Quarterly Update on Estimated Solvency Funded Status of Defined Benefit Plans in Ontario

​​The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) publishes an annual Report that provides funding, investment and actuarial information on defined benefit (DB) pension plans registered in Ontario.

As the solvency position of pension plans continues to be of significant interest, FSCO is publishing quarterly updates on the solvency funded status of DB plans in Ontario, to provide stakeholders with more frequent information on the health of pension plans in Ontario.

As the regulator of pension plans in Ontario, FSCO has a database of information on approximately 1300 DB pension plans, including hybrid plans that have a DB provision. The September 30, 2018 update uses information from the latest filed valuation reports as well as Investment Information Summary (IIS) information projected to September 30, 2018. We have excluded jointly sponsored pension plans, designated plans, frozen plans and plans that have been wound up or are in process of winding up​.

The information is presented on an aggregate basis. While there is no disclosure of plan-specific information, the updates give stakeholders a framework to see how their plan performed compared to other plans and relevant benchmarks​.
 

Previous Updates

 

 

 TabbedContentWebPart

   2018 Third Quarter  


​Update as at September 30, 2018

 

  • The median solvency ratio is 101% (compared to 97% as at June 30, 2018)
  • September 30, 2018 marks the first time Ontario’s median solvency ratio has exceeded 100% since FSCO began monitoring solvency ratios in December 2009
  • 39.5% of plans had a solvency ratio between 85% and 100%
  • 52.3% of plans had a solvency ratio greater than 100%

Ontario DB pension plan solvency positions continued to improve in the third quarter of 2018 mainly due to reduced solvency liabilities resulting from increased long-term Canadian bond yields against which solvency liabilities are highly negatively correlated.

 

Partly related to domestic NAFTA/USMCA negotiation uncertainties as well as increasing interest rates, the S&P/TSX pulled back in the third quarter and recorded a 0.6% loss from its previous 6.8% gain in the second quarter.  Globally, strong U.S. S&P 500 returns offset negative EAFE markets and powered MSCI World equity returns.  In aggregate, MSCI World equities returned 3.2% in the third quarter despite the dampening effects of Canada’s appreciating dollar relative to the euro, British pound and U.S. dollar.

 

Domestic interest rates across all durations were up in the third quarter.  The FTSE TMX Universe was down 1.0% in the third quarter while 91-day T-Bills returned 0.5%. TMX Long Term bonds fell by 2.4% in the third quarter in response to Government of Canada marketable bond yields over 10-years rising to 2.43% from 2.20% at June 30.

 

The resulting third quarter median gross plan asset-weighted index return was 0.1% and the median net after-expense return was -0.2%.  However, the decrease in solvency liabilities as a result of the 20+ basis points (“bps”) increase in long-term Canadian bond yields was much more than enough to offset slight third-quarter solvency investment losses.

 

Other Funding Matters – Flattening Canadian Yield Curves

 

In Q3 2018, most pension plan solvency positions were very positively impacted by the parallel 20+ bps shift in the yield curve.  Given the importance of yield curves, it is interesting to look at Canada’s changing yield curve throughout 2018 and in particular the 3rd quarter.

 

In 2018, Canada’s yield curve became flatter and has moved to the cusp of inversion.   The gap between 2-year and 30-year zero-coupon bonds was 64 bps (2.35% - 1.71%) at January 2, 2018 but had shrunk to 28 bps (2.20% - 1.92%) at June 29, 2018.  By mid-September 2018, the spread closed to 26 bps (2.42% - 2.16%) and the 10-year vs. 30-year spread had inverted (30-year yield at 2.417% vs 10-year yield at 2.425%).  Because of strong gross domestic product growth, the Bank of Canada (“BOC”) has been increasing bank rates and expectations for further rate increases helped strengthen the Canadian dollar in Q2 & Q3. 

 

 Flattening Canadian Zero-Coupon Bond Yield Curve - January 2, June 26 & September 19, 2018

 

View accessible description of Flattening Canadian Zero-Coupon Bond Yield Curve 

 

While Inverted yields along the full-length of the curve typically signal recessions1, the BOC believes overwhelming demand for long-dated bonds is distorting the yield curve’s recession signaling mechanism.  Some money managers agree and believe that recent financial market adjustments make it difficult to draw traditional conclusions from 2018’s yield curve flattening.  Other managers disagree.  Whatever position plan sponsors and their advisors may espouse, it will be important for plan sponsors to monitor and carefully act upon future yield curve movements/inversions. 

