2018 Automobile Insurance Legislated and Regulatory Adjustments and Optional Indexation Rates Under the Statutory Accident Benefit Schedule

 
Bulletin
No. A-05/17
Property & Casualty
Auto
 
To the attention of all insurance companies licensed to
transact automobile insurance in Ontario
​​

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​

With this bulletin, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is releasing:

 

  • the 2018 monetary thresholds and deductibles for determining non-pecuniary tort awards under the Insurance Act and O. Reg. 461/96, Court Proceedings for Automobile Accidents that Occur on or after November 1, 1996;
  • the 2018 indexation percentage for the Optional Indexation Benefit under section 30 of the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Effective September 1, 2010 (2010 SABS);
  • the 2018 indexation percentage for the Optional Indexation Benefit under section 29 of the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Accidents on or after November 1, 1996 (1996 SABS); and
  • the 2018 indexation percentage and revised deductibles/monetary amounts applicable to claims under the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Accidents after December 31, 1993 and before November 1, 1996 (1993 SABS).

In accordance with subsections 268.1 (1) and 268.1 (3) of the Insurance Act (the Act), the indexation percentage and revised deductibles/monetary amounts applicable to the 1993 SABS will appear in a forthcoming edition of The Ontario Gazette. Subsection 267.5 (8.5) of the Act also requires the publication in The Ontario Gazette of the revised monetary thresholds for the application of the tort deductible before January 1.

 

The indexation percentage for adjusting the monetary thresholds and deductibles, and the amounts under the 2010 SABS, the 1996 SABS and the 1993 SABS, reflect the year-over-year "Consumer Price Index for Canada (All Items)" from September 2016 to September 2017, as published by Statistics Canada.

 

Revised Monetary Thresholds and Deductibles for Non-Pecuniary Tort Awards

 

The monetary threshold beyond which the deductible amount does not apply is adjusted from $124,616.21 to $126,610.07 in the case of damages for non-pecuniary loss from January 1, 2018 until December 31, 2018.

 

The monetary threshold beyond which the deductible amount does not apply is adjusted from $62,307.59 to $63,304.51 in the case of damages for non-pecuniary loss under clause 61 (2) (e) of the Family Law Act from January 1, 2018 until December 31, 2018.

 

The deductible for non-pecuniary loss when a tort award does not exceed the monetary threshold is adjusted from $37,385.17 to $37,983.33 in the case of damages from January 1, 2018 until December 31, 2018.

 

The deductible for non-pecuniary loss when a tort award under clause 61 (2) (e) of the Family Law Act does not exceed the monetary threshold is adjusted from $18,692.59 to $18,991.67 in the case of damages from January 1, 2018 until December 31, 2018.

 

Indexation Under the 2010 SABS

 

The 2018 indexation percentage is 1.6 per cent. It is applied in accordance with the Optional Indexation Benefit Guideline. The indexation applies to named insureds, spouses of named insureds, dependants of any of these and specified drivers, if the optional indexation benefit was purchased.

 

The 2018 indexation percentage applies to benefits that are required to be indexed pursuant to section 30 of the 2010 SABS in respect of insured persons who were involved in accidents on or after September 1, 2010.

 

Indexation Under the 1996 SABS

 

The 2018 indexation percentage is 1.6 per cent. It is applied in accordance with the Optional Indexation Benefit Guideline. Under the 1996 SABS, indexation applies to named insureds, spouses of named insureds, dependants of any of these and specified drivers, if the optional indexation benefit was purchased.

 

The 2018 indexation percentage applies to benefits that are required to be indexed pursuant to section 29 of the 1996 SABS in respect of insured persons who were involved in accidents on or after November 1, 1996, and before September 1, 2010.

 

Indexation Under the 1993 SABS

 

The 2018 indexation percentage is 1.6 per cent. It applies to monetary amounts that are required to be raised pursuant to section 80 of the 1993 SABS, in respect of insured persons who were involved in accidents after December 31, 1993, and before November 1, 1996.

 

The 2018 indexation percentage, the revised deductibles and monetary amounts are listed on the chart entitled 2018 Indexation Percentage, Revised Deductibles and Monetary Amounts for Automobile Insurance under the Insurance Act and Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule – Accidents after December 31, 1993 and before November 1, 1996

 

Also note that certain indexed amounts under the 1993 SABS have been identified in the indexation schedule as possibly no longer being relevant in certain cases. Please refer to the relevant provisions in the 1993 SABS to determine if these indexed amounts apply to your situation.

 

 

Brian Mills

Chief Executive Officer and

Superintendent of Financial Services

 

December 18, 2017

 

Attachments

 


Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage Important information about the Canada Post labour disruption

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Ajustements imposés par la loi et réglementaires en matière d’assurance-automobile et taux d’indexation des indemnités optionnelles en vertu de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales de 2018

 
Bulletin
No. A-05/17
IARD
- Automobile
 
À l’attention de toutes les compagnies d’assurances autorisées
à faire souscrire de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario
​​

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

Dans le présent bulletin, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) publie :

 

  • les seuils monétaires et les franchises applicables aux dommages-intérêts non pécuniaires utilisés en 2018 en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances et du Règl. de l’Ont. 461/96, Instance judiciaires portant sur des accidents d’automobile survenus le 1er novembre 1996 ou après cette date;
  • le taux d’indexation de 2018 pour l’indemnité optionnelle d’indexation en vertu de l’article 30 de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010 (AIAL de 2010);
  • le taux d’indexation de 2018 pour l’indemnité optionnelle d’indexation en vertu de l’article 29 de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – accidents survenus le 1er novembre 1996 ou après ce jour (AIAL de 1996);
  • le taux d’indexation de 2018, et les franchises et montants révisés applicables aux demandes présentées en vertu de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – accidents survenus après le 31 décembre 1993, mais avant le 1er novembre 1996 (AIAL de 1993).

