Proposed New Proficiency Model for Life Agents, Proficiency Requirements for Financial Planners

 

Bulletin

No. LH-10/99
 
- Life & Health
[bulletinToTheAttentionOf]

To the attention of Province of Ontario Level I and Level II agents

At the request of the Life Agent Education Committee of the Canadian Self-Regulatory Organization (CISRO) and the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR), the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is urging all Ontario agents to review the attached proposal for a Life Agent Proficiency Model and provide comments to CISRO by December 31, 1999.

As a member of the CCIR and CISRO, FSCO is consulting stakeholders on the proposed recommendations. These recommendations are designed to ensure greater protection for consumers by enhancing the life agent licensing process for new agents in all Canadian provinces and territories.

FSCO supports the effort to develop an appropriate national proficiency standard for life insurance agents because it will update licensing standards and equip new agents with the skills required to meet consumer expectations in a rapidly changing financial services marketplace.

It is important to note that Level II agents who are already licensed will not be affected by the proposal. It is proposed that Level I agents be given a reasonable period of time to meet the existing Level II proficiency examination, before the proposed new standard is applied.

The proposal by CISRO, an association of regulators of insurance intermediaries, includes a single step licensing process to replace the current two-step licensing process; the establishment of entry-level qualifications for new agents; and a revised qualifying examination for Level I agents to be tested at a higher standard of competence in applying their knowledge to help consumers.


Comments on the proposal on the Life Agent Proficiency Standard should be sent to Joanne Abram, Chair, Life Education Committee, Canadian Insurance Self-Regulatory Organization, c/o Alberta Insurance Council, Suite 901, T-D Tower, 10088-102 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta, T5J 2Z1.

All comments received through this consultation in Ontario will be shared among all insurance regulators in Canada. There is no need for agents to send a copy of their comments to FSCO, as FSCO will obtain the information from CISRO.

To distribute this bulletin to all Level I agents in Ontario, we are sending an appropriate number of copies to the attention of the Chief Executive Officer/Chief Agent or Marketing Managers of life insurance companies with a request to distribute to their Level I agents. To reach Level II agents, we are mailing a copy of this bulletin to each agent at the last address they provided to FSCO. We are also posting this bulletin on FSCO’s website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca

Proficiency Requirements for Financial Planners

At the same time that the national consultation on a Life Agent Proficiency Model is being undertaken, FSCO is working closely with the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) and other securities and insurance regulators in Canada on a proposal for Proficiency Requirements for Financial Planners.

The OSC, in conjunction with FSCO, is organizing a consultation on a plan to establish a uniform standard for all financial services intermediaries who hold themselves out as having a special expertise in financial planning. The objective is to establish a uniform standard to ensure that the financial planning advice offered by financial services intermediaries is objective, comprehensive and integrated, so it meets the needs of consumers across the financial services sector.

It is anticipated that the OSC will be issuing a call to financial services intermediaries to provide input on this proposal which will affect life insurance licencees. The proposal will be available on the OSC's website at www.osc.gov.on.ca Responses received will be shared among regulators.

Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators to release Consumer Protection Initiatives Report.

Approximately a year ago the CCIR formed a Committee to study and make recommendations on a number of consumer protection issues that had been identified. Working with key stakeholders, a working group of the committee developed recommendations on point-of-sale disclosure, policy contract wordings and errors & omission insurance that were approved at the CCIR meeting in September.

A report on the recommendations will be released during late November of 1999 for industry consultation. It will be available on FSCO's website: www.fsco.gov.on.ca

Other content in this Bulletin

  • Insurance Distribution Review
  • Enforcement Update
  • New Form for Corporate Agencies
  • Life Insurance Agent Information on FSCO's website
  • "Recommendations on Agent Licensing Process by the Life Education Committee of the Canadian Self-Regulatory Organization" - September, 1999.

Insurance Distribution Review

Many agents provided input to FSCO on the Discussion Paper on Insurance Distribution and Co-ordination of Financial Services Regulation in Ontario that was released in June, 1998. Stakeholders, including agents had provided their comments to FSCO by the October, 1998 deadline. Following this, reports -- Investment Funds in Canada and Consumer Protection - Strategies for the Millennium by Glorianne Stromberg, and A New Framework for Market Regulation in Canada by the Canadian Securities Administrators -- were released nationally on behalf of other regulators.

