How Your Auto Insurance Rates are Set

Your auto insurance rates are determined by a combination of factors including:

Your Personal Profile 


The type of vehicle you drive: Insurance companies rate makes and models of vehicles according to their actual claims experience, such as the cost of repairs, the rate of injury, and the likelihood that a particular vehicle may be stolen or involved in an accident. The Insurance Bureau of Canada (IBC) has a document available on its website called 'How Cars Measure Up [New Window]'. This document provides information on the claims experience of most models of passenger vehicles.

Your driving record: The premium you pay also depends on your driving record. This includes accidents where you are more than 25 per cent at-fault, the length of time you have been licensed to drive, whether or not you have taken a driver-training course that your insurance company recognizes, and driving convictions (such as: speeding and impaired or careless driving).

Generally, your first minor conviction will have little or no impact on your rates. But if you have had a second minor conviction in the last three years, it will most likely affect your premium. If you have had a number of minor driving convictions or even one major or serious conviction over the last three years, your premium will be higher. Likewise, the better your driving record, the lower your premium will be.

NB: Only those accidents occurring on or after September 1, 2010 where you were more than 25 per cent at-fault can be used in determining your premium. Any at-fault accident that occurred before September 1, 2010 can still be used in rating. In addition, insurers can no longer use a minor at-fault accident occurring on or after June 1, 2016 'meeting certain criteria' (no payment by any insurer, no injuries and damages less than $2,000 are paid by the at-fault driver) to increase your premiums. This provision is limited to one minor accident every three years.

How much you drive: Your auto insurance premium will also be affected by how much you drive. This is because the more time you spend on the road, the higher the chances of becoming involved in an accident. Driving to work may include driving to a subway, bus, or train station. If you live close to work, you will probably have a lower premium than someone who lives far from work or who needs to use his or her vehicle for business.

Where you live: Auto insurance rates are generally higher in larger urban centres. This is because there are a greater number of vehicles on the road, and the chances of getting into an accident are higher. Also, more vehicles are stolen in urban areas.

Your age: In general, mature drivers have fewer accidents than younger drivers, particularly teenagers. Drivers who are 25 years of age and over can generally buy insurance at a considerably lower cost than younger drivers.


The Amount of Coverage You Purchase


Many people buy additional protection beyond the mandatory coverage. For example, if you buy optional Comprehensive Coverage, which protects you against theft, vandalism, hail, or explosion, your vehicle will be covered against any such incidences, but you will pay more.

There are also other options, such as increasing your Third Party Liability protection or increasing your Standard Accident Benefits Coverage. These options give you more choice and flexibility over your coverages that will allow you to customize your policy to better suit your needs. All of these optional coverages will have an effect on the cost of your policy.

If you have an older vehicle, you may choose to reduce your premium further by dropping Collision and Comprehensive Coverages entirely.

Discuss your options and costs with your agent or broker.


Your Deductible


Your deductible is the portion of a loss that you are required to pay. Your deductible can vary, depending on the type of coverage you have and the percentage of fault you are assigned in the event of an accident. There are deductibles for Collision or Upset, Comprehensive, All Perils, Specified Perils and Direct Compensation-Property Damage (DC-PD) coverages.

You can lower your premium by raising the deductible.

For example, by having a higher deductible of $1,000, instead of the standard $500, on Comprehensive Coverage, you may save about 10 per cent off your Comprehensive premium.

These savings are due to the fact that higher deductibles mean you pay more towards the cost of repairing your vehicle, while your insurance company pays less toward the total cost of repair. As a result, your premium will be lower.

If you'd rather have lower deductibles, you may be able to do so if you meet certain conditions and if your company offers them, but your premium will be higher. (Recognize, however, that since Collision and Comprehensive are both optional coverages, your insurance company may obligate you to carry higher deductibles if you have had a lot of prior claims.)


 

The Insurance Company You Choose 

 
Auto insurance premiums for the exact same coverage can vary substantially from one insurance company to another based on financial factors unique to each company, such as its claims experience for the group of insureds it covers, how it rates you as a driver, and the competition it faces. You can save on auto insurance by shopping around!

