Automobile Insurance Quoting and Underwriting Practices

 

Bulletin

No. A-01/09
– Auto
Property & Casualty
[To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact automobile insurance in Ontario]

 

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) has received inquiries and complaints that suggest some consumers are experiencing difficulties in obtaining quotes for automobile insurance or delays in obtaining coverage because some insurers are requiring credit or lifestyle information before providing a quote, or are relying on credit or lifestyle information in determining how to process quote requests and insurance applications.

 

This Bulletin outlines what FSCO considers to be acceptable practices when providing automobile insurance coverage and automobile insurance quotes to consumers.  Insurers should take appropriate action to change procedures as necessary to conform to this Bulletin.

 

 

Regulation 664

 

Ontario Regulation 664 was amended in February 2005, to add certain financial information and other "lifestyle" factors to the existing list of underwriting and risk classification criteria that are expressly prohibited. This includes factors based on credit history and credit rating in addition to other factors such as residence history, occupation, profession or employment status, and level of income. None of these factors or surrogates for them are considered acceptable as underwriting or risk classification criteria.  Please refer to Bulletin No. A-02/05 – Risk Classification and Underwriting Criteria, Non-Payment Terminations, and Fee Filing Guideline, for additional information.

 

 

Market Conduct Regulation

 

Certain public policy goals underlie the current auto insurance regulatory regime.  These goals include ready availability of automobile insurance to consumers using transparent and fair criteria to assess risk and price. The desired marketplace outcomes include fair treatment of consumers and disclosure of information to enable consumers to make informed decisions.

 

FSCO also notes that the Insurance Bureau of Canada has developed "Standards of Sound Marketplace Practice" that include "Competitive Products Meeting Unique Needs of Consumers" and "Informed and Transparent Sales Transactions." Both of these standards are premised on the fundamental principles that consumers should be able to benefit from healthy competitive activity among insurers and that consumer disclosure is important to instil public confidence in the insurance industry. 

 

Quoting and underwriting practices that result in consumers encountering difficulties in obtaining quotes or delays in obtaining insurance are contrary to both the underlying public policy goals and standards as developed by the industry trade association.  

 

 

Privacy Legislation

 

An insurer’s collection and use of a consumer’s personal information, the manner in which an insurer seeks a consumer’s consent to access personal information, and the scope of the consent sought must conform to relevant privacy legislation, including the federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA).  Insurers should have regard to the following PIPEDA principles when requesting and collecting personal information:

 

Principle 4.3.3: "An organization shall not, as a condition of the supply of a product or service, require an individual to consent to the collection, use or disclosure of information beyond that required to fulfil the explicitly specified, and legitimate purposes."

 

Principle 4.4: "The collection of personal information shall be limited to that which is necessary for the purposes identified by the organization…Organizations shall not collect personal information indiscriminately. Both the amount and the type of information collected shall be limited to that which is necessary to fulfil the purposes identified."

 

 

Quoting Practices

 

It is our understanding that in some cases consumers have encountered difficulties in obtaining quotes, whether by telephone, website or otherwise, although they meet the insurer’s filed underwriting criteria.  Also, in some cases consumers are required to complete, sign and submit an OAF 1, Ontario Application for Automobile Insurance (Owner’s Form), in order to obtain a quote.

 

For the purposes of providing a quote, an insurance company should only request, collect and consider information that it requires in order to apply its filed and approved underwriting rules and risk classification elements to determine a consumer’s eligibility for insurance coverage and to rate the consumer. FSCO expects that a consumer will be provided a quote based on the information that the consumer provides to the broker, agent or insurance company at the time that the quote is requested.  FSCO does not believe that there is any reason to require, collect or use credit information for purposes of providing a quote, nor is a full application required or justified for the purposes of providing a quote. 

 

It is also expected that all aspects of the quoting process (including but not limited to promptness of response times) will be conducted in a manner that does not treat consumers differently based on factors, including criteria related to a consumer’s social, personal and/or economic status, that are prohibited for use in underwriting or rating.

 

 

Obtaining Insurance

 

Once a consumer moves past the quote stage and expresses a desire to purchase an insurance policy, an insurer may seek consent from an applicant to collect and use credit information in accordance with the terms of the consumer’s consent as set out in Part 11 of the OAF 1.  However, as expressly provided in the OAF 1, this information must be used only for purposes permitted by law; for example, to determine if an applicant has been cancelled in the past for non-payment of automobile insurance premiums, if the insurer has an approved underwriting rule or risk classification element that is based on prior cancellation for non-payment of automobile insurance premiums.

