Update on Regulatory and Administrative Matters Affecting Ontario's Life Agents

 

Bulletin

No. LH-02/01
 
- Life and Health
[bulletinToTheAttentionOf]

To the attention of Province of Ontario Level I and Level II agents

This bulletin provides a general update on various topics that are of interest to insurance companies and insurance agents licensed to transact the business of insurance in Ontario.

To distribute this bulletin to all Level I agents in Ontario, we will be sending an appropriate number of copies to the attention of chief executive officers/chief agents or marketing managers of life insurance companies with a written request to distribute the bulletin to their Level I agents. To reach Level II agents, we will be mailing a copy to each agent.

This information in this bulletin is organized under the following headings:

Internet Application System
Paper Application Forms
How to obtain the new form
Other Items:

      Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators
      Financial Planners
      Life Licensing Qualification Programme
      Enforcement Statistics
          Type of Enforcement Action
          Monitoring Activities
      Update on the FSCO/OSC Merger

Internet Application System

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) has implemented the first phase of its Internet Application System. This on-line access will improve service to our stakeholders by enhancing the efficiency of the licensing process in Ontario.

The new service was developed in consultation with the Canadian Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (CAIFA), the Independent Financial Brokers of Canada (IFBC), the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc. (CLHIA), and other stakeholders.

Through this initiative, life insurance agents will be able to renew their Level II agent licence, or move from a Level I to Level II over the Internet 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This new service will provide greater convenience and a much faster turnaround. There is no paper application to fill out and licence applications can be processed in minutes.

Future plans include expanding the electronic licensing system to allow all Level I life agents, mortgage brokers, other licensees and registrants to have access to this system. For more information on this initiative visit our web site at and click on "What's New."

The renewal or move to Level II will be effective immediately upon completion of the application and the payment, by credit card, of the licensing fees, where applicable. FSCO's internal agent licensing database and agent licensing information on the FSCO web site will be updated immediately upon the completion of the electronic application process. There is no change in the fee structure nor the continuing education audit process.

Listed below are the major changes that have been made to the application requirements for both the on-line and paper versions:

  • The Affidavit section has been replaced with a Declaration which does not require the signature of a commissioner or notary public.
  • Part D of the old paper application has been removed. The examination equivalency question has been incorporated into the examination requirements section of the new application; the question concerning errors and omissions insurance has been expanded and moved to the Declaration section of the new application; and the grandfathering provision has been removed since it is no longer applicable.
  • If using the Internet Application System, Level I agents moving to Level II are not required to submit an original copy of their examination results at the time of application. The agent is, instead, asked to provide the examination details which FSCO will confirm with CAIFA. Original copies of examination results may be requested at a later date. If submitting the paper application, original copies of examination results must be attached to the application or it will be returned without processing.

The new application imposes no new regulatory requirements.

Paper Application Forms

Paper applications are still available for agents who wish to submit their application in paper format. It has been revised and redesigned to ensure that the information requested is consistent with the new electronic version. The new form is effective on May 14, 2001.

FSCO will accept the old yellow application form dated 09/98 until September 1, 2001. If agents are submitting the old version of the application it must be completed in full, all required sections, signatures, attachments, and the signature of a notary public are required. If the application is incomplete it will be returned without processing.

How to obtain the new form

To obtain a copy of the new application form, please contact the licensing coordinator at the head office of your sponsoring insurance company, or print a copy from the "Forms" section of our website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca Applications may also be obtained by contacting a FSCO licensing representative through our automated call distribution system which routes calls to the first available representative. The system also includes recorded information on commonly asked questions: please call 416-250-9209 or toll free at 1-800-263-0541, during regular business hours, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Sponsoring companies are requested to provide the form to agents. Insurers' licensing departments have been sent an electronic version of the new application and a copy on white paper for photocopying to facilitate reproduction of the forms. Forms should be copied on blue paper and double sided. Please note that the content of this form may not be altered.

The paper used for the enclosed copy of the form is on a 20 lb weight 8½" x 11" light blue photocopy quality paper, manufactured by Boise Cascade. The colour has been selected for ease of identification. Use of other coloured or white paper may result in difficulties in correct identification and routing of the application within FSCO, and cause delays for agent applications.

