Report on FSCO's 2015 Mandatory Information Return for Co-operatives

August 2016

Applicable to co-operatives incorporated before December 31, 2014 and not dissolved

Financial Services Commission of Ontario

Licensing and Market Conduct Division

 

Table of Contents

Executive summary

     About FSCO

     Background

     Information return process

Compliance rate

Response to low compliance rate

Observations of responses

Questions

 

Executive summary

In 2015, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) launched a Mandatory Information Return for co‑operatives, which was designed to obtain and compile data on the sector in Ontario in order to support policy-making in this area.
 
Under section 142(1) of the Co-operative Corporations Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.35 [New Window] (the Act), all co‑operatives incorporated before December 31, 2014 in Ontario and not dissolved were required to complete the information return. The information return included questions about the co-operatives’ contact information, financial information and governance practices.

The information return revealed that only 50 per cent of the co-operatives on FSCO’s registry were active and in operation. In light of this key finding, FSCO will take the following measures:
 
  • Appropriately dissolve or cancel the registration of co-operatives that are no longer in operation. 
  • Update the status of co-operatives on FSCO’s registry.

About FSCO

FSCO is an agency of Ontario’s Ministry of Finance. Among other duties, FSCO is responsible for incorporating and regulating co-operatives in the province of Ontario. It is also responsible for regulating the insurance sector, pension plans, credit unions, caisses populaires, loan and trust companies, the mortgage brokering sector and service providers who invoice auto insurers for statutory accident benefit claims. FSCO is accountable to the Minister of Finance.

Background

FSCO is responsible for the incorporation and maintenance of co-operatives under the Act and has the authority to issue a receipt for an offering statement of co-operatives that are raising capital for their business. FSCO collaborates with Service Ontario to ensure that co-operative incorporations, updates to articles of incorporation and dissolutions are reflected in the provincial registry of corporations.


FSCO also provides a listing on its website of co-operatives that have not been dissolved. This listing includes over 1,700 co-operatives. The Co-operative Information Return was created to assess whether co-ops in Ontario were still active and operating. It was also created in order to ensure the accuracy of co-operatives’ contact information, and obtain other information to assist in future policy development in this sector. The information collected will support decisions on the direction and type of ongoing monitoring activities conducted by FSCO, using an evidence-based approach.


In addition to the findings from the information submitted by respondents, this document also contains the compliance rate of co-operatives that completed and submitted the information return.

Information return process

A total of 1,760 letters were mailed on October 27, 2015 to the co-operatives as listed on FSCO’s co-operatives registry. Co-operatives were required to complete the information return by December 15, 2015. A reminder letter and past due letter for the information return were also issued to 842 and 639 co-operatives respectively.


Unless it was formally dissolved, every co-operative incorporated before December 31, 2014 was required to complete the information return, regardless of whether or not they conducted any business.


The information return and a set of accompanying FAQs were made available on FSCO’s website. The information return and key documents were also shared with the associations that support the sector, in order to ensure the message could be broadcast across multiple touch points.

 

Compliance rate

The compliance rate for the information return was as follows: 

 

Number%
Received responses to the online information return​939​53
No response of any kind received36721
Letters mailed were returned to FSCO undelivered396​23
Received responses other than through the online information return583​
Total1,760​100

 

Forty-four per cent of co-operatives did not respond to the information return. This indicated that either the contact information for the co-operative was out of date, the co-operative was no longer active, or the co-operative failed to respond to the Superintendent as required by law.


Response to low compliance rate

In light of the low compliance rate, FSCO will take the following actions:

 

  • FSCO will appropriately take the necessary steps to dissolve or cancel the registration of those co-operatives no longer in operation.
  • FSCO will update its registry of co-operatives to identify those that are confirmed as active.
    • The co-operatives’ current confirmed address will be posted on the registry.
    • The co-operatives’ status will be reflected in the information on the registry.
    • Co-operatives themselves often request confirmation of registration as a key document when they enter into a financial loan agreement with financial institutions or private lenders, a Feed-in Tariff contract, or funding agreement with the federal, provincial or municipal government or agencies.
  • FSCO will delay requests for a receipt of an offering statement or other type of approval until the co-operative has provided appropriate documentation and responses to the Superintendent to update its status and contact information.