 

FSCO is considering revisions to the OAF 1 and expects to release a new version of this form later in the year. This version will include new consent language to further clarify the purposes for which personal information may be collected and used by insurance companies. 

 

Section 5 of the Compulsory Automobile Insurance Act requires that the OAF 1 must be provided to a consumer when requested. This requirement must be met as soon as practicable.  Similarly, on receiving the application, the insurer must process it and inform the consumer accordingly as soon as practicable. Both requirements must be met in a manner that does not treat consumers differently based on factors, including criteria related to a consumer’s social, personal and/or economic status, that are prohibited for use in underwriting or rating.  Failure to do so would be a contravention of the Compulsory Automobile Insurance Act.

 

 

Renewals

 

As with new business, insurers’ treatment of renewal business (including but not limited to determining if submission of a completed and signed OAF 1 is required) is not to be based on factors, including criteria related to a consumer’s social, personal and/or economic status, that are prohibited for use in underwriting or rating.

 

 

Summary

 

Practices that hinder, delay or frustrate consumers’ efforts to shop for or purchase auto insurance are not in the public interest and conflict with the intent of the Insurance Act and Ontario Regulation 664, particularly where they discourage a consumer from making or pursuing a request for a quote or for coverage from a particular insurer or affiliated group of insurers, or cause a consumer to abandon such a request. Such practices are tantamount to declination to issue a contract within the meaning of section 238 of the Insurance Act.

 

Insurance companies are not to use criteria prohibited for rating or underwriting purposes (e.g., criteria related to a consumer’s social, personal and/or economic status) to decline to provide quotes, to hinder or delay a consumer’s efforts to obtain insurance coverage or an insurance quote, or as a basis for differential treatment (whether by affiliated insurers or otherwise) of consumers in the quoting, application or renewal process. Such practices include, but are not limited to, screening, prioritizing or delaying quotes; segmenting risks within groups of affiliated insurers, whether by back-end systems, scoring models, filters or otherwise; and instructions or suggestions to agents or brokers concerning placement of risks.

 

Insurers should take appropriate action to implement any changes to their procedures that are necessary to conform to this Bulletin. Failure to do so will result in FSCO taking action as necessary. In addition to enforcement proceedings against individual insurers where appropriate, such action may include recommendations to the government concerning amendments to the Insurance Act and the regulations to further regulate insurer practices.

 

FSCO will follow up with insurance companies in 60 days to verify that they have in place standards and procedures or plans of action to ensure quoting and underwriting practices conform to this Bulletin. 

 

 

Contact

 

Should you have any inquiries regarding this Bulletin, please contact your rate analyst in the Automobile Insurance Services Branch at FSCO.

 

Bob Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

February 10, 2009

Financial Hardship Unlocking - Resources 
Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Pratiques en matière de soumissions et de tarification

 

Bulletin

N0 A-01/09
– Automobile
I.A.R.D.
[À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à vendre de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario]

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a reçu des demandes de renseignements et des plaintes laissant entendre que certains consommateurs ont de la difficulté à obtenir des soumissions d’assurance-automobile ou qu’ils reçoivent les prestations avec du retard, parce que certains assureurs exigent des renseignements sur le crédit ou le style de vie avant de présenter une soumission ou se fondent sur les renseignements relatifs au crédit ou au style de vie pour déterminer comment répondre aux demandes de soumission et aux demandes d’assurance.

 

Le présent bulletin indique ce que la CSFO considère comme des pratiques acceptables dans le domaine de la souscription d’assurance-automobile et de la présentation de soumissions d’assurance-automobile à des consommateurs. Les assureurs devraient prendre des mesures immédiates pour modifier leurs procédures, au besoin, en vue de les rendre conformes au contenu du présent bulletin.

 

 

Règlement 664
 

Le Règlement 664 de l’Ontario a été modifié en février 2005 pour y ajouter certains renseignements financiers et d’autres facteurs de « style de vie » à la liste existante des critères de tarification et de classification des risques qui sont explicitement interdits. Par exemple : antécédents en matière de crédit, cote de crédit, antécédents de résidence, antécédents professionnels, profession, statut d’emploi ou niveau de revenu. Aucun de ces facteurs ou autres critères qui les remplacent n’est considéré comme acceptable comme critère de tarification et de classification des risques. Veuillez consulter le Bulletin no A-02/05 – Critères de classification des risques et de tarification, résiliations pour non-paiement et lignes directrices pour le dépôt des taux, pour un complément d’information.