 

1Inversions of the curve between 3 months and 10 years successfully predicted GDP contractions beginning in 1981, 1990 and 2008, but failed to warn of slowdowns in 1962, 1998 and 2015.

 

Assets, Liabilities and Median Solvency Ratio

 

 Assets, Liabilities and Median Solvency Ratio

 

View accessible description of Assets, Liabilities, and Median Solvency Ratio Line Chart

Distribution of Solvency Ratio 

Distribution of Solvency Ratio 

 

View accessible description of Distribution of Solvency Ratio Bar Chart

Methodology and Assumptions:  

 

  1. The results reported in each plan’s last filed actuarial valuation reports (assets and liabilities) were projected to September 30, 2018 based on these assumptions:
    • sponsors would use all available funding excess and prior year credit balance for contribution holidays, subject to any statutory restrictions;
    • sponsors would make normal cost contributions and special payments, if required, at the statutory minimum level;
    • cash outflows equal to pension amounts payable to retired members as reported in the last filed valuation report were assumed. Plan administration costs were not directly reflected in cash outflows, but indirectly through net after expense investment earnings.

     

  2. Each plan’s annual net rates of return for years prior to 2018 were calculated based on individual plan filed IIS information. Rate of return statistics for 2017 and 2016 are summarized as follows:
  3.  

    5th
    Percentile

    1st
    Quartile

    2nd
    Quartile

    3rd
    Quartile

    95th
    Percentile

    2017 Gross Return:

    12.6%

    10.0%

    8.9%

    7.6%

    5.0%

    2017 Net After Inv. Expense:

    12.2%

    9.6%

    8.4%

    7.2%

    4.7%

    2017 Net After All Expense:

    11.6%

    9.2%

    7.9%

    6.6%

    3.8%

    2016 Gross Return:

    11.6%

    8.1%

    6.4%

    4.7%

    2.2%

    2016 Net After Inv. Expense:

    11.1%

    7.6%

    5.9%

    4.3%

    1.9%

    2016 Net After All Expense:

    10.6%

    7.2%

    5.4%

    3.7%

    1.0%

     

 

  1. Each plan’s unique quarterly 2018 returns were estimated based on each plan’s 2017 filed IIS asset allocation in combination with 2018 market index returns, offset by a 25 basis point quarterly expense charge. Estimated plan gross and net after expense return statistics are as follows:
  2.  

    5th
    Percentile

    1st
    Quartile

    2nd
    Quartile

    3rd
    Quartile

    95th
    Percentile

    2018 Q3 Gross Return:

    0.7%

    0.2%

    0.1%

    -0.3%

    -1.3%

    2018 Q3 Net After All Expense:

    0.5%

    -0.1%

    -0.2%

    -0.6%

    -1.5%

    2018 Q2 Gross Return:

    4.0%

    3.5%

    3.2%

    2.7%

    1.1%

    2018 Q2 Net After All Expense:

    3.8%

    3.2%

    2.9%

    2.3%

    0.8%

    2018 Q1 Gross Return:

    0.1%

    -0.4%

    -0.7%

    -0.9%

    -1.2%

    2018 Q1 Net After All Expense:

    -0.2%

    -0.6%

    -0.9%

    -1.1%

    -1.5%

     

     

    The following table summarizes 2017 average IIS plan asset allocations by major asset class:

          Cash

    Canadian Equities

    Foreign Equities

    Fixed Income1

    Real Estate

    Other

    2.9%

    23.7%

    23.0%

    44.8%

    3.0%

    2.6%

    1 50% FTSE TMX Universe Bonds and 50% FTSE TMX Long Term Bonds.   

     

     

    Market index returns on the major assets classes have been as follows:

     

    S&P / TSX Total Return Index

    MSCI World Total Net Return Index

    FTSE TMX Universe Bond Index

    FTSE TMX Long Bond Index

    Q3 2018

    -0.6%

    3.2%

    -1.0%

    -2.4%

    ​Q2 2018​6.8%3.8%​0.5%​0.9%​

    Q1 2018

    -4.5%

    1.6%

    0.1%

    -0.0%

     

 

  1. Estimated solvency liabilities were calculated based on the Canadian Institute of Actuaries Standards of Practice and the Canadian Institute of Actuaries Educational Notes, with these key assumptions:
  2. Valuation Date

