Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Shopping for Travel Medical Insurance

topAre you planning to travel outside of Canada on vacation or business? Considering purchasing supplementary travel medical insurance? This guide will give you the information you need to help you select the travel medical insurance plan that’s right for you.
 

 
 

What Is Supplementary Travel Medical Insurance?

 
Travel medical insurance is designed to reimburse you for emergency hospital/medical expenses incurred, over and above those the Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP) will cover, while travelling outside of Canada.
 
While supplementary travel medical insurance policies vary greatly from insurance company to insurance company, most generally include coverage for the following emergency health care services :
 
  • hospital room accommodation,
  • incidental expenses related to your hospital stay,
  • outpatient services,
  • licensed physician’s fees,
  • prescriptions and/or medical, therapeutic or diagnostic treatments prescribed by a licensed physician,
  • medical appliances (e.g., splints, casts, crutches, canes, slings, trusses, walkers and the temporary rental of a wheelchair) when prescribed by a licensed physician,
  • emergency dental care, and
  • ambulance and air ambulance medical evacuation services.  
Note: Check for deductible and co-payment clauses. Some travel medical insurance policies contain deductible or co-payment clauses that require you to pay part of the costs of any emergency medical treatment you receive. For example, if your policy contains a $250 deductible clause, you’ll have to pay the first $250 towards any claim. If your policy contains a co-payment clause, it means that you are expected to pay a certain percentage of your medical bills, generally between 10 and 20%.
 
Be aware of possible restrictions and limitations. See "What does travel medical insurance not cover?" for more information.
 
 

Without Supplementary Travel Medical Insurance, You Could Be Exposed to Considerable Financial Obligations

 
Illness can strike and accidents can happen, even during a very short business or recreational trip. Any time you leave Canada without supplementary travel medical insurance – even just for a few hours – you’re taking a risk.
 
While your Ontario health card entitles you to certain out-of-country emergency health care services2 when outside Canada, this coverage is limited.
 
If you are injured or become ill while travelling outside Canada and do not have supplementary travel medical insurance, you will be responsible for paying for those emergency health care services that are not otherwise covered by OHIP.
 
The same rule applies to your young family members should they need out-of-country medical care on a vacation or school trip.
 
It is, therefore, wise to consider purchasing supplementary travel medical insurance coverage before you leave.
 
Emergency health services are those given in connection with an acute, unexpected condition, illness, disease or injury that arises outside Canada and requires immediate treatment.
 
 

What Does Travel Medical Insurance Not Cover?

 
When comparing different travel medical insurance plans, it is important to be aware of what the different policies do not cover. For example:
 
Pre-existing Conditions
 
A pre-existing condition is a health problem that exists before departure.
 
Most insurance companies will not pay for any emergency expenses related to a medical condition diagnosed by a licensed physician if at any time in the three to four months before you depart on your trip, this medical condition has not been stable, or if at any time in the last six to eight months before your departure, you have been prescribed or taken medication, or received treatment for this medical condition.
 
Check with your physician about any health problems, previous treatment, and medication you should mention to the insurance company, especially if your medication has changed recently.
 
Medical Exclusions or Exemptions
 
Some policies do not cover medical emergency costs in specific situations that are identified in clauses dealing with medical exclusions or exemptions. Such clauses may apply to the costs of emergency medical care related to:
 
  • self-inflicted injuries, suicide or attempted suicide,
  • pregnancy, childbirth or complications of either, occurring in the last trimester,
  • your participation in contact sports or other risky activities such as scuba diving, sky diving, hang-gliding and mountain climbing,
  • drug and alcohol abuse,
  • your direct involvement in a criminal act,
  • an act of war (declared or not) of foreign enemies or rebellion, or
  • travel to certain countries.
Non-emergencies
 
Keep in mind that most travel medical insurance policies will not pay for:
 
  • continued treatment or follow-up care after your medical emergency has been stabilized, or any care that can safely wait until you return to Ontario,
  • routine health care,
  • elective surgery, or
  • investigative or diagnostic services.
Exact length of time may vary from insurance company to insurance company.
 
Where a written formal notice was issued by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade of the Canadian Government, advising Canadians not to travel to that country, region or city.
 
