Filing a By-law Amendment for a Credit Union

Credit unions must file their amended by-laws with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) by doing one of the following:

 

Credit unions should ensure they provide their contact information with the submission.

Credit unions must send FSCO their amended, signed and dated by-laws within 30 days of receiving confirmation of a by-law amendment by special resolution of the credit union's members and/or delegates (as appropriate).  Failure to do so may result in an administrative monetary penalty.

 

The by-law amendment must be signed by two authorized officers/directors of the credit union.  A scanned copy of the signed and dated by-law amendment will be accepted by FSCO.  There is no fee to file a by-law amendment. 

 

Receiving Acknowledgement

If the by-law amendment is appropriately signed and dated, FSCO's Licensing Branch will acknowledge that it was received within five business days. FSCO will send this acknowledgement by email to the contact person who is listed in the submission.

Déposer une modification à un règlement administratif d'une caisse

​Les caisses populaires ou credit unions (conjointement les « caisses ») doivent déposer leurs règlements administratifs modifiés à la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) de l'une des façons suivantes :

 

Les caisses doivent s'assurer d'inclure leurs coordonnées à leur demande.

 

Les caisses doivent faire parvenir leurs règlements administratifs modifiés, signés et datés à la CSFO dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la confirmation d'une modification au règlement administratif à la suite d'une résolution extraordinaire des sociétaires et (ou) des délégués (selon le cas) de la caisse. L'omission de le faire peut entraîner l'imposition d'une amende administrative.

 

La modification au règlement administratif doit être signée par deux dirigeants/directeurs autorisés de la caisse. La CSFO accepte une copie numérisée de la modification au règlement administratif. Le dépôt d'une modification à un règlement administratif est gratuit.

 

Réception de l'accusé de réception

Si la modification au règlement administratif est correctement signée et datée, la Section de la délivrance des permis de la CSFO en accusera réception dans les cinq jours ouvrables. La CSFO enverra cet accusé de réception par courriel à la personne-ressource mentionnée dans la demande.