Update on Regulatory and Administrative Matters Affecting Ontario's Life Agents

 

Bulletin

No. LH-01/01
 
- Life and Health
[bulletinToTheAttentionOf]

To the attention of Province of Ontario Level I and Level II agents

This bulletin provides a general update on various topics that are of interest to insurance agents licensed to transact the business of insurance in Ontario.

To distribute this bulletin to all Level I agents in Ontario, we will be sending an appropriate number of copies to the attention of chief executive officers/chief agents or marketing managers of life insurance companies with a written request to distribute the bulletin to their Level I agents. To reach Level II agents, we will be mailing a copy to each agent.

The information in this bulletin is organized under the following headings:

  • CISRO Life Agent Education Committee;

  • Proficiency Requirements for Financial Planners;

  • Accommodation for Disability;

  • Enforcement actions;

  • Fee Listing;

  • Website Information;

  • Licensing Reference Guide.

CISRO Life Agent Education Committee

In the FSCO Bulletin released in December, 1999, a status report was provided on the work that had been undertaken by the Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organizations (CISRO) to develop a pre-licensing training course for new life agents. This work continues to move forward.

The curriculum design document was endorsed by both CISRO and the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR). The curriculum design document has been distributed to industry stakeholders for comment and a number of responses have been received supporting the approach and the content of the document.

There is a two phase approval process for providers to develop and deliver the Life License Qualifying Program.

A successful meeting was held in Toronto on October 5, 2000, for those parties interested in becoming accredited as a course provider. There were more than 50 people in attendance with a wide range of experience and knowledge in the design and delivery of education. At this meeting the Life Agent Education Committee outlined the provider selection process.

The CISRO Life Agent Education Committee received 13 Requests for Certification. The next step in the accreditation process is the interviews with the selection committee. These interviews began on December 13, 2000. It is expected that the provider approval process will be completed by January 15, 2001.

Once the approved providers have been chosen and notified, Phase Two - Program Approval will commence.

The CISRO Life Education Committee anticipates a transition to the new system commencing in the later part of 2001.

FSCO will continue to provide status updates on this project as they become available.

Information, questions and answers are posted regularly to both the FSCO website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca and the Alberta Insurance Council website at www.abcouncil.ab.ca

Proficiency Requirements for Financial Planners

At the same time as the national consultation on a Life Agent Proficiency Model was underway, FSCO, the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), and other securities and insurance regulators in Canada were working on Proficiency Requirements for Financial Planners, striving towards a goal of consistency and harmonization in the marketplace. Since FSCO's last bulletin on the topic (G-10/99), there have been a number of new developments.

The proposed rule requires that persons wanting to hold themselves out as financial planners pass the Financial Planner Proficiency Examination (FPPE); have two years of financial services industry experience; and commit to an approved continuing education program. Based on the feedback received during the consultation period, recommendations to grandfather graduates of pre-1995 Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) courses and clarification of the meaning of who is covered by the expression "provides" a financial plan, were added to the rule.

A pilot test for the FPPE was held October 2, 2000, across participating jurisdictions. 178 volunteers, 78 of whom were from Ontario, tested two different versions of the exam. Comments were generally positive. Statistical methods will be used to analyse the results of the practice exam in conjunction with the volunteer comments.

In Ontario, simultaneous implementation of the standard for people registered by the OSC and FSCO requires that a rule be made under the Securities Act and a Regulation be filed under the Insurance Act. Both regulators are attempting to coordinate the rule and regulation. Government needs to approve both in order for change the to come into effect. At such time as approval may be given, an announcement will be made on FSCO's website and a bulletin issued to agents.

When the rule and regulation are in place, the exam will be provided through a joint industry group. Details of how one can take the exam will be announced at that time. As stated earlier, the rule provides for some grandfathering of persons who have successfully completed certain defined courses. This information is available in the consultation paper or the draft rule. Those persons not grandfathered will need two years licensed experience in the financial services business in the last five years, and will have to write and pass the exam. It is anticipated that the finalized rule will be available shortly. Once available, the rule will be accessible via both FSCO's website and the OSC's website.

Accommodation for Disability

Agents should be aware that FSCO endeavours to accommodate those persons with an ongoing disability that prevents them from completing continuing education or examination requirements in the same fashion as people without disabilities. Accommodation can mean providing additional time to complete the requirement, or some modification in the way the requirement is met.

Disabilities are not grounds for a waiver of a requirement. Accommodations for persons with disabilities is a requirement of Ontario law, and such accommodations for persons with disabilities does not establish a new standard for persons without disabilities. Persons seeking accommodation have an obligation to advise FSCO as early as it is known that an accommodation is necessary. Further information can be obtained by calling any of the following people:

Gil Boeckler (416) 226-7893
Lesley Lesch (416) 590-7183
Sylvia Als (416) 590-7552
Michèle Dandelé (416) 590-7255


Please note that a telephone discussion does not represent notice of a request for accommodation. Requests must be
made in writing to the attention of the Senior Manager, Licensing and Analysis. Each case will be assessed on its
individual merits. As in all other communication with FSCO, any false statements are subject to prosecution or
disciplinary actions.