 

Shop Around for the Policy That Best Meets Your Needs

 
If you decide to buy supplementary travel medical insurance, take some time to shop around for the policy that best meets your needs. Consider the following:
 
  • Policies vary greatly from company to company and from year to year. Your health, age, the medication you take, the length of your trip and destination are all factors that affect the price of a policy and the types of medical costs it will cover. If you’re 70 years of age or older, or have any high-risk health problems, you may have to find an insurance company willing to write a travel medical insurance policy tailored to your situation.
  •  
  • You’ll find that different insurance companies have different clauses for pre-existing conditions, medical exclusions or exemptions and non-emergencies. Read each policy you are offered carefully; make sure you understand each insurance company’s terms and definitions. Ask questions if you’re not sure exactly what a term means, how it applies to your medical history or how it affects the coverage offered to you.
  •  
  • When comparing the travel medical insurance policies offered by different insurance companies, do not just look at price. Make sure that the policy you choose offers the coverage you need. For example, a low-cost policy may be less of a bargain if it limits coverage of medical emergencies to a maximum of $25,000.
 

Travel Medical Insurance Checklist

 
Here are some key questions to ask when shopping for supplementary travel medical insurance:
 
  • Do I already have sufficient coverage through my credit cards, employee benefits, etc.?
  • What is the maximum each policy will pay above Ontario medical insurance limits?
  • Is there an age limit or medical criteria for who can apply?
  • Does age affect the kind of coverage I can expect?
  • How does the policy define a pre-existing condition? Will a pre-existing condition of mine affect my coverage?
  • Are there any medical exclusions that apply to me?
  • Will I have to pay a deductible? If so, how much?
  • Does the policy contain a co-payment clause? What percentage of medical expenses will I have to pay?
  • Will the insurance company pay the hospital or physician directly? Or will I have to pay the full amount myself, and then be reimbursed later by the company?
  • Does the policy exclude any sports or activities I plan to do on my trip?
  • Do I need approval from the company before seeking medical treatment?
  • Does the company offering the policy provide a toll-free, 24-hour help line that I can call in an emergency?
  • What if I want to stay away longer than originally planned? Can I extend my policy to cover me for the extra time I’m out of Canada, and how do I make the necessary arrangements?
  • Once I have signed a policy, can any further changes be made at the insurance company’s discretion without advising me? For example, can the company revise the policy later and reduce my coverage?
  • What is the insurance company’s procedure for handling complaints?
 

Where to Obtain Travel Medical Insurance

 
You may want to consult a licensed insurance agent or broker about the types of travel medical insurance products available to you. For a list of insurance companies that offer travel medical insurance, visit the Ombudservice for Life and Health Insurance [New Window] website.
 
Note: Before purchasing travel medical insurance, check to make sure you don’t already have sufficient coverage through your:
 
  • employer, union or professional association,
  • credit card,
  • bank or trust company "gold" card, or
  • home insurance policy.
 

What Do You Need to Put on Your Application?

 
The policy application will ask questions about your age, health, medical history and travel plans. It is important to provide the insurance company with full, accurate information. If you provide incomplete or inaccurate information, you may lower your premium, but your claim may be denied later on.
 
You may want to ask your physician to review the health and medical history sections of your application to ensure you include any health problems, previous treatments, and/or medications that the insurance company should know about.
 
Note: Non-disclosure or misrepresentation of the facts on your part, either knowingly or unknowingly, could invalidate the policy.
 
 

How Can You Make a Claim?

 
Under some policies, you pay the hospital first, and then the insurance company reimburses you. Other companies pay the hospital directly. Your policy will tell you which procedure to follow.
 
Most policies set a time limit for submitting claims. Submit your claim and supporting receipts (keeping copies) as soon as possible.
 
 

How Do You Get Treatment?

 
Your insurance company will give you instructions on how to get treatment, along with a toll-free number to a service centre. The service centre’s role is to manage your medical care. If you have an emergency, call the centre’s toll-free number immediately for assistance and directions.
 
The centre has a roster of preferred hospitals and physicians and will give you an appropriate referral. Even so, be sure to get authorization for any medical care or treatments proposed to you – your insurance company may not recognize some diagnostic, medical and laboratory procedures as "emergency" benefits. If you don’t know whether your policy will cover a particular medical treatment, call your service centre before getting the treatment. Be sure to get detailed receipts for all your medical care from physicians and hospitals.
 
 

Don’t Forget

 
  • Take your travel medical policy with you when you leave Canada.
  • Keep your insurance company’s phone number and your Ontario health card with you.
  • Your travel insurance covers you for a defined period. Don’t start your trip early or extend it past the dates specified by the policy.
 