Other Items:

Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators

The Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators (Joint Forum) was established in early 1999 by the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR) and the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA). This group of securities, insurance and pension regulators work together striving to improve consumer protection; streamline the regulation of financial services; and adapt the regulatory system to the changing marketplace.

Current projects underway focussing on regulatory harmonization include: proficiency requirements for financial planners; individual variable insurance contracts and mutual funds; investment disclosure in capital accumulation plans; and intermediary proficiency and licensing. The Joint Forum is also working on a consumer complaint management and dispute resolution system.

Details on these projects may be found in the Joint Forum's Fall 2000 Newsletter, available on the FSCO website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca.

Financial Planners

The initiative to propose a proficiency standard for financial planners was borne out of regulators' concerns that consumers currently have no way of ascertaining whether the financial services intermediaries on whom they rely for such advice have achieved a standard level of financial planning education and proficiency.

Although a number of financial services associations currently offer a variety of financial planning courses and designations, they vary in content, emphasis and quality. Moreover, the pursuit of a designation in this area continues to be voluntary.

To address the lack of standardization, the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) established a Financial Planning Committee whose representation included insurance regulators and councils. In developing the Multilateral Instrument (MI), the CSA Financial Planning Committee undertook extensive consultation with industry groups and stakeholders from both the insurance and securities sectors.

In December 1999, on behalf of the CSA Financial Planning Committee, the OSC released for comment a draft version of the MI. At that time, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) invited comment on the draft MI encouraging stakeholders to respond on the impact of an analogous document applied to insurance licensees. Individual insurance agents, companies, life insurance associations, as well as other stakeholder groups were solicited. Consultation by FSCO continued throughout the drafting and technical review stages of the regulation.

On April 6, 2001, the Minister of Finance returned to the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) Rule 33-107, Proficiency Requirements for Registrants Holding Themselves Out as Providing Financial Planning and Similar Advice (Rule). The Rule was returned for further consideration of the balance struck between compliance costs and investor protection. However, the Minister expressed support for the Commission's work towards creating a highly uniform proficiency standard for financial planning advice to better protect consumers and investors.

The return of the Rule by the Minister of Finance has also prompted a review of the proposed regulatory amendment under the Insurance Act, similar in substance to the Rule, that would be brought forward by FSCO in parallel with the Rule.

In response to concerns outlined by the Minister, the OSC and FSCO are proposing to consult jointly with interested parties. The OSC and FSCO expect to share the results of the consultation and publish a revised version of the Rule for comment in June, 2001. The anticipated effective date of the Rule and regulatory amendment under the Insurance Act remains February 15, 2002.

For more detailed information please visit our website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca under "What's New."

Life Licensing Qualification Program

In FSCO's Bulletin of January, 2001, a status report was provided on the work that had been undertaken by the Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organizations (CISRO) to update the licensing qualification system for new life agents.

The curriculum design document, "Life Agent Pre-Licence Training Program", has now been finalized and is available on the FSCO website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca This standard has been endorsed by CISRO and the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR), both of whom are working together towards its implementation.

Regulators across Canada are coordinating efforts to implement this upgraded licensing model. The proposed model has the following elements:

  • Single step licence. The Level II licence will no longer be required. This change does not affect existing sponsorship rules.
  • Mandatory pre-licensing training course, offered commercially in a flexible variety of formats by course providers. The courses must meet a common standard set out in the curriculum design document.
  • Upgraded entry level examination.
  • Minimum of high school education or equivalency.

To be effective, regulation changes are necessary and these will require government approval. Regulators have been working with industry groups to address program design issues and implementation questions, including timing of implementation.

FSCO will continue to provide status updates on this project. Please remember that these standards will only apply to people entering the industry.