 

 

Réglementation des pratiques de l’industrie
 

Certains objectifs de politiques publiques sous-tendent le régime réglementaire de l’assurance-automobile actuel. Ces objectifs sont notamment la disponibilité de l’assurance-automobile pour les consommateurs par l’application de critères transparents et justes permettant l’évaluation des risques et des prix. Le but recherché est un traitement juste des consommateurs et la divulgation d’information les habilitant à prendre des décisions informées.

 

La CFSO rappelle aussi que le Bureau d’assurance du Canada a élaboré des normes de saines pratiques commerciales qui prônent des produits concurrentiels satisfaisant les besoins uniques des consommateurs et des opérations informées et transparentes. Ces deux normes reposent sur les principes fondamentaux selon lesquels les consommateurs devraient bénéficier d’une concurrence saine entre les compagnies d’assurance et la divulgation d’information aux consommateurs est importante pour renforcer la confiance du public à l’égard de l’industrie de l’assurance.

 

Des pratiques de soumission et de tarification qui empêchent les consommateurs d’obtenir des soumissions rapidement ou qui causent des retards dans le versement des prestations sont contraires aux objectifs sous-jacents des politiques publiques et aux normes élaborées par l’association professionnelle du secteur.

 

 

Législation en matière de protection de la vie privée
 

La collecte d’information par un assureur, son utilisation des renseignements personnels du consommateur, ainsi que la façon dont il demande le consentement du consommateur  pour accéder à des renseignements personnels et l’étendue du consentement demandé, doivent être conformes aux règles sur la protection de la vie privée en vigueur, y compris la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (Canada). Les assureurs devraient tenir compte des principes suivants énoncés dans cette loi lorsqu’ils demandent et recueillent des renseignements personnels :

 

Principe 4.3.3 : « Une organisation ne peut pas, pour le motif qu’elle fournit un bien ou un service, exiger d’une personne qu’elle consente à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la communication de renseignements autres que ceux qui sont nécessaires pour réaliser les fins légitimes et explicitement indiquées. »

 

Principe 4.4 : « L’organisation ne peut recueillir que les renseignements personnels nécessaires aux fins déterminées … Les organisations ne doivent pas recueillir des renseignements de façon arbitraire. On doit restreindre tant la quantité que la nature des renseignements recueillis à ce qui est nécessaire pour réaliser les fins déterminées. »

 

 

Pratiques en matière de soumissions
 

Nous avons appris que dans certains cas, les consommateurs avaient eu de la difficulté à obtenir des soumissions, par téléphone, sur le site Web de la compagnie ou autrement, même s’ils remplissaient les critères de tarification de l’assureur, et que parfois, les consommateurs devaient remplir, signer et présenter un formulaire de proposition d’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario (propriétaire) pour obtenir une soumission (OAF 1).

 

Pour donner une soumission, une compagnie d’assurance ne devrait que demander, recueillir et examiner les renseignements dont elle a besoin pour appliquer ses règles de tarification et de classification des risques déposées et approuvées, en vue de déterminer l’admissibilité d’un consommateur à l’assurance et d’évaluer le consommateur.  La CFSO désire que le consommateur puisse recevoir une soumission selon les renseignements qu’il a fournis au courtier, à l’agent ou à la compagnie d’assurance, au moment où la soumission était demandée. La CSFO ne croit pas qu’il soit justifié d’exiger, de recueillir ou d’utiliser des renseignements sur le crédit aux fins de fournir une soumission ni qu’il soit nécessaire de remplir toute une proposition aux fins d’obtenir une soumission. Il est également attendu que tous les aspects du processus de présentation de soumissions (y compris, mais sans y être limité, la rapidité de la réponse) soient exécutés d’une manière qui ne traitent pas les consommateurs différemment selon des facteurs et des critères fondés sur le statut social, personnel ou économique du consommateur, qui sont interdits aux fins de la tarification et de la présentation de soumissions.

