Auto Insurance Rates for the Fourth Quarter of 2017

This notice provides an overview of the private passenger automobile insurance rate changes approved or ordered by the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) for filings reviewed in the fourth quarter of 2017. The number of filings reviewed by FSCO and the overall average rate change for the Ontario market may vary from quarter to quarter, based on updated information about claims costs, market conditions,  financial factors and the resulting impact that these factors have on the adequacy of an insurance company’s current rates.

 

Average Rate Changes

 

Seventeen insurers representing approximately 40% of the market based on premium volume had rates approved in the quarter. Approved rates increased on average by 1.03% when applied across the total market. Rate changes approved for each insurer this quarter and effective dates of the rate changes are shown in Table 1.

 

This compares to a decrease of 0.1% on average for the third quarter of 2017.

 

Individual Rates

 

The rate change shown for each insurance company is the average for that company, based on all the drivers it insures. 

 

However, an individual policyholder may experience a rate change that is either higher or lower than the industry-wide average rate change, or the average rate change for a particular insurer, depending on several factors, such as:

 

  • the vehicle insured
  • where he or she lives
  • driving experience
  • at-fault accident and conviction history of drivers
  • whether the vehicle is used for pleasure or commuting, and
  • choices made by the policyholder on coverages purchased and deductible or liability limits.

Also, as most policyholders purchase annual policies, any changes approved for the insurer and effective prior to the policy renewal date, or changes in the policyholder’s circumstances since their last renewal (e.g., at-fault accidents, driving convictions), will impact the policyholder’s rate at renewal.

 

Consumers are urged to shop around for auto insurance. Ontario has a very competitive marketplace. Rates for the same coverage vary based on each insurer’s claims experience and the insurer’s rating system.

 

FSCO has several resources to help consumers better understand auto insurance, including an Understanding Rates Interactive Tool and tips on shopping around and saving on auto insurance.

 

FSCO’s Rate Approval Process

 

Insurers must submit proposed changes to their rates to FSCO for approval along with supporting actuarial data.

 

FSCO and its actuaries review this data and insurers’ assumptions regarding claims costs, expenses and investment income to ensure that, as required by law, the proposed rates are:

 

  • just and reasonable;
  • not excessive; and
  • not going to impair a company’s financial solvency.

 

As a result of FSCO’s review, an insurance company may be required to amend its proposed rates before they are approved.

 

Most premium dollars collected by insurers go towards paying for claims for people injured in car accidents. Insured persons who are injured can make a claim for Accident Benefits (AB), regardless of fault.

 

In some cases, seriously injured parties can also make a claim by launching a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. These claims are paid under the Third Party Liability – Bodily Injury (TPL) coverage of an automobile insurance policy.

 

The AB and TPL coverages accounted for 56.2% of claims costs in 2016, as shown in Graph 1.

 

When an insurance company adjusts its rates for a particular coverage, it means that the company has experienced a change in the claims costs for that coverage. For example, an increase in rates for TPL coverage would indicate that an insurer has experienced a higher number or higher average cost of bodily injury claims. A company must provide claims costs data to FSCO when proposing a rate change for any coverage.

 

It is important to understand the coverages available to consumers under an automobile insurance policy in Ontario. FSCO has a number of consumer-friendly descriptions of these coverages available on its website.

 

FSCO is closely tracking two evolving trends that may be affecting auto insurance rates in Ontario. First, insurance companies are reporting an increase in claims costs related to property damage, in part because of the rising cost of repairing increasingly technologically advanced vehicles. Second, FSCO notes the growing concern related to distracted driving. As the number of accidents due to inattentive driving increases, so too do the costs associated with direct compensation and collision claims. FSCO will continue to monitor any impact these trends have on insurance rates.

 

Table 1

 

Ontario Private Passenger Automobile
Insurance Rate Filings Approved/Ordered

Filings reviewed October 1, 2017 – December 31, 2017

Insurer2016 Market Share (%)Effective New Business DateEffective Renewal Business DateApproved Average Rate Change (%)
Allstate Insurance Company of Canada5.6016-Feb-201816-Feb-20183.13
Aviva General Insurance Company5.141-Apr-20181-Apr-20182.77
Aviva Insurance Company of Canada6.471-Mar-20181-Mar-20185.44
Commonwell Mutual Insurance Group, The0.391-Mar-20181-Mar-20182.76
Continental Casualty Company (1)N/A1-Jan-2018N/AN/A
Co-operators General Insurance Company (2)4.721-Mar-20181-Mar-20180.00
CUMIS General Insurance Company0.401-Apr-20181-Apr-20181.86
Esurance Insurance Company of CanadaN/A10-Jan-201825-Feb-2018-12.67
Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan Inc. (on behalf of Ontario Mutuals)1.671-Mar-20181-Mar-20181.95
Gore Mutual Insurance Company1.571-Feb-20181-Apr-20189.43
Primmum Insurance Company1.621-Dec-201715-Jan-2018-0.01
Scottish & York Insurance Co. Limited1.141-Mar-20181-Mar-20186.42
Security National Insurance Company (2)7.051-Dec-201715-Jan-20180.00
TD General Insurance Company (2)1.971-Dec-201715-Jan-20180.00
Traders General Insurance Company1.611-Mar-20181-Mar-20183.23
Unica Insurance Inc.0.558-Jan-20187-Feb-20186.96
Zenith Insurance Company0.361-Feb-20181-Mar-2018-0.03
Total Market Impact             +1.03