If You Have a Complaint

 
If you are not satisfied with how your claim is being handled, there are steps you can take. Improved measures have been put in place to help consumers get their insurance complaints resolved more quickly. Among them is the establishment of a Complaint Handling Protocol by all insurance companies licensed to operate in Ontario. How the complaint process works varies from company to company. Your company representative (agent, broker, claims adjuster or customer service representative) will be able to provide you with specific information about the procedures to follow should you have a complaint.
 
In addition, each company has a Consumer Complaint Officer who oversees the complaint handling process. The Consumer Complaint Officer is an employee of your insurance company responsible for ensuring that your complaint is addressed. If you are unable to obtain information about the protocol from your company representative, or if you are having difficulty obtaining a response outlining your company’s position, then you should contact your company’s Consumer Complaint Officer.
 
For your convenience, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) has compiled a list of all company Consumer Complaint Officers. If you are unable to find the name of your company’s Consumer Complaint Officer on this list, you should direct your complaint to the Chief Executive Officer of your insurance company, or contact FSCO at (416) 250-7250, Toll-free: 1-800-668-0128.
 
If you are unable to resolve your complaint with your insurance company, your company is obligated to provide you with a letter stating its final position on your complaint, as well as provide you with the name and details of an independent ombudsman organization that can review the complaint.
 
If you decide to write to the independent ombudsman organization referred to in your company’s final position letter, make sure to describe your complaint and why you disagree with the company’s position. Remember to include your company’s letter and any documentation that relates to your complaint.
 
Upon receipt of your unresolved complaint, a Complaint Officer at the independent ombudsman organization will review and respond to your complaint.
 
 

For More Information

 
For more information about your OHIP benefits when you are away from Ontario, visit the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care [New Window] website or call 1-800-268-1154, TTY 1-800-387-5559.

À la recherche d'une assurance médicale de voyage

top
Comptez-vous aller à l’étranger en vacances ou en voyage d’affaires? Envisagez-vous de prendre une assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire? Ce guide vous donnera les renseignements nécessaires pour vous aider à choisir le régime d’assurance médicale de voyage qui vous convient.
 

 
 
 

À quoi sert l’assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire?

 
L’objet de l’assurance médicale de voyage est de vous faire rembourser les frais médicaux ou d’hospitalisation d’urgence que vous engagez pendant votre voyage hors du Canada et qui ne sont pas couverts par l’assurance-santé de l’Ontario (OHIP)
 
Les polices d’assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire variant beaucoup d’une compagnie d’assurance à une autre, mais la plupart d’entre elles couvrent les services de soins de santé d’urgence ci-dessous1 :
 
  • chambre d’hôpital;
  • frais accessoires liés à votre séjour à l’hôpital;
  • services de consultations externes;
  • honoraires de médecins agréés;
  • ordonnances et/ou traitements médicaux, thérapeutiques ou diagnostiques prescrits par un médecin agréé;
  • appareils médicaux (p. ex., attelles, plâtres, béquilles, cannes, écharpes, bandages herniaires, marchettes, location temporaire d’un fauteuil roulant) prescrits par un médecin agréé;
  • soins dentaires d’urgence;
  • transport par ambulance et évacuation médicale par ambulance aérienne.
Remarque : Renseignez-vous sur les clauses prévoyant une franchise et une quote-part. Certaines polices d’assurance médicale de voyage ont des clauses de franchise et de quote-part stipulant que vous devez payer une partie des coûts de tout traitement médical d’urgence que vous recevez. Par exemple, si votre police d’assurance comporte une clause prévoyant une franchise de 250 $, vous devrez débourser 250 $ sur les frais dont vous demandez le remboursement. Si votre police comporte une clause de quote-part, vous devrez payer un certain pourcentage de vos frais médicaux, d’habitude compris entre 10 et 20 %.
 
1 Renseignez-vous sur les restrictions et limitations possibles. Reportez-vous à la section « Quelles sont les exclusions dans une assurance médicale de voyage ? » pour en savoir plus.
 
 

Sans assurance médicale de voyage, vous prenez des risques financiers considérables

 
Même durant un très court voyage d’affaires ou d’agrément, vous pourriez tomber malade ou être victime d’un accident. Chaque fois que vous quittez le Canada sans assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire – même si ce n’est que pendant quelques heures – vous prenez un risque. Votre carte Santé de l’Ontario vous donne droit à certains services2 de soins de santé d’urgence à l’extérieur du Canada, mais ce type de couverture est limité.
 
