Modernizing Ontario’s credit union legislative framework

Background

Every five years, the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994 (CUCPA) and its regulations are required by law to be reviewed. In 2014, the Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance was appointed to lead the five-year review of the CUCPA and seek input from stakeholders and the public on ways to strengthen the regulatory framework, protect consumers and enable credit unions and caisses populaires to continue to meet the needs of their members.

 

The report of the review of CUCPA by the Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance was completed in November 2015. For more details on the CUCPA consultation and report, please visit the Ministry of Finance website [New Window].

 

In the 2016 Ontario Budget, the government announced its intention to implement the recommendations contained in the November 2015 report on the review of the CUCPA.

 

Amendments to the CUCPA and General Regulation effective January 1, 2018

The following amendments to the General Regulation (Ontario Regulation 237/09) under CUCPA are effective January 1, 2018:

  

  • setting the deposit insurance limit for non-registered insurable deposits at $250,000 (unlimited deposit insurance for the full amount for insurable registered deposits will be maintained);
  • removing differentiated rules for small credit unions; and
  • permitting credit unions to establish or acquire a corporation that is an insurance agent or a registered insurance broker.

In addition, extra-provincial credit unions will be permitted to participate in syndicated loans in Ontario. Extra-provincial credit unions that wish to participate in syndicated loans in Ontario must be registered with FSCO. Registration forms are available on FSCO’s website [New Window].

   
Once registered, extra-provincial credit unions are required to provide FSCO with information about their business upon request.

   
For syndicated loans outside Ontario, Ontario credit unions may participate but not lead the syndication, provided the conditions in the General Regulation are met.
 

Consultation on proposed capital adequacy framework for Ontario credit unions

One of the recommendations in the November 2015 report was to adopt updated capital adequacy requirements for Ontario credit unions based on Basel III principles, with appropriate adjustments to reflect the capital structure of credit unions. The Ministry of Finance released a consultation paper on November 21, 2017 that sets out a detailed proposal for implementing this recommendation, and is seeking feedback. For more details on the consultation, please visit the Ministry of Finance website [New Window].

Modernisation du cadre législatif des credit unions et des caisses populaires de l’Ontario

Contexte

En vertu de la loi, la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions (LCPCU) et ses règlements doivent faire l’objet d’un examen tous les cinq ans. En 2014, l’adjointe parlementaire du ministre des Finances a reçu le mandat de compléter l’examen quinquennal de la LCPCU et de recueillir les commentaires auprès des intervenants et du public sur les meilleurs moyens de consolider le cadre réglementaire, de protéger les consommateurs et de permettre aux caisses populaires et credit unions de continuer de répondre aux besoins de leurs sociétaires. 
 

Le rapport sur l’examen de la LCPCU de l’adjointe parlementaire du ministre des Finances a été achevé en novembre 2015. Pour en savoir plus sur la consultation et le rapport sur la LCPCU, rendez-vous sur le site Web du ministère des Finances [New Window].
 

Dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2016, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de mettre en œuvre les recommandations figurant dans le rapport de novembre 2015 sur l’examen de la LCPCU.
 

Modifications proposées à la LCPCU et aux Dispositions générales, avec prise d’effet le 1er janvier 2018

Les modifications suivantes au règlement intitulé Dispositions générales (Règlement de l’Ontario 237/09) pris en application de la LCPCU prennent effet le 1er janvier 2018 :

 

  • fixer le plafond de l’assurance-dépôts pour les dépôts assurables non enregistrés à 250 000 $ (l’assurance-dépôts illimitée sur le montant total des dépôts enregistrés assurables sera maintenue);
  • supprimer les règles différenciées pour les petites caisses;
  • permettre aux caisses de créer ou d’acquérir une société qui est un agent d’assurance ou un courtier d’assurance inscrit.

En outre, les caisses extraprovinciales seront autorisées à participer à des prêts syndiqués consentis en Ontario. Les caisses extraprovinciales qui souhaitent participer à des prêts syndiqués consentis en Ontario doivent être inscrites auprès de la CSFO. Les formulaires d’inscription sont disponibles sur le site Web de la CSFO [New Window].
 

Une fois inscrites, les caisses extraprovinciales sont tenues de fournir à la demande de la CSFO des renseignements sur leurs activités.
 

Pour les prêts syndiqués consentis à l’extérieur de l’Ontario, les caisses de l’Ontario pourront participer à une syndication, mais sans en être le chef de file, sous réserve du respect des conditions prévues dans les Dispositions générales.
 

Consultation sur le cadre de travail proposé pour la suffisance du capital des caisses de l’Ontario

Le rapport de novembre 2015 recommandait notamment l’adoption d’exigences quant à la suffisance du capital des caisses de l’Ontario qui seraient fondées sur les principes de Bâle III en les adaptant à la structure du capital des caisses. Le ministère des Finances a publié un document de consultation le 21 novembre 2017 qui expose en détail la proposition pour mettre en œuvre cette recommandation et il sollicite des commentaires. Pour en savoir plus sur la consultation, rendez-vous sur le site Web du ministère des Finances[New Window].