 

  1. Introduction of a new rate program.
  2. Rate changes with no overall impact.

Graph 1

% of Claim Costs by Coverage for Accidents in 2016 

2016 GISA Automobile Statistical Plan AUTO1005

Private Passenger excluding Farmers Actual Loss Ratio Exhibit

 

NOTE: The above numbers may not add up to 100 per cent due to rounding.

Accessible Description of Graph 1:

Accident Benefits 34.2 per cent, Third Party Liability - Bodily Injury 22.0 per cent, Direct Compensation and Property Damage 17.8 per cent, Collision 18.2 per cent, Comprehensive 6.1 per cent, Uninsured Automobile 1.1 per cent, OPCF 44R Family Protection Coverage 0.5 per cent.


Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage Important information about a potential Canada Post labour disruption

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Tarifs de l’assurance-automobile pour le quatrième trimestre de 2017

Cet avis donne un aperçu des changements approuvés ou ordonnés par la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) relativement aux taux d’assurance des voitures de tourisme pour les dépôts examinés au quatrième trimestre de 2017. Le nombre de dépôts de taux examinés par la CSFO et l’ensemble des changements tarifaires pour le marché de l’Ontario peuvent varier d’un trimestre à l’autre en fonction de renseignements à jour sur les coûts des sinistres, les conditions du marché, des facteurs financiers et les répercussions que peuvent avoir ces facteurs sur le caractère adéquat des taux en vigueur d’une compagnie d’assurance.

 

Changements tarifaires moyens

 

Les taux de 17 assureurs représentant environ 40 % du marché selon le volume des primes ont été approuvés ce trimestre. Lorsqu’ils ont été appliqués à l’ensemble du marché, les taux approuvés ont augmenté en moyenne de 1,03 %. Les changements tarifaires approuvés ce trimestre pour chaque assureur et les dates d’entrée en vigueur de ces changements sont présentés au tableau 1.

 

Ceci se compare à une diminution moyenne de 0,1 % pour le troisième trimestre de 2017.

 

Taux individuels

 

Le changement tarifaire illustré pour chaque compagnie d’assurance est la moyenne établie pour cette compagnie en fonction de l’ensemble des conducteurs qu’elle assure. 

 

Cependant, le changement tarifaire imposé à un titulaire de police peut être supérieur ou inférieur à la moyenne enregistrée à l’échelle du secteur ou au changement tarifaire moyen visant un assureur donné, selon une gamme de facteurs tels que :

 

  • le type de véhicule assuré
  • le lieu de résidence
  • le nombre d’années d’expérience de conduite
  • les antécédents en matière d’accidents avec responsabilité et de condamnations du conducteur ou de la conductrice
  • si le véhicule est utilisé pour la promenade ou pour aller au travail
  • les options choisies par le titulaire de police pour les garanties souscrites et la franchise ou les limites de responsabilité

En outre, comme la plupart des titulaires de police souscrivent des polices annuelles, les changements approuvés pour l’assureur en vigueur avant la date de renouvellement de la police, ou un changement dans la situation du titulaire de police depuis le dernier renouvellement (p. ex. accidents avec responsabilité ou condamnations pour infraction au Code de la route) auront des répercussions sur le tarif facturé au titulaire de police au moment du renouvellement.

 

Les consommateurs sont invités à comparer les tarifs d’assurance-automobile proposés sur le marché. Le marché de l’Ontario est très compétitif. Les tarifs d’une même garantie varient en fonction de la sinistralité de chaque assureur et de son système de notation.

 

La CSFO met à la disposition des consommateurs plusieurs ressources pour les aider à mieux comprendre l’assurance-automobile, notamment un outil interactif pour comprendre les tarifs et des conseils pour faire le tour du marché et trouver l’assurance-automobile la moins chère.

 

Processus d’approbation des taux par la CSFO

 

Les assureurs doivent présenter à la CSFO les changements qu’ils proposent à leurs taux à des fins d’approbation, en fournissant à l’appui des données actuarielles.

 

La CSFO et ses actuaires examinent les données et les hypothèses des assureurs au sujet des coûts des sinistres, des frais et des revenus de placement pour vérifier, comme l’exige la loi, que les taux proposés :

 

  • sont justifiés et raisonnables;
  • ne sont pas excessifs;
  • ne vont pas nuire à la solvabilité financière d’une compagnie.

Après son examen, la CSFO peut exiger d’une compagnie d’assurance qu’elle modifie les tarifs proposés avant de les approuver.

