Amendments to Ontario Regulations 187/08, 188/08 and 189/08 Took Effect on January 1, 2016

Mortgage fraud is a growing problem that is estimated to cost hundreds of millions of dollars in Canada each year. In a continued effort to combat mortgage fraud and raise awareness of this important issue, the Government of Ontario made amendments to three existing regulations under the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 (MBLAA): 


These changes were made in response to the Report to the Minister on the Five-Year Review of the MBLAA [New Window]. The updated regulations came into effect on January 1, 2016. A summary of the changes that have been made to these standards of practice regulations are provided below. As of January 1, 2016, all mortgage brokerages, administrators, brokers and agents must be compliant with these regulations as amended.

 

Summary of Changes to the Standards of Practice Regulations

 

  • Mortgage brokerages, administrators, brokers and agents are prohibited from acting, or doing anything, or failing to do anything, in circumstances where they ought to know that they are being used to facilitate fraud, dishonesty, crime or illegal conduct. (This is required under section 14.2 of Ontario Regulation 188/08, section 10.1 of Ontario Regulation 189/08 and section 3.1 of Ontario Regulation 187/08.)
  • Brokerages are prohibited from acting as a representative of a borrower, lender or investor if the brokerage has "reason to doubt" that the mortgage, its renewal, or the investment in it is lawful. (This is required under section 12 of Ontario Regulation 188/08.) Similarly, mortgage administrators are prohibited from administering a mortgage if they have "reason to doubt" that the mortgage, its renewal, or the investment in it is lawful. (This is required under section 10 of Ontario Regulation 189/08.)
  • Brokerages are required to take reasonable steps to verify a borrower's legal authority to mortgage a property. (This is required under section 13 of Ontario Regulation 188/08.)
  • The brokerage's duty to inform the lender if they have to reason to doubt the accuracy of a borrower's application or a borrower's legal authority to mortgage a property will continue after the borrower enters into a mortgage agreement.  (This is required under section 14.1 of Ontario Regulation 188/08.)
  • The requirement to disclose conflicts of interest was amended to replace "any conflict of interest" with "any conflict of interest or potential conflict of interest."  (This is required under sub-sections 27(1) and 40(3)5 of Ontario Regulation 188/08.)
  • The principal amount in the requirement concerning advance payment by a borrower has been amended to $400,000 or less. (This is required under sub-section 37(1) of Ontario Regulation 188/08.)
  • Policies and procedures on fraud prevention have been added to the topics that must be covered in a brokerage's written policies and procedures. (This is required under subsection 40(3)(8) of Ontario Regulation 188/08.)

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Les modifications aux Règlements de l’Ontario 187/08, 188/08 et 189/08 sont entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016

La fraude hypothécaire est un problème d’une ampleur croissante dont les coûts sont estimés à des centaines de millions de dollars par année au Canada. Sur la lancée de ses efforts de lutte contre la fraude hypothécaire et voulant sensibiliser la population sur cette question importante, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a apporté des modifications à trois règlements qui avaient été pris en application de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques (la Loi) : 

 

Ces modifications font suite au Rapport au ministre des Finances sur l’examen quinquennal de la Loi [New Window]. La version modifiée des règlements est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les grandes lignes des modifications apportées à ces normes d’exercice. Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, tous les courtiers et agents en hypothèques, administrateurs d’hypothèques et maisons de courtage doivent s’y conformer.
 

Grandes lignes des modifications apportées aux règlements sur les normes d’exercice

 

  • Les courtiers et agents en hypothèques, administrateurs d’hypothèques et maisons de courtage ne doivent pas agir ni faire ou omettre de faire quoi que ce soit dans les circonstances où ils doivent savoir qu’ils permettent ainsi à quelqu’un de se servir d’eux pour faciliter la commission d’un acte malhonnête, frauduleux ou criminel ou d’une conduite illégale. (C’est une exigence de l’article 14.2 du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08, de l’article 10.1 du Règlement de l’Ontario 189/08 et de l’article 3.1 du Règlement de l’Ontario 187/08.)
  • Les maisons de courtage ne doivent pas représenter un emprunteur, un prêteur ou un investisseur à l’égard d’une hypothèque si elles ont des « motifs de douter » que l’hypothèque, son renouvellement ou le placement y afférent soit légal. (C’est une exigence de l’article 12 du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08.) De même, les administrateurs d’hypothèques ne doivent pas administrer une hypothèque s’ils ont des « motifs de douter » que l’hypothèque, son renouvellement ou le placement y afférent soit légal. (C’est une exigence de l’article 10 du Règlement de l’Ontario 189/08.)
  • Les maisons de courtage doivent prendre des mesures raisonnables pour vérifier que l’emprunteur est légalement autorisé à hypothéquer un bien. (C’est une exigence de l’article 13 du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08.)
  • L’obligation de la maison de courtage d’aviser le prêteur (si elle a des motifs de douter de l’exactitude de la demande d’hypothèque d’un emprunteur ou des motifs de douter qu’un emprunteur soit légalement autorisé à hypothéquer un bien) continue après que l’emprunteur a conclu la convention hypothécaire. (C’est une exigence de l’article 14.1 du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08.)
  • L’exigence relative à la divulgation de conflits d’intérêts a été modifiée par le remplacement de « tout conflit d’intérêts » par « tout conflit d’intérêts réel ou possible ». (C’est une exigence du paragraphe 27 (1) et de l’alinéa 40 (3) 5 du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08.)
  • Le montant du principal mentionné dans l’exigence concernant le versement anticipé par un emprunteur a été modifié et ce montant est désormais de 400 000 $ ou moins. (C’est une exigence du paragraphe 37 (1) du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08.)
  • La prévention des fraudes a été ajoutée aux sujets devant faire l’objet de règles et de méthodes par la maison de courtage. (C’est une exigence de l’alinéa 40 (3) 8 du Règlement de l’Ontario 188/08.)


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.