Insurance works according to a "pooling" concept. Insurers group risks with similar risk characteristics into risk groups. You are one member of a risk group in the company you select as your insurer. Your company charges premiums based on the claims experience of the entire group. If an insurance company's claims experience for a particular risk group is significantly higher than another insurance company, its insurance premiums will be higher.

To establish individual premiums for policyholders in a risk group, the insurance company's actuaries (professional business people skilled in the application of mathematics to financial problems) will estimate the number and cost of future claims for that risk group and will then estimate the cost to administer these claims. They use this information, along with each individual's personal profile, the amount of coverage they purchased, and their deductibles, to set individual premiums.

The "pooling" concept means that some individuals in a risk group may receive insurance benefits that total far more money than they have ever paid to the insurance company. Others will pay their premium annually, but never make a claim.

 

What Insurance Companies Can't Use to Determine Rates 

 
Your insurance company cannot use the following rating criteria to determine how much you should pay for automobile insurance:

  • credit history;
  • bankruptcy;
  • employment status;
  • whether you own a credit card;
  • how long you have lived in your current home;
  • accidents where you are less than 25 per cent at-fault where the accident occurred on or after September 1, 2010;
  • minor at-fault accidents that occurred on or after June 1, 2016, meeting certain criteria (no payment by any insurer, no injuries, damages less than $2,000 paid by the at-fault driver) – limited to one minor accident every three years.
  • not-at-fault accidents;
  • whether your vehicle is owned or leased; and
  • whether there was a period of time where you had no automobile insurance coverage.
As discussed above, factors such as age, sex, and marital status; where you live or the location of the vehicle; and whether you are newly licensed or a driver new to Canada ARE permitted as rating criteria (i.e., what the policyholder will pay for coverage). 
  

FSCO's role in approving insurance company rates

 
If an auto insurer needs to make a rate change — either upwards or downwards — it must file an application with FSCO for approval. FSCO determines whether the proposed rates are reasonable and justified, reviews and approves each company's criteria for setting rates, and reviews its underwriting rules — the grounds the company uses to determine if it will sell auto insurance to a consumer. 


 

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Follow @FSCOTweets

Tarification de votre assurance-automobile

 

Le contenu de cette page Web a été déplacé à www.fsrao.ca/fr/. Visitez le https://www.fsrao.ca/fr/pour-les-consommateurs/assurance-automobile/tarification-de-votre-assurance-automobile pour mettre vos signets à jour.

 

Votre prime d’assurance-automobile est déterminée en fonction des facteurs suivants : 

 

Votre profil personnel

 
Type de véhicule - Les compagnies d’assurances déterminent les primes en fonction de la marque et du modèle du véhicule et de leurs dossiers de sinistres, comme le coût des réparations, le nombre d’accidents avec blessure et les probabilités de vol ou d’accident d’une voiture donnée. Le Bureau d’assurance du Canada (BAC) propose sur son site Web une brochure intitulée « How Cars Measure Up [New Window] ». Ce document contient des renseignements sur les dossiers de sinistres de la plupart des modèles de voitures de tourisme.
 
​Certains sites Web ou documents auxquels vous pouvez accéder à partir du présent site ou menant au présent site ont été mis sur pied ou sont exploités par des organismes ne faisant pas partie du gouvernement de l'Ontario ou pour le compte de tels organismes.  Ces derniers sont les seuls responsables du fonctionnement et le contenu (y compris le droit de fournir ce contenu) de leur site respectif.  Il se peut que ces sites ou documents externes n'existent pas en français.  Les liens externes fournis dans le présent site ou menant au présent site ne signifient pas que le gouvernement de l'Ontario appuie ces organismes ni qu'il garantit le contenu (y compris le droit de fournir ce contenu) de leur site respectif. 

Dossier de conduite – Les primes que vous versez pour votre assurance-automobile dépendent également de votre dossier de conduite, notamment du nombre d’accidents dont vous êtes responsable à plus de 25 pour 100, du nombre d’années de conduite, du fait que vous avez suivi ou non un cours de conduite reconnu par votre compagnie d’assurances et des condamnations pour infractions au code de la route (p. ex., excès de vitesse, conduite dangereuse ou avec facultés affaiblies).
 