 

La plus grande proportion des primes perçues par les assureurs sert à indemniser des personnes blessées dans des accidents de voiture. Une personne assurée blessée peut présenter une demande au titre de la garantie Indemnités d’accident (IA), qu’elle soit ou non responsable de l’accident.

 

Dans certains cas, il se peut aussi que les parties grièvement blessées réclament des indemnités en intentant une poursuite contre le conducteur responsable. Ces sinistres sont couverts par la garantie Responsabilité civile – Lésions corporelles (RC) d’une police d’assurance-automobile.

 

Les garanties IA et RC représentent 56,2 % des coûts des sinistres, comme l’illustre le graphique 1.

 

Le fait qu’une compagnie d’assurance change ses tarifs pour une garantie donnée signifie que ses coûts liés aux sinistres ont changé pour cette garantie. Par exemple, une augmentation des tarifs de la garantie Responsabilité civile – Lésions corporelles laisse entendre qu’un assureur a enregistré un nombre plus élevé de demandes d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles ou que le coût de ces demandes est en moyenne plus élevé. Une compagnie doit fournir à la CSFO des données sur les coûts des sinistres lorsqu’elle propose d’apporter un changement tarifaire pour une garantie quelconque.

 

Il est important de comprendre les garanties proposées aux consommateurs au titre d’une police d’assurance-automobile en Ontario. La CSFO met à la disposition des consommateurs des descriptions simples de ces garanties sur son site Web.

 

La CSFO suit de près l’évolution de deux tendances qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les tarifs de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario. Premièrement, les compagnies d’assurance signalent une hausse des coûts des sinistres relatifs aux dommages matériels, en partie en raison des coûts de réparation croissants de véhicules de plus en plus avancés sur le plan technologique. Deuxièmement, la CSFO observe une aggravation de la conduite inattentive. Le nombre d’accidents causés par la conduite inattentive augmente, ce qui se traduit par une hausse des coûts d’indemnisation et des sinistres liés à des collisions. La CSFO continuera de surveiller les répercussions de ces tendances sur les tarifs de l’assurance.

 

Tableau 1

 

Dépôts des taux approuvés ou prescrits pour l’assurance des voitures de tourisme de l’Ontario

Dépôts des taux examinés du 1er octobre au 31 décembre 2017

AssureurPart du marché en 2016 (%)Date de prise d’effet des nouvelles demandesDate de prise d’effet des renouvellementsChangements tarifaires moyens approuvés (%)
Allstate du Canada, Compagnie d’assurance5,6016 févr. 201816 févr. 20183,13
Aviva, Compagnie d’assurance générale5,141er avril 20181er avril 20182,77
Aviva, Compagnie d’assurance du Canada6,471er mars 20181er mars 20185,44
Commonwell, Groupe d’assurance mutuelle0,391er mars 20181er mars 20182,76
Continental Casualty Company (1)n.d.1er janv. 2018n.d.n.d.
Co-operators, Compagnie d’assurances générales (2)4,721er mars 20181er mars 20180.00
CUMIS, Compagnie d’assurance générale0,401er avril 20181er avril 20181,86
Esurance Insurance Company of Canadan.d.10 janv. 201825 févr. 2018-12,67
Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan Inc. (au nom d’Ontario Mutuals)1,671er mars 20181er mars 20181,95
Gore Mutual Insurance Company1,571er févr. 20181er avril 20189,43
Primmum, Compagnie d’assurances1,621er déc. 201715 janv. 2018-0,01
Scottish & York ltée, Compagnie d’assurance1,141er mars 20181er mars 20186,42
Sécurité Nationale, Compagnie d’assurances (2)7,051er déc. 201715 janv. 20180,00
TD, Compagnie d’assurances générales (2)1,971er déc. 201715 janv. 20180,00
Traders, Compagnie d’assurances générales1,611er mars 20181er mars 20183,23
Unica Insurance Inc.0,558 janv. 20187 févr. 20186,96
Zenith, Compagnie d’assurances0,361er févr. 20181er mars 2018-0,03
Répercussions sur l’ensemble du marché +1,03

 

  1. Inauguration d’un nouveau programme tarifaire
  2. Changements de taux sans incidence générale

 

Graphique 1

% du coût des sinistres pour les accidents en 2016 

Plan statistique automobile de l’ASAG 2016, Tableau du rapport sinistres-primes réel, voitures de tourisme, sauf les véhicules d’exploitation agricole AUTO1005 

 

REMARQUE : Les pourcentages étant arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre à 100.

 

Description accessible du graphique 1 :

Garantie d’indemnités d’accident 34,2 %, Garantie responsabilité civile – lésions corporelles 22,0 %, Indemnisation directe et dommages aux biens 17,8 %, Collision 18,2 %, Garantie complète 6,1 %, Automobile non assurée 1,1 %, FMPO 44R – Protection de la famille 0,5 %.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.