Information, questions and answers are posted regularly to both the FSCO website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca and the Alberta Insurance Council website at www.abcouncil.ab.ca

Enforcement Statistics

12 Month Enforcement Action and Monitoring Activities Summary

Over the past 12 months (Apr 1/00 - Mar 31/01), FSCO has taken 182 enforcement actions. This represents a significant amount of enforcement activity. The chart below details the type of activity taken.

Type of Enforcement Action
Number of Cases
Letters of censure
73
Licence conditions via Minutes of Settlement
11
Provincial Offences Court convictions and fines
26
Cease and Desist orders
4
Revocation of sponsorship
13
Licence surrenders
6
Licence suspensions
16
Licence revocations
33
Total:
182

In addition to enforcement actions, FSCO conducts ongoing enforcement monitoring throughout the year. Over the past 12 months, there have been 6,208 instances of enforcement monitoring. The chart below details the types of monitoring that were undertaken.

Monitoring Activities
Number of Occurrences
Continuing education audits
1,105
Police criminal record checks of life agents/applicants
4,940
Complaint reviews
163
Total:
6,208

Update on the FSCO/OSC Merger

On Friday, April 6, 2001 the Honourable James Flaherty, Minister of Finance, announced that the Government would hold a second consultation on the proposed merger of the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) and the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) into a single services regulator. On Thursday, April 12, 2001 the Minister released the draft legislation.

The draft legislation would establish a new commission to be known as the Ontario Financial Services Commission. It would have a Chair, a Commission with 18 members, be self-funded, and have rule-making authority.

The draft legislation incorporates the comments received on the discussion paper, "Improving Ontario's Financial Services Regulation: Establishing A Single Financial Services Regulator" that was released for public comment last fall. While the majority of stakeholders endorsed the plan to merge OSC and FSCO, many expressed a desire to see further details.

A two-month consultation is being led by John O'Toole, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance. The deadline for submission on the draft legislation is June 29, 2001. A copy of the draft legislation as well as additional information on the consultation process is available on FSCO's web site at www.fsco.gov.on.ca under "What's New." Your views are important to us, we urge you to participate in the consultation process.

Yours truly,


Dina Palozzi
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

Point sur les question règlementaires et administratives touchant les agents d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario

 

Bulletin

No. L&H-02/01
Vie et santé
 
À l'attention des agents des niveaux I et II de la province de l'Ontario

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

Ce bulletin fait le point sur différents sujets intéressant les compagnies d'assurance et les agents titulaires de permis de vente d'assurance en Ontario.

 

Pour assurer la distribution de ce bulletin à tous les agents de niveau I de l'Ontario, nous enverrons le nombre approprié de copies au chef de la direction, au chef des agents ou aux directeurs de marketing des compagnies d'assurance-vie, avec une lettre leur demandant de distribuer le bulletin à leurs agents de niveau I. Quant aux agents de Niveau II, une copie sera postée directement à chacun d'eux.

 

Les renseignements dans le présent bulletin sont classés sous les en-tête suivantes :

 

Système de demande sur Internet
Formulaires de demande sur papier
Comment obtenir le nouveau formulaire

Autres :

 
Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier
Planificateurs financiers
Programme de qualification préalable à la délivrance du permis d'agent d'assurance-vie Statistiques d'exécution Application des mesures législatives
Activités de contrôle Mise à jour sur la fusion de la CSFO et de la CVMO

Système de demande sur Internet

La Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) a mis en oeuvre la première étape de son système d'application Internet. Cet accès en ligne améliorera le service offert à nos interlocuteurs en rendant le processus ontarien de certification plus efficace.

 

Le nouveau service a été élaboré en consultation avec l'Association canadienne des conseillers en assurance et en finance (ACCAF), les Courtiers indépendants en sécurité financière du Canada (CISFC), l'Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes (ACCAP) et d'autres intervenants.

 

Grâce à cette initiative, les agents d'assurance-vie pourront en tout temps renouveller leur permis d'agent niveau II ou  passer du niveau I au niveau II sur Internet. Ce nouveau service sera plus pratique et beaucoup plus rapide : il ne sera plus nécessaire de remplir une demande sur papier et les demandes de permis seront traitées en quelques minutes.