En règle générale, votre première infraction mineure n’a que peu ou pas d’incidence sur vos primes. Par contre, en cas de deuxième infraction mineure dans les trois dernières années, il est fort probable que votre prime augmente. Si vous avez été reconnu coupable de plusieurs infractions mineures, ou même d’une seule infraction grave ou majeure, au cours des trois dernières années, votre prime sera augmentée. De même, plus votre dossier de conduite est bon, plus votre prime sera basse.
 
N. B. : Seuls les accidents ayant eu lieu le 1er septembre 2010 ou plus tard et pour lesquels vous étiez responsable à plus de 25 pour 100 peuvent servir à déterminer votre prime. Les accidents avec responsabilité ayant eu lieu avant le 1er septembre 2010 peuvent quand même servir à établir la tarification. Par ailleurs, pour augmenter votre prime, les assureurs ne peuvent plus s’en tenir à un accident mineur avec responsabilité ayant eu lieu le 1er juin 2016 ou à une date ultérieure et répondant à certains critères (aucune indemnité d’assurance, aucune blessure et dommages de moins de 2 000 $ payés par le conducteur fautif). Cette clause se limite à un accident mineur aux trois ans.

Distance parcourue – Vos primes d’assurance-automobile sont également établies en fonction des distances que vous parcourez. En effet, plus vous passez de temps au volant, plus vous courez le risque d’être impliqué dans un accident. Les déplacements pour se rendre au travail peuvent inclure les trajets effectués jusqu’à la station de métro ou à la gare d’autobus ou de chemin de fer. Si vous demeurez près de votre lieu de travail, vos primes seront probablement moins élevées que celles d’une personne qui demeure loin de son travail ou qui utilise sa voiture dans le cadre de ses activités professionnelles.
 
Lieu de résidence – Les primes d’assurance-automobile tendent à être plus élevées dans les grands centres urbains en raison du grand nombre de voitures sur les routes et des risques accrus d’être impliqué dans un accident. De plus, le nombre de vols de voiture y est plus élevé.
 
Âge – En règle générale, les conducteurs d’âge mûr ont moins d’accidents que les jeunes conducteurs, particulièrement les adolescents. Les conducteurs de 25 ans et plus peuvent généralement bénéficier d’une prime considérablement inférieure à celle des jeunes conducteurs.
 

Le montant de garantie souscrit

 
Beaucoup d’assurés souscrivent des garanties supplémentaires. Par exemple, si vous souscrivez la garantie optionnelle Risques multiples qui vous protège en cas de vol, de vandalisme, de grêle ou d’explosion, votre véhicule sera couvert à l’égard de tous ces risques, mais vos primes seront plus élevées.
 
Il existe d’autres options, comme la souscription de montants plus élevés pour les garanties Responsabilité civile et Indemnités d’accident. Ces options vous donnent de plus de choix et de souplesse quant aux garanties et vous permettent de mieux adapter votre police d’assurance à vos besoins.
 
Si votre voiture est âgée, vous pouvez réduire le montant de votre prime en choisissant de ne pas souscrire les garanties Collision et Risques multiples.

Discutez de vos options et des coûts avec votre courtier ou agent.
 

Les franchises

 
La franchise désigne la partie des frais d’un sinistre que vous êtes tenue de payer. Votre franchise peut varier selon le type de garantie choisie et le pourcentage de responsabilité qui vous est attribué en cas d’accident. Des franchises s’appliquent aux garanties Collision et versement, Risques multiples, Tous risques, Risques spécifiés et Indemnisation directe en cas de dommages matériels.
 
Vous pouvez réduire votre prime en augmentant la franchise.
 
Par exemple, en faisant passer la franchise de la garantie Risques multiples à 1 000 $ ou lieu du montant habituel de 500 $, vous pouvez réduire votre prime d’assurance Risques multiples d’environ 10 %.
 
Ces économies s’expliquent par le fait que plus le montant de la franchise est élevé, plus les coûts que vous assumerez pour la réparation de votre voiture seront élevés, réduisant ainsi la part des coûts de réparation assumés par la compagnie d’assurances. Votre prime sera donc moins élevée.
 
