Instructions for completing the Application for an extra-provincial registration for a Credit Union or Caisse Populaire

Purpose

 

Under the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994 as amended (“the Act”), an extra-provincial credit union other than Central 1 or Fédération des caisses populaires du Québec that participates in syndicated loans in Ontario under the Act must be registered.  This form is to be used by an extra-provincial credit union seeking to be registered under the Act.

 

The Superintendent of Financial Services will use the information in this application form to determine whether an applicant extra-provincial credit union should be registered. This application’s purpose is to collect this information.  The applicant will be required to submit documents to support certain pieces of information about the credit union and its intended participation in syndicated loans in Ontario. 

 

To ensure a timely and efficient review of your application, please ensure to provide complete and correct information as well as the required supporting documents.

 

Eligibility criteria for registration:

 

The following minimum criteria applies to obtain a registration.

 

  • The applicant must be an entity that is incorporated in a province or territory of Canada other than Ontario and must be registered as a credit union under legislation that is comparable to the Act.

Please be aware that a federal credit union incorporated under the Bank Act need not register.

 

Before you begin the application you will need:

 

  • Identify the Authorized representative and contact information for the person.
  • A short summary of the proposed participation in syndicated loans in Ontario.
  • A copy of the incorporation instruments, including amending instruments of the corporation certified as to authenticity by the Corporate Secretary.
  • A copy of its registration as a credit union certified as to authenticity by the Corporate Secretary.
  • A list of the directors and officers of the corporation.
  • The required application fee.
  • A copy of the resolution of the board of directors authorizing this application certified by the Corporate Secretary.

Process

 

The application must be completed and submitted to the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO). FSCO will send to the applicant an email acknowledgement upon receipt of the application. FSCO will advise the applicant if any additional documents and clarification is required to process the application.  

 

The public official at FSCO who can answer questions about the collection of personal information is: Manager, Licensing Approvals, Licensing and Market Conduct Division, 5160 Yonge Street, 16th floor, Toronto ON M2N 6L9, email: contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca, telephone (416) 250-7250.

 

Completing and submitting the application form

 

  • An incomplete application may result in delays in processing the application.
  • This application form must be legible. Please complete by using the fillable pdf form capabilities, print and sign the application.
  • Please include copies and not originals of any documents when supporting documents or information is required. 
  • The application form and supporting documents may be sent to FSCO by mail to the Licensing Branch at 5160 Yonge Street, 16th floor, Toronto ON M2N 6L9, or a scanned copy by email to contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca.
  • The application fee must be submitted by cheque or money order, payable to Minister of Finance and sent by mail or courier to FSCO at the same address as the application.

Extra-provincial credit union register information

 

FSCO is required to maintain a register for extra-provincial credit unions. 

 

Consistent with FSCO’s role in protecting the public interest FSCO collaborates with other organizations, including other regulators, fraud prevention organizations and law enforcement agencies.  Please be advised that extra-provincial credit union registration information (for e.g. legal business name, legal business address) may be shared with organizations that collect and use this information, only as reasonably necessary, to enable them to detect, suppress and prevent fraud, and for law enforcement purposes.

 

Fees

 

In order to obtain an extra-provincial credit union registration, an initial non-refundable registration fee of $500 must be paid at the time of application.

 

For more information on fees see FSCO’s website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca, under Credit Unions and Caisses populaires – click on “About Credit Unions & Caisses Populaires” in the navigation bar on the left, and then click on “Schedule of Required Fees.”

 

Detailed instructions

 

The application has six parts:

 

Part A -  Attestation, consent and notification
Part B -  Contact Information
Part C -  Business information
Part D – Suitability for registration
Part E -  Directors/Officers
Part F -  Application checklist

PART A – Attestation, consent and notification

A corporate signing director/officer of the applicant must sign this application. The person signing must declare that the statements, declarations and answers provided, including attachments, are true and complete.

 

The person signing the application is providing consent on behalf of the applicant for the collection and validation of the information in this application and to share and disclose any of the information to other licensing/registry authorities, regulatory bodies or law enforcement agencies for any purpose related to law enforcement.

