E&O Insurance FAQ - Mortgage Brokering Industry

top 
  1. Does a mortgage brokerage require errors and omissions insurance?
  2.  
  3. Where does it say that a mortgage brokerage must have errors and omissions insurance?
  4.  
  5. Do mortgage agents and brokers require separate errors and omissions insurance from their mortgage brokerage?
  6.  
  7. My mortgage brokerage also holds a mortgage administrator licence. Do I need two errors and omissions insurance policies?
  8.  
  9. I already have errors and omissions insurance under another licence/registration that I hold. Will this insurance cover me for mortgage brokering?
  10.  
  11. Why does FSCO impose administrative monetary penalties?
  12.  
  13. My mortgage brokerage is currently not conducting mortgage business. Why is errors and omissions insurance necessary?
  14.  
  15. Does FSCO post information on its enforcement activities online?

 
 
one 

1. Does a mortgage brokerage require errors and omissions insurance?

 
Yes. Each mortgage brokerage requires errors and omissions (E&O) insurance with extended coverage for fraudulent acts. By law, the E&O insurance must provide a minimum of $500,000 coverage in respect of any one occurrence and $1 million in respect of all occurrences in a given year, involving the brokerage and any mortgage broker or agent authorized to deal or trade in mortgages on its behalf. If the brokerage is also applying for an administrator licence, the administrator must also have E&O insurance in the amounts noted above to separately cover losses involving administrator activities.
 
two 

2. Where does it say that a mortgage brokerage must have errors and omissions insurance?

 
Subsection 7(4) of the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 [New Window] (MBLAA), together with section 42 of Ontario Regulation 188/08 - Mortgage Brokerages: Standards of Practice [New Window], establish the requirement for licensed mortgage brokerages to have errors and omissions insurance with extended coverage for fraudulent acts.
 
three 

3. Do mortgage agents and brokers require separate errors and omissions insurance from their mortgage brokerage?

 
No. Mortgage agents and brokers do not require separate E&O insurance from their mortgage brokerage, as they are covered under the mortgage brokerage's errors and omissions insurance policy.
 
four

4. My mortgage brokerage also holds a mortgage administrator licence. Do I need two errors and omissions insurance policies?

 
Businesses that are dually licensed as both a mortgage brokerage and administrator have the flexibility of choosing either one of the following options in arranging their E&O insurance coverage:
 
a) Obtain separate E&O insurance policies for their mortgage brokerage and administrator activities. Each policy must provide coverage of at least $500,000 in respect of any one occurrence and $1 million in respect of all occurrences in a given year.
 
OR
 
b) Obtain one E&O insurance policy that covers business activities of both the mortgage brokerage and administrator. This policy must provide coverage of at least $1 million in respect of any one occurrence and $2 million in respect of all occurrences in a given year. The combined policy may, but is not required, to allocate these limits between the mortgage brokerage and administrator. If there is no separation of limits between the two types of business, the total amount of coverage may be available to pay claims as needed, regardless of whether they arise from the brokerage's or administrator's activities.
 
five 

5. I already have errors and omissions insurance under another licence/registration that I hold. Will this insurance cover me for mortgage brokering?

 
No. Your errors and omissions insurance policy must be with an approved insurer that covers mortgage brokering activities. See FSCO's list of insurance providers.
 
six 

6. Why does FSCO impose administrative monetary penalties?

 
An administrative monetary penalty may be imposed under section 39 of the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 [New Window] (MBLAA), and in accordance with Ontario Regulation 192/08, in order to:
 
  • promote compliance with the requirements under the MBLAA; and
  • prevent a person or entity from deriving - either directly or indirectly - any economic benefit as a result of contravening or failing to comply with a requirement established under the MBLAA. 

Return to Top

seven 

7. My mortgage brokerage is currently not conducting mortgage business. Why is errors and omissions insurance necessary?

 
This requirement applies to all licensed mortgage brokerages and is not dependent on whether or not your mortgage brokerage is conducting mortgage business. Having errors and omissions insurance is a condition of having a mortgage brokerage licence, effect on July 1, 2008.
 