Observations of responses

Responses to the information return have given rise to the following observations:

Active versus inactive

A respondent could choose either active (currently conducting business) or inactive (no longer in operation). Of the 939 responses received for this question, 881 co-operatives (94 per cent) indicated they were active; 58 co-operatives indicated they were inactive. Therefore, 50 per cent of the co-operatives listed on FSCO’s registry, which is 881 of the 1,760, were confirmed as active.

Types of co-operatives

Co-operatives were asked to identify what type of business they operate, from a list of 12 options. Summary results for the 881 co-operatives that identified themselves as ‘active’ are as follows:

What type of business does the co-operative operate? 

50 per cent rule

Co-operatives are subject to the rule that 50 per cent of their business activities must be conducted with their own members, or an equivalent measure, unless the co-operative is exempted under the Act. Approximately 56 per cent of the active co-operatives that responded indicated they were not subject to this requirement. This suggests that either those co-operatives did not understand the question, or were not clear on this requirement.

Business activities with members

Only 41 per cent of co-operatives indicated what percentage of business activities they conducted with their own members during their last fiscal year. However, of those, the average percentage of business activities conducted with their own members was 90 per cent – well above the 50 per cent requirement.

Location of operation

Eleven co-operatives (just over one per cent of respondents) responded that in addition to Ontario, they also operate in other Canadian provinces or territories, including Alberta, Québec, Manitoba and British Columbia.

Board of directors

The information return assessed the average size of the respondents’ board of directors, in order to ensure that each board had at least three directors. The co-operatives that met the minimum requirement had an average of seven directors, with the size of the board of directors ranging from seven to 15.

Number of members

Almost 97 per cent of active co-operatives reported that, in aggregate, they had almost 168,000 members at the end of their last fiscal year. The largest co-operative had more than 11,000 members.

 

Type of co-operativeTotal number of members reportedHighest number of members reported per typeNumber of co‑operatives per type
Consumer​44,714​11,28944
Energy​9,258​2,004​39
Farming​5,2283,95914
Farming supply​9,072​5,0009
Financing​1,097​60013
Housing​55,655​3,026490
Housing development​948​164​19
Marketing​822​679​5
Milk transport​491​165​5
Nursery and daycare​5,937​400​121
Services​34,443​6,274​81
Worker​82​10​14

 

Questions

For questions related to this report, please contact FSCO by email at contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca or by telephone at (416) 250-7250.

Rapport sur la déclaration obligatoire de renseignements 2015 de la CSFO à l’intention des coopératives

Août 2016

Applicable aux coopératives non dissoutes constituées en société avant le 31 décembre 2014

Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Division de la délivrance des permis et de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie

 

Table des matières

Sommaire

     À propos de la CSFO
     Contexte
     Processus de déclaration de renseignements
Taux de conformité
En réponse au faible taux de conformité
Analyse des réponses
Questions

 

Sommaire

En 2015, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a contraint les coopératives à lui soumettre une déclaration de renseignements afin d’obtenir et de compiler des données sur le secteur des coopératives de l’Ontario et d’appuyer l’élaboration des politiques dans ce domaine.
 
En vertu du paragraphe 142(1) de la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives [New Window] (la « Loi »), toutes les coopératives non dissoutes constituées en société avant le 31 décembre 2014 étaient tenues de remplir cette déclaration de renseignements. La déclaration de renseignements comportait des questions sur les coordonnées, les données financières et les pratiques de gouvernance de la coopérative.

