FSCO's upcoming Life Insurance Questionnaire

[Maintenance]  UPDATE: Selected agents have been contacted. To access the questionnaire, see:

Life Insurance Agent Questionnaire - Reopened [New Window]

 

Life Insurance Product Suitability Review (point-of-sale)

 
In the wake of the financial services crisis, governments and regulators around the world are concerned with knowing that consumers are receiving the appropriate levels of information and advice when they are purchasing financial services or products.
 
The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO), as recently published in its Statement of Priorities, is conducting a review to understand and assess the process that life insurance agents use at the point of sale in making suitable product recommendations to prospective policyholders. The review will also consider the actions that life insurance agents are taking to support the financial literacy of their clients. This is primarily an information gathering exercise for FSCO.
 

Stakeholder Consultations

 
During summer 2013, FSCO consulted with industry stakeholders in order to obtain a clear understanding of the best practices for determining product suitability during a typical individual life sales process with a client. FSCO also considered stakeholders’ views on the best approaches to assess what occurs at the point of sale.

FSCO will be launching an online questionnaire on October 15, 2013, to gather information on practices of life insurance agents at the point of sale.

 
The questionnaire is being developed based on the information received during the consultative process, as well as the industry practices described in the document The Approach: Servicing the Client Through Needs-Based Sales Practices [New Window]. The Approach was developed collaboratively by Advocis, the Canadian Association of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies (CAILBA), the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA) and Independent Financial Brokers (IFB). 

 

You may be selected to complete a mandatory questionnaire

 
You may be selected as part of a random or targeted sample of life insurance agents to complete the questionnaire. Selected agents will be notified via email on October 11, 2013. It is important to note that if you are selected, completion of the questionnaire is mandatory, pursuant to Section 442.3 of the Ontario Insurance Act [New Window] “Duty to Provide Information” and the selected life insurance agents must complete the questionnaire by November 14, 2013.  Failure to respond could result in regulatory action.
 
Furthermore, FSCO will also be selecting a random sample of agents for follow up assurance visits, in order to verify the reliability of the information provided by agents in response to the questionnaire.  Therefore, it will be important to retain any material or records you used to support your questionnaire responses. Selected agents will be notified via email by November 30, 2013.
 
FSCO anticipates your cooperation and thanks those that have participated in the consultative process.

Questionnaire de la CSFO à venir sur l’assurance vie

[Maintenance] MISE À JOUR : Les agents sélectionnés ont été contactés. Pour accéder le questionnaire, veuillez voir : Questionnaire pour les agents d’assurance vie - rouvert [New Window].

 

Examen de la pertinence des produits d’assurance vie (point de vente)

 
Dans le contexte actuel de crise des services financiers, les gouvernements et les législateurs du monde entier sont préoccupés par la pertinence des renseignements et des conseils que les consommateurs reçoivent lorsqu’ils se procurent des produits ou des services financiers.
 
Comme elle l’a récemment annoncé dans un énoncé des priorités, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) examine la question pour mieux comprendre et évaluer les méthodes utilisées au point de vente par les agents d’assurance pour faire des recommandations aux souscripteurs potentiels. Cet examen portera aussi sur les mesures prises par les agents d’assurance pour favoriser le perfectionnement des connaissances de leurs clients en matière de finances. Pour la CSFO, il s’agit principalement d’un exercice de collecte de renseignements.

 

Consultations auprès des intervenants

 

Au cours de l’été 2013, la CSFO a consulté les intervenants du secteur pour obtenir un portrait complet des pratiques exemplaires en matière d’évaluation de la pertinence des produits durant le processus de vente type d’un produit d’assurance vie individuelle à un client. La CSFO a également tenu compte de l’opinion des intervenants quant aux meilleures façons d’évaluer ce qui se passe au point de vente.
 

La CSFO mettra en ligne, le 15 octobre 2013, un questionnaire en vue de recueillir des renseignements sur les pratiques des agents d’assurance vie au point de vente.

 
Ce questionnaire a été construit en fonction des renseignements recueillis durant le processus de consultation ainsi que des pratiques de l’industrie décrites dans le document Des pratiques commerciales axées sur les besoins des clients : l’approche de l’industrie [New Window]. Cette approche a été élaborée conjointement par Advocis, la Canadian Association of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies (CAILBA), l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes (ACCAP) et les Courtiers indépendants en sécurité financière (CISF).
 

Vous pourriez devoir répondre à un questionnaire

 
Vous pourriez être choisi pour faire partie d’un échantillon aléatoire ou ciblé d’agents d’assurance vie qui devront répondre au questionnaire. Les agents choisis seront avisés par courriel le 11 octobre 2013. Il importe de préciser que les agents choisis ont l’obligation de répondre au questionnaire aux termes de l’article 442.3 de la Loi sur les assurances de l’Ontario [New Window] (« Obligation de fournir les renseignements demandés »), et qu’ils doivent le faire d’ici le 14 novembre 2013, sans quoi ils s’exposent à des sanctions réglementaires.

 

La CSFO choisira en outre un échantillon aléatoire d’agents qui seront soumis à des visites de suivi afin de vérifier la fiabilité des renseignements qu’ils auront fournis en répondant au questionnaire. Il est donc important de conserver tous les documents et dossiers que vous avez utilisés pour répondre au questionnaire. Les agents choisis seront avisés par courriel au plus tard le 30 novembre 2013.

 

La CSFO compte sur votre collaboration et remercie tous ceux qui ont participé au processus de consultation.

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.