Frequently Asked Questions About Credit Unions for Consumers

This web page provides consumers answers to frequently asked questions related to credit unions and caisses populaires in Ontario.

 

  1. Who is the insurer of credit unions deposits and what is the maximum amount of protection for deposits?
  2. How can I join a credit union?
  3. How can I obtain a copy of my credit union's financial statements?

1. Who is the insurer of credit union deposits and what is the maximum amount of protection for deposits?

The Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO) insures most deposits in credit unions or caisses populaires in Ontario. Deposits must be in Canadian dollars and held at a DICO insured institution [New Window] to qualify for insurance protection. Deposit insurance covers eligible deposits up to the prescribed statutory limit of $100,000. Deposits made to registered plans and tax free savings accounts are also insured up to any amount. For more information on deposit coverage, refer to the DICO website [New Window], or call (416) 325-9444.

2. How can I join a credit union?

Each credit union has its own rules for becoming a member. They specify who may become a member of the credit union under its bond of association. Each person has to pay a specified amount (that is set out in the credit union's by-laws) as membership share capital before qualifying for membership. A credit union's shares are not insured by DICO. For more information on membership requirements, you can contact the credit union you are interested in joining.

3. How can I obtain a copy of my credit union's financial statements?

The most recent audited financial statements are available to the members of a credit union, upon request, from  the credit union. Many but not all credit unions post their audited financial statements and/or annual report on their website.

Foire aux questions sur les caisses à l'intention des consommateurs

Cette page Web fournit aux consommateurs des réponses aux questions fréquemment posées sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions (ci-après appelées conjointement les « caisses ») en Ontario.

 

  1. Qui assure les dépôts détenus dans les caisses et quel est le montant maximum qui peut être protégé par l'assurance-dépôts?
  2. Comment puis-je devenir sociétaire d'une caisse?
  3. Comment puis-je obtenir une copie des états financiers de ma caisse?

1. Qui assure les dépôts détenus dans la caisse et quel est le montant maximum qui peut être protégé par l'assurance-dépôts?

La Société ontarienne d'assurance-dépôts (SOAD) assure la plupart des dépôts dans les caisses populaires ou les credit unions (conjointement les « caisses ») en Ontario. Les dépôts doivent être en dollars canadiens et détenus dans un établissement assuré [New Window] par la SOAD pour être admissibles à l'assurance-dépôts. L'assurance-dépôts garantit les dépôts admissibles jusqu'à la limite prévue par la loi de 250 000 $. Les dépôts effectués dans des régimes enregistrés et des comptes d'épargne libre d'impôt bénéficient également d'une assurance illimitée. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'assurance-dépôts, veuillez consulter le site Web de la SOAD, ou composez le 416 325-9444.

 

2. Comment puis-je devenir sociétaire d'une caisse?

Les caisses possèdent chacune leurs règles pour l'admission des sociétaires. Elles énoncent qui peut devenir un sociétaire de la caisse selon son lien d'association. Chaque personne doit payer un montant précis (fixé par les règlements administratifs de la caisse) sous forme de parts sociales avant de pouvoir devenir sociétaire d'une caisse. Les actions d'une caisse ne sont pas assurées par la SOAD. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet des exigences en matière d'adhésion, vous pouvez communiquer avec la caisse dont vous souhaitez devenir sociétaire.

 

3. Comment puis-je obtenir une copie des états financiers de ma caisse?

Les états financiers vérifiés les plus récents sont mis à la disposition des sociétaires d'une caisse, sur demande, par la caisse. De nombreuses caisses publient leurs états financiers vérifiés et (ou) leurs rapports annuels sur leur site Web.