Enforcement Actions

Over the past 12 months (Oct 1/99 - Sept 30/00), FSCO has taken 196 enforcement actions. This represents a significant amount of enforcement activity. The chart below details the type of activity taken.

Type of Enforcement Action
Number of Cases
-
-
Letters of censure
93
-
-
Licence conditions via Minutes of Settlement
11
-
-
Provincial Offences Court convictions and fines
28
-
-
Cease and Desist orders
2
-
-
Revocation of sponsorship
14
-
-
Licence surrenders
6
-
-
Licence suspensions
15
-
-
Licence revocations
27
-
-
Total:
196

In addition to enforcement actions, FSCO conducts ongoing enforcement monitoring throughout the year. Over the
past 12 months, there have been 5,497 instances of enforcement monitoring. The chart below details the types of
monitoring that were undertaken.

Monitoring Activities
Number of Occurrences
-
-
Continuing education audits
753
-
-
Police criminal record checks
4,571
-
-
Complaint reviews
173
-
-
Total:
5,497
- -


Full details concerning FSCO's enforcement actions can be found in FSCO's quarterly monitoring and enforcement
bulletin. The bulletins are available on the FSCO website.

Fee listing

Individual insurance agent's licence
(including accident & sickness for life, new or renewal)
(2 year licence)
$150.00
-
-
Corporate insurance agent's licence (new or renewal)
(2 year licence)
$400.00
-
-
Change in status to Level II licence (mid term *)
no charge
-
-
Change in status to Level II licence (at time of licence renewal)
(2 year licence)
$150.00
-
-
Renewal Fee - All individual insurance agent licences
(2 year licence)
$150.00
-
-
Renewal Fee - All corporate insurance agent licences
(2 year licence)
$400.00
-
-
Transfer of sponsorship within licensing period
$ 50.00
-
-
Duplicate Licence
$ 25.00
-
-
Name Change
$ 25.00
-
-
Certificate of Authority
$ 25.00


Most of these fees have not increased in the last 10 years.

Website information

Agents should be aware that FSCO's website, www.fsco.gov.on.ca , contains a comprehensive range of information about licensing and new initiatives.

While the website contains a large amount of information relevant to the many kinds of financial services FSCO regulates, agents will likely be especially interested in the following sections of the licensing portion of our website dealing with:
_____________
* no extension of licence term

A full list of agents licensed in Ontario,
Listing of agents who have been disciplined – see "Enforcement Action",
Listing of corporate agencies,
Rules of Practice and Procedure for hearings before an Advisory Board,
Licensing reference guide,
Licensed insurance companies in Ontario,
Life agent proficiency model, and
Proficiency requirements for financial planners.

If agents wish to obtain copies of any forms for the licensing process, they can visit FSCO's website and download as many as are needed.

Licensing Reference Guide

Some updates have been made to the Licensing Reference Guide. Revised information will be reflected on the FSCO website in the next few weeks. Updated pages may be printed by accessing the link provided via the website.



Dina Palozzi
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

January 17, 2001

Le point sur la réglementation et les questions administratives qui touchent les agents d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario

 

Bulletin

No. L&H-01/01
Vie et Santé
 
À l’attention des agents de niveau I et de niveau II
de la province de l’Ontario

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

Dans ce bulletin, nous présentons les informations les plus récentes sur les différents sujets qui intéressent les agents d’assurance agréés en Ontario.

 

Afin que le bulletin soit distribué à tous les agents de niveau I en Ontario, nous en adressons un nombre approprié d’exemplaires au chef de la direction, à l’agent principal ou au directeur de la commercialisation des compagnies d’assurance-vie en lui demandant de le distribuer à ses agents de niveau I. Pour le transmettre aux agents de niveau II, nous en postons un exemplaire à chaque agent.

 

Voici les questions traitées dans ce bulletin :

 

  • Comité de formation en assurances de personnes de la CISRO
  • Exigences professionnelles des agents de planification financière
  • Conditions particulières applicables aux personnes atteintes d’un handicap
  • Application des mesures législatives
  • Barème des droits
  • Renseignements affichés dans le site Web
  • Guide de référence sur la délivrance des permis

Comité de formation en assurances de personnes de la CISRO

Le bulletin de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) publié en décembre 1999 présentait un rapport d’étape sur les efforts déployés par la Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organization (CISRO) pour la mise en oeuvre d’un programme de formation préalable à la délivrance du permis. Ces travaux se poursuivent actuellement.

