Consultation on Proposed FSCO Risk-based Pension Investment Monitoring Model

Dear pension stakeholder:

On behalf of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO), I am pleased to announce the release of a consultation paper entitled "A Proposed Risk-Based Investment Monitoring Model For Supervising Defined Benefit Pension Plans" for review and comment by pension stakeholders.

To improve the regulatory process and make the most effective use of its resources, FSCO is committed to adopting a risk-based approach for the supervision of pension plans. The goal is to reduce the risk that members of a pension plan will not receive the benefits promised. As an initial step, FSCO developed and implemented a risk-based monitoring program in 2000 that focussed on the funding of defined benefit pension plans.

The equity market downturn since mid-2000 and the decline in long term interest rates have raised concerns about the financial health of employment-based pension plans and the security of retirement savings in general. Besides pension plan contributions, pension fund investment returns can have a significant impact on the funded status of pension plans. Accordingly, FSCO believes it should extend its risk-based approach and complement its existing monitoring of pension plan funding with the monitoring of pension fund investment activity.

In November 2002, FSCO established a project team to develop a risk-based pension investment monitoring program. The primary objective of this program would be to promote strong governance with respect to pension fund investments so as to enhance the benefit security for pension plan members. Based on its research and study, the team has proposed an investment monitoring model that emulates the 3-stage selective review process that has already been implemented by FSCO for monitoring the funding of defined benefit pension plans.

The consultation paper presents the key features of the proposed investment monitoring model. FSCO expects to implement a pension fund investment monitoring program for filings made in respect of 2004 plan year ends.

FSCO welcomes the comments, suggestions and ideas of pension stakeholders regarding the investment monitoring model proposed in the consultation paper. In order to help refine the proposed Investment Information Summary (IIS) form and preliminary risk assessment criteria found, respectively, in Appendixes B and C of the paper, FSCO also invites pension plans to fill out and submit sample IIS forms to FSCO (which can be done on an anonymous basis if the plan so desires).

The paper can also be found on FSCO's website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca. Written submissions and completed sample IIS forms should be forwarded by August 30, 2004 to:

Mr. Mathew Ou
Senior Policy Consultant, Pension Division
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, Suite 1600
Toronto ON M2N 6L9

Phone: 416-226-7772
Fax: 416-226-7787
Email: Mathew.Ou@fsco.gov.on.ca

Please note that all submissions received are subject to the access and privacy provisions of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. If for any reason you feel that your comments should not be shared with other parties, please indicate this in your submission.

We look forward to receiving your submissions. If, in the meantime, you wish to obtain more information about this project, please contact Mr. Ou at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Consultation du modèle de surveillance des placements proposés par la CSFO, qui est axé sur le risque

Cher intervenant de régimes de retraite :

 
Au nom de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO), j’ai le plaisir d’annoncer la sortie d’un document de consultation intitulé « Proposition d’un modèle de surveillance des placements axé sur le risque pour la supervision des régimes de retraite à prestation déterminée [PDF Document] Size: ## kb» pour être examiné et commenté par les intervenants de régimes de retraite.
 
En vue d’améliorer ses services de réglementation et d’utiliser ses ressources le plus efficacement possible, la CSFO est résolue à adopter une approche axée sur le risque dans ses activités de supervision des régimes de retraite. L’objectif est de réduire le risque que les participants à un régime ne puissent recevoir les prestations attendues. Déjà en 2000, la CSFO a développé et mis en œuvre un programme de surveillance axé sur le risque portant sur les activités de financement des régimes de retraite à prestation déterminée.
 
Le repli du marché des capitaux depuis mi de l’an 2000, accompagné d’une baisse des intérêts à long terme, a soulevé d’inquiétudes quant à la santé financière des régimes de retraite des employés, ainsi qu’à la sécurité des épargnes de retraite en général. Outre les cotisations aux régimes de retraite, le rendement des caisses de retraite peut, en effet, avoir un impact significatif sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite. Par conséquent, la CSFO croit qu’elle doit poursuivre son approche axée sur le risque et qu’elle doit, en plus de surveiller la capitalisation des régimes de retraite, surveiller également les activités de placement des caisses de retraite.
 
En novembre 2002, la CSFO a confié à une équipe de travail le soin de développer un programme de surveillance des placements des caisses de retraite. L’objectif premier est de promouvoir une gestion rigoureuse des placements en vue d’assurer la plus grande sécurité des bénéficiaires. Se basant sur sa recherche et son étude, l’équipe a proposé un modèle de surveillance des placements qui émule le processus de sélection en trois étapes déjà mis en place par la CSFO pour la surveillance du financement des régimes de retraite à prestation déterminée.
 
Le document de consultation présente les éléments clés du modèle de surveillance des placements proposé. La CSFO prévoit mettre en place un programme de surveillance des activités de placement des caisses de retraite pour les dépôts effectués en vue de la fin de l’exercice 2004 des régimes.
 
La CSFO accueil volontiers les commentaires, suggestions et les idées des intervenants de régimes de retraite en ce qui concerne le modèle de surveillance des placements, proposé dans le document de consultation. À fin d’aider à l’amélioration de la formule du Sommaire des renseignements sur les placements (proposé) (SRP) et les critères proposés en vue de déterminer les placements à risque des régimes de retraite qui se situent dans l’Annexe B et C respectivement de ce document, la CSFO vous invite à remplir et à soumettre l’exemplaire de la formule SRP à la CSFO (qui peut se faire à l’anonyme si le régime de retraite le désire).
 
Ce document est aussi disponible sur le site Web de la CSFO www.fsco.gov.on.ca. Les soumissions écrites et les exemplaires remplis de la formule SRP doivent être remis avant le 30 août 2004 à :
 
M. Mathew Ou
Conseiller supérieur de politique, Division des régimes de retraite
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, Boîte 85
North York ON M2N 6L9
 
Téléphone : 416-226-7772
Télécopieur : 416-226-7787
 
Veuillez prendre note que toutes les observations seront assujetties aux dispositions de la Loi sure l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Si, pour une raison ou une autre, vous croyez que vos commentaires ne devraient pas être divulgués à d’autres parties, veuillez l’indiquer dans vos observations.
 
Nous attendons avec impatience votre soumission. Si, entre-temps, vous voulez avoir plus de renseignements sur ce projet, n’hésitez pas d’appeler M. Ou au numéro mentionner ci-dessus.
 
Je vous prie d’agréer mes salutations distinguées.
 
K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint, régimes de retraite


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.