 

 

Obtenir de l’assurance
 

Lorsque le consommateur passe l’étape de la soumission et qu’il exprime le désir de souscrire une police d’assurance, l’assureur peut lui demander de consentir à la collecte et à l’utilisation de renseignements sur le crédit conformément aux modalités du consentement du consommateur, telles qu’énoncées à la partie 11 de la proposition d’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario 1. Toutefois, comme indiqué expressément dans ce formulaire, les renseignements doivent être utilisés uniquement aux fins autorisées par la loi; par exemple, pour déterminer si le requérant s’est vu imposer, par le passé, une annulation d’assurance pour cause de non-paiement des primes d’assurance-automobile, dans le cas où l’assureur a instauré une règle de tarification ou un critère de classification des risques approuvé fondé sur une annulation antérieure de l’assurance pour cause de non-paiement des primes d’assurance-automobile.

 

La CSFO envisage de modifier le formulaire de proposition d’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario 1 et prévoit de publier une nouvelle version du formulaire au courant de l’année. Cette version comprendra une nouvelle formulation du consentement qui décrira plus clairement l’objet de la collecte de renseignements personnels et leur utilisation par les compagnies d’assurance.

 

L’article 5 de la Loi sur l’assurance-automobile obligatoire exige que la proposition d’assurance-automobile 1 soit fournie au consommateur, s’il en fait la demande. Cette exigence doit être remplie dès que possible. De même, lorsqu’il reçoit la proposition, l’assureur doit l’examiner et donner une réponse au consommateur le plus rapidement possible. Ces deux exigences doivent être remplies d’une manière qui ne traite pas différemment les consommateurs, selon des facteurs et critères fondés sur le statut social, personnel ou économique de la personne qui sont interdits aux fins de la tarification et de la présentation de soumissions. Le non-respect de cette règle constitue une infraction à la Loi sur l’assurance-automobile obligatoire.

 

 

Renouvellements
 

Comme avec les nouveaux clients, les assureurs ne doivent pas traiter les renouvellements de polices (y compris, mais sans y être limité, pour déterminer si la présentation d’une proposition d’assurance-automobile 1 remplie et signée est nécessaire) selon des facteurs et critères fondés sur le statut social, personnel ou économique de la personne, qui sont interdits aux fins de la tarification et de la présentation de soumissions.

 

 

Résumé
 

Les pratiques qui empêchent, retardent ou découragent les efforts des consommateurs en vue de se renseigner sur une assurance-automobile ou de souscrire une assurance-automobile ne sont pas dans l’intérêt public et sont contraires à l’intention de la Loi sur les assurances et du Règlement de l’Ontario 664, en particulier, lorsqu’elles découragent un consommateur de demander une soumission ou une assurance d’un assureur précis ou d’un groupe affilié d’assureurs ou qu’elles forcent un consommateur à abandonner sa demande.  Ces pratiques équivalent à un refus d’émettre un contrat au sens de l’article 238 de la Loi sur les assurances.

 

Les compagnies d’assurance ne doivent pas utiliser des critères interdits aux fins de tarification ou de soumissions (p. ex., des critères fondés sur le statut social, personnel ou économique du consommateur) pour refuser de fournir des soumissions, ou pour empêcher ou retarder les efforts d’un consommateur en vue d’obtenir une assurance ou une soumission, ou pour traiter différemment (par des assureurs affiliés ou autre) des consommateurs dans le cadre du processus de soumissions, de demande ou de renouvellement. Ces pratiques comprennent, mais sans y être limitées, examiner, classer par ordre de priorité ou retarder la présentation de soumissions; segmenter des risques au sein de groupes d’assureurs affiliés, par des systèmes secondaires, des modèles de notation, des filtres et autres méthodes semblables; donner des instructions ou faire des suggestions aux agents et courtiers sur le placement des risques.

 

Les assureurs devraient prendre des mesures appropriées pour adapter leurs procédures, au besoin, au contenu du présent bulletin. S’ils ne le font pas, la CSFO prendra les mesures nécessaires. Outre des procédures d’exécution contre des assureurs individuels, la CSFO pourrait formuler des recommandations au gouvernement en vue de modifier la Loi sur les assurances et les règlements pour réglementer plus rigoureusement les pratiques des assureurs.

 

La CSFO fera un suivi auprès des compagnies d’assurance dans 60 jours pour vérifier si elles ont mis en place des normes et procédures ou des plans d’action destinés à assurer la conformité de leurs pratiques de soumissions et de tarification au contenu du présent bulletin.

 

 

Renseignements
 

Veuillez adresser toute question au sujet du présent bulletin à votre analyste de la tarification de la Direction des services d'assurance-automobile de la CSFO.

 

Bob Christie
Directeur général et surintendant, Services financiers

Le 10 février 2009

​[bulletin global footer - (fr)]

hotline-fr.jpg
Suivre@FSCOTweets