The proposals in the discussion paper deal with regulatory structure, insurance distribution regulation, and co-ordination of financial services regulation. A common topic in FSCO's discussion paper and the national reports deal with the appropriate structure for regulating market conduct and prudential regulation.

As discussion of the topics contained in the discussion paper and national reports is ongoing, FSCO decided to not proceed at this time with its proposal to introduce a new regulatory body, the Insurance Distribution Regulatory Board (IDRB), which would have changed the regulatory structure for insurance distribution. However, FSCO is giving priority to developing the details on the substantive proposals on changes to the regulatory rules.

Stakeholder participation in insurance distribution review

In March 1999, FSCO informed industry and consumer representatives about the intended directions regarding the substantive proposals in the discussion paper. These stakeholders were invited to provide input on individual initiatives which FSCO proposed to proceed with.

FSCO has now categorized all of the individual topics relating to the proposals, and has grouped them so that related issues can be reviewed together. Topics which are being grouped together include specialized licence categories; referrals and commission splitting; indemnity fund; group contract distribution; accountability; supervision; ownership requirements for corporate distributors; part-time employment; and registration.

FSCO has formed a technical advisory group of stakeholders to help refine the related proposal. These working groups began their work in October 1999. FSCO is continuing to review the priority to be given each topic so that the working groups can consider the topics in a priority sequence.

Enforcement Update

FSCO has a fair and progressive enforcement policy in place. For example, agents committing lesser offences typically receive a written warning or censure. If the offender does not heed the warning, he

or she can expect a more severe penalty. More serious offences are dealt with at the next level of enforcement, typically a prosecution resulting in a fine. The most serious offences result in licence suspensions or revocations.

Over the past 12 months, FSCO has taken 192 enforcement actions. This represents a significant amount of enforcement activity. The chart below details the type of activity taken.

Type of Enforcement Action
Number of Cases
Letters of Censure
40
Licence Conditions Imposed Through
Minutes of Settlement

59
Provincial Offences Act
Convictions and Fines

30
Licence Suspension through
Revocation of Sponsorship

29
Licence Suspensions
23
Licence Revocations
11
 
192

In addition to enforcement actions, FSCO conducts ongoing enforcement monitoring throughout the year. Over the past 12 months, there have been 7,119 instances of enforcement monitoring. The chart below details the type of monitoring that were undertaken.

Monitoring Activities
Number of Occurrences
Continuing Education Audits
1,013
Police Criminal Record checks
5,897
Complaint Reviews
209
 
7,119

Full details concerning FSCO's enforcement actions can be found in FSCO’s quarterly monitoring and enforcement bulletin. The bulletins are available on the FSCO website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca

New Application Form for Corporate Agencies

FSCO has streamlined the application process for agents. We have created one new application form for corporate agencies by distilling the questions from 12 former application forms. Please find a sample of the new form attached to this bulletin.

Before we released the new application form, we tested it extensively in the field during the summer of 1999. The results confirmed that the form serves the purpose for which it is designed.

The official name of the form is entitled "Application for insurance incorporation / partnership; insurance adjuster corporation/partnership; agent's (other than life) corporation/partnership." If an agent wishes to obtain a form at any time, it can be downloaded from FSCO's website at www.fsco.gov.on.ca

For your information, the new form can be used for applying for:

  • a Life Insurance Agent's Corporation Licence
  • a Life Insurance Agent's Partnership Licence
  • an Agent's Corporation Licence (Other Than Life)
  • an Agent's Partnership Licence (Other Than Life)
  • an Insurance Adjuster's Corporation Licence
  • an Insurance Adjuster's Partnership Licence
  • a Renewal of Life Insurance Agent's Corporation Licence
  • a Renewal of Life Insurance Agent's Partnership Licence
  • a Renewal of Insurance Agent's Corporation Licence (Other Than Life)
  • a Renewal of Insurance Agent's Partnership Licence (Other Than Life)
  • a Renewal of Insurance Adjuster's Corporation Licence
  • a Renewal of Insurance Adjuster's Partnership Licence

Website information

Agents should be aware that FSCO's website contains a comprehensive range of information about licensing.

While the website contains a large amount of information relevant to the many kinds of financial services FSCO regulates, agents will likely be especially interested in the following sections of the licensing portion of our website dealing with:

  • A full list of agents licensed in Ontario
  • Listing of agents who have been disciplined -- see "Enforcement Action"
  • Listing of all corporate agencies
  • Rules of Practice and Procedure for hearings before an Advisory Board
  • Licensing referencing guide
  • Consumer Advisory - Ontario Court decision on Armada Assurance
  • Licensed insurance companies in Ontario

If agents wish to obtain copies of any forms for the licensing process, they can visit FSCO's website and download as many as are needed.