PART B – Contact Information

This part collects key pieces of information about the credit union that will be included in the registry for identification and administrative purposes.  Item 1, 2 and 4 are information fields that may be shared with the public.

 

1. Legal name of corporation

 

State the full legal name of the credit union as specified in its incorporating or amended instruments.


 
2. Principal place of business

 

Provide the address, telephone number and fax number for the principal place of business. Specifically the address where the credit union carries out its activities and/or maintain its records. A business address cannot be a post office box number and must permit service by registered mail.

 

3. Authorized representative

 

Provide the name, address, telephone number, fax number and email address of the person that is designated as the authorized representative. This person will be addressed as the principal contact.

 

4. Complaints Officer

 

Provide the name, address, telephone number, fax number and email address of the person that is designated for the complaints officer.

PART C – Business information

This part collects relevant information about the business such as information for the prescribed eligibility requirements and the existence of a consumer complaint handling process. This part also identifies the requirements to keep key pieces of information related to its registration, once registered,  up to date. 

 

1. Jurisdiction of incorporation

 

Indicate the jurisdiction of incorporation, provide the date of incorporation and the date of registration to commence and carry on business as a credit union.  Indicate if there are any restrictions and/or conditions on its registration to operate as a credit union by its primary provincial regulatory authority. 

 

2. Complaints handling process

 

Confirm the credit union has an established complaints handling process for resolving complaints from the public.

 

3. Requirement to maintain registration information with FSCO

 

Confirm the credit union is aware of the requirement to maintain key pieces of information related to its registration with FSCO.  The key pieces of information are identified in this section.

PART D – Suitability for registration

This part collects information to assess the suitability for registration as the Superintendent considers all relevant information.

 

1. Licensing history

 

Provide details as to whether the credit union, a subsidiary or a related business had a licence, registration refused, revoked, suspended or cancelled under any legislation which required registration or licensing to deal with the public for the delivery of financial services and products in any province, territory, state or country, or held such a licence or registration and have been the subject of a disciplinary proceeding resulting in a penalty being imposed such as suspension, termination, reprimand, surrender, etc..

 

2. Convictions/Charges

 

Provide details as to whether the business, a subsidiary or a related business ever pleaded guilty or been found guilty of an offence under any law of any province, state, territory or country or if is currently subject of any charges.

PART E – Directors/Officers

This part collects information about the names and roles of Directors/Officers of the corporation.  The list must include the Chief Executive Officer.

PART F - Application checklist

This part provides an application checklist as a tool to ensure that your application package is complete.

Instructions pour remplir une Demande d’inscription extraprovinciale pour une credit union ou une caisse populaire

Objet

 

Aux termes de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions en sa version modifiée (la « Loi »), une caisse extraprovinciale autre qu’une caisse membre de la Central 1 Credit Union ou de la Fédération des caisses populaires du Québec et qui participe à des prêts syndiqués consentis en Ontario en vertu de la Loi doit être inscrite. Le présent formulaire doit être rempli par une caisse extraprovinciale désirant s’inscrire en vertu de la Loi.

 

Le surintendant des services financiers utilisera les renseignements fournis dans ce formulaire de demande pour déterminer si la caisse extraprovinciale qui fait la demande doit être inscrite. Le but de la demande est de recueillir ces renseignements. Le demandeur devra soumettre des documents à l’appui de certains renseignements à propos de la caisse et de sa participation projetée à des prêts syndiqués consentis en Ontario.

 

Pour assurer un examen rapide et efficient de votre demande, veuillez fournir des renseignements complets et exacts ainsi que les documents à l’appui requis.

 

Critère d’admissibilité pour l’inscription :

 

Les critères minimaux suivants s’appliquent pour l’inscription.

 

  • Le demandeur doit être une entité constituée en personne morale dans une province ou un territoire du Canada autres que l’Ontario et inscrite en tant que caisse en vertu d’une loi comparable à la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions.

Veuillez prendre note qu’une caisse fédérale constituée en personne morale en vertu de la Loi sur les banques n’a pas besoin de s’inscrire.