Vous pouvez opter pour des franchises inférieures si vous remplissez certaines conditions et si votre compagnie d’assurances vous offre cette possibilité. Toutefois, votre prime sera plus élevée. (Vous devez cependant savoir que, puisque les garanties Collision et Risques multiples sont facultatives, votre compagnie d’assurances peut vous imposer des franchises plus élevées si votre dossier fait état de nombreuses demandes de règlement antérieures.)
 

La compagnie d’assurances choisie

 
Les primes d’assurance-automobile pour la même garantie peuvent varier considérablement d’une compagnie d’assurances à une autre selon les facteurs financiers propres à chaque compagnie pour établir votre prime, comme le dossier de sinistres des assurés, la cote qui vous est attribuée comme conducteur, et la concurrence. Vous pouvez d’ailleurs économiser sur votre assurance-automobile en faisant le tour du marché!
 
L’assurance repose sur le concept de « mise en commun ». Les assureurs regroupent les risques ayant les mêmes caractéristiques. Vous faites partie d’un groupe de risques de la compagnie que vous choisissez. Votre compagnie calcule les primes en fonction du dossier de sinistres que représente le groupe entier. Si le dossier de sinistres d’un assureur pour un groupe particulier de risques est substantiellement plus élevé que celui d’une autre compagnie, ses primes seront plus élevées.
 
Pour déterminer les primes de chaque membre du groupe de risques, les actuaires de l’assureur (professionnels qui appliquent des méthodes statistiques et de calcul des probabilités aux problèmes financiers) font une estimation du nombre et du coût des demandes de règlement qui seront présentées par ce groupe à l’avenir et feront ensuite une estimation du coût de l’administration de ces demandes de règlement. Ils utiliseront toutes ces données, ainsi que le profil personnel, le montant de garantie souscrit et la franchise de chaque assuré pour calculer la prime de chacun.
 
Le concept de « mise en commun » signifie que certaines personnes d’un groupe de risques peuvent recevoir des indemnités d’assurance qui forment un total beaucoup plus élevé que ce qu’ils ont déjà payé à leur compagnie d’assurance. D’autres personnes paieront leur prime annuellement sans jamais faire de réclamation.
 
 
 

Critères que les assureurs ne peuvent pas utiliser pour déterminer les primes

 
Votre compagnie d’assurances n’a pas le droit d’utiliser les critères de tarification suivants pour déterminer le montant de votre prime d’assurance-automobile :

 

  • Dossier de crédit;
  • Faillite;
  • Situation d’emploi;
  • Possession ou non de cartes de crédit;
  • Durée d’occupation de votre résidence actuelle;
  • Accidents dont vous étiez responsable à moins de 25 pour 100 si l’accident est survenu le 1er septembre 2010 ou après cette date;
  • Accidents mineurs avec responsabilité ayant eu lieu le 1er juin 2016 ou après et répondant à certains critères (aucune indemnité d’assurance, aucune blessure et dommages de moins de 2 000 $ payés par le conducteur fautif) - clause qui se limite à un accident mineur aux trois ans.
  • Accidents dont vous n’êtes pas responsable;
  • Le fait que vous êtes propriétaire ou locataire du véhicule;
  • Période de temps sans assurance-automobile.
Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, les facteurs tels que l’âge, le sexe, la situation familiale, le lieu de résidence ou le lieu où l’automobile circule, le fait d’être nouveau détenteur de permis ou nouveau conducteur au Canada SONT cependant des critères qui déterminent la tarification de la police, c’est-à-dire les primes que le titulaire de la police devra payer.


Rôle de la CSFO dans l’approbation des taux

 
Si un assureur automobile opérant en Ontario envisage de changer ses taux d’assurance – à la hausse ou à la baisse – il est tenu de déposer une demande auprès de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) à des fins d’approbation. La CSFO détermine si les taux proposés sont raisonnables et justifiés, étudie et approuve les critères de tarification de chaque compagnie, et revoit ses règles de souscription – les critères sur lesquels se fonde une compagnie pour déterminer si elle assurera le véhicule d’un client ou non.
 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.