 

Les plans futurs comprennent l'expansion du système de certification électronique pour permettre à tous les agents d'assurance-vie de niveau  I, aux courtiers en hypothèque, aux autres détenteurs de permis et aux courtiers agréés d'avoir accès à ce système. Pour plus de renseignements sur cette  initiative, consultez notre site Web au  et cliquez sur « Quoi de neuf? ».

 

Le renouvellement ou le passage au niveau II entrera en vigueur immédiatement après que la demande aura été remplie et que le paiement des frais aura été effectué par carte de crédit, s'il y a lieu. La base de données interne et les renseignements sur la certification des agents de la CSFO qui sont affichés sur le site Web seront mis à jour dès que le processus de demande électronique sera achevé. La structure des frais et le processus de vérification de l'éducation permanente demeurent les mêmes.

 

Voici les principaux changements apportés aux exigences de la demande sur papier et en ligne :

 

  • La section Affidavit a été remplacée par une déclaration qui n'exige pas la signature d'un commissaire ou d'un notaire.
  • La partie D de l'ancien formulaire de demande sur papier a été supprimée. Dans la nouvelle demande, la question d'équivalence de l'examen a été intégrée à la section des exigences de l'examen; la question sur l'assurance des erreurs et omissions a été développée, puis  mise à la section Déclaration et la disposition relative aux droits acquis a été supprimée, puisqu'elle ne s'applique plus.
  • Lorsqu'ils utilisent le système d'application Internet, les agents de niveau I qui passent au niveau II ne sont pas obligés de soumettre une copie originale de leurs résultats d'examen au moment de faire leur demande. Ils devront plutôt donner des renseignements sur l'examen que la CSFO confirmera auprès de l'ACCAF. Des copies originales des résultats d'examen pourraient être demandées à une date ultérieure. Lorsque la demande est faite sur papier, des copies originales des résultats d'examen doivent être jointes à la demande, sinon cette dernière sera retournée sans être traitée.

La nouvelle demande n' impose aucune nouvelle exigence réglementaire.

Formulaires de demande sur papier

Les formulaires sur papier sont toujours disponibles aux agents qui souhaitent soumettre leurs demandes de cette façon. Ils ont été révisés et remaniés pour que l' information requise soient la même que celle demandée sur la version électronique. Le nouveau formulaire entrera en vigueur le 14 mai 2001.

La CSFO acceptera l'ancien formulaire jaune daté 09-98 jusqu'au 1er septembre 2001. Les agents qui soumettent l'ancienne version de la demande devront  la remplir au complet (toutes les sections, signatures et pièces jointes, ainsi que la signature d'un notaire), sinon elle sera retournée sans être traitée.

Comment obtenir le nouveau formulaire

Pour obtenir une copie du nouveau formulaire de demande, communiquez avec le coordinateur des permis au bureau chef de la compagnie d'assurance qui vous parraine, ou imprimez une copie de la section Formulaires de notre site Web (www.fsco.gov.on.ca). Les demandes peuvent aussi Ltre obtenues auprès des représentants de la CSFO que vous pouvez contacter à l'aide de notre système automatique qui acheminera votre appel au premier représentant disponible, et qui offre des renseignements enregistrés sur les questions courantes. Composez le 416 250-9209 ou composez sans frais le 1 800 263-0541 pendant les heures de bureau, soit de 8 h 30 à 17 h 00.

 

Les compagnies qui parrainent doivent donner le formulaire aux agents. Une version électronique de la nouvelle demande, ainsi qu'une copie sur papier blanc pour faciliter la reproduction des formulaires, ont été envoyés aux divisions chargées de l'attribution de permis. Les formulaires doivent être copiés sur papier bleu à double face. Veuillez noter que le contenu de ce formulaire ne peut pas être modifié.

 

Le papier utilisé pour la copie du formulaire ci-jointe est du papier de photocopie de 20 lb, 8½  po x 11 po, de couleur bleue pâle, fabriqué par Boise Cascade. Cette couleur a été choisie pour faciliter l'identification; l'utilisation de papier blanc ou de couleur différente pourrait entraîner des difficultés d'identification et d'acheminement de la demande au sein de la CSFO et retarder le traitement des demandes des agents.