 

Avant de remplir la demande, vous devrez réunir :

 

  • le nom et les coordonnées du représentant autorisé désigné;
  • un résumé de la participation projetée dans les prêts syndiqués consentis en Ontario;
  • un exemplaire des actes constitutifs, y compris les textes modificatifs, de la personne morale, attesté quant à l’authenticité par le secrétaire général;
  • un exemplaire de l’inscription comme caisse attesté quant à l’authenticité par le secrétaire général;
  • une liste des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la personne morale;
  • les droits de demande exigés;
  • un exemplaire de la résolution adoptée par le conseil d’administration autorisant la présente demande attestée par le secrétaire général.

Processus

 

La demande doit être remplie et soumise à la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO). La CSFO enverra par courriel au demandeur un accusé de réception de sa demande. Si d’autres documents ou des clarifications sont nécessaires pour le traitement de la demande, la CSFO en avisera le demandeur.

 

Le fonctionnaire en mesure de répondre aux questions sur la collecte d’information est le chef, Unité de l’approbation des permis, Division de la délivrance des permis et de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie, 5160, rue Yonge, 16e étage, Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9, courriel : contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca, téléphone : 416 250-7250.

 

Remplir et soumettre le formulaire de demande

 

  • Le fait de ne pas remplir un formulaire de demande au complet peut entraîner un retard dans le traitement de la demande.
  • Le formulaire de demande doit être lisible. Veuillez remplir le formulaire en utilisant la fonction permettant de remplir les formulaires en format PDF, puis l’imprimer et le signer.
  • Lorsque des documents ou des renseignements à l’appui sont requis, veuillez joindre des copies et non les originaux.
  • Le formulaire de demande et les documents à l’appui doivent être envoyés à la CSFO par la poste, à la Direction de la délivrance des permis, au 5160, rue Yonge, 16e étage, Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9, ou par copie numérisée expédiée par courriel à contactcentre@fsco.gov.on.ca.
  • Les droits peuvent être acquittés par chèque ou par mandat bancaire à l’ordre du ministre des Finances et envoyés par la poste ou par messager à la CSFO à la même adresse que la demande.

Renseignements sur l’inscription des caisses extraprovinciales

 

La CSFO doit tenir à jour un registre des caisses extraprovinciales.

 

Conformément au mandat de la CSFO en matière de protection de l’intérêt public, la CSFO collabore avec d’autres organismes, y compris d’autres organismes de réglementation, des organismes de prévention de la fraude et des organismes d’application de la loi. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements fournis aux fins de l’inscription d’une caisse extraprovinciale (p. ex., dénomination sociale et adresse de la personne morale) peuvent être divulgués à des organismes qui les recueillent et les utilisent, uniquement d’une façon considérée comme raisonnable et nécessaire, pour leur permettre de détecter, de prévenir et d’éliminer la fraude, et aux fins de l’application de la loi.

 

Droits

 

Pour obtenir l’inscription d’une caisse extraprovinciale, des droits initiaux non remboursables de 500 $ doivent être acquittés au moment de la demande.

 

Pour plus de renseignements sur les droits, consultez le site Web de la CSFO à www.fsco.gov.on.ca, sous Credit unions et caisses populaires – cliquez sur « À propos des Credit unions et Caisses populaires » dans la barre de navigation à la gauche de l’écran, et ensuite cliquez sur « Barème des droits exigés ».

 

Instructions détaillées

 

La demande comprend six parties :

 

Partie A – Attestation, consentement et notification
Partie B – Coordonnées
Partie C – Renseignements sur l’entreprise
Partie D – Admissibilité aux fins d’inscription
Partie E – Administrateurs/dirigeants
Partie F – Liste de vérification de la demande

PARTIE A – Attestation, consentement et notification

Un administrateur ou un dirigeant autorisé de la personne morale doit signer la demande. Le signataire doit déclarer que les énoncés, les déclarations et les réponses fournis, y compris les pièces jointes, sont véridiques et complets.