Subsection 7(4) of the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 [New Window] (MBLAA), together with section 42 of Ontario Regulation 188/08 - Mortgage Brokerages: Standards of Practice [New Window], requires licensed mortgage brokerages to have errors and omissions insurance with extended coverage for fraudulent acts, as a condition of holding a licence.
 
eight 

8. Does FSCO post information on its enforcement activities online?

 
Yes. Enforcement Online provides information on FSCO's prosecution activities, the decisions arising out of the hearings conducted by the Financial Services Tribunal, and other regulatory activities that help ensure consumer confidence in the financial services sectors that FSCO regulates.
 
If a mortgage brokerage has its licence suspended, FSCO will also update the information on Licensing Link – FSCO's online registry of licensed mortgage brokerages. Licensing Link should always be checked for current information.
 

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Foire aux questions concernant la vérification de l'assurance RCP pour le secteur du courtage d'hypothèques

top 
  1. Une maison de courtage d'hypothèques doit-elle souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle?
  2.  
  3. Où est-il indiqué qu’une maison de courtage d’hypothèques doit souscrire une assurance RCP?
  4.  
  5. Les agents et courtiers en hypothèques doivent-ils souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle distincte de celle de leur maison de courtage?
  6.  
  7. Ma maison de courtage détient aussi un permis d'administrateur d'hypothèques. Dois-je souscrire deux polices d'assurance RCP?
  8.  
  9. Je possède déjà une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle dans le cadre d'un autre permis dont je suis titulaire. Cette assurance couvre-t-elle mes activités de courtage d'hypothèques?
  10.  
  11. Pourquoi la CSFO impose-t-elle des pénalités administratives?
  12.  
  13. Ma maison de courtage d'hypothèques n'effectue aucune opération hypothécaire à l'heure actuelle. Pourquoi est-il nécessaire qu'elle souscrive l'assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle?
  14.  
  15. La CSFO affiche-t-elle en ligne des renseignements sur ses activités d'exécution?

 
 
 
one 

1. Une maison de courtage d'hypothèques doit-elle souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle?

 
Oui. Chaque maison de courtage est tenue de souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle (assurance RCP), avec garanties annexes en cas de sinistre causé par des actes frauduleux. En vertu de la loi, cette assurance doit être suffisante pour prévoir une garantie d'au moins 500 000$ par événement mettant en cause la maison de courtage ou un courtier ou agent autorisé à faire le courtage d’hypothèques ou à effectuer des opérations hypothécaires pour son compte et d'au moins 1 million de dollars à l'égard de tous les événements qui se produisent pendant une période d'une année. Si la maison de courtage demande aussi un permis d'administrateur, l'administrateur doit souscrire également l'assurance RCP pour les montants indiqués ci-dessus afin de couvrir séparément les pertes relatives à ses activités d'administrateur.
 
 
two 

2. Où est-il indiqué qu’une maison de courtage d’hypothèques doit souscrire une assurance RCP?

 
Le paragraphe 7 (4) de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques [New Window] (Loi de 2006) et l'article 42 du Règlement de l'Ontario 188/08 - Maisons de courtage : Normes d'exercice [New Window] établissent l'exigence de souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle, qui comprend des garanties annexes en cas de sinistre causé par des actes frauduleux, pour les montants indiqués ci-dessus.
 
 
three 

3. Les agents et courtiers en hypothèques doivent-ils souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle distincte de celle de leur maison de courtage?

 
Non. Les agents et courtiers en hypothèques ne sont pas tenus de souscrire une assurance RCP distincte de celle de leur maison de courtage, car ils sont couverts par celle de leur maison de courtage.
 
 
four 

4. Ma maison de courtage détient aussi un permis d'administrateur d'hypothèques. Dois-je souscrire deux polices d'assurance RCP?

