S.I. Guttman Limited - August 25, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8 (PBA);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal by the Superintendent of Financial Services to make an Order under section 78(1) of the PBA consenting to a payment out of the S.I. Guttman Limited Executive Pension Plan, Registration Number 901082.

TO:

Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited
Receiver of 647688 Ontario Limited
c/o Basman Smith LLP
111 Richmond Street West, Suite 1400
Toronto, ON M5H 2G4

Attention: Muni Basman

Applicant

CONSENT

On or about June 2, 2006, the Superintendent of Financial Services caused to be served on Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited, Receiver of 647688 Ontario Limited a Notice of Proposal dated June 2, 2006 to consent, pursuant to section 78(1) of the PBA, to the payment out of the S.I. Guttman Limited Executive Pension Plan, Registration Number 901082, to Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited, Receiver of 647688 Ontario Limited in the amount of $257,135.50 (representing 50% of the surplus in the Plan of $514,271.00 determined as at August 1, 1992, the wind up date of the Plan), plus 50% of the interest, earnings and experience gains (net of all investment and experience losses thereon) on the surplus from August 1, 1992 to the date of distribution of the said payment, less 50% of all costs and expenses of the Plan inclusive of all legal fees incurred by the Receiver relating to the implementation of the Surplus Settlement Agreement and the distribution of the surplus.

No Notice requiring a hearing was delivered to the Financial Services Tribunal by the Applicant or any other party within the time prescribed by section 89(6) of the PBA.

THE SUPERINTENDENT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES THEREFORE CONSENTS to the payment out of the S.I. Guttman Limited Executive Pension Plan, Registration Number 901082, to Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited, Receiver of 647688 Ontario Limited in the amount of $257,135.50 (representing 50% of the surplus in the Plan of $514,271.00 determined as at August 1, 1992, the wind up date of the Plan), plus 50% of the interest, earnings and experience gains (net of all investment and experience losses thereon) on the surplus from August 1, 1992 to the date of distribution of the said payment, less 50% of all costs and expenses of the Plan inclusive of all legal fees incurred by the Receiver relating to the implementation of the Surplus Settlement Agreement and the distribution of the surplus.

THIS CONSENT IS EFFECTIVE ONLY AFTER the Applicant satisfies me that
all benefits, benefit enhancements (including benefits and benefit enhancements pursuant to the Surplus Settlement Agreement described in paragraph #6 of the Notice of Proposal dated June 2, 2006) and any other payments to which the members, former members, and any other persons are entitled under the Plan have been paid, purchased or otherwise provided for.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 25th day of August, 2006

Tom Golfetto,
Director, Pension Plans Branch
by Delegated Authority from
the Superintendent of Financial Services

Copy to:

PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
Mississauga Executive Centre
One Robert Speck Parkway, Suite 1100
Mississauga, ON L4Z 3M3

Attention:

Ms. Sharon Carew
Director, Global Human Resources
Plan Administrator

Copy to:

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Box 25, Commerce Court West
199 Bay Street
Toronto ON M5L 1A9

Attention:

Mr. Paul Dimitriadis
Counsel to the Applicant


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

S.I. Guttman Limited - le 25 août 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi en vue de consentir à un paiement à même le régime de retraite pour les cadres de S.I. Guttman Limited, numéro d’enregistrement 901082.

À :

Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited
A/s de Basman Smith s.r.l.
111, rue Richmond Ouest, bureau 1400
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 2G4

À l’attention de : Muni Basman


CONSENTEMENT

Le 2 juin 2006 ou aux environs de cette date, le surintendant des services financiers a fait signifier à Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited, séquestre de 647688 Ontario Limited, un avis d’intention daté du 2 juin 2006 visant à consentir, en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi, au paiement à même le régime de retraite pour les cadres de S.I. Guttman Limited, numéro d’enregistrement 901082, au profit de Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited, séquestre de 647688 Ontario Limited, du montant de 257 135,50 $ (représentant 50 % de l’excédent du régime établi à 514 271 $ au 1er août 1992, soit à la date de liquidation du régime), majoré de 50 % des intérêts, des bénéfices et des gains actuariels (déduction faite de toutes les pertes de placement et pertes actuarielles en découlant) sur l’excédent à compter du 1er août 1992 jusqu’à la date de répartition dudit paiement, minoré de 50 % de toutes les dépenses et de tous les coûts liés au régime, y compris tous les frais juridiques engagés par le séquestre relativement à la mise en œuvre de l’entente de partage de l’excédent et à la répartition de l’excédent.

Aucun avis de demande d’audience n’a été signifié au Tribunal des services financiers par le demandeur ni toute autre partie dans les délais prescrits au paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi.

PAR CONSÉQUENT, LE SURINTENDANT DES SERVICES FINANCIERS CONSENT au paiement à même le régime de retraite pour les cadres de S.I. Guttman Limited, numéro d’enregistrement 901082, au profit de Stephen I. Guttman Holdings Limited, séquestre de 647688 Ontario Limited d’un montant de 257 135.50 $ (représentant 50 % de l’excédent du régime établi à 514 271 $ au 1er août 1992, soit à la date de liquidation du régime), majoré de 50 % des intérêts, des bénéfices et des gains actuariels (exempts de toutes les pertes de placement et pertes actuarielles en découlant) sur l’excédent à compter du 1er août 1992 jusqu’à la date de répartition dudit paiement, minoré de 50 % de toutes les dépenses et de tous les coûts liés au régime, y compris tous les frais juridiques engagés par le séquestre relativement à la mise en œuvre de l’entente de partage de l’excédent et à la répartition de l’excédent.

LE PRÉSENT CONSENTEMENT NE PRENDRA EFFET QUE LORSQUE le demandeur m’aura démontré que toutes les prestations et tous les enrichissements de prestations (y compris ceux visés par l’entente de partage de l’excédent décrits au paragraphe no 6 de l’avis d’intention daté du 2 juin 2006) et tout autre versement auquel ont droit les participants, les anciens participants et d’autres personnes en vertu du régime ont été acquittés, achetés ou autrement prévus.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 25 août 2006.

Tom Golfetto,
Directeur, Direction des régimes de retraite,
mandataire du surintendant des services financiers

C.C. :

PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
Mississauga Executive Centre
1 Robert Speck Parkway, bureau 1100
Mississauga (Ontario) L4Z 3M3

À l’attention de : Mme Sharon Carew
                            Directrice en ressources humaines, Fiscalité

C.C. :

Blake, Cassels & Graydon s.r.l.
C.P. 25, Commerce Court West
199, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario) M5L 1A9

À l’attention de : M. Paul Dimitriadis
                            Avocat du demandeur

hotline-fr.jpg