​Asset Transfers Between Pension Plans

On  November 27, 2013, several Orders in Council were issued (OIC 1698/2013, OIC 1699/2013 and OIC 1700/2013) proclaiming certain portions of the Pension Benefits Act (PBA) that relate to assets transfers between pension plans on corporate restructuring, pension plan mergers and for certain prescribed pension plans to be in effect from January 1, 2014. 
 
On November 29, 2013, the government filed O. Reg. 306/13, O. Reg. 308/13 and O. Reg. 310/13 made under the PBA, which will also come into force on January 1, 2014.  These regulations set out the detailed requirements for asset transfers between pension plans that are authorized under the changes to the PBA. O. Reg. 310/13 details the majority of the  requirements that apply in transfers under section 80 and 81 of the PBA.
 
The amendments and regulations set out a new framework for the approval of asset transfers under the PBA.  This framework continues the current requirement for the consent of the Superintendent to asset transfers.  However, the legislation and regulations now mandate both procedures and standards that must be complied with before the Superintendent can consent to the transfer.  Transfer applications which do not comply with the new requirements cannot be approved.
 
The new legislation sets out specific criteria for the calculation of the amount to be transferred, funding, and notice requirements applicable to asset transfers between pension plans.  Asset transfer applications filed on and after January 1, 2014, must adhere to this new legislation.
 
Some of the key features of the new framework for asset transfers between pension plans are:
 

Effective Date

The new regulations establish an “effective date” for the purpose of asset transfers and require applications for consent to be filed within nine months of the effective date.  A newly proclaimed section 105 of the PBA will allow the Superintendent to extend the time for filing an application.
 

Notices to Members

The regulations require that no later than six months of the effective date of the asset transfer, notices must be given to members, former members, retired members and other persons entitled to benefits under the plan.  The content of the notices is set out in the regulations.
 

Equivalent commuted values

The commuted value of a transferring member’s pension benefits accrued under the original plan must be maintained in the successor plan, although the member’s pension benefits may be different under the successor plan.  In addition, transfers are not permitted if the successor plan would allow accrued pension benefits to be reduced in circumstances that were not allowed in the original plan.
 

Surplus

The prescribed formula for calculating the amount of assets to be transferred requires that a proportionate amount of surplus, if any, be transferred from the original plan to the successor plan.
 

Pension benefits for former and retired members

Pension benefits of former members, retired members and other beneficiaries, who are transferred from the original plan to the successor plan cannot be reduced and must be replicated under the successor plan.
 

Consolidation of benefits

Section 80.1 and O. Reg. 308/13 provide a framework for combining the pension benefits of members of certain prescribed public sector pension plans where the members subsequently become members of another pension plan as a result of a transfer of employment before January 1, 2014. 
 
[Information] Want to view a link in a new window?
Right-click the link and select "open in new window"
 

Pension-Enforcement-Actions-CTA.jpg 
Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Transferts d'éléments d'actif entre des régimes de retraite

Le 27 novembre 2013, plusieurs décrets en conseil ont été émis (1698/2013, 1699/2013 et 1700/2013) pour annoncer que certaines parties de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite (la « LRR »), qui traitent du transfert d'éléments d’actif entre des régimes de retraite dans le cadre d’une restructuration d’entreprise, des fusions de régimes de retraite et de certains régimes de retraite prescrits, entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2014.
 
Le 29 novembre 2013, le gouvernement a déposé les Règlements de l’Ontario 306/13, 308/13 et 310/13, en vertu de la LRR, qui seront aussi en vigueur dès le 1er janvier 2014. Ces règlements fournissent des exigences détaillées sur les transferts d'éléments d'actif entre des régimes de retraite qui sont autorisés en vertu de la LRR modifiée. Le Règlement de l’Ontario 310/13 comprend la majorité des exigences qui régissent les transferts en vertu des articles 80 et 81 de la LRR.
 
Les modifications et les règlements établissent un nouveau cadre pour l’approbation des transferts des éléments d'actif en vertu de la LRR. Ce cadre conserve l'exigence actuelle qui demande que le surintendant des services financiers approuve les transferts d’éléments d'actif. toutefois, la législation et les règlements exigent  désormais que les méthodes et normes soient respectées afin que le surintendant puisse autoriser le transfert. Les demandes de transfert non conformes aux nouvelles exigences ne seront pas approuvées.
 
La nouvelle législation stipule des critères particuliers pour le calcul de la somme à transférer, le financement et les avis qui sont associés aux transferts d’éléments d'actif entre des régimes de retraite. Toutes les demandes de transfert d’éléments d'actif présentées à compter du 1er janvier 2014 doivent être conformes à cette nouvelle législation.
 
Voici certains des éléments clés du nouveau cadre qui régit le transfert d'éléments d'actif entre des régimes de retraite : 

Date de prise d'effet

Les nouveaux règlements établissent une date de prise d’effet pour les transferts d’éléments d'actif et exigent que les demandes d’approbation soient présentées dans les neuf (9) mois suivant cette date de prise d’effet. Le nouvel article 105 de la LRR permettra au surintendant de proroger les délais de présentation d’une demande. 

Avis aux participants

Selon les règlements, des avis doivent être transmis aux participants, aux anciens participants, aux participants retraités, ainsi qu'aux autres personnes admissibles à des avantages en vertu du régime de retraite, dans les six (6) mois suivant la date de prise d'effet du transfert des éléments d’actif. Le contenu des avis est fourni dans les règlements. 

Valeur actualisée correspondante

La valeur actualisée des prestations contenues au premier régime d’un participant doit être maintenue dans le régime subséquent, mais il est possible que les prestations de retraite du participant en cause soient différentes en vertu du régime subséquent. De plus, les transferts sont interdits si le régime subséquent permet la réduction des prestations constituées dans des circonstances qui ne sont pas prévues dans le premier régime. 

Surplus

La formule prescrite pour calculer le montant des éléments d'actif à transférer, required une valeur proportionnelle de surplus, le cas échéant, sont transférée du premier régime au régime subséquent. 

Prestations de retraite pour les anciens participants et les participants retraités

Les prestations de retraite des anciens participants, des participants retraités et autres bénéficiaires qui passent du premier régime au régime subséquent ne peuvent pas être réduites et doivent être conservées en vertu du régime subséquent. 

Consolidation des prestations

L’article 80.1 et le Règlement de l’Ontario 308/13 traitent de la consolidation des prestations de retraite de participants de certains régimes de retraite gouvernementaux prescrits lorsque ces personnes deviennent des participants d’un autre régime de retraite par suite d’un changement d’emploi survenu avant le 1er janvier 2014. 
 
 
[Information] Souhaitez afficher un lien dans une nouvelle fenêtre?
Faites un clic droit et sélectionnez « ouvrir dans une nouvelle fenêtre »
 

Pour plus de renseignements :


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.