    Commuted Value Basis

    Annuity Purchase Basis2

    September 30, 2018
    Interest:  3.30% for 10 years
                  3.40% thereafter
    Mortality: CPM2014 generational
    Interest: 3.33%
     
    Mortality: CPM2014 generational
    June 30, 2018

    Interest:  3.10% for 10 years,
                   3.20% thereafter
    Mortality: CPM2014 generational 

    Interest: 3.00%

     
    Mortality: CPM2014 generational 

     2 based on a medium duration illustrative block

Return to top

3rd Quarter Update - Estimated Solvency Funded Status of Defined Benefit Plans in Ontario
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage Important information about the Canada Post labour disruption

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Mise à jour trimestrielle sur le niveau estimé de capitalisation de la solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées en Ontario

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) publie un rapport annuel qui donne des renseignements à jour sur la capitalisation, les placements et les évaluations actuarielles des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (PD) enregistrés en Ontario.

Étant donné que la solvabilité des régimes de retraite continue de présenter un intérêt important, la CSFO publie des mises à jour trimestrielles sur le niveau de capitalisation de solvabilité des régimes à PD en Ontario afin de fournir aux intervenants des renseignements plus fréquents sur la santé des régimes de retraite en Ontario.

En tant qu’organisme de réglementation des régimes de retraite en Ontario, la CSFO possède une base de données sur quelque 1 300 régimes de retraite à PD, dont des régimes hybrides ayant un volet à PD. La mise à jour du 30 septembre 2018 repose sur l’information des derniers rapports actuariels déposés et sur les données du Sommaire des renseignements sur les placements (SRP) projetées au 30 septembre 2018. Nous avons exclu les régimes de retraite conjoints, les régimes désignés, les régimes gelés et les régimes qui ont été liquidés ou qui sont en cours de liquidation.

L’information est présentée sous forme de données agrégées. Même si les mises à jour ne divulguent aucune information sur un régime en particulier, elles donnent aux intervenants un cadre leur permettant de comparer le rendement de leur régime à celui d’autres régimes et à des repères pertinents.

 

Mises à jour précédentes

 

 

 TabbedContentWebPart

   Troisième trimestre 2018  


​Mise à jour au 30 septembre 2018

 

  • Le ratio de solvabilité médian est de 101 % (par rapport à 97 % au 30 juin 2018).
  • Le ratio de solvabilité médian de l’Ontario au 30 septembre 2018 est le premier à dépasser les 100 % depuis que la CSFO a commencé à surveiller les ratios de solvabilité en décembre 2009.
  • Pour 39,5 % des régimes, le ratio de solvabilité se situe entre 85 % et 100 %.
  • Pour 52,3 % des régimes, le ratio de solvabilité est supérieur à 100 %.

La solvabilité des régimes de retraite à PD de l’Ontario a continué de s’améliorer au troisième trimestre 2018 grâce principalement à une diminution des passifs de solvabilité découlant d’une hausse des rendements des obligations à long terme du gouvernement canadien, un facteur qui affiche une importante corrélation inverse avec le passif de solvabilité.

 

Du fait notamment des incertitudes liées aux négociations nationales concernant l’ALÉNA et l’AEUMC ainsi que de la hausse des taux d’intérêt, l’indice S&P/TSX a reculé au troisième trimestre et enregistré une perte de 0,6 % par rapport au gain précédent de 6,8 % au deuxième trimestre. Globalement, les rendements élevés de l’indice étatsunien S&P 500 ont compensé la baisse des marchés de l’EAEO et stimulé les rendements des actions selon l’indice MSCI Monde. Dans l’ensemble, le rendement des actions selon l’indice MSCI Monde a été de 3,2 % pour le troisième trimestre, malgré l’effet modérateur de la hausse du dollar canadien par rapport à l’euro, à la livre britannique et au dollar américain.

 

Les taux d’intérêt intérieurs de toutes durations ont augmenté au troisième trimestre. Pendant cette même période, l’indice universel FTSE TMX a baissé de 1,0 % tandis que l’indice des bons du Trésor à 91 jours a repris 0,5 %. L’indice obligataire à long terme TMX a diminué de 2,4 % au troisième trimestre en réaction à la hausse du rendement des obligations négociables du gouvernement du Canada à dix ans, qui est passé de 2,2 % à 2,43 % au 30 juin.