La déclaration de renseignements a révélé que seulement 50 % des coopératives inscrites au registre de la CSFO étaient exploitées activement. À la lumière de ce constat, la CSFO veillera :
 
  • à l’annulation de l’inscription ou à la dissolution des coopératives qui ne sont plus exploitées activement; 
  • à la mise à jour du statut des coopératives inscrites au registre de la CSFO.

 À propos de la CSFO

La CSFO est un organisme relevant du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario. Entre autres choses, elle est responsable de la constitution et de la réglementation des coopératives de l’Ontario. Elle réglemente également le secteur des assurances, les régimes de retraite, les credit unions, les caisses populaires, les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie, les courtiers en hypothèques et les fournisseurs de services qui facturent des frais aux assureurs automobiles pour des demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales. La CSFO est tenue de compte au ministre des Finances.

Contexte

La CSFO est responsable de la constitution et du maintien des coopératives assujetties à la Loi et a l’autorité de délivrer un reçu à l’égard des prospectus soumis par les coopératives qui mobilisent des capitaux pour exercer des activités. La CSFO veille en collaboration avec ServiceOntario à ce que la constitution en société, la modification des statuts constitutifs ou la dissolution d’une coopérative soient consignées au registre provincial des sociétés.


Elle fournit également sur son site Web la liste des coopératives non dissoutes, dont le nombre s’élève à plus de 1 700. La déclaration de renseignements pour les coopératives a été instaurée pour déterminer quelles coopératives étaient toujours exploitées activement en Ontario. Elle a aussi été mise en place pour assurer l’exactitude des coordonnées des coopératives et pour recueillir d’autres renseignements utiles à l’élaboration de nouvelles politiques dans ce secteur. Grâce aux renseignements recueillis, les décisions quant à l’orientation et au type des activités de surveillance continue de la CSFO se fonderont sur des données probantes.


Ce document contient les conclusions tirées des renseignements fournis par les répondants, et précise le taux de conformité des coopératives qui ont rempli et soumis une déclaration de renseignements.

Processus de déclaration de renseignements

Le 27 octobre 2015, la CSFO a envoyé par la poste une lettre aux 1 760 coopératives inscrites au registre. Les coopératives étaient tenues de remplir cette déclaration de renseignements au plus tard le 15 décembre 2015. Une lettre de rappel, puis une autre les informant de leur retard ont respectivement été envoyées à 842 et 639 coopératives.


À moins qu’elles n’aient été formellement dissoutes, les coopératives constituées en société avant le 31 décembre 2014 devaient remplir une déclaration de renseignements, qu’elles aient exercé ou non des activités.


La déclaration de renseignements et les FAQ connexes ont été mises en ligne sur le site Web de la CSFO. La déclaration de renseignements et les documents pertinents ont également été remis aux associations de soutien du secteur, pour que le message soit diffusé dans plusieurs points de contact.


Taux de conformité

Taux de conformité des déclarations de renseignements :

 

Nombre%
Déclarations de renseignements remplies en ligne​939​53
Aucune réponse36721
Lettres non livrées retournées à la CSFO 396​23
Déclarations de renseignements remplies autrement qu’en ligne583​
Total1 760​100

 

Quarante-quatre pour cent des coopératives au registre n’ont pas rempli la déclaration de renseignements. Nous en avons donc déduit que la coopérative n’était plus activement exploitée, que ses coordonnées n’étaient plus à jour ou qu’elle avait omis de répondre au surintendant, comme l’exige la Loi.


