Kevin Kolenda and Hole-in-WON are not licensed to do insurance business in Ontario

​August 2, 2013

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is warning consumers that Kevin Kolenda and Hole-in-WON (Hole-in-WON.com) are not licensed to do insurance business in Ontario.

 
FSCO has been informed that Mr. Kolenda and Hole-in-WON are soliciting and providing prize or award insurance coverage for golf contests and events in Ontario. The fee or premium charged by Mr. Kolenda and the company would be paid by planners and organizers of golf tournaments and other events.
 
FSCO has also learned that Mr. Kolenda and Hole-in-WON have been the subject of fraud and felony charges for selling unlicensed insurance in the state of Washington. Previously, cease-and-desist orders from the states of Washington and North Carolina were issued against Mr. Kolenda and the company.
 
The Hole-in-WON website lists two phone numbers: 203-831-0600 and 203-831-0642, as well as an email address: “vp@hole-in-WON.com”. Consumers should exercise caution if they are contacted by anyone from these coordinates.
 
If consumers purchase insurance from agents or insurers that are not licensed in the province, they are not protected under the Insurance Act [New Window] and the regulations that govern Ontario’s licensed insurance companies and agents.
 
FSCO's website contains a list of all insurance companies and agents licensed to do business in Ontario.
 
An Ontario insurance agent or broker can provide information and advice on the risks involved with purchasing different insurance products.  
 
 

CONTACT

Media inquiries

Kristen Rose
Phone: 416-226-7803

Public inquiries

1-800-668-0128
 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Kevin Kolenda et Hole-in-WON ne sont pas autorisés à exercer des activités dans le domaine de l’assurance en Ontario

2 août 2013

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) avise les consommateurs que Kevin Kolenda et Hole-in-WON (Hole-in-WON.com) ne sont pas autorisés à exercer des activités dans le domaine de l’assurance en Ontario.
 
La CSFO a été informée que M. Kolenda et Hole-in-WON font de la sollicitation et offrent des prix ou des primes d’assurance dans le cadre de tournois de golf et d’autres activités en Ontario. Les frais ou les primes perçues par M. Kolenda et l’entreprise sont vraisemblablement assumés par les planificateurs ou les organisateurs de ces tournois de golf ou autres événements.
 
La CSFO a également appris que M. Kolenda et Hole-in-WON ont fait l’objet d’accusations pour fraude et acte délictueux grave pour avoir mené des activités d’assurances non autorisées dans l’état de Washington. Auparavant, une ordonnance de cessation et d'abstention avait été émise par les états de Washington et de la Caroline du Nord à l’endroit de M. Kolenda et de l’entreprise.
 
Deux numéros de téléphone sont affichés sur le site Web de Hole-in-WON, soit 203‑831‑0600 et 203‑831‑0642, ainsi qu’une adresse courriel, le « vp@hole-in-WON.com ». Les consommateurs doivent faire preuve de prudence s’ils reçoivent un message provenant de l’une de ces adresses ou un appel de ce numéro de téléphone.
 
Si un consommateur souscrit une assurance d’un agent ou d’un assureur qui n’est pas titulaire d’un permis dans la province, il n’est pas protégé par la Loi sur les assurances [New Window] ni par la réglementation qui régit les compagnies et les agents d’assurance autorisés en Ontario.
 
Vous trouverez sur le site Web de la CSFO une liste de toutes les compagnies et de tous les agents d’assurance qui sont autorisés à mener des activités en Ontario.
 
Un courtier d’assurance de l’Ontario peut vous fournir des renseignements et des conseils sur les risques que vous pourriez courir à l’achat de divers produits d’assurance.
 
 

PERSONNE-RESSOURCE

Demandes de la part des médias

Kristen Rose
Téléphone : 416-226-7803

Demandes de la part du public

1-800-668-0128
 
 

RENSEIGNEMENTS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Que faire si vous croyez être victime d’une arnaque ou d’une fraude