Si vous êtes blessé ou tombez malade durant un voyage à l’étranger et que vous n’avez pas d’assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire, vous êtes responsable du paiement des services de soins de santé d’urgencequi ne sont pas couverts par l’assurance-santé de l’Ontario.
 
La même règle s’applique aux jeunes membres de votre famille s’ils ont besoin de soins médicaux durant leurs vacances ou un voyage scolaire à l’étranger.
 
Il serait donc prudent de votre part de souscrire une assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire avant de quitter le pays.
  
2 Les services de soins d’urgence sont fournis pour soigner un état de santé grave, imprévu, une maladie ou une blessure qui se produit hors du Canada et qui nécessite un traitement immédiat.
 
 

Quelles sont les exclusions dans une assurance médicale de voyage?

 
Lorsque vous comparez des polices d’assurance médicale de voyage, il est important que vous teniez compte de ce qui n’est pas couvert. Par exemple :

État de santé préexistant

Un état de santé préexistant est un problème de santé qui existait avant le départ en voyage.
 
La plupart des compagnies d’assurance ne remboursent pas les frais d’urgence engagés en rapport avec un état de santé qui a été diagnostiqué par un médecin agréé si, durant les trois à quatre mois3 précédant votre voyage, cet état médical n’a pas été stable ou, si durant les six à huit4 mois précédant votre départ, vous avez obtenu une ordonnance, pris un médicament ou reçu un traitement relatifs à cet état.
 
Demandez conseil à votre médecin pour déterminer si vous devez signaler à la compagnie d’assurance un problème de santé, un traitement antérieur ou la prise d’un médicament en particulier, surtout si vous avez changé de médicament récemment.

Exclusions ou exemptions médicales

Certaines polices ne couvrent pas le coût d’une urgence médicale si elle est liée à des situations précises indiquées dans les clauses d’exclusion ou d’exemption. Ce type de clause peut s’appliquer au coût des soins médicaux d’urgence administrés en rapport avec ce qui suit :
 
  • des blessures auto-infligées, le suicide ou toute tentative de suicide;
  • la grossesse ou l’accouchement ou les complications qui pourraient en découler, au cours du dernier trimestre;
  • votre participation à des sports de contact ou à d’autres activités à risqué comme la plongée sous-marine, le parachutisme sportif, le vol en deltaplane et l’alpinisme;
  • la consommation de drogue ou l’abus d’alcool;
  • votre implication directe dans un acte criminel;
  • une guerre (déclarée ou non), les actes d’un ennemi étranger ou une rébellion;
  • le voyage dans certains pays.5

Soins non urgents

Sachez que la plupart des polices d’assurance médicale de voyage ne paient pas pour les soins suivants :
 
  • les traitements continus ou soins de suivi une fois que l’urgence médicale a été stabilisée, ou les soins que vous pouvez reporter sans danger à votre retour en Ontario;
  • les soins de santé réguliers;
  • les interventions chirurgicales non urgentes;
  • les services exploratoires ou diagnostiques.
3, 4 La durée exacte peut varier d’une compagnie d’assurance à l’autre.
 
5 Dans les cas où le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada a émis un avis officiel par écrit demandant aux ressortissants Canadiens de ne pas voyager dans ces pays, régions ou villes.
 
 

Faites une recherche pour trouver la police d’assurance qui vous convient le mieux

 
Si vous avez décidé de souscrire une assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire, prenez le temps de comparer plusieurs polices d’assurance pour trouver celle qui répond le mieux à vos besoins. Voici quelques points à considérer :
 
  • Les polices d’assurance varient beaucoup d’une compagnie à l’autre et d’une année à l’autre. Votre santé, votre âge, les médicaments que vous prenez, la durée de votre voyage et votre destination sont tous des facteurs qui entrent en ligne de compte dans la détermination du coût de votre assurance et des frais médicaux qu’elle couvre. Si vous avez 70 ans ou plus ou si vous avez des problèmes de santé qui vous classent dans un groupe à risque élevé, vous devrez peut-être chercher un assureur qui accepte de vous offrir une police d’assurance médicale de voyage adaptée à votre situation.
  • Vous verrez que les clauses définissant les états préexistants, les exclusions ou exemptions médicales et les urgences varient selon les compagnies d’assurance. Lisez attentivement chaque police d’assurance qui vous est offerte et assurez-vous de bien en comprendre toutes les modalités et définitions. Demandez une explication si vous ne comprenez pas le sens exact d’une condition de l’assurance ou comment elle s’applique à vos antécédents médicaux ou encore quel est son effet sur la couverture qui vous est offerte.
  • Lorsque vous comparez plusieurs polices d’assurance offertes par différentes compagnies d’assurance, ne vous contentez pas d’une comparaison de prix. Assurez-vous que la police que vous choisirez offre la couverture qui correspond à vos besoins. Par exemple, une police d’assurance qui ne coûte pas cher n’est pas vraiment une bonne aubaine si elle limite les urgences médicales à un plafond de 25 000 $.
 