 

Le document traitant de la conception du programme a reçu l’approbation de la CISRO et du Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA). Ce document a été distribué pour commentaires aux intervenants de l’industrie, qui ont présenté un certain nombre de réponses en faveur de la méthode proposée et du contenu du document.

 

Les fournisseurs sont soumis à un processus d’approbation en deux étapes pour la mise en oeuvre et la prestation du programme d’agrément des agents d’assurance-vie. 

 

Une réunion a été organisée le 5 octobre 2000 à Toronto pour les personnes et sociétés désireuses de se faire reconnaître comme fournisseur de cours. Étaient présentes plus de 50 personnes qui possédaient des compétences très variées dans la conception et la prestation des programmes de formation. Pendant la réunion, le Comité de formation en assurances de personnes a donné un aperçu du processus de sélection des fournisseurs. 

 

Le Comité a reçu 13 demandes de certification. L’étape suivante du processus de reconnaissance concernait les entretiens avec le comité de sélection. Ces entretiens ont commencé le 13 décembre 2000. On prévoit que le processus d’acceptation des fournisseurs sera terminé d’ici le 15 janvier 2001.

 

Lorsque les fournisseurs auront été sélectionnés et informés, la deuxième étape (l’approbation du programme) commencera.

 

Le Comité s’attend à ce que la mise en oeuvre du nouveau système commence vers la fin de 2001.

 

La CSFO continuera de publier, au fur et à mesure, des rapports d’étape sur le projet.

 

Pour trouver des mises à jour régulières des renseignements, questions et réponses, visiter le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca) et celui de l’Alberta Insurance Council (www.abcouncil.ab.ca).

Exigences professionnelles des agents de planification financière

Parallèlement à la consultation nationale sur un modèle de compétence des agents d’assurance-vie, la CSFO, la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) et d’autres organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières et des assurances au Canada étudiaient les exigences professionnelles applicables aux agents de planification financière dans le but d’atteindre l’uniformité sur le marché. Depuis la publication du dernier bulletin de la CSFO à ce sujet (G-10/99), plusieurs faits nouveaux se sont produits. 

 

Selon le projet de règle, les personnes qui désirent se présenter comme planificateur financier devront réussir l’examen de compétence en planification financière, avoir deux années d’expérience dans le secteur des services financiers et s’inscrire à un programme de formation professionnelle permanente reconnu. À la suite des observations reçues pendant la période de consultation, il a été décidé d’adopter les recommandations visant à accorder une exemption transitoire aux diplômés du cours d’assureur-vie agréé (AVA) d’avant 1995 et de préciser le sens de « fournisseur » de contrat financier.

 

Un essai de l’examen de compétence en planification financière a eu lieu le 2 octobre 2000 dans les territoires de compétence participants. Cent soixante-dix-huit volontaires, dont 78 venant de l’Ontario, ont essayé deux versions différentes de l’examen. Leurs commentaires étaient positifs dans l’ensemble. Les résultats de l’examen d’essai et les observations des volontaires seront analysés à l’aide de méthodes statistiques.

 

En Ontario, où la norme applicable aux personnes inscrites auprès de la CVMO et de la CSFO est mise en oeuvre simultanément, il faut établir une règle en application de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières et déposer un règlement en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances. En effet, les deux organismes de réglementation cherchent à assurer la coordination de la règle et du règlement, qui ne prendront effet qu’après leur approbation par le gouvernement. Lorsque l’approbation aura été accordée, la CSFO publiera un avis à cet effet sur son site Web et adressera un bulletin aux agents.

 

Lorsque la règle et le règlement seront en vigueur, la prestation de l’examen sera assurée par un comité mixte du secteur. Les règles à suivre pour se présenter à l’examen seront annoncées à ce moment-là. Comme nous l’avons souligné, la règle accorde une exemption transitoire aux personnes qui ont réussi des cours déterminés. Vous trouverez des précisions à ce sujet dans le document de consultation ou le projet de règle. Les personnes qui ne bénéficient pas de l’exemption devront justifier de deux années d’expérience comme titulaire de permis dans le secteur des services financiers au cours des cinq dernières années, et réussir l’examen. Il est prévu que la version finale de la règle sera publiée bientôt. À ce moment-là, on pourra en prendre connaissance sur le site Web de la CSFO et sur celui de la CVMO.

Conditions particulières applicables aux personnes atteintes d’un handicap

La CSFO s’attache à tenir compte du cas des personnes qui, du fait d’un handicap permanent, ne peuvent satisfaire aux exigences en matière de formation permanente ou d’examen dans les mêmes conditions que les personnes non handicapées. Elle peut alors accorder notamment du temps supplémentaire pour répondre aux questions ou permettre d’autres modifications.