Autres

Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier
 

Le Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier (Forum conjoint) a été établi au début de 1999 par les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières (ACVM), le Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA) et l'Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR). Ce groupe de responsables de réglementation des valeurs mobilières, de l'assurance et des retraites travaille à renforcer la protection du consommateur, à rationaliser la réglementation des services financiers et à adapter le système de réglementation à un marché qui évolue.

 

Parmi les projets d'harmonisation de la réglementation en cours figurent les exigences de compétence des planificateurs financiers; les contrats individuels d'assurance à capital variable et les fonds commun de placement; la divulgation de l'investissement fait dans les régimes d'accumulation du capital et les compétences des intermédiaires et l'attribution des permis. Le Forum conjoint travaille aussi sur un système de gestion des plaintes du consommateur et de règlement des différends.

 

Vous trouverez des détails sur ces projets dans le Communiqué du Forum conjoint de l'automne 2000, lequel est affiché sur le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca).

 

Planificateurs financiers

L'initiative proposant des normes de compétence pour les planificateurs financiers est née des inquiétudes des autorités de réglementation que les consommateurs n'ont aucun moyen de vérifier que les intermédiaires financiers qui les conseillent dans ce domaine ont une formation et des compétences du niveau requis.

 

Plusieurs associations financières offrent divers cours et titres de planification financière qui sont de  contenu, d'orientation et de qualité différents. Et l'obtention d'un titre dans ce domaine demeure volontaire.

 

Pour palier à ce manque de normalisation, les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières (ACVM) ont mis sur pied un comité de planification financière qui représente des autorités de réglementation et des conseillers de l'assurance. En mettant au point l'instrument multilatéral, le comité de planification financière de l'ACVM a entrepris une importante consultation auprès de groupes de l'industrie et d'intervenants des secteurs de l'assurance et des valeurs mobilières.

 

En décembre 1999, au nom de ce même comité de planification financière, la CVMO a publié pour discussion une version provisoire de l'instrument multilatéral. La Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) a demandé des commentaires sur cette version et a encouragé les intervenants à donner leur avis quant à l'impact d'un tel document sur les titulaires de permis d'assurance. Les agents d'assurance, les compagnies, les associations d'assurance-vie et les autres groupes intéressés ont été sollicités. La consultation menée par la CSFO s'est poursuivie durant toute l'étape de conception et d'examen technique de la réglementation.

 

Le 6 avril 2001, le ministre des Finances est renvoyé à la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (CVMO) la règle 33-107, qui traite des compétences exigées de la part des inscrits qui se présentent comme fournisseurs de conseils de planification financière et de conseils analogues. La règle a été renvoyée pour que l'équilibre entre les coûts d'observation et la protection des investisseurs soit étudié de nouveau. Le ministre a toutefois dit soutenir le travail de la Commission visant à créer une norme de compétence uniforme et élevée qui protégerait mieux les consommateurs et les investisseurs.

 

Par ailleurs, le renvoi de la règle a incité un réexamen de la modification proposée du règlement pris en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances. Ce règlement, dont l'essence ressemble à celle de la règle, serait avancé en même temps que cette dernière.

 

Face aux préoccupations exprimées par le ministre, la CVMO et la CSFO ont proposé de consulter conjointement les parties intéressées. La CVMO et la CSFO prévoient de partager les résultats de la consultation et de publier une version révisée de la règle pour commentaires en juin 2001. Il est toujours prévu que la règle et le règlement pris en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances entreront en vigueur le 15 février 2002.

 

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la rubrique « Quoi de neuf? » sur notre site Web (www.fsco.gov.on.ca).

 

Programme de qualification préalable à la délivrance du permis d’agent d’assurance-vie

 

Le bulletin de la CSFO de janvier 2001 comportait un rapport d’étape sur le travail de la Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organization (CISRO) pour mettre à jour le régime de qualification préalable à la délivrance du permis aux  nouveaux agents d’assurance-vie.