 
Les entreprises qui sont titulaires de deux permis, un pour maison de courtage d'hypothèques et l'autre pour administrateur d'hypothèques, ont la possibilité de choisir entre les deux options suivantes en ce qui concerne l'assurance RCP :
 
a) Souscrire des polices d'assurance RCP distinctes pour leurs activités de maison de courtage et d'administration d'hypothèques. Chaque police doit prévoir une garantie d’au moins 500 000$ par événement et d’au moins 1 million de dollars à l’égard de tous les événements de ce genre qui se produisent pendant une période d'une année.
 
OU
 
b) Souscrire une police d'assurance RCP qui couvre les activités de maison de courtage et les activités d'administration d'hypothèques. Cette police doit prévoir une garantie d’au moins 1 million de dollars par événement et d'au moins 2 millions de dollars à l’égard de tous les événements de ce genre qui se produisent pendant une période d'une année. La garantie combinée peut, mais sans y être tenue, répartir ces limites entre la maison de courtage et l'administrateur. S'il n'y a pas de séparation de limites prévue entre les deux genres d'activités, le montant total de la garantie peut être utilisé pour payer des sinistres selon les besoins, qu'ils proviennent des activités de la maison de courtage ou de l'administrateur.
 
 
five 

5. Je possède déjà une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle dans le cadre d'un autre permis dont je suis titulaire. Cette assurance couvre-t-elle mes activités de courtage d'hypothèques?

 
Non. Votre assurance RCP doit être souscrite auprès de l'un des assureurs approuvés qui assurent les activités de courtage d'hypothèques. Voir la liste des fournisseurs d'assurance de la CSFO.
 
 
six 

6. Pourquoi la CSFO impose-t-elle des pénalités administratives?

 
Une pénalité administrative peut être imposée en vertu de l'article 39 de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques [New Window] (Loi de 2006) et du Règlement de l'Ontario 192/08, à l’une ou l’autre des fins suivantes:
 
  • Encourager la conformité aux exigences établies en application de la Loi de 2006;

  • Empêcher qu’une personne ou une entité tire, directement ou indirectement, des avantages économiques de la contravention à une exigence établie en application de la Loi de 2006.

Haut de la page

 
seven 

7. Ma maison de courtage d'hypothèques n'effectue aucune opération hypothécaire à l'heure actuelle. Pourquoi est-il nécessaire qu'elle souscrive l'assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle?

 
Cette condition d’obtention du permis est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2008. Elle s'applique à toutes les maisons de courtage titulaires d'un permis et sans égard au fait que la maison de courtage effectue ou non des opérations hypothécaires. La souscription de l'assurance RCP est une condition au maintien du permis de maison de courtage.
 
Le paragraphe 7(4) de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques [New Window] (Loi de 2006) et l'article 42 du Règlement de l'Ontario 188/08 - Maisons de courtage : Normes d'exercice [New Window] établissent l'exigence de souscrire une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle, qui comprend des garanties annexes en cas de sinistre causé par des actes frauduleux, comme condition d’obtention du permis.
 
 
eight 

8. La CSFO affiche-t-elle en ligne des renseignements sur ses activités d'exécution?

 
Oui. La CSFO affiche des renseignements sur ses activités d'exécution sur la page Application en ligne. Cette page contient de l'information sur les poursuites menées par la CSFO, les décisions sur des audiences tenues par le Tribunal des services financiers et d'autres activités de réglementation qui visent à maintenir la confiance des consommateurs à l'égard des secteurs des services financiers que réglemente la CSFO.
 
Si le permis d'une maison de courtage est suspendu, la CSFO l'indiquera également sur le site Liaison permis, le registre en ligne des maisons de courtage titulaires d'un permis, tenu par la CSFO. Il est recommandé de consulter régulièrement le site Liaison permis pour obtenir des renseignements à jour.
 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.