 

Le signataire de la demande consent, au nom du demandeur, à la collecte et à la validation des renseignements contenus dans la demande et à la divulgation de tout renseignement à d’autres autorités chargées de l’octroi de permis/de l’inscription, organismes de réglementation ou organismes d’application de la loi pour toute fin liée à l’application de la loi.

PARTIE B – Coordonnées

Cette partie permet de recueillir d’importants renseignements à propos de la caisse qui seront consignés au registre aux fins d’identification et d’administration. Les questions 1, 2 et 4 comportent des renseignements qui peuvent être divulgués publiquement.

 

1. Dénomination sociale de la personne morale

 

Veuillez indiquer la dénomination sociale complète de la caisse, telle qu’elle apparaît dans ses actes constitutifs ou les textes modificatifs.

 

2. Établissement principal

 

Veuillez indiquer l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et le numéro de télécopieur de l’établissement principal. Il s’agit plus précisément de l’adresse où la caisse effectue ses activités et conserve ses registres. L’adresse de l’établissement ne peut être un numéro de case postale dans un bureau de poste et doit permettre la livraison de courrier recommandé.

 

3. Représentant autorisé

 

Veuillez indiquer le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de la personne désignée comme représentant autorisé. Cette personne sera considérée comme la principale personne-ressource.

 

4. Agent des plaintes

 

Veuillez indiquer le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de la personne désignée comme agent des plaintes.

PARTIE C – Renseignements sur l’entreprise

Cette partie permet de recueillir des renseignements pertinents sur l’entreprise, comme les renseignements requis aux fins des critères d’admissibilités prescrits et l’existence d’un processus de traitement des plaintes des consommateurs. Elle précise également les exigences relatives aux renseignements figurant dans l’inscription qui doivent être tenus à jour une fois l’inscription faite.

 

1. Territoire de constitution

 

Veuillez indiquer le territoire de constitution en personne morale, la date de la constitution ainsi que la date de l’inscription de la caisse pour commencer et poursuivre ses activités en tant que telle. Veuillez indiquer si des restrictions ou des conditions à l’inscription pour exploiter une caisse ont été imposées par l’organisme de réglementation provincial principal.

 

2. Processus de traitement des plaintes

 

Veuillez confirmer que la caisse a établi un processus de traitement des plaintes pour régler les plaintes provenant du public.

 

3. Exigence relative à la tenue à jour des renseignements figurant dans l’inscription auprès de la CSFO

 

Veuillez confirmer que la caisse est informée de l’exigence de tenue à jour des renseignements clés relatifs à l’inscription auprès de la CSFO. Les renseignements clés sont précisés dans cette section.

PARTIE D – Admissibilité aux fins d’inscription

Cette partie permet de recueillir des renseignements sur l’admissibilité aux fins d’inscription que le surintendant estime pertinents.

 

1. Historique des licences octroyées

 

Veuillez fournir des renseignements indiquant si la caisse, une filiale ou une entreprise connexe a déjà vu son permis ou son inscription refusé, révoqué, suspendu ou annulé en vertu d’une loi exigeant une inscription ou un permis pour travailler avec le public pour la prestation de services et de produits financiers dans une province, un territoire, un État ou un pays; ou si elle a détenu un tel permis ou inscription et fait l’objet d’une mesure disciplinaire à la suite de laquelle elle a reçu une sanction, comme une suspension, une résiliation, un blâme ou un abandon.

 

2. Condamnations et accusations

 

Veuillez indiquer si l’entreprise, une filiale ou une entreprise connexe a déjà plaidé coupable ou a déjà été déclarée coupable d’une infraction en vertu des lois d’une province, d’un État, d’un territoire ou d’un pays, ou si elle est actuellement mise en accusation.

PARTIE E – Administrateurs/dirigeants

Cette partie permet de recueillir le nom et la fonction des administrateurs et dirigeants de la personne morale. La liste doit comprendre le chef de la direction.

PARTIE F – Liste de vérification de la demande

Cette partie fournit une liste de vérification de la demande qui vous permet de vous assurer que votre demande est complète.