 

Dina Palozzi
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

November 19, 1999

Attachments (PDF):

Nouveau modèle de compétences proposé pour les agents d'assurance-vie et compétences exigées des planificateurs financiers

 

Bulletin

No. LH-10/99
- Vie et santé
 
À l’attention des agents de niveaux I et II de la province de l’Ontario

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​

À la demande du comité sur la formation des agents d’assurance-vie de la Canadian Self-Regulatory Organization (CISRO) et du Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA), la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) engage tous les agents de l’Ontario à étudier la proposition ci-jointe de Modèle de compétences des agents d’assurance-vie et à faire part à la CISRO de leurs observations d’ici le 31 décembre 1999.

 

En qualité de membre du CCRRA et de la CISRO, la CSFO consulte les intervenants sur les recommandations proposées. Celles-ci visent à renforcer la protection des consommateurs en améliorant le processus de délivrance des permis d’agent d’assurance-vie applicable aux nouveaux agents dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires canadiens.

 

La CSFO soutient les efforts visant à élaborer une norme pertinente de compétence nationale pour les agents d’assurance-vie, car une telle norme actualisera les normes relatives à la délivrance de permis et dotera les nouveaux agents des compétences nécessaires pour satisfaire aux attentes des consommateurs dans un marché des services financiers qui évolue rapidement.

 

Il est important de remarquer que les agents de niveau II qui sont déjà titulaires d’un permis ne seront pas concernés par la proposition. Celle-ci prévoit un délai raisonnable pour que les agents de niveau I passent avec succès l’examen existant de compétences de niveau II avant que la nouvelle norme ne devienne applicable.

 

La proposition de la CISRO, une association d’autorités de réglementation des intermédiaires dans le secteur des assurances, prévoit un processus de délivrance de permis en une seule étape qui remplacerait le processus actuel en deux volets, l’établissement de critères d’admission au niveau débutant applicables aux nouveaux agents et la révision de l’examen d’admission pour les agents de niveau I, qui devraient atteindre une norme de compétence plus élevée dans l’application de leurs connaissances à l’aide des consommateurs.

 

Les observations concernant la proposition de norme de compétence applicable aux agents d’assurance-vie devraient être adressées à Joanne Abram, présidente, comité sur la formation des agents d’assurance-vie, Canadian Insurance Self-Regulatory Organization, aux soins du Alberta Insurance Council, bureau 901, tour T-D, 10088, 102e avenue, Edmonton, Alberta, T5J 2Z1.

 

Toutes les observations reçues lors de cette consultation en Ontario seront communiquées à chacune des autorités de réglementation au Canada. Il est inutile que les agents envoient une copie de leurs commentaires à la CSFO, car la Commission recevra cette information de la CISRO.

 

Nous désirons que tous les agents de niveau I de l’Ontario reçoivent cette information et envoyons donc aux PDG, aux mandataires principaux ou aux directeurs du marketing des compagnies d’assurance-vie des exemplaires du présent bulletin en nombre suffisant pour que le bulletin soit distribué à tous leurs agents de niveau I. Nous envoyons également un exemplaire du présent bulletin à chaque agent de niveau II à l’adresse la plus récente communiquée par les agents à la CSFO. Le bulletin est aussi affiché sur le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca).

Compétences exigées des planificateurs financiers

Parallèlement à la consultation nationale sur le modèle de compétences des agents d’assurance-vie, la CSFO collabore étroitement avec la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) et d’autres autorités de réglementation dans les domaines des valeurs mobilières et des assurances au Canada relativement à la proposition de compétences exigées des planificateurs financiers.

La CVMO organise en conjonction avec la CSFO une consultation sur un plan visant à établir une norme uniforme pour tous les intermédiaires en services financiers qui indiquent avoir des compétences particulières dans le domaine de la planification financière. L’objectif est d’élaborer une norme uniforme garantissant que les conseils en planification financière offerts par les intermédiaires en services financiers soient objectifs, complets et intégrés, de manière à répondre aux besoins des clients de tout le secteur des services financiers.

