Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Resolving Co-operative Complaints

The Co-operative Corporations Act [New Window] is designed to permit co-operatives to operate under democratic processes.
 

Board of Directors

If you have a concern or complaint about a co-operative that you have been unable to resolve, put it in writing and send it to the co-operative’s board of directors and request a response in writing. The board will decide whether a member may speak at a board meeting.
 
If you are not satisfied with the board’s response, write them again and ask to have the matter put on the agenda of the next members’ meeting. At the meeting, you can ask the members to decide if the co-operative followed its by-laws or rules and policies. The co-operative’s membership elects the board of directors and the membership has the power to remove directors.
 

Calling a Members’ Meeting

If the board won’t put your matter on the agenda of a members’ meeting, you may call a members’ meeting, if five percent of members agree. It’s called requisitioning a members’ meeting. Members of a co-operative may requisition the directors to call a members’ meeting on a matter that is connected with the co-operative’s affairs. (See sections 79 and 80 of the Co-operative Corporations Act.)
 
If the directors don’t hold the meeting within 30 days of receiving the requisition, a member who signed the requisition may call the meeting within 60 days of the date the co-operative received the requisition. It is also possible to ask a court to order a members’ meeting.
 

Ask your Co-operative Association for Help

If your co-operative is a member of a co-operative association, you may be able to ask the association for assistance in resolving the issue. If you’re not sure if your co-operative is part of an association or you need help finding an appropriate resource, contact:
 
Ontario Co-operative Association
450 Speedvale Avenue West, Suite 101
Guelph, ON N1H 7Y6
Tel: (519) 763-8271
Fax: (519) 763-7239
Toll free: 1-888-745-5521
Website: www.ontario.coop [New Window]
E-mail: info@ontario.coop
Le Conseil de la coopération de l'Ontario
435, St-Laurent Blvd, office 201
Ottawa (Ontario), K1K 2Z8
Tel: (613) 745-8619
Fax: (613) 745-4649
Toll-Free: 1-866-290-1168
Website: http://cco.coop/fr/ [New Window]
Email: info@cco.coop
 

Non-profit Housing Co-operative

If the dispute concerns occupancy and termination of occupancy in a non-profit housing co-operative, please refer to sections 171.1 to 171.25 of the Co-operative Corporations Act. These sections provide a self-contained code that deals with members’ occupancy rights and the process for terminating occupancy. The process provides for a hearing before the board of directors, an appeal of the board’s decision to the members at a members’ meeting, and a further review by a court. As the Co-operative Corporations Act provides this self-contained code, the Superintendent of Financial Services at FSCO does not get involved in these cases.
 
For assistance, contact:
 
Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada at the Ontario Region office
720 Spadina Avenue, Suite 313
Toronto, ON, Canada M5S 2T9
Tel: (416) 366-1711
Fax: (416) 366-3876
Toll-Free: 1-800-268-2537
Website: http://www.chfcanada.coop [New Window]
E-mail: info@chfc.ca
 

Getting Legal Advice

For legal advice on the interpretation or application of the Co-operative Corporations Act or matters relating to a co-operative’s bylaws, seek advice from a lawyer familiar with the Act. If you’re concerned that your co-operative is violating the Act, you may seek legal advice on what steps can be taken, including whether to bring the matter to court. Please note that the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) does not provide this advice.
 

If an Investigation is Needed

At an annual meeting or at a general meeting called for that purpose, the members can, by passing a resolution, appoint an inspector to investigate the co-operative’s affairs and management. A member of the co-operative can also ask a court to appoint an inspector. Please see sections 146 and 147 of the Co-operative Corporations Act. If you suspect fraud or dishonesty, you can also ask the police to conduct an investigation.
 
Email: contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca
Fax: (416) 590-7070
 
Mail:
Market Regulation Branch
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, Box 85
Toronto ON M2N 6L9
 
Telephone: 416-250-7250
Toll free: 1-800-668-0128
TTY: 1-800-387-0584

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

La résolution de plainte concernant une coopérative

La Loi sur les sociétés coopératives [New Window] est conçue pour autoriser les sociétés coopératives à exercer leurs activités dans le cadre d’un régime démocratique.
 

Conseil d'administration

  
Si vous avez une plainte ou un différend concernant une coopérative que vous n’avez pas pu résoudre, préparez une lettre et envoyez-la au conseil d’administration de la coopérative en précisant que vous attendez une réponse par écrit. Le conseil décidera ensuite si un membre peut aborder cette question à une réunion du conseil.
 
Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de la réponse du conseil, écrivez à nouveau pour demander que l’affaire soit inscrite à l’ordre du jour de la prochaine réunion des membres. À cette réunion, vous pouvez demander que les membres déterminent si la coopérative a respecté ses règlements ou ses règles et politiques. Les membres de la coopérative élisent le conseil d’administration et disposent du pouvoir de destituer les administrateurs.
 

Convocation d'une assemblée générale des membres 

  
Si le conseil refuse d’inscrire votre affaire à l’ordre du jour de la prochaine assemblée générale des membres, vous pouvez convoquer vous-même une assemblée générale des membres si cinq pour cent des membres acceptent. C’est ce qu’on appelle « demander la convocation d’une assemblée générale des membres ». Des membres d’une coopérative peuvent exiger des administrateurs la convocation d’une assemblée générale des membres pour délibérer d’une question ayant trait aux affaires de la coopérative. (Voir les articles 79 et 80 de la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives.)
 
Si les administrateurs ne convoquent et ne tiennent pas une assemblée dans les trente jours du dépôt de la demande, un auteur de la demande peut convoquer cette assemblée, qui doit être tenue dans les soixante jours du dépôt de la demande. Il est également possible de demander à un tribunal d’enjoindre aux administrateurs de convoquer une assemblée générale des membres pour y traiter de toute question reliée aux affaires de la coopérative.
  

Demande de l’aide de votre association coopérative

  
Si votre coopérative est membre d’une association coopérative, vous pouvez essayer de faire appel à l’aide de cette association pour régler votre différend. Si vous ne savez pas si votre coopérative est membre d’une association ou si avez besoin d’aide pour trouver une ressource appropriée, vous pouvez communiquer avec :
 

Ontario Co-operative Association
450, avenue Speedvale Ouest, bureau 101
Guelph (Ontario) N1H 7Y6
Téléphone : 519-763-8271
Télécopieur : 519-763-7239
Sans frais: 1888745-5521
Site Web : www.ontario.coop [New Window]
Courriel : info@ontario.coop

Le Conseil de la coopération de l'Ontario
435, boulevard St-Laurent, bureau 201
Ottawa (Ontario), K1K 2Z8
Téléphone : (613) 745-8619
Télécopieur : (613) 745-4649
Sans Frais : 1-866-290-1168
Site Web : http://cco.coop/fr/ [New Window]
Courriel : info@cco.coop

Coopérative de logement sans but lucratif

  
Si le différend concerne l’occupation ou la résiliation de l’occupation dans une coopérative de logement sans but lucratif, veuillez consulter les articles 171.1 à 171.25 de la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives. Ces articles énoncent un code complet qui traite des droits d’occupation des membres et du processus visant à mettre fin à l’occupation. Ce processus prévoit une audience devant le conseil d’administration, l’appel de la décision du conseil d’administration auprès des membres dans le cadre d’une assemblée générale des membres, et un autre réexamen par le tribunal. Comme la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives contient ce code complet, le surintendant des services financiers de la CSFO n’intervient pas dans ces cas.
 
Si vous avez besoin d’aide, communiquez avec la :
 
  
Fédération de l’habitation coopérative du Canada, région de l’Ontario
720, avenue Spadina, bureau 313
Toronto (Ontario), Canada,  M5S 2T9
Téléphone : 416 366-1711
Sans frais : 1800268-2537
Télécopieur : 416 366-3876
Site Web : http://www.chfcanada.coop/fra/pages2007/home.asp [New Window]
Courriel : info@chfc.ca
 

Conseils d'un avocat

 
Si vous cherchez les conseils d’un avocat sur l’interprétation ou l’application de la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives ou sur des questions concernant les règlements administratifs d’une coopérative, adressez-vous à un avocat qui connaît bien la Loi. Si vous croyez que votre coopérative viole la Loi, vous pouvez obtenir les conseils d’un avocat sur les mesures à prendre, dont le dépôt d’une action en justice. Veuillez noter que la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario ne fournit pas de conseils à ce sujet.
  

Si une enquête est nécessaire

 
Une coopérative peut, par une résolution adoptée à une assemblée annuelle ou générale de ses membres convoquée à cet effet, nommer un inspecteur chargé de faire enquête sur ses affaires et sa gestion. Un membre de la coopérative peut également demander au tribunal de nommer un inspecteur. Voir les articles 146 et 147 de la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives. Si vous soupçonnez la commission d’actes frauduleux ou malhonnêtes, vous pouvez demander à la police de mener une enquête.
 
 
Courriel : contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca
Télécopieur : (416) 590-7070
                       
Poste :
Division de la délivrance des permis et de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160 rue Yonge, CP 85
Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9
 
Téléphone : 416-250-7250
Sans frais : 1-800-668-0128
ATS : 1-800-387-0584