Catastrophic Impairment - Public Hospitals Guideline and Updated Cost of Goods Guideline

 
Bulletin
No. A-09/16
Property & Casualty
 – Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to transact automobile insurance and service providers in Ontario

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
With this Bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is releasing the new Catastrophic Impairment - Public Hospitals Guideline (Superintendent’s Guideline No. 01/16) [PDF Document] Size: ## kb and an updated Cost of Goods Guideline (Superintendent’s Guideline No. 02/16) [PDF Document] Size: ## kb.


Amendments have been made to the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (O. Reg. 34/10) (SABS) in regards to the definition of catastrophic impairment. The revised definition provides an automatic designation of catastrophic impairment for children (under the age of 18) with traumatic brain injuries in specified circumstances.


Another amendment was made to the eligibility test for medical benefit and rehabilitation expenses for other goods and services. The test for the listed expenses under the medical and rehabilitation benefits remains the same.


Catastrophic Impairment - Public Hospitals Guideline

The guideline provides a list of the public hospitals for which in-patient admittance is one criterion for determining whether an insured person under the age of 18 at the time of the accident has a traumatic brain injury, pursuant to subparagraph 5 (i) of subsection 3.1 (1) of the SABS.


This guideline applies to all accidents occurring on or after June 1, 2016.


Cost of Goods Guideline

The updated guideline applies to all accidents, effective on or after June 1, 2016, and accounts for the new test to be applied to other goods claimed under the medical and rehabilitation benefits. The test for other goods and services under paragraphs 15 (1) (h) and 16 (3) (l) are subject to a new requirement that an insurer agree that the goods and services claimed are essential for the treatment or rehabilitation of the insured person, and for which a benefit is not otherwise provided in the SABS.


Authority

The new and updated guidelines are issued pursuant to subsections 268.3 (1) and (1.1) of the Insurance Act and are incorporated by reference in the SABS.


Copy of the Guidelines

The Catastrophic Impairment - Public Hospitals Guideline and Cost of Goods Guideline are available on FSCO’s website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca and will be published in the forthcoming edition of The Ontario Gazette.

Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
May 6, 2016


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Directive concernant la déficience invalidante – Hôpitaux publics et mise à jour de la directive concernant le coût des biens

 
Bulletin
No A-09/16
IARD
– Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurances autorisées à faire souscrire de l’assurance-automobile et aux fournisseurs de services en Ontario

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
 Avec ce Bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) publie la nouvelle directive concernant la déficience invalidante – Hôpitaux publics (ligne directrice no 01/16 du surintendant) [PDF Document] Size: ## kb et une mise à jour de la directive concernant le coût des biens (ligne directrice no 02/16) du surintendant [PDF Document] Size: ## kb.
 
Des modifications ont été apportées à l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010 (Règl. de l’Ont. 34/10) [Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales (AIAL)] en ce qui concerne la définition de déficience invalidante. La définition révisée fait état d’un statut automatique de déficience invalidante pour les enfants (de moins de 18 ans) ayant subi un traumatisme crânien dans certaines circonstances.
 
Une autre modification a été apportée au test d’admissibilité pour les indemnités pour frais médicaux et de réadaptation pour d’autres produits et services. Le test pour les frais désignés sous frais médicaux et de réadaptation demeure le même.
 

Directive concernant la déficience invalidante – Hôpitaux publics

La directive dresse une liste des hôpitaux publics dans lesquels l’admission à titre de patient est l’un des critères pour déterminer si une personne assurée de moins de 18 ans au moment de l’accident souffrait d’un traumatisme crânien, conformément au sous-alinéa 5 (i) du paragraphe 3.1 (1) de l’AIAL.
 
La directive s’applique à tous les accidents survenant le ou après le 1er juin 2016.
 

Directive concernant le coût des biens

La directive mise à jour s’applique à tous les accidents survenant le ou après le 1er juin 2016, et compte au titre du nouveau test à appliquer aux autres biens faisant l’objet d’une demande d’indemnités au titre de la prestation pour frais médicaux et de réadaptation. Le test pour les autres produits et services conformément aux alinéas 15 (1) (h) et 16 (3) (l) est assujetti à une nouvelle exigence en vertu de laquelle l’assureur convient que les produits et services sont essentiels au traitement et à la réadaptation de la personne blessée et pour lesquels une indemnité n’est pas prévue dans l’AIAL.
 

Pouvoir

La nouvelle directive et la directive mise à jour sont publiées conformément aux paragraphes 268.3 (1) et (1.1) de la Loi sur les assurances et sont intégrées par renvoi dans l’AIAL.

 

Copie des directives

La directive concernant la déficience invalidante – Hôpitaux publics et la directive concernant le coût des biens sont disponibles sur le site Web de la CSFO, à www.fsco.gov.on.ca et seront publiées dans la prochaine édition de la Gazette de l’Ontario.

Brian Mills
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
Le 6 mai 2016
 
 
 
​​


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.