terrains accidentés.
 
Pour conduire un véhicule tout terrain, vous devez posséder au moins un permis de conduire G2/M2 valide sauf si vous le faites sur votre terrain privé. Si vous désirez conduire le véhicule ailleurs que sur le terrain privé du propriétaire du véhicule, vous devez aussi souscrire la même couverture d’assurance obligatoire que pour une  automobile.
 
Votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie  d’assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail les couvertures qui existent pour les véhicules tout terrain.
 
 
sevenAutres véhicules automobiles
 
Il y a de nombreux autres genres de véhicules automobiles, tels que le SegwayMD Human Transporter et les pocket bikes, offerts sur le marché. Il est en général interdit de circuler sur les routes publiques avec ces véhicules. Vous devriez communiquer avec le ministère des Transports, la police locale et les différentes municipalités pour connaître les restrictions s’appliquant précisément à ces véhicules.
 
Votre courtier ou agent d’assurance ou encore un représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance pourra vous expliquer en détail vos options quant à ces genres de véhicules.
 
 
eightPour de plus amples renseignements
 
Veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau d’assurance du Canada au 1 800 387-2880 ou vous rendre à www.ibc.ca pour obtenir plus d’information sur les compagnies qui se spécialisent dans l’assurance des motocyclettes, des motoneiges et d’autres véhicules automobiles.
 
Si vous désirez trouver un courtier dans votre localité, vous pouvez vous rendre au site Web de l’Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario à www.ibao.org.
 

hotline-fr.jpg