Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Reporting Requirements for Mortgage Administrators

To all mortgage administrators licensed in Ontario,


As of July 1, 2008, section 3 of Ontario Regulation 193/08 – Reporting Requirements for Licensees requires the following reporting by mortgage administrators:

 

  1. Within 90 days after the end of every fiscal year, every mortgage administrator shall give the Superintendent,
    (a) a copy of its audited financial statements for the year;

    (b) a copy of a report by the auditor about the books, records and accounts of the mortgage administrator for the year, in a form approved by the Superintendent; and

    (c) a copy of a report by the auditor about the mortgage administrator’s trust account and the assets and liabilities under administration for the year, in a form approved by the Superintendent.

For paragraphs (a) and (b):

 


Please discuss the scope of your auditor’s engagement to ensure that he/she provides an opinion that meets these reporting requirements, with respect to your audited financial statements, books, records and accounts for this year. Your auditor may have already performed an audit that meets the requirements under these paragraphs.

To meet the requirement in paragraph (b), you must:

 

  1. Advise your auditor that you will provide a copy of his/her management letter to FSCO, or confirm that your auditor will not issue a letter regarding paragraph (b).
  2. Provide FSCO with a copy of your auditor’s management letter, or notify FSCO that a letter will not be issued by your auditor regarding paragraph (b).

For paragraph (c):


This report replaces the former requirement to complete and file Form B that existed under the repealed Mortgage Brokers Act.

 

The auditor’s report must address your compliance with the requirements and standards under the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 (the Act), for mortgage administrators who manage and keep records for trust accounts, assets and liabilities under administration. Please discuss the scope of this review with your auditor. Your auditor will require a special engagement for this purpose.

 

The format of the auditor’s report about your trust account, assets and liabilities under administration was developed in conjunction with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario (ICAO). A sample report under paragraph (c) is provided below.


To the Financial Services Commission of Ontario,


I have audited [name of mortgage administrator]’s compliance with the standards in the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 (the Act) applicable to mortgage administrators with trust funds. These standards are contained in Ontario Regulation 189/08 (Mortgage Administrators: Standards of Practice) and Ontario Regulation 193/08 (Reporting Requirements for Licensees). Compliance with the standards established in the Act is the responsibility of the management of [name of mortgage administrator]. My responsibility is to express an opinion on this compliance based on my audit.

 

I conducted my audit in accordance with Canadian Generally Accepted Auditing Standards. These standards require that I plan and perform an audit to obtain reasonable assurance whether [name of mortgage administrator] complied with the provisions of the Act and standards referred to above. Such an audit includes examining on a test basis evidence supporting compliance, evaluating the overall compliance with the requirements of the Act, and where applicable, assessing the accounting principles used and significant estimates made by management.


In my opinion, as of [fiscal year end], [name of mortgage administrator] is in compliance, in all material respects, with the requirements and standards under the Act with respect to mortgage administrators managing and keeping records for trust accounts and trust funds.

 

(signed).............................................

[Name of Public Accountant]
Licensed Public Accountant

 

Resources

 

 

It is your responsibility to be in compliance with Ontario Regulation 193/08. You should make yourself familiar with this Regulation, and make use of all resources available to you. Resources such as the Compliance Checklist for Managing the Mortgage Administrator, Keeping Records and Trust Accounts (available at /en/mortgage/compliancechecklists/Pages/default.aspx ) will help you ensure that your business is in compliance at all times.

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Exigences en matière de déclaration pour les administrateurs d'hypothèques

À tous les administrateurs d'hypothèques titulaires d'un permis en Ontario,


Au 1er juillet 2008, l'article 3 du Règlement de l’Ontario 193/08 − Exigences en matière de déclaration applicables aux titulaires de permis requiert que les administrateurs d'hypothèques déposent les documents ci-dessous :

 

  1. Au plus tard 90 jours après la fin de chaque exercice, l’administrateur d’hypothèques remet ce qui suit au surintendant :
    (a) un exemplaire de ses états financiers vérifiés pour cet exercice;

    (b) un exemplaire du rapport du vérificateur sur ses livres, ses dossiers et ses comptes pour cet exercice, en la forme qu’approuve le surintendant;

    (c) un exemplaire du rapport du vérificateur sur ses comptes en fiducie et les éléments d’actif et de passif sous administration pour cet exercice, en la forme qu’approuve le surintendant.