En réponse au faible taux de conformité

Compte tenu du faible taux de conformité, la CSFO prendra les mesures suivantes :

 

  • La CSFO veillera à l’annulation de l’inscription ou à la dissolution des coopératives qui ne sont plus exploitées activement.
  • La CSFO identifiera dans le registre des coopératives celles dont l’activité a été confirmée.
    • Les adresses actuelles confirmées des coopératives seront publiées dans le registre.
    • Le statut des coopératives sera précisé dans le registre.
    • Les confirmations d’inscription figurent généralement parmi les documents clés que doivent présenter les coopératives lorsqu’elles concluent un accord de prêt avec une institution financière ou un prêteur privé, un contrat de tarif de rachat garanti ou une entente de financement avec des agences ou des administrations fédérales, provinciales ou municipales.
  • La CSFO traitera les demandes liées aux prospectus et à tout autre document d’approbation uniquement lorsque la coopérative aura fourni la documentation et les réponses dont a besoin le surintendant pour actualiser son statut et ses coordonnées.

Analyse des réponses

Les réponses fournies dans la déclaration de renseignements ont donné lieu aux observations suivantes :

Coopérative active ou inactive

Les répondants ont dû indiquer s’ils étaient actifs (s’ils exerçaient actuellement des activités) ou s’ils étaient inactifs (s’ils n’en exerçaient plus). Parmi les 939 réponses reçues à cette question, 881 (soit 94 %) ont indiqué qu’ils étaient actifs et 58 ont déclaré qu’ils ne l’étaient plus. Par conséquent, 50 % des coopératives inscrites au registre de la CSFO, soit 881 sur 1 760, ont été déclarées actives.

Types de coopératives

Les coopératives ont eu à préciser, parmi 12 possibilités, le type d’activités qu’elles exerçaient. Voici un résumé des réponses fournies par les 881 coopératives qui se sont dites actives :

Quel type d'activités la coopérative exerce-t-elle ? 

Règle du 50 %

Les coopératives sont assujetties à une règle suivant laquelle 50 % de leurs activités commerciales doivent être exercées avec leurs membres, ou à une mesure équivalente, à moins d’être exemptées en vertu de la Loi. Quelque 56 % des coopératives exploitées activement qui nous ont répondu ont indiqué qu’elles en étaient dispensées. Nous en déduisons que les coopératives n’ont pas bien compris la question, ou qu’elles ignoraient être soumises à une telle obligation.

Activités commerciales avec les membres

Seulement 41 % des coopératives ont précisé le pourcentage des activités commerciales qu’elles ont exercées avec leurs membres au cours du dernier exercice financier. Toutefois, ces dernières ont indiqué qu’elles exerçaient en moyenne 90 % de leurs activités commerciales avec leurs membres, soit bien plus que les 50 % requis.

Lieu d’exploitation

Onze coopératives (soit un peu plus d’un pour cent des répondants) ont indiqué qu’elles exerçaient également des activités dans des provinces et territoires canadiens autres que l’Ontario, notamment en Alberta, au Québec, au Manitoba et en Colombie-Britannique.

Conseil d’administration

La déclaration de renseignements demandait également aux coopératives de préciser la taille de leur conseil d’administration, pour que nous puissions confirmer qu’il comptait au moins trois administrateurs. Les coopératives dont le conseil d’administration respectait ce seuil minimal en comptaient en moyenne sept, et jusqu’à quinze.

Nombre de membres

Selon ce qu’elles ont déclaré, presque 97 % des coopératives exploitées activement comptaient au total près de 168 000 membres au terme du dernier exercice financier. La coopérative avec le plus grand nombre de membres en comptait plus de 11 000.  

 

Type de coopérativeNombre total de membres déclarésPlus grand nombre de membres déclarés par typeNombre de coopératives par type
Consommateurs​44 714​11 28944
Énergie​9 258​2 004​39
Producteurs de produits agricoles​5 2283 95914
Fournisseurs de produits agricoles​9 072​5 0009
Financement​1 097​60013
Logement​55 655​3 026490
Développement du logement​948​164​19
Marketing​822​679​5
Transport de lait​491​165​5
Pouponnière et garderie​5 937​400​121
Service​34 443​6 274​81
Pouponnière et garderie​82​10​14

 

Questions

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de ce rapport, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec la CSFO par courriel à contactcentre@gsco.gov.on.ca ou par téléphone au 416 250-7250.