 

Il est prévu que la CVMO demande aux intermédiaires en services financiers de faire part de leurs observations sur cette proposition qui touchera les titulaires de permis d’agent d’assurance-vie. La proposition sera accessible sur le site Web de la CVMO (www.osc.gov.on.ca). Les réponses reçues seront communiquées aux autres autorités de réglementation.

 

Publication du Rapport de consultation du groupe de travail sur les initiatives de protection des consommateurs du Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance

 

Il y a environ un an, le CCRRA a formé un comité chargé d’étudier plusieurs questions préétablies liées à la protection des consommateurs et de faire des recommandations dans ces domaines. Un groupe de travail du comité a élaboré, en collaboration avec les principaux intervenants, des recommandations sur les informations à fournir au point de vente, le libellé des contrats d’assurance et l’assurance erreurs et omissions, recommandations qui ont été approuvées à la réunion de septembre du CCRRA.

 

Un rapport sur les recommandations sera publié à la fin de novembre 1999 dans le but de consulter l’industrie. Il sera affiché sur le site Web de la CSFO: www.fsco.gov.on.ca.

Autres sujets abordés dans le Bulletin
 

  • Examen de la réglementation de la vente d’assurance
  • Le point sur l’application
  • Nouveau formulaire pour les agences sociétés
  • Information sur la délivrance des permis d’agent d'assurance-vie affichée sur le site Web de la CSFO
  • Recommandations sur le processus de délivrance de permis d’agent par le comité sur la formation des agents d’assurance-vie de la Canadian Self-Regulatory Organization - septembre 1999.
Examen de la réglementation de la vente d’assurance

 

Un grand nombre d’agents, de même que d’autres intervenants, ont transmis à la CSFO avant l’échéance d’octobre 1998 leurs observations sur le Document de travail sur la réglementation de la vente d’assurance et la coordination de règlements régissant les services financiers, publié en juin 1998. Deux rapports – Les fonds d’investissement et la protection du consommateur au Canada: stratégies pour le millénaire, de Glorianne Stromberg, et A New Framework for Market Regulation in Canada, des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières, – ont ensuite paru à l’échelon national au nom d’autres autorités de réglementation.

 

Les propositions exposées dans le document de travail portent sur la structure réglementaire, la réglementation de la vente d’assurance et la coordination des règlements régissant les services financiers. Un sujet commun au document de travail de la CSFO et aux rapports nationaux est la structure convenant à la réglementation des pratiques de l’industrie et aux règles de prudence.

 

Étant donné que des discussions sur les sujets abordés dans le document de travail et les rapports nationaux sont en cours, la CSFO a décidé de ne pas donner suite pour le moment à sa proposition d’établir un nouvel organisme de réglementation, le conseil de réglementation de la vente d’assurance, qui aurait modifié la structure réglementaire régissant la vente d’assurance. La CSFO accorde toutefois la priorité à la formulation des détails des propositions fondamentales de changements aux dispositions réglementaires.

Participation des intervenants à l’examen de la réglementation de la vente d’assurance

En mars 1999, la CSFO a informé les représentants de l’industrie et des consommateurs des orientations prévues concernant les propositions fondamentales exposées dans le document de travail. Elle a invité ces intervenants à faire part de leurs observations sur les initiatives particulières que la CSFO proposait de mettre en œuvre.

 

La CSFO a achevé le classement de tous les sujets particuliers se rattachant aux propositions, en les regroupant de manière à ce que les questions connexes puissent être étudiées conjointement. Les sujets ainsi regroupés sont notamment les catégories de permis spécialisés, l'aiguillage et le partage des commissions, un fonds d'indemnisation, la vente de polices d'assurances collectives, la reddition de comptes, la surveillance, les exigences en matière de propriété applicables aux distributeurs intégrés, le travail à temps partiel et l'enregistrement.

 

La CSFO a formé des groupes consultatifs techniques d’intervenants chargés d’aider à affiner la proposition les concernant. Ces groupes de travail ont débuté leurs travaux en octobre 1999. La CSFO continue d’étudier le degré de priorité à accorder à chaque sujet de manière à ce que les groupes de travail puissent examiner ces thèmes selon l’ordre des priorités.

Le point sur l’application

La CSFO a en vigueur une politique d’application juste et progressive. Par exemple, les agents qui commettent des infractions mineures reçoivent généralement un blâme ou un avertissement par écrit. Si l’auteur de l’infraction ne tient pas compte de l’avertissement, il peut s’attendre à une sanction plus sévère. Les infractions plus graves sont traitées au niveau suivant d’application de la réglementation, soit en général une poursuite menant à une amende. Les infractions les plus graves sont sanctionnées par la suspension ou la révocation du permis.

