FAQs on Surrendering an Insurance Agent or Adjuster Licence

1. Why do I need to complete an application to surrender my insurance agent or adjuster licence?

 
If you are a licensed insurance agent or adjuster in Ontario, and no longer wish to conduct insurance business, please complete one of the following forms: Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Agent Licence or Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Adjuster Licence.
 
It is important to complete this form, as it:
 
  • Notifies the Superintendent of Financial Services of your intention to surrender your insurance agent or adjuster licence;
  • Will end your obligation to maintain certain insurance agent or adjuster licence requirements (e.g., errors and omissions insurance); and
  • Ensures that you have properly exited the insurance business.

2. Where can I get the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Agent or Adjuster Licence?

 
Visit FSCO's General Insurance Forms web page to get the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Agent Licence or the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Adjuster Licence. Both of these forms are available in English and French, and may be downloaded and filled out electronically.

3. What is the process for surrendering my insurance agent or adjuster licence?

 
To surrender your insurance agent or adjuster licence, please follow the steps below:
 
  • Go to FSCO's General Insurance Forms web page and select the appropriate application. (Insurance agents should select the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Agent Licence, and insurance adjusters should select the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Adjuster Licence.)  
  • Complete the application electronically.
  • Send your completed application to FSCO by e-mail at contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca, send a fax to (416) 226-7838, or mail your application to address below:

    Attn: Licensing Branch
    Financial Services Commission of Ontario
    5160 Yonge Street, 16th Floor
    Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
Make sure you maintain all insurance agent or adjuster licensing requirements until you receive notice that the Superintendent has accepted your licence surrender.

4. What factors will FSCO consider when it reviews my application for surrendering my insurance agent or adjuster licence?

 
The Superintendent will allow the surrender of an insurance agent or adjuster licence unless the Superintendent believes that the surrender of the licence is not in the public interest. Factors that the Superintendent will consider include:
 
  • Are there any current disciplinary actions, outstanding complaints or investigations underway?
  • Do you need to pay any administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) to FSCO?
  • Have you notified your clients that you are planning to exit the insurance business?
  • Have you made arrangements that will ensure your clients continue to receive insurance services?
The Superintendent may, in some instances, propose allowing the surrender, but impose conditions. If you disagree with those conditions, you will have an opportunity to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal [New Window] who will make the final decision.

5. I have more than one type of licence with FSCO. Can I submit one application to surrender all types of licences at once?

 
No, you must submit an application for each type of licence you have with FSCO.

6. I am the only licensed insurance adjuster at my insurance adjusting company (which is a corporation or partnership). Since I no longer want to remain in business, how do I surrender both types of licences?

 
If you no longer wish to conduct insurance business in Ontario, please complete the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Adjuster Licence. As you have two types of licences, you will need to complete this form two times.  One application needs to be submitted for your insurance adjuster licence, and a second application needs to be submitted for your insurance adjusting company licence.

7. I am the only licensed insurance agent at my corporate insurance agency or partnership. Since I no longer want to remain in business, how do I surrender both types of licences?

 
If you no longer wish to conduct insurance business in Ontario, please complete the Application for the Surrender of an Insurance Agent Licence. As you have two types of licences, you will need to complete this form two times.  One application needs to be submitted for your insurance agent licence, and a second application needs to be submitted for your corporate insurance agency or partnership licence.

FAQ sur la renonciation au permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance

​1. Pourquoi dois-je remplir une demande pour renoncer à mon permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance?

 
Si vous êtes titulaire d'un permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance en Ontario, et ne  voulez plus exercer d'activités en assurance, vous devez remplir l'un des formulaires suivants : Demande de renonciation au permis d'agent d'assurance ou Demande de renonciation au permis d'expert d'assurance.
 
Il est important de remplir ce formulaire pour les raisons suivantes :
 
  • Il informe le surintendant des services financiers de votre intention de renoncer à votre permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance; 
  • Il met fin à votre obligation de vous conformer à certaines exigences imposées aux agents et aux experts d'assurance (p. ex., l'assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle); 
  • Il permet de s'assurer que vous avez mis fin dans les règles à vos activités d'assurance.