Liste de contrôle de l’assurance médicale de voyage

 
Voici des exemples de questions à poser lorsque vous êtes à la recherche d’une assurance médicale de voyage supplémentaire :
 
  • Ai-je déjà une couverture suffisante par l’entremise de ma carte de crédit, des avantages sociaux offerts par mon employeur, etc.?
  • Quel est le maximum que chaque police d’assurance paiera au-dessus du plafond de l’assurance-santé de l’Ontario?
  • Y a-t-il une limite d’âge ou des critères médicaux à satisfaire pour être assuré?
  • Mon âge servira-t-il à déterminer le type de la couverture qui me sera
    accordée?
  • Quelle est la définition d’un état de santé préexistant selon ma police d’assurance? Mon état de santé préexistant aura-t-il une incidence sur ma couverture?
  • La police d’assurance contient-elle des exclusions médicales qui s’appliqueraient à moi?
  • Devrai-je payer une franchise ? Dans l’affirmative, de combien est-elle?
  • La police comporte-t-elle une clause de quote-part? Quel pourcentage des frais médicaux dois-je payer?
  • La compagnie d’assurance paiera-t-elle l’hôpital ou le médecin directement? Devrai-je payer l’intégralité de ces frais moi-même et me faire rembourser ensuite par la compagnie d’assurance?
  • La police d’assurance exclut-elle des sports ou des activités que j’ai l’intention de pratiquer durant mon voyage?
  • Dois-je obtenir l’approbation de la compagnie d’assurance avant de recevoir un traitement médical?
  • La compagnie d’assurance offre-t-elle une ligne d’assistance sans frais 24 h sur 24 que je peux appeler en cas d’urgence?
  • Que se passera-t-il si je décide de prolonger mon voyage? Puis-je prolonger mon assurance pour qu’elle me couvre pendant toute la durée de mon séjour à l’étranger et comment dois-je m’y prendre pour le faire?
  • Une fois que j’ai souscrit ma police d’assurance, la compagnie d’assurance peut-elle, à sa seule discrétion, y apporter des changements sans m’en aviser? Par exemple, la compagnie peut-elle modifier la police et réduire ma couverture?
  • Quelle est la procédure de la compagnie d’assurance en ce qui concerne les plaintes?
 

Où souscrire une assurance médicale de voyage

 
Vous pouvez consulter un agent ou un courtier agréé pour connaître les types d’assurance médicale de voyage disponibles. Pour obtenir la liste des compagnies d’assurance qui offrent l’assurance médicale de voyage, visitez le site Web de l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes (ACCAP) [New Window].
 
Remarque : Avant de souscrire une assurance médicale de voyage, vérifies si vous n’avez pas déjà une couverture suffisante par l’entremise de votre :
 
  • employeur, syndicat ou association professionnelle;
  • carte de crédit;
  • carte « Or » de votre banque ou société de fiducie;
  • police d’assurance-habitation.
 

Quels renseignements dois-je indiquer dans la demande d’assurance?

 
La demande d’assurance contiendra des questions sur votre âge, votre état de santé, vos antécédents médicaux et vos plans de voyage. Il est important que vous donniez des renseignements complets et exacts sinon, vous réussirez peut-être à réduire la prime à payer, mais votre demande de règlement pourrait vous être refusée plus tard.
 
Vous pourriez demander à votre médecin de passer en revue les sections de la demande concernant votre état de santé et vos antécédents médicaux afin de vous assurer que vous avez bien indiqué tous les problèmes de santé, les traitements antérieurs et les médicaments qui doivent être signalés à la compagnie d’assurance.
 
Remarque : Ne pas dévoiler des faits ou donner de faux renseignements, sciemment ou pas, pourrait entraîner l’annulation de la police.
 
 

Comment puis-je présenter une demande de règlement?

 
Selon le type de police d’assurance, il se peut que vous deviez payer l’hôpital en premier, puis vous faire rembourser par la compagnie d’assurance. Certaines compagnies  d’assurance paient directement l’hôpital. Lisez dans votre police la procédure que vous devez suivre.
 