 

Au cours des 12 derniers mois, la CSFO a procédé à l’application de 192 mesures législatives, ce qui représente un nombre appréciable d’activités d’application. Le tableau ci-après donne des détails sur le genre de mesures prises.

 

Genre de mesures prises

Nombre d’affaires

 

Lettres de blâme

40

Conditions imposées à l’émission de permis par procès-verbal de transaction


59

Condamnations et amendes imposées par la Cour des infractions provinciales


30

Suspensions de permis par
révocation de parrainage


29

Suspensions de permis

23

Révocations de permis

11

 

192

Outre ces mesures d'application, la CSFO mène des activités de contrôle régulières tout au long de l'année. Au cours des 12 derniers mois, elle a effectué 7119 contrôles de conformité. Le tableau qui suit donne des détails sur le genre d’activités de contrôle entreprises.

 

Activités de contrôle

Nombre d’affaires

 

Vérifications relatives à la formation permanente

1013

Vérifications du casier judiciaire

5897

Examens de plaintes

209

 

7119

Tous les détails concernant les mesures d’application prises par la CSFO sont donnés dans les bulletins trimestriels de contrôle et de mise en application de la CSFO, accessibles sur le site Web de la Commission (www.fsco.gov.on.ca).

Nouveau formulaire de demande pour les agences sociétés

La CSFO a rationalisé le processus de demande à l’intention des agents. Nous avons créé un formulaire de demande à l’intention des agences sociétés en y incorporant des questions provenant de 12 anciens formulaires. Vous trouverez un exemplaire du nouveau formulaire joint au présent bulletin.

 

Avant de diffuser le nouveau formulaire, nous l’avons mis à l’essai de façon approfondie sur le terrain au cours de l’été 1999. Les résultats ont confirmé que le formulaire sert les fins visées.

 

Le titre officiel du formulaire est Application for insurance incorporation / partnership; insurance adjuster corporation/partnership; agent's (other than life) corporation/partnership. Pour obtenir ce formulaire, à quelque moment que ce soit, il suffit de le télécharger sur le site Web de la CSFO (www.fsco.gov.on.ca).

Le nouveau formulaire peut servir à la présentation des demandes suivantes:

 

  • permis d’agent d’assurance-vie de société
  • permis d’agent d’assurance-vie de partenariat
  • permis d’agent de société (autre que pour l’assurance-vie)
  • permis d’agent de partenariat (autre que pour l’assurance-vie)
  • permis d’expert d’assurance de société
  • permis d’expert d’assurance de partenariat
  • renouvellement de permis d’agent d’assurance-vie de société
  • renouvellement de permis d’agent d’assurance-vie de partenariat
  • renouvellement de permis d’agent de société (autre que pour l’assurance-vie)
  • renouvellement de permis d’agent de partenariat (autre que pour l’assurance-vie)
  • a renouvellement de permis d’expert d’assurance de société
  • renouvellement de permis d’expert d’assurance de partenariat
Information affichée sur le site Web

 

Les agents devraient savoir qu’ils trouveront de l’information très complète concernant la délivrance des permis sur le site Web de la CSFO.

 

Même si le site Web renferme une mine de renseignements sur un large éventail de services financiers réglementés par la CSFO, les agents seront probablement très intéressés par les sections suivantes de la partie de notre site Web consacrée à la délivrance de permis:

 

  • une liste complète des agents titulaires d’un permis en Ontario
  • la liste des agents qui ont fait l’objet de sanctions – voir la section «Mécanismes d’application»
  • la liste de toutes les agences sociétés
  • les Règles de pratique et de procédure pour les audiences tenues devant un conseil consultatif
  • un manuel de référence sur la délivrance de permis
  • un avis aux consommateurs – décision de la Cour de l’Ontario concernant la compagnie Armada Assurance
  • les compagnies d’assurance titulaires d’un permis en Ontario.

Afin d’obtenir des exemplaires de tout formulaire lié au processus de délivrance de permis, il suffit de se rendre sur le site Web de la CSFO et de télécharger les formulaires nécessaires.

La directrice générale et surintendante des services financiers,

 

 

Dina Palozzi

 

Le 19 novembre 1999

 

Pièces jointes:

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.