 

De ce fait, le troisième trimestre, le rendement médian brut des indices pondérés selon l’actif du régime a été de 0,1 % et le rendement médian net après tous les frais a été de -0,2 %. Toutefois, la réduction des passifs de solvabilité découlant de la hausse de 20+ points de base (pb) des obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada a très largement suffi à compenser les pertes des investissements de l’actif de solvabilité du troisième trimestre.

 

Autres enjeux de capitalisation – Aplatissement des courbes de rendement des obligations du Canada

 

Au 3e trimestre 2018, l’augmentation parallèle de la courbe de rendement de 20+ points de base a eu un effet très positif sur la solvabilité de la plupart des régimes de retraite. Compte tenu de l’importance des courbes de rendement, il est intéressant de se pencher sur l’évolution de la courbe de rendement des obligations du Canada tout au long de 2018, en particulier au troisième trimestre.

 

En 2018, la courbe de rendement des obligations du Canada s’est aplatie, et ce, quasiment jusqu’à l’inversion. L’écart entre les obligations coupon zéro à 2 ans et celles à 30 ans (de 2,35 % et 1,71 % respectivement) était de 64 pb au 2 janvier 2018, mais s’était réduit à 28 pb (2,20 % et 1,92 %) au 29 juin 2018. À la mi‑septembre 2018, cet écart était de 26 pb (2,42 % et 2,16 %) et l’écart entre les obligations à 10 ans et celles à 30 ans s’était inversé (rendement à 30 ans de 2,417 % et rendement à 10 ans de 2,425 %).Du fait de la forte croissance du produit intérieur brut, la Banque du Canada a relevé les taux d’intérêt, et l’anticipation de nouvelles hausses des taux a alimenté la hausse du dollar canadien aux 2e et 3e trimestres.

 

   Aplatissement des courbes de rendement des obligations du Canada 

 

Visualiser une description accessible du graphique linéaire sur l’aplatissement de la courbe de rendement des obligations coupon zéro du Canada

 

Même si une inversion des rendements sur toute la courbe laisse généralement présager une récession1, la Banque du Canada estime qu’une demande massive d’obligations à long terme fausse ce mécanisme de signalement d’une récession à partir de la courbe de rendement. Certains gestionnaires de portefeuille sont d’accord sur ce point et pensent qu’il est difficile de tirer les conclusions habituelles de l’aplatissement de la courbe des rendements de 2018 en raison des ajustements récents des marchés financiers. D’autres gestionnaires sont d’avis contraire. Quelle que soit la position adoptée par les promoteurs de régimes et leurs conseillers, les promoteurs de régimes devront surveiller les mouvements et les inversions de la courbe des rendements à venir et y réagir avec prudence.

 

1Les inversions de la courbe entre les obligations à 3 mois et celles à 10 ans ont permis de prédire avec succès les contractions du PIB apparues en 1981, 1990 et 2008, mais n’ont pas permis d’annoncer les ralentissements en 1962, 1998 et 2015.

Actif, passif et ratio de solvabilité médian

 Total de l'actif et du passif par rapport au ratio de solvabilité

 

Visualiser une description accessible du graphique linéaire sur l’actif et le passif par rapport au ratio de solvabilité médian

Répartition des ratios de solvabilité

 Répartition des ratios de solvabilité

 

Visualiser une description accessible du graphique à bar de la répartition des ratios de solvabilité

Méthodes et hypothèses :  

  1. Les résultats fournis dans les derniers rapports actuariels déposés (actif et passif) de chaque régime ont fait l’objet d’une projection jusqu’au 30 septembre 2018 à partir des hypothèses suivantes :
    • les promoteurs utiliseraient tout l’excédent de capitalisation disponible ainsi que le solde créditeur de l’exercice antérieur pour les congés de cotisations, sous réserve des restrictions réglementaires;
    • les promoteurs verseraient les cotisations d’exercice et les cotisations spéciales, au besoin, au niveau minimal réglementaire;
    • les sorties de fonds seraient égales aux rentes à verser aux participants retraités, tel qu’il est indiqué dans le dernier rapport actuariel déposé. Les coûts d’administration des régimes n’ont pas été pris directement en compte dans les sorties de fonds, mais l’ont été indirectement dans les revenus de placement nets (moins tous les frais).

     

  2. Les taux de rendement annuels nets de chaque régime pour les années antérieures à 2018 ont été calculés en fonction des données tirées du SRP de chaque régime. Voici un sommaire des statistiques sur les taux de rendement de 2016 et 2017 :
  3.  