Pour les paragraphes a) et b) :

 


Veuillez préciser la portée de la mission de votre vérificateur pour vous assurer qu'il émet une opinion qui répond aux exigences de présentation des états financiers, livres, dossiers et comptes pour cet exercice. Votre vérificateur a peut-être déjà effectué une vérification qui satisfait aux exigences en vertu de ces paragraphes.

Pour répondre aux exigences du paragraphe b), vous devez :

 

  1. informer votre vérificateur que vous allez fournir un exemplaire de sa lettre de recommandations à la CSFO, ou confirmer que votre vérificateur n'émettra pas une lettre concernant le paragraphe b).
  2. fournir à la CSFO un exemplaire de la lettre de recommandations de votre vérificateur ou informer la CSFO que votre vérificateur n'émettra pas une lettre concernant le paragraphe b).

Pour le paragraphe c) :


Le présent rapport remplace les exigences de remplir et de déposer le Formulaire B qui existait en vertu de la Loi sur les courtiers en hypothèques qui a été abrogée.

 

Le rapport du vérificateur doit attester votre respect des exigences et des normes en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques (la « Loi »), pour les administrateurs d'hypothèques qui gèrent des dossiers pour des comptes en fiducie ainsi que des éléments d'actif et de passif sous administration et en font la tenue. Veuillez discuter de la portée de cet examen avec votre vérificateur. Ce dernier exigera une mission spéciale à cette fin.

 

Le format du rapport du vérificateur sur votre compte en fiducie et sur vos éléments d'actif et de passif sous administration a été développé en collaboration avec l’Institut des comptables agréés de l'Ontario (ICAO). Un exemple de rapport en vertu du paragraphe c) est présenté ci-après.


À l'attention de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario,


J'ai vérifié la conformité de [nom de l'administrateur d'hypothèques] aux normes contenues dans la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques (la « Loi ») qui s'appliquent aux administrateurs d'hypothèques disposant de fonds en fiducie. Ces normes sont également contenues dans le Règlement de l'Ontario 189/08 (Administrateurs d'hypothèques : normes de pratiques) et dans le Règlement de l’Ontario 193/08 (Exigences en matière de déclaration applicables aux titulaires de permis). La conformité aux normes établies dans la Loi incombe à la direction de [nom de l'administrateur d'hypothèques]. Ma responsabilité consiste à exprimer une opinion sur cette conformité sur la base de ma vérification.

 

Ma vérification a été effectuée conformément aux normes de vérifications généralement reconnues du Canada. Ces normes exigent que la vérification soit planifiée et exécutée de manière à fournir l'assurance raisonnable que [nom de l'administrateur d'hypothèques] respecte les dispositions de la Loi et les normes mentionnées ci-dessus. Cette vérification comprend le contrôle par sondages des éléments probants à l'appui de la conformité, l'évaluation du respect des exigences de la Loi et, le cas échéant, l'évaluation des principes comptables suivis et des estimations importantes faites par la direction.


À mon avis, au [fin de l'exercice], [nom de l'administrateur d'hypothèques] respecte, à tous les égards importants, les exigences et les normes de la Loi à l'égard des administrateurs d'hypothèques qui gèrent des dossiers pour des comptes en fiducie et des fonds en fiducie et en font la tenue.

 

(signé).............................................

[Nom de l'expert-comptable]
Expert-comptable agréé

 

Ressources

 

 

Vous avez la responsabilité de vous conformer au Règlement de l'Ontario 193/08. Vous devriez vous familiariser avec ce Règlement et utiliser toutes les ressources à votre disposition. Des ressources comme la Liste de contrôle de la conformité pour la gestion des maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, la tenue des documents et les comptes en fiducie (disponible sur www.fsco.gov.on.ca/fr/mortgage/compliancechecklists/pages/default.aspx) vous permettra de vous assurer d’être en conformité en tout temps.

hotline-fr.jpg