Superintendent's Guideline No. 04/16: Transportation Expense Guideline

Introduction 

This Guideline is issued pursuant to s. 268.3 of the Insurance Act for the purposes of: 

 

  • ss. 14 (5), 15 (11) and 24 (3) of the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Accidents on or After November 1, 1996 (1996 SABS), and
  • ss. 3 (1), 15 (2) (c), 16 (4) (f), 19 (1) (b) and 25 (4) of the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (2010 SABS). 

This Guideline comes into effect October 1, 2016, and replaces the former Transportation Expense Guideline – Superintendent’s Guideline No. 05/10.
 

Purpose 

The purpose of this Guideline is to provide a framework for insurers and insured persons to determine the circumstances under which expenses related to the transportation of an insured person, and his/her aide or attendant, to and from treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, assessments and examinations, must be paid by an insurer.  This Guideline sets out authorized expenses and applicable rates for the purpose of ss. 14 (5), 15 (11) and 24 (3) of the 1996 SABS and 15 (2) (c), 16 (4) (f), 19 (1) (b) and 25 (4) of the 2010 SABS. 

(a) Accidents Occurring Before April 15, 2004

Authorized Expenses

The insurer is liable to pay for all reasonable and necessary transportation expenses for each trip that the insured person makes to and from treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, assessments and examinations. The insurer is also liable to pay for all reasonable and necessary transportation expenses of the insured person’s aide or attendant.


Transportation expenses are calculated based on the most direct route and include incurred parking fees. 
 
The selected mode of transportation should be the most economical and practical for the distance to be travelled, and be appropriate under the specific circumstances. 

Use of Automobiles

The insurer is liable to pay a mileage expense for transportation of the insured person and his/her aide or attendant, to and from treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, assessments and examinations, using the insured person’s automobile, excluding the first 50 kilometres of each round-trip.  The 50 kilometre “deductible” is only applicable once in any round-trip.  This also applies to minors who are driven to treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, examinations or assessments.
 
For the purpose of this Guideline, the “insured person’s automobile” includes any automobile that is owned or leased by the insured person, or any other automobile that the insured person has access to.
 
For travel that takes place before September 1, 2010, the rate that is to be used to calculate transportation expenses for the use of the insured person’s automobile is $0.34 per kilometre travelled.
 
For travel that takes place on or after September 1, 2010, but before October 1, 2016 the rate that is to be used to calculate transportation expenses for the use of the insured person’s automobile is $0.38 per kilometre travelled.

 

For travel that takes place on or after October 1, 2016, the rate that is to be used to calculate transportation expenses for the use of the insured person’s automobile is $0.40 per kilometre travelled.

Use of Taxis

The insurer is liable to pay for reasonable and necessary taxi fare(s) incurred by an insured person and his/her aide or attendant, provided that: 

 

  • the insured person does not own or have access to an automobile; or
  • the insured person is unable to operate an automobile; or
  • it is reasonable and practical in the circumstances to take a taxi. 

Other Modes of Transportation

Insurers are liable to pay for reasonable and necessary expenses for other modes of transportation where circumstances warrant.  An insured person should discuss the matter with his/her insurer before incurring expenses for air, rail and bus transportation services. 

(b) Accidents Occurring On or After April 15, 2004 

Authorized Expenses 

Subject to the 50 kilometre “deductible” referred to below, the insurer is liable to pay for all reasonable and necessary transportation expenses for each trip that the insured person makes to and from treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, assessments or examinations.  The insurer is also liable to pay for all reasonable and necessary transportation expenses of the insured person’s aide or attendant. Transportation expenses are calculated based on the most direct route and include incurred parking fees.
 
The selected mode of transportation should be the most economical and practical for the distance to be travelled, and be appropriate under the specific circumstances. 

Use of Automobiles

For the purpose of this Guideline, the “insured person’s automobile” includes any automobile that is owned or leased by the insured person, or any other automobile that the insured person has access to.

 

Subject to the 50 kilometre “deductible” referred to below:  

 

  • for travel that takes place before September 1, 2010, the rate that is to be used to calculate transportation expenses for the use of the insured person’s automobile is $0.34 per kilometre travelled;
  • for travel that takes place on or after September 1, 2010, but before October 1, 2016 the rate that is to be used to calculate transportation expenses for the use of the insured person’s automobile is $0.38 per kilometre travelled; and
  • for travel that takes place on or after October 1, 2016, the rate that is to be used to calculate transportation expenses for the use of the insured person’s automobile is $0.40 per kilometre travelled.

