Applying for Approval to Use a Trade Name or Change a Legal Name for a Credit Union

If a credit union plans to identify itself by a name other than its current legal name, it must file a request for approval with the Superintendent of Financial Services (Superintendent) pursuant to section 19 or section 19.1 of the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994 [New Window] (the Act). 

 

Credit unions that want to use a new legal name and/or new trade name should:

 

  1. Review the requirements in sections 19 to 22 of the Act [New Window].
  2. Complete a submission for the Superintendent to approve the new legal name or trade name for the current or proposed credit union. It should include the following documents:
    • A letter or document that explains the credit union's rationale for using a new legal name and/or trade name instead of its current legal name; 
    • An Ontario name reservation report that includes the credit union's proposed full trade name or new legal name, including the selected legal ending (i.e., Inc., Ltd.); and
    • Resolution of the credit union's Board of Directors that approves the proposed trade name or new legal name, and its use by the credit union.
  3. Include a cheque that is payable to the Minister of Finance for the required fee that is outlined in the Minister's Schedule of Required Fees
  4. File the submission, accompanying documents and cheque with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario’s (FSCO) Licensing Branch.

FSCO will review the submission and notify the credit union if any other documents are required.

 

Receiving Approval

The Superintendent will issue an approval letter once he/she is satisfied that the proposed trade name or new legal name meets the requirements of the Act and that all required documents have been received.  If FSCO receives a complete submission – this is a submission that is not missing any information or documents – it will generally be processed within 30 business days from the date it is received.

 

Once the Superintendent's approval to reserve the new legal name is received, the credit union must file its articles of amendment with FSCO. This type of amendment requires the approval of the credit union's members through a member special resolution. The credit union cannot use its new legal name until its articles of amendment are approved by the Superintendent and the Superintendent issues a certificate of amendement.

 

The credit union does not need to file articles of amendment to use an approved trade name.  The credit union will need to register and obtain a Master Business Licence for the trade name with Service Ontario. The Master Business Licence needs to be renewed every five years.

Présenter une demande d'approbation pour qu'une caisse utilise un nom commercial ou change de dénomination sociale

​Si une caisse populaire ou credit union (conjointement une « caisse ») envisage de s'identifier par un autre nom que sa dénomination sociale actuelle, elle doit tout d'abord présenter une demande d'approbation au surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») aux termes de l'article 19 ou de l'article 19.1 de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions [New Window] (la « Loi »).

 

Les caisses qui veulent utiliser une nouvelle dénomination sociale et (ou) un nouveau nom commercial doivent :

 

  1. Examiner les exigences des articles 19 à 22 de la Loi [New Window].

  2. Remplir une demande pour que le surintendant approuve la nouvelle dénomination sociale et (ou) le nouveau nom commercial pour la caisse actuelle ou proposée. Elle devrait comprendre les documents suivants :

    • une lettre ou un document expliquant les raisons de l'utilisation d'une nouvelle dénomination sociale et (ou) d'un nom commercial au lieu de sa dénomination sociale actuelle;
    • un rapport de réservation en Ontario comprenant le nom commercial proposé complet de la caisse ou sa nouvelle dénomination sociale, y compris la mention juridique choisie (c.-à-d., Inc, Ltée);
    • la résolution du conseil d'administration de la caisse qui approuve le nom commercial proposé ou la nouvelle dénomination sociale, et son utilisation par la caisse.
  3. Inclure un chèque payable au Ministre des Finances pour les droits exigés précisés dans le Barème ministériel des droits exigés.
  4. Déposer la demande, les documents connexes et le chèque auprès de la Section de la délivrance des permis de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario.

La CSFO examinera la demande et avisera la caisse si tout autre document est requis.

 

Réception de l'approbation

Le surintendant délivrera une lettre d'approbation lorsqu'il sera convaincu que le nom commercial proposé ou que la nouvelle dénomination sociale respecte les exigences prévues par la Loi et que tous les documents requis ont été reçus. Si la CSFO reçoit une demande complète – soit une proposition pour laquelle aucun renseignement ou document ne manque – elle sera généralement traitée dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivants la date de réception.

 

Une fois que la caisse a reçu l'approbation du surintendant pour réserver la nouvelle dénomination sociale, elle doit déposer ses statuts de modification auprès de la CSFO. Ce type de modification nécessite l'approbation des sociétaires de la caisse par une résolution extraordinaire des sociétaires. La caisse ne peut pas utiliser sa nouvelle dénomination sociale avant que le surintendant approuve ses statuts de modification et qu'il délivre un certificat de modification.

 

La caisse n'a pas à déposer les statuts de modification pour utiliser un nom commercial approuvé. La caisse devra s'enregistrer et obtenir un permis principal d'entreprise pour le nom commercial auprès de Service Ontario. Le permis principal d'entreprise doit être renouvelé tous les cinq ans.