2. Où puis-je obtenir la Demande de renonciation au permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance?

 
Rendez-vous à page Web de la CSFO Formulaires d'assurance pour obtenir la Demande de renonciation au permis d'agent d'assurances ou la Demande de renonciation au permis d'expert d'assurance. Ces deux formulaires, en version française ou anglaise, peuvent être téléchargés et remplis à l'écran.

3. Quelle est la marche à suivre pour renoncer à mon permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance?

 
Pour renoncer à votre permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance, veuillez suivre les étapes suivantes :
 
  • Allez à la page Web de la CSFO Formulaires d'assurance et sélectionnez la demande appropriée. (Les agents d'assurance doivent sélectionner Demande de renonciation au permis d'agent d'assurance et les experts d'assurance doivent sélectionner Demande de renonciation au permis d'expert d'assurance).
  • Remplissez la demande à l'écran.
  • Faites parvenir la demande dûment remplie à la CSFO par courriel à (contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca), par télécopieur (416 226-7838) ou par la poste à l'adresse suivante :

    À l'attention de la Direction des permis
    Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
    5160, Yonge Street, 16e étage
    Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
Vous devez continuer à vous conformer aux exigences imposées aux titulaires d'un permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance jusqu'à ce que vous receviez un avis vous informant que le surintendant a accepté la renonciation de votre permis.

4. Quels facteurs la CSFO prendra-t-elle en considération dans le cadre de l'examen de ma demande de renonciation à mon permis d'agent ou d'expert d'assurance?

 
Le surintendant autorise l’auteur de la demande à renoncer au permis, sauf s’il a des motifs de croire que la renonciation au permis n’est pas dans l’intérêt public. Voici les principaux facteurs pris en considération par la CSFO :
 
  • Y a-t-il des mesures disciplinaires en vigueur, des plaintes ou des enquêtes en cours?
  • Faites-vous l'objet de sanctions administratives pécuniaires de la part de la CSFO? 
  • Avez-vous informé vos clients que vous prévoyez cesser vos activités en assurance?
  • Avez-vous pris des dispositions pour vous assurer que vos clients continueront de recevoir des services d'assurance?

Le surintendant peut, dans certains cas, accepter la demande de renonciation, mais à certaines conditions. Si vous refusez ces conditions, vous pourrez demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers [New Window], qui prendra une décision sans appel.

5. Je possède plus d’un type de permis avec la CSFO. Puis-je faire une demande pour renoncer à tous mes permis en même temps?

 
Non, vous devez soumettre une demande pour chaque type de permis que vous possédez avec la CSFO.

6. Je suis le seul titulaire d'un permis d'expert d'assurance au sein de ma société d'assurance (société ou société en nom collectif ). Puisque je ne veux plus exercer d'activités en assurance, comment dois-je procéder pour renoncer à mes deux types de permis?

 
Si vous ne voulez plus exercer d'activités en assurance en Ontario, vous devez remplir la Demande de renonciation au permis d'expert d'assurance. Comme vous avez deux types de permis, vous devrez remplir ce formulaire deux fois. Une demande doit être soumise pour votre permis d'expert d'assurance et une autre demande doit être soumise pour votre permis de société d'assurance.

7. Je suis le seul titulaire d'un permis d'agent d'assurance au sein de ma société d'assurance ou de ma société en nom collectif. Puisque je ne veux plus exercer d'activités en assurance, comment dois-je procéder pour renoncer à mes deux types de permis?

 
Si vous ne voulez plus exercer d'activités en assurance en Ontario, vous devez remplir la Demande de renonciation au permis d'agent d'assurance. Comme vous avez deux types de permis, vous devrez remplir ce formulaire deux fois. Une demande doit être soumise pour votre permis d'agent d'assurance et une autre demande doit être soumise pour votre permis de société d'assurance ou de société en nom collectif.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.