Frequently Asked Questions for Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires

This web page provides credit unions and caisses populaires answers to frequently asked questions.

 

  1. Who should resolve complaints for my credit union and what title should they have?
  2. What does FSCO mean by a "complaint"?
  3. What are credit unions or caisses populaires required to do with unclaimed deposits?

1. Who should resolve complaints for my credit union and what title should they have?

Under sub-section 116(1) of Ontario Regulation 237/09 [New Window], each credit union and caisse populaire is required to designate one of its officers or employees to receive and attempt to resolve complaints made by members and depositors. The title for this position should be determined by the credit union or caisse populaire. In addition, the credit union or caisse populaire is responsible for communicating the name and title of this officer or employee to its members and depositors, so that they know who to direct their complaints to.

 

A list of these officers or employees is available on the web page entitled Officers Designated to Resolve Complaints Contact Information.

2. What does FSCO mean by a "complaint"?                               

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario's (FSCO's) Market Risk Assessment Unit is responsible for reviewing and/or investigating any allegations that involve a contravention of the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994 [New Window] (the Act). FSCO describes a complaint as a written allegation against another person or organization. It usually involves the following:

 

  • criticism against an organization;
  • real or potential harm that a consumer has experienced, or could experience; and
  • a request for remedial action.   

3. What are credit unions or caisses populaires required to do with unclaimed deposits?

Section 182 of the Act deals with a deposit account where at least two years have passed since the depositor's last transaction, or since the depositor last requested or acknowledged an account statement. These types of accounts are often described as "inactive accounts". Under section 182, if an account has been inactive for 10 years, the credit union or caisse populaire must forward the unclaimed amount from the account to the Minister of Finance. This must be done in accordance with the minister's directions, starting on the date that is specified by the minister.

 

However, credit unions or caisses populaires should not make any payments to the Minister of Finance at this time. Once the Minister of Finance has set a date and provided directions, this will be communicated by FSCO to credit unions and caisses populaires.

 

Under the law, credit unions and caisses populaires are required to mail notices on an individual account basis to depositors with inactive accounts.

Foire aux questions sur les credit unions et les caisses populaires

Cette page Web fournit des réponses aux questions fréquemment posées sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions (conjointement les « caisses »).
 
  1. Qui devrait régler les plaintes pour ma caisse et quel devrait être leur titre?
  2. Selon la CSFO, en quoi consiste une « plainte »?
  3. Que sont les exigences pour les caisses populaires ou les credit unions pour les dépôts non réclamés?

1. Qui devrait régler les plaintes pour ma caisse et quel devrait être leur titre?

En vertu du paragraphe 116(1) du Règlement de l'Ontario 237/09 [New Window], chaque caisse doit charger un de ses dirigeants ou de ses employés de recevoir les plaintes présentées par des sociétaires et des déposants et de tenter de les régler. Le titre de ce poste devrait être déterminé par la caisse. En outre, la caisse est responsable de communiquer le nom et le titre de ce dirigeant ou de cet employé à ses sociétaires et déposants, afin qu'ils sachent à qui transmettre leurs plaintes.

 

Une liste de ces dirigeants et de ces employés est accessible sur la page Web intitulée Coordonnées des personnes désignées pour résoudre les plaintes.

2. Selon la CSFO, en quoi consiste une « plainte »?

L'Unité de l'évaluation des risques dans l'industrie de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) est responsable d'examiner toutes les allégations d'infraction à la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions [New Window] (la Loi) et (ou) de les enquêter. La CSFO décrit une plainte comme une allégation écrite contre une autre personne ou un autre organisme. Elle met généralement en cause un des éléments suivants :

 

  • une critique contre un organisme;
  • un préjudice réel subi par une société ou un déposant, ou un préjudice potentiel qu'il pourrait subir;
  • une demande de mesures correctrices.

3. Que sont les exigences pour les caisses populaires ou les credit unions pour les dépôts non réclamés?

L'article 182 de la Loi traite des comptes de dépôt pour lesquels au moins deux ans se sont écoulés depuis la dernière opération du déposant, ou depuis la date de sa dernière demande ou de son dernier accusé de réception d'un état de compte. Ces types de comptes sont souvent appelés « comptes inactifs ». En vertu de l'article 182, si un compte est inactif depuis dix ans, la caisse doit transférer la somme non réclamée en cause au ministre des Finances. Ce transfert doit être effectué conformément aux directives du ministre, à partir de la date qui est précisée par le ministre.

 

Cependant, les caisses ne devraient verser aucun paiement au ministre des Finances en ce moment. Lorsque le ministre des Finances aura fixé une date et fourni des directives, la CSFO les transmettra aux caisses.

En vertu de la Loi, les caisses doivent envoyer par la poste des avis aux déposants ayant des comptes inactifs pour chaque compte.