 

Le document de conception du programme d’études « Programme de formation préalable à la délivrance du permis » est maintenant achevé et peut être consulté sur le site Internet de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca) La norme qui y figure a reçu l’approbation de la CISRO et du Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA), qui travaillent à son application.

 

Des organismes de réglementation partout au Canada travaillent ensemble à mettre en oeuvre le régime de certification mis à jour qui comporte les éléments suivants :

 

Permis en une seule étape. Le permis de niveau II ne sera plus exigé. Les règles courantes de parrainage ne sont pas touchées par ce changement.

 

Cours obligatoire de formation préalable à la délivrance du permis que les prestataires des cours offriront dans divers formats flexibles, et qui doit se conformer à la norme commune énoncée dans le document de conception du programme d’études.

Examen amélioré de débutant

 

Scolarité minimale : études secondaires ou équivalent

 

Pour que ces changements entrent en vigueur, il faudra modifier la réglementation, ce qui exigera l’approbation du gouvernement. Les organismes de réglementation travaillent avec des groupes de l’industrie sur des questions liées à la conception et à l’exécution du programme, dont le calendrier d’exécution.

 

La CSFO continuera à faire le point sur ce projet. N’oubliez pas que ces normes ne s’appliquent qu’aux débutants.

 

Des renseignements, questions et réponses sont affichés régulièrement aux sites Internet de la CSFO ( et de l’Alberta Insurance Council )

Application des mesures législatives

Résumé des activités d’application et de contrôle de 12 derniers mois

 

Au cours des douze derniers mois (1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2001), la CSFO a entamé 182 actions coercitives, ce qui représente une activité considérable en matière d’application des mesures législatives. Le tableau ci-dessous donne les détails quant aux types de mesures prises.

 

Type d’action coercitive

 
Nombre de cas
 

Lettres de blâme

73
Conditions du permis imposées par procès-verbal de règlement
11
Condamnations et amendes devant la Cour des infractions provinciales
26
Ordonnances de cessation
4
Révocations du parrainage
13
Remises de permis
6
Suspensions de permis
16
Révocations de permis
33

Total : 

182

Outre les actions coercitives, la CSFO mène des actions de contrôle ponctuelles à longueur d'année. Au cours des douze derniers mois, 6 208 cas ont fait l'objet d'une action de contrôle. Le tableau ci-dessous donne les détails quant aux types de contrôle entrepris.

Activités de contrôle
Nombre de cas
 
Vérifications liées à l’éducation permanente
1,105
Vérifications des casiers judiciaires des agents/candidats
4,940

Examens de plaintes

163
Total : 
6,208

 

Dernières nouvelles de la fusion de la CSFO avec la CVMO

Le vendredi 6 avril 2001, l’honorable James Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé que le gouvernement tiendrait une deuxième ronde de consultations sur la fusion projetée de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) et de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) en une seule entité de réglementation. Le jeudi 12 avril 2001, le ministre a publié le projet de loi.

 

Le projet de loi fonderait une nouvelle commission qui serait baptisée Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario. Elle serait composée d’un président et d’une commission de 18 membres, serait auto-financée et disposerait de l’autorité de réglementation.

 

Le projet de loi comporte les commentaires sur le document de travail « Améliorer la réglementation des services financiers : établir un organisme de réglementation unique » livré aux commentaires du public l’automne dernier. Même si la majorité des intervenants se sont montré favorables au plan de fusion de la CVMO avec la CSFO, plusieurs ont exprimé le désir d’étudier la question plus en détails.

 

Une consultation de deux mois est menée par John O’Toole, adjoint parlementaire du ministre des Finances. La date limite des soumissions sur le projet de loi est le 29 juin 2001. On peut trouver le texte du projet de loi ainsi que des renseignements sur le processus de consultation sur le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca), sous la rubrique « Quoi de neuf ». Vos impressions et commentaires sont importants et nous vous encourageons à participer au processus de consultation.

 

Je vous prie d’agréer, Mesdames et Messieurs, l’assurance de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

 

 

Dina Palozzi
Directrice générale et
surintendante, Services financiers


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.