 

La présence d’un handicap n’ouvre pas droit à une exemption. En Ontario, les conditions spéciales applicables aux personnes atteintes d’un handicap sont imposées par la loi, mais n’ont pas pour effet d’instituer une nouvelle norme pour les personnes non handicapées. Les personnes qui cherchent à se prévaloir de conditions particulières du fait d’un handicap ont l’obligation d’en informer la CSFO dans meilleurs délais. Pour en savoir davantage, elles peuvent communiquer avec :

 

Gil Boeckler

(416) 226-7893
Lesley Lesch (416) 590-7183
Sylvia Als (416) 590-7552
Michèle Dandelé (416) 590-7255

 

Il est à souligner qu’une conversation téléphonique ne constitue pas une demande d’adaptation. Il faut présenter, par écrit, une demande en ce sens au directeur principal, octroi des permis et analyse. Chaque cas est étudié individuellement.  Les personnes qui font de fausses déclarations sont passibles de poursuites judiciaires ou de mesures disciplinaires.

Applications des mesures législatives

Au cours des 12 derniers mois (du 1er octobre 1999 au 30 septembre 2000), la CSFO a entamé 196 actions coercitives. Cela représente un nombre considérable d’activités liées à l’application des mesures législatives. Le tableau ci-dessous donne les détails relatifs au type de mesures prises.

 

Type d’action coercitive
Nombre de cas
-
-
Lettres de blâme
93
-
-

Conditions relatives au permis imposées dans un procès-verbal de transaction


11
-
-

Condamnations et amendes en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales


28
-
-
Ordonnances de cesser et de s’abstenir
2
-
-
Révocation du parrainage
14
-
-
Remises de permis
6
-
-
Suspensions de permis
15
-
-
Révocations de permis
27
-
-
Total:
196

Outre les actions coercitives, la CSFO mène des actions de contrôle ponctuelles à longueur d’année. Au cours des 12 derniers mois, 5 497 cas ont fait l’objet d’une action de contrôle. Le tableau ci-dessous donne les détails relatifs au type de contrôle entrepris.

Activités de contrôle
Nombre de cas
-
-
Vérifications liées à l’éducation permanente
753
-
-
Vérifications de casier judiciaire par la police
4,571
-
-
Examens de plaintes
173
-
-
Total:
5,497
- -


Tous les détails concernant les actions coercitives menées par la CSFO sont donnés dans son bulletin trimestriel de contrôle et son bulletin d’application des mesures législatives, lesquels sont affichés dans le site Web de la CFSO.

Barème des droits

 

Permis d’agent d’assurance (accident et maladie - vie : nouveau ou renouvellement) (permis de 2 ans)
150.00 $
Permis d’agent d’assurance constitué en personne morale (nouveau ou renouvellement) (permis de 2 ans)
400.00 $
Passage du permis de niveau I au permis de niveau II  (milieu de la période*)

Néant

Passage au permis de niveau II (à l’occasion du renouvellement du permis) (permis de 2 ans)

150.00 $
Droits de renouvellement - permis d’agent d’assurance (permis de 2 ans)
150.00 $

Droits de renouvellement - permis d’agent d’assurance constitué en personne morale (permis de 2 ans)

400.00 $
Transfert  de répondant au cours de la période du permis
50.00 $
Duplicata de permis
* Sans prolongation de la période du permis
25.00 $
Changement de raison sociale
25.00 $
Certificat d’autorisation
25.00 $

 

La plupart de ces frais n’ont pas augmenté au cours des dix dernières années.

Renseignements affichés dans le site Web

Les agents doivent savoir que le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca) renferme un éventail complet de renseignements sur la délivrance des permis et sur les nouvelles initiatives.

 

Si le site Web contient des renseignements sur les nombreux types de services financiers que la CSFO réglemente, les renseignements qui sont le plus susceptibles d’intéresser les agents se trouvent dans les sections suivantes de la rubrique des permis sur notre site Web :

  • Liste complète des agents titulaires
  • d’un permis en Ontario
  • Liste des agents qui ont fait l’objet de mesures disciplinaires - voir
    « Mesures coercitives »
  • Liste des agents constitués en personne morale
  • Règles de pratique et de procédure pour les audiences tenues devant un conseil consultatif
  • Guide de référence sur la délivrance des permis
  • Compagnies d’assurance titulaires d’un permis en Ontario
  • Modèle de compétence des agents d’assurance-vie
  • Exigences en matière de compétence des planificateurs financiers

Tous les formulaires nécessaires pour l’obtention du permis peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web.

Guide de référence sur la délivrance des permis

Quelques modifications ont été apportées à ce guide. Elles seront incorporées dans le site Web de la CSFO au cours des prochaines semaines. On peut imprimer les pages à jour par l’intermédiaire du lien fourni dans le site Web.

 

Dina Palozzi
Directrice générale et surintendante des services financiers

Le 17 janvier 2001


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.