    5e
    centile

    1er quartile

    2e quartile

    3e quartile

    95e
    centile

    2017 - Rendement brut :

    12,6 %

    10,0 %

    8,9 %

    7,6 %

    5,0 %

    2017 - Rendement net (moins les frais de placement)  :

    12,2 %

    9,6 %

    8,4 %

    7,2 %

    4,7 %

    2017 - Rendement net (moins tous les frais) :

    11,6 %

    9,2 %

    7,9 %

    6,6 %

    3,8 %

    2016 – Rendement brut :

    11,6 %

    8,1 %

    6,4 %

    4,7 %

    2,2 %

    2016 - Rendement net (moins les frais de placement) :

    11,1 %

    7,6 %

    5,9 %

    4,3 %

    1,9 %

    2016 - Rendement net (moins tous les frais) :

    10,6 %

    7,2 %

    5,4 %

    3,7 %

    1,0 %

     

 

  1. Les rendements annuels de chaque régime pour les trimestres de 2018 ont été estimés selon la répartition de l’actif en 2017 inscrite au SRP, combinée avec les rendements des indices du marché pour 2018, compensés par des frais trimestriels de 25 points de base. Les statistiques concernant les taux de rendement estimatifs bruts et nets (moins tous les frais) des régimes sont les suivantes :
  2.  

    5e
    centile

    1er quartile

    2e quartile

    3e quartile

    95e
    centile

    2018, T3 - Rendement brut :

    0,7 %

    0,2 %

    0,1 %

    -0,3 %

    -1,3 %

    2018, T3 - Rendement net (moins tous les frais) :

    0,5 %

    -0,1 %

    -0,2 %

    -0,6 %

    -1,5 %

    2018, T2 - Rendement brut :

    4,0 %

    3,5 %

    3,2 %

    2,5 %

    1,1 %

    2018, T2 - Rendement net (moins tous les frais) :

    3,8 %

    3,2 %

    2,9 %

    2,3 %

    0,8 %

    2018, T1 - Rendement brut :

    0,1 %

    -0,4 %

    -0,7 %

    -0,9 %

    -1,2 %

    2018, T1 - Rendement net (moins tous les frais) :

    -0,2 %

    -0,6 %

    -0,9 %

    -1,1 %

    -1,5 %

     

     

    Le tableau ci-dessous résume la répartition de l’actif inscrite au SRP en 2017 par principale catégorie d’actif :

          Espèces

    ​Actions canadiennes

    ​Actions étrangères

    Titres à revenu fixe1

    Immobiliers

    ​Autre

    2,9 %

    23,7 %

    ​23,0 %

    ​44,8 %

    3,0 %

    ​2,6 %

    150 % en obligations de l’indice obligataire universel FTSE TMX et 50 % en obligations à long terme FTSE TMX

     

     

     

    Les rendements des indices du marché pour les principales catégories d’actif sont les suivantes :

     

    Indice de rendement total S&P/TSX

    Indice de rendement total MSCI Monde (net)

    Indice obligataire universal FTSE TMX

    Indice obligataire FTSE TMX long terme

    T3 2018

    -0,6 %

    3,2 %

    -1,0 %

    -2,4 %

    ​T2 2018​6,8 %​3,8 %​0,5 %​0,9 %

    T1 2018

    -4,5 %

    1,6 %

    0,1 %

    -0,0 %

     

 

  1. Le passif de solvabilité a été estimé selon les Normes de pratique et les Notes éducatives de l’Institut canadien des actuaires, en s’appuyant principalement sur les hypothèses suivantes :
  2. ​Date d’évaluation

    ​Valeur de rachat

    Souscription de rente2

    30 septembre 2018
    Intérêt :  3,30 % pendant 10 ans
                  3,40 % par la suite
    Mortality : CPM2014 générationnelle
    Intérêt :  3,33 %
     
    Mortalité : CPM2014 générationnelle
    30 juin 2018

    ​Interest : 3,10 % pendant 10 ans,
                   3,20 % par la suite
    Mortalité : CPM2014 générationnelle 

    ​​Intérêt : 3,00 %

     
    Mortalité : CPM2014 générationnelle 

     2 En fonction d’un bloc de durée moyenne à des fins d’illustration.

Haut de la page

Mise à jour - 3e trimestre - Niveau estimé de capitalisation de la solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminés en Ontario
Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Renseignements importants concernant l'interruption de travail à Postes Canada

hotline-fr.jpg
Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.