La plupart des polices d’assurance imposent une échéance pour soumettre les demandes de règlement. Envoyez le plus tôt possible votre demande de règlement accompagnée des justificatifs (en gardant une copie pour vos dossiers).
 
 

Comment obtenir un traitement?

 
Votre compagnie d’assurance vous expliquera la marche à suivre pour obtenir un traitement; elle vous fournira aussi un numéro sans frais pour appeler un centre de service qui assurera la gestion des soins médicaux dont vous avez besoin. En cas d’urgence, composez le numéro sans frais du centre pour obtenir immédiatement de l’aide et des directives sur la marche à suivre.
 
Le centre a une liste d’hôpitaux et de médecins approuvés, et on vous orientera de manière appropriée. N’oubliez pas cependant d’obtenir une autorisation de votre compagnie d’assurance avant de recevoir les soins médicaux ou le traitement, car il se peut qu’elle ne considère pas certains diagnostics, procédures médicales ou analyses comme étant des services d’urgence. Si vous n’êtes pas sûr que votre police d’assurance couvrira un traitement médical particulier, appelez le centre de service pour vous renseigner avant de recevoir les soins. Assurez-vous d’obtenir des reçus des médecins et des hôpitaux pour tous les soins médicaux qui vous été dispensés.
 
 

N’oubliez pas

 
  • Emportez votre police d’assurance médicale de voyage avec vous lorsque vous quittez le Canada.
  • Conservez sur vous le numéro de téléphone de votre compagnie d’assurance et votre carte Santé de l’Ontario.
  • Votre assurance voyage vous couvre pendant une période déterminée. Ne commencez pas votre voyage plus tôt et ne le prolongez pas au-delà de la date inscrite sur votre police.
 

En cas de plainte

 
Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de la façon dont votre demande de règlement a été traitée, vous avez plusieurs voies de recours. De meilleures mesures ont été mises en place pour aider le consommateur à résoudre plus rapidement tout différend concernant son assurance. Le protocole de traitement des plaintes, adopté par toutes les compagnies d’assurance autorisées à exercer leurs activités en Ontario, fait partie de ces mesures. La démarche pour formuler une plainte varie d’une compagnie à l’autre. Le représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance (agent, courtier, expert en réclamations ou agent du service à la clientèle) vous expliquera en détail la marche à suivre si vous voulez déposer une plainte.
 
De plus, il y a dans chaque compagnie un agent aux plaintes des consommateurs qui supervise le processus de traitement des plaintes. Cette personne est un employé de votre compagnie d’assurance dont le rôle est de s’assurer que votre plainte est traitée. Si vous n’arrivez pas à vous renseigner sur le protocole de traitement des plaintes auprès du représentant de votre compagnie d’assurance ou si vous avez des difficultés à obtenir une réponse expliquant la position de votre compagnie d’assurance, vous pouvez communiquer avec l’agent aux plaintes des consommateurs de votre compagnie d’assurance.
 
Pour vous faciliter la tâche, la CSFO a dressé la liste des agents aux plaintes des consommateurs de toutes les compagnies d’assurance. Si vous n’y trouvez pas le nom de l’agent aux plaintes des consommateurs de votre compagnie d’assurance, adressez votre plainte directement au chef de la direction de votre compagnie d’assurance ou appelez la CSFO au 416- 250-7250, numéro sans frais : 1-800-668-0128.
 
Si vous ne pouvez pas résoudre votre plainte avec votre compagnie d’assurance, celle-ci doit vous fournir une lettre expliquant sa position finale à l’égard de votre plainte et elle doit aussi vous remettre les coordonnées d’un organisme de conciliation indépendant qui examinera votre plainte.
 
Si vous décidez d’écrire à cet organisme de conciliation indépendant, assurez-vous de décrire votre plainte et d’expliquer pourquoi vous contestez la position de la compagnie d’assurance. N’oubliez pas de joindre la lettre de votre compagnie d’assurance et tout autre document concernant votre plainte.
 
Dès réception de votre plainte non résolue, un agent de l’organisme de conciliation indépendant étudiera votre dossier et y donnera suite.
 
 

Pour en savoir plus

 
Pour de plus amples renseignements sur vos prestations de l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario lorsque vous êtes à l'extérieur de la province, consultez le site Web du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée [New Window] ou appelez le 1-800-268-1154 ou le 1-800-387-5559 (ATS).


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

hotline-fr.jpg
Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.