 

Conformément aux paragraphes 268.1 (1) et 268.1 (3) de la Loi sur les assurances (la Loi), le taux d’indexation, les franchises et les montants révisés applicables à l’AIAL de 1993 figureront dans la prochaine édition de la Gazette de l’Ontario. Le paragraphe 267.5 (8.5) de la Loi exige également la publication dans la Gazette de l’Ontario des seuils monétaires révisés pour l’application de la franchise délictuelle avant le 1er janvier.

 

Le taux d’indexation pour l’ajustement des seuils monétaires et des franchises ainsi que des montants prévus en vertu de l’AIAL de 2010, l’AIAL de 1996 et l’AIAL de 1993 reflètent le taux de variation sur douze mois de l’indice des prix à la consommation pour le Canada (Indice d’ensemble) de septembre 2016 à septembre 2017, que publie Statistique Canada.

 

Seuils monétaires et franchises applicables aux dommages-intérêts non pécuniaires révisés

 

Le seuil monétaire au-delà duquel la franchise ne s’applique pas est ajusté de façon à passer de 124 616,21 $ à 126 610,07 $, dans le cas de dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires, du 1er janvier 2018 au 31 décembre 2018.

 

Le seuil monétaire au-delà duquel la franchise ne s’applique pas est ajusté de façon à passer de 62 307,59 $ à 63 304,51 $ dans le cas de dommages liés à des pertes non pécuniaires, en vertu de l’alinéa 61 (2) e) de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, du 1er janvier 2018 au 31 décembre 2018.

 

La franchise liée à des pertes non pécuniaires lorsque les dommages-intérêts ne dépassent pas le seuil monétaire est ajustée de façon à passer de 37 385,17 $ à 37 983,33 $ dans le cas de dommages produits du 1er janvier 2018 au 31 décembre 2018.

 

La franchise liée à des pertes non pécuniaires lorsque les dommages-intérêts en vertu de l’alinéa 61 (2) e) de la Loi sur le droit de la famille ne dépassent pas le seuil monétaire est ajustée de façon à passer de 18 692,59 $ à 18 991,67 $ dans le cas de dommages du 1er janvier 2018 au 31 décembre 2018.

 

Indexation aux termes de l’AIAL de 2010

 

Le taux d’indexation de 2018 est de 1,6 p. 100. Il s’applique conformément à la Directive concernant l’indemnité optionnelle d’indexation. L’indexation s’applique à toute personne assurée nommément désignée qui s’est procuré l’indemnité optionnelle d’indexation, à son conjoint ou sa conjointe, aux personnes à sa charge et à toute personne qui est nommément désignée en tant que conducteur ou conductrice dans la police.

 

Le taux d’indexation de 2018 s’applique aux indemnités devant être indexées conformément à l’article 30 de l’AIAL de 2010, à l’égard des personnes assurées impliquées dans un accident survenu le 1er septembre 2010 ou après ce jour.

 

Indexation en vertu de l’AIAL de 1996

 

Le taux d’indexation de 2018 est de 1,6 p. 100. Il s’applique conformément à la Directive concernant l’indemnité optionnelle d’indexation. En vertu de l’AIAL de 1996, l’indexation s’applique à toute personne assurée nommément désignée qui s’est procuré l’indemnité optionnelle d’indexation, à son conjoint ou sa conjointe, aux personnes à sa charge et à toute personne qui est nommément désignée en tant que conducteur ou conductrice dans la police.

 

Le taux d’indexation de 2018 s’applique aux indemnités devant être indexées conformément à l’article 29 de l’AIAL de 1996, à l’égard des personnes assurées impliquées dans un accident survenu le 1er novembre 1996 ou après ce jour, mais avant le 1er septembre 2010.

 

Indexation en vertu de l’AIAL de 1993

 

Le taux d’indexation de 2018 est de 1,6 pour cent. Il s’applique aux montants devant être haussés conformément à l’article 80 de l’AIAL de 1993, à l’égard des personnes assurées impliquées dans un accident survenu après le 31 décembre 1993, mais avant le 1er novembre 1996.

 

Le taux d’indexation de 2018 ainsi que les franchises et montants révisés figurent dans le tableau intitulé Taux d’indexation de 2018, franchises et montants révisés pour l’assurance-automobile en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances et de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales – accidents survenus après le 31 décembre 1993, mais avant le 1er novembre 1996.

 

Veuillez noter également que certains montants indexés en vertu de l’AIAL de 1993 ont été indiqués dans le tableau d’indexation comme n’étant plus pertinents dans certains cas. Veuillez consulter les dispositions pertinentes de l’AIAL de 1993 afin de déterminer si ces montants indexés s’appliquent à votre situation.

 

Brian Mills

Directeur général

et surintendant des services financiers

 

Le 18 décembre 2017

 

Pièces jointes 

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.