Use of Taxis

Subject to the 50 kilometre “deductible” referred to below, the insurer is liable to pay for reasonable and necessary taxi fare(s) incurred by an insured person and his/her aide or attendant, provided that: 

 

  • the insured person does not own or have access to an automobile; or
  • the insured person is unable to operate an automobile; or
  • it is reasonable and practical in the circumstances to take a taxi. 

This provision also applies to all transportation expenses of the insured person’s aide or attendant.  

Other Modes of Transportation

Subject to the 50 kilometre “deductible” referred to below, the insurer is liable to pay for reasonable and necessary expenses for other modes of transportation where circumstances warrant.  An insured person should discuss the matter with his/her insurer before incurring expenses for air, rail and bus transportation services.
 

50 Kilometre “Deductible”

As set out in clauses 14 (6) (b), 15 (12) (b) and 24 (4) (b) of the 1996 SABS, and in the definition of “authorized transportation expense” in subsection 3 (1) of the 2010 SABS, the insurer is not liable to pay for the first 50 kilometres of transportation (whether or not in the insured person’s automobile) to and from treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, assessments and examinations, unless the insured person sustained a catastrophic impairment as a result of the accident. The 50 kilometre “deductible” is only applicable once in any roundtrip.  These provisions also apply to minors who are driven to treatment sessions, counselling sessions, training sessions, assessments and examinations, and to transportation expenses of the insured person’s aide or attendant. 
 
October 2016


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Lignes directrices du surintendant nº 04/16 : Directive concernant les frais de transport

Introduction

La présente directive est publiée en vertu de l’article 268.3 de la Loi sur les assurances et : 

 

  • des paragraphes 14 (5), 15 (11) et 24 (3) de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales - accidents survenus le 1er novembre 1996 ou après ce jour (« AIAL (1996) ») et 
  • des paragraphes 3 (1) et 25 (4) et des alinéas 15 (2) c), 16 (4) f) et 19 (1) b) de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales (AIAL) - en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010 (« AIAL (2010) »). 

La présente directive entre en vigueur le 1er octobre 2016 et remplace l’ancienne Directive concernant les frais de transport – Directive du surintendant no 05/10.
 

Objet

La présente directive fournit aux assureurs et aux personnes assurées un cadre leur permettant d’établir les circonstances dans lesquelles l’assureur est tenu de rembourser les frais de transport de la personne assurée et de son aide, le cas échéant, pour se rendre à des séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’aux examens et aux évaluations, et en revenir. Elle fixe les frais autorisés et les taux applicables aux termes des paragraphes 14 (5), 15 (11) et 24 (3) de l’AIAL (1996) ainsi que des alinéas 15 (2) c), 16 (4) f), 19 (1) b) et du paragraphe 25 (4) de l’AIAL (2010). 

(a) Accidents survenus avant le 15 avril 2004

Frais autorisés

L’assureur est tenu de rembourser tous les frais raisonnables et nécessaires pour chaque déplacement de la personne assurée pour se rendre à des séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’aux examens et aux évaluations, et en revenir. L’assureur est également tenu de rembourser tous les frais raisonnables et nécessaires de l’aide de la personne assurée.

 

Les frais de déplacement sont calculés en fonction du trajet le plus direct et ils comprennent les frais de stationnement engagés.
 
Le moyen de transport choisi doit être le plus économique et pratique selon la distance à parcourir, tout en étant approprié aux circonstances particulières. 

Utilisation d’automobiles

L’assureur est tenu de rembourser les frais de kilométrage associés au transport de la personne assurée et de son aide pour se rendre aux séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’aux examens et évaluations, et en revenir, dans l’automobile de la personne assurée, exception faite des 50 premiers kilomètres de chaque aller-retour. La « franchise » de 50 kilomètres ne s’applique qu’une fois par aller-retour. Cette disposition s’applique également aux personnes mineures qui sont conduites à des séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’à des examens et à des évaluations.
 
Pour les besoins de la présente directive, « automobile de la personne assurée » s’entend de toute automobile qui appartient à la personne assurée ou que cette dernière loue ou de toute autre automobile qu’elle peut utiliser.
 
Pour les déplacements effectués avant le 1er septembre 2010, le taux servant au calcul des frais de transport si l’automobile de la personne assurée est utilisée est de 0,34 $ par kilomètre parcouru.
 
Pour les déplacements effectués le 1er septembre 2010 ou après, mais avant le 1er octobre 2016, le taux servant au calcul des frais de transport si l’automobile de la personne assurée est utilisée est de 0,38 $ par kilomètre parcouru.
 
Pour les déplacements effectués le 1er octobre 2016 ou après, le taux servant au calcul des frais de transport si l’automobile de la personne assurée est utilisée est de 0,40 $ par kilomètre parcouru.

Déplacements en taxi 

L’assureur est tenu de rembourser les frais de déplacement en taxi raisonnables et nécessaires engagés par une personne assurée et son aide, à condition : 

 

  • que la personne assurée ne possède pas de voiture ou n’y ait pas accès; ou 
  • que la personne assurée ne soit pas en mesure de conduire une automobile; ou
  • qu’il soit raisonnable et pratique dans les circonstances de prendre un taxi. 

Autres moyens de transport

L’assureur est tenu de rembourser les frais de déplacement raisonnables et nécessaires par un autre moyen de transport lorsque les circonstances le requièrent. Avant d’engager des frais de transport par avion, par train ou par autocar, la personne assurée devrait en discuter avec son assureur. 

(b) Accidents survenus le 15 avril 2004 ou après cette date

Frais autorisés

Sous réserve de la « franchise » de 50 kilomètres décrite plus bas, l’assureur est tenu de rembourser tous les frais raisonnables et nécessaires pour chaque déplacement de la personne assurée pour se rendre à des séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’aux examens et aux évaluations, et en revenir. L’assureur est également tenu de rembourser tous les frais raisonnables et nécessaires de l’aide de la personne assurée. Les frais de déplacement sont calculés en fonction du trajet le plus direct et ils comprennent les frais de stationnement engagés.
 
Le moyen de transport choisi doit être le plus économique et pratique selon la distance à parcourir, tout en étant approprié aux circonstances particulières. 

Utilisation d’automobiles

Pour les besoins de la présente directive, « automobile de la personne assurée » s’entend de toute automobile qui appartient à la personne assurée ou que cette dernière loue, ou de toute autre automobile qu’elle peut utiliser.

 

Sous réserve de la « franchise » de 50 kilomètres décrite plus bas :  

 

  • pour les déplacements effectués avant le 1er septembre 2010, le taux servant au calcul des frais de transport si l’automobile de la personne assurée est utilisée est de 0,34 $ par kilomètre parcouru; 
  • pour les déplacements effectués le 1er septembre 2010 ou après, mais avant le 1er octobre 2016, le taux servant au calcul des frais de transport si l’automobile de la personne assurée est utilisée est de 0,38 $ par kilomètre parcouru;
  • pour les déplacements effectués le 1er octobre 2016 ou après, le taux servant au calcul des frais de transport si l’automobile de la personne assurée est utilisée est de 0,40 $ par kilomètre parcouru.

Déplacements en taxi 

Sous réserve de la « franchise » de 50 kilomètres décrite plus bas, l’assureur est tenu de rembourser les frais de déplacement en taxi raisonnables et nécessaires engagés par une personne assurée et son aide, à condition :  

 

  • que la personne assurée ne possède pas de voiture ou n’y ait pas accès; ou
  • que la personne assurée ne soit pas en mesure de conduire une automobile; ou
  • qu’il soit raisonnable et pratique dans les circonstances de prendre un taxi. 

Cette disposition s’applique également à tous les frais de transport de l’aide de la personne assurée. 
 

Autres moyens de transport 

Sous réserve de la « franchise » de 50 kilomètres décrite plus bas, l’assureur est tenu de rembourser les frais de déplacement raisonnables et nécessaires par un autre moyen de transport si les circonstances le requièrent. Avant d’engager des frais de transport par avion, par train ou par autocar, la personne assurée devrait en discuter avec son assureur.
 

« Franchise » de 50 kilomètres 

Comme il est précisé aux alinéas 14 (6) b), 15 (12) b) et 24 (4) b) de l’AIAL (1996) et dans la définition de l’expression « frais de transport autorisés » du paragraphe 3 (1) de l’AIAL (2010), l’assureur n’est pas tenu de rembourser les 50 premiers kilomètres parcourus (que le déplacement se fasse ou non dans l’automobile de la personne assurée) pour se rendre aux séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’aux examens et aux évaluations, et en revenir, sauf si la personne assurée souffre d’une déficience invalidante en raison de l’accident. La « franchise » de 50 kilomètres ne s’applique qu’une fois par aller-retour. Cette disposition s’applique également aux personnes mineures qui sont conduites à des séances de traitement, de consultation et de formation ainsi qu’à des examens et à des évaluations, ainsi qu’aux frais de transport de l’aide de la personne assurée.  
 

Octobre 2016


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.