Changes to the Life Licence Qualification Program (LLQP)

FSCO is working with CISRO to Update the LLQP

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) has joined with Canada's other insurance regulators through the Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organizations (CISRO) [New Window] to streamline and update the entry level qualification program for new life insurance agents, and new accident and sickness insurance agents. This initiative involves replacing the educational standards in different provinces with one common standard to be used across Canada. The updated LLQP is scheduled to be implemented in January 2016.

Developing one harmonized standard for insurance intermediaries aligns with the Agreement on Internal Trade to promote labour mobility and supports business activity across Canada. It also responds to requests from the insurance industry for regulators and provincial governments to develop common standards for business.  

The common educational standard for insurance intermediaries will also improve the consistency and quality of training currently provided to agents. In 2013, the percentage of each course provider's students who passed the licensing examination on their first attempt ranged from 62 to 98 per cent.

Businesses that Want to Be Approved as Course Providers as of January 1, 2016


Course providers should note that the Superintendent of Financial Services' (Superintendent's) approval of LLQP training courses will expire on December 31, 2015. Providers who wish to offer courses for students writing the updated LLQP exam in Ontario as of January 1, 2016 must first apply to CISRO [New Window] for national accreditation.  Once accreditation from CISRO has been obtained, the course provider can then apply to the Superintendent for approval of the course in Ontario. For more information, please refer to FSCO's web page on how to obtain approval to offer an LLQP training course in Ontario.

How to Become Licensed as a Life Insurance Agent or Accident and Sickness Insurance Agent


Individuals who want to become licensed as life or accident and sickness insurance agents in Ontario, need to:

  1. Complete an LLQP training course that has been authorized by the Superintendent of Financial Services (the Superintendent); 
  2. Write and pass the LLQP exam that is offered by the official exam administrator;
  3. Ensure you have met all of the requirements for becoming licensed as a life or accident and sickness insurance agent, and apply for a licence with FSCO [PDF Document].

Learn More About the LLQP

 

For more information on the updating of the LLQP, please go to the CISRO website [New Window]

Modifications au Programme de qualification du permis d’assurance-vie (PQPAV)

La CSFO collabore avec les OCRA pour moderniser le PQPAV


La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) s’est jointe à d’autres organismes de réglementation d’assurance par l’intermédiaire des Organismes canadiens de réglementation en assurance (OCRA) [New Window] pour rationaliser et mettre à jour le programme de qualification de niveau débutant destiné aux nouveaux agents d’assurance. Cette initiative implique de remplacer deux anciennes normes par une norme commune applicable à l’échelle du Canada. Le programme mis à jour devrait entrer en vigueur en janvier 2016.
 
Développement d’une norme conforme à l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur pour promouvoir la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre et soutenir les entreprises au Canada. L’industrie de l’assurance demande constamment aux organismes de réglementation at aux administrations publiques de concevoir des normes communes pour les entreprises. 
 
La norme commune traitera des problèmes qui touchent la cohérence et la qualité de la formation actuellement offerte aux agents d’assurance. Par exemple, en 2013, le pourcentage de réussite des étudiants de chaque prestataire de cours qui passaient à leur première tentative l’examen d’obtention du permis variait de 62 à 98 %.


Entreprises qui souhaitent devenir des prestataires de cours à compter du 1er janvier 2016


Les prestataires de cours doivent noter que l’autorisation du surintendant des services financiers (surintendant) pour les cours du PQPAV qui sont destinés aux étudiants qui passeront l’examen du PQPAV avant le 1er janvier 2016, viendra à échéance le 31 décembre 2015. Les prestataires qui souhaitent offrir des cours pour les étudiants qui veulent passer l’examen du PQPAV en Ontario à compter du 1er janvier 2016 doivent d’abord présenter une demande aux Organismes canadiens de réglementation en assurance (OCRA) [New Window] afin d’obtenir la reconnaissance nationale, et demander ensuite à la CSFO d’examiner la demande pour déterminer si le cours est jugé acceptable par le surintendant. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Web de la CSFO sur la façon d’obtenir l’approbation pour offrir un cours de formation du PQPAV en Ontario.


Comment devenir titulaire d’un permis d’agent d’assurance-vie


Les personnes qui souhaitent détenir un permis d’agent d’assurance-vie ou d’assurance-accident et maladie en Ontario doivent :

 

  1. Terminer un cours de formation du PQPAV qui a été approuvé par le surintendant des services financiers (le surintendant); 
  2. Passer et réussir l’examen du PQPAV qui est offert par l’administrateur de l’examen reconnu;
  3. S’assurer qu’elles satisfont à toutes les exigences pour devenir titulaires d’un permis d’agent d’assurance-vie et demander un permis à la CSFO [PDF Document] Size: ## kb.

Pour en savoir plus sur le PQPAV

 

Pour plus de renseignements sur la mise à jour du PQPAV, veuillez vous rendre sur le site Web des OCRA [New Window].

 
hotline-fr.